6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

The Watch Thread v5, no watch is 2 cheap or 2 pricey 2 talk

Catnip
post Nov 27 2012, 06:58 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 27 2012, 01:13 PM)
On the subject of divers.. I got this annoying itch that may require scratching sooner or later.
Alternatively... a CWC Royal Navy diver seems to fit the bill (tritium (really?) and fixed lug bars wub.gif ) but didn't like the "quartz" marking on the dial and the fact that can only get it new via Silverman in London.
Why not go for the CWC Automatic RN Diver instead? Silvermans do international shipping too. Cheaper than flying over there.. laugh.gif

All watch manufacturers stopped using tritium+phosphor mixture in watches circa 1997. My tritium TAG-Heuer watch that will be exactly 20 years old next month still glows very faintly.
CWC watches now have a circled L instead of a T. I'd be cautious buying one with a circled T without provenance.
Catnip
post Nov 27 2012, 09:41 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 27 2012, 08:37 PM)
ps: circled L does look really out of place though.
You could inquire with them whether they could make custom watch with a dial without the circled L.

Maybe it is a current UK Defense Watch Standard that you can check here:
https://sts.defencegateway.mod.uk (Requires registration)
Catnip
post Nov 28 2012, 01:16 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 28 2012, 12:21 AM)
I didn't register but from what I read, current UK MoD issue watches are just standard off the shelf models with engraving on the caseback.

Did came across this though.. have to download the doc file.

http://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/wrist_watches
I'm sure that they have detailed requirements and specifications. Here's a link to some old ones in the 80's:
Uk Mod Defence Standards For Watches

I don't want to register because I'm paranoid. James Bond and MI6 might be spying on me next! blink.gif
Catnip
post Nov 28 2012, 11:10 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(ziafang @ Nov 28 2012, 10:04 PM)
Hi everyone,
I was doing some window shopping when I came across this Orient watch. The salesman tell me it is one of the Orient SP series.
It's nice and a good bargain. Other than that it is not an Orient SP model. IIRC, SP = Sporty with SP on the dial. He probably got the part no. mixed up with this.

Orient SP
Orient Classic

Catnip
post Nov 29 2012, 03:15 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 18 2012, 08:43 PM)
on another note...
after two months of waiting....my AP Royal Oak has arrived on Singapore shores...
The two week wait for it to be hand delivered to me will be pure agony!  cry.gif

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Nov 29 2012, 01:55 PM)
It has arrived!!!!!
Finally!!!!

first pic... not even date and time set yet...
cool2.gif
Congrats!
I thought you received the watch a long time ago and you no longer post here since you prefer to hang around in forums with other AP, Lange, PP and other haute horlogerie aficionados. tongue.gif
Did they hand delivered the watch by swimming across the South China Sea? biggrin.gif
Catnip
post Nov 30 2012, 02:45 PM

1,633 posts

Yonggoh,

Sorry to hear about your experience, but it's great to hear the good news.
I had a funny feeling about the photo of the watch that you posted in October. It had a bluish tint on the crystal.

Wishing you the best on your next acquisition.
Catnip
post Dec 1 2012, 12:21 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Nov 30 2012, 03:52 PM)
This watch is so nice! I likey.. May i know the model number for it? biggrin.gif
Catnip
post Dec 1 2012, 12:21 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(chopin @ Dec 1 2012, 09:16 AM)
ha, this site is selling it at rm292:

http://timewatchs.com/goods.php?id=2214 (WARNING: POSSIBLE PHISHING SITE)

my old Seiko 5, the 1st mechanical watch I bought before Orient Mako:

Added on December 1, 2012, 11:19 am
QUOTE(ziafang @ Dec 1 2012, 11:38 AM)
Oops catnip, I missed your previous post. The seller might indeed mixed up the Orient SP series with the Orient classic series. doh.gif

@chopin,
Thanks for the link. Anybody here have experience with them? If I pull the trigger, I might need them to ship it over to East Malaysia as I am based in Miri, Sarawak. smile.gif
doh.gif
To put it bluntly, that site looks like a phishing and scam website. Chopin, I suggest you edit your post (Put a warning) before someone becomes a victim:
An internet seller without a valid e-mail address.
Facebook and Twitter link invalid.
Verisign logo is the old version. It's just a *.gif.
Current valid logo.
Refer here: Symantec Website
Clicking on a legit one should bring out the SSL Certificate.

Caveat Emptor. wink.gif

Added on December 1, 2012, 12:33 pm
QUOTE(yonggoh @ Dec 1 2012, 12:18 PM)
And at long last.... a couple wristshots...
cool2.gif

Very nice photos. Looks brand new. Enjoy your watch.

This post has been edited by Catnip: Dec 1 2012, 12:33 PM
Catnip
post Dec 3 2012, 04:35 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Dec 3 2012, 12:16 PM)
My first oris, bought way back in 2007

Nice looking destro Carlos Coste LE. However, upon close examination; your bezel markers are out of alignment. hmm.gif
Catnip
post Dec 3 2012, 06:05 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(ckk125 @ Dec 3 2012, 05:15 PM)
yup...was out at the time i took the photo. tongue.gif
Strange isn't it? The bezel marker at nine o'clock seems aligned with the dial, while the marker at three o'clock is misaligned.
Time for me to put Oris into the "Not to buy list". They have poor quality control. wink.gif
Catnip
post Dec 4 2012, 11:19 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Dec 4 2012, 11:34 AM)
hahaha dun get me wrong guys... i tried on the JLC before at the MBS shoppes and it was just a tick over rm20,000 at the time if i recall...
Quite significantly less than the RM50k+ asking price for the Piaget..
hence the term "poor man's version"....

RM20,000/RM50,000 to pay for any watch is not something many people could just buy on impulse...

It would take me lots of restrained spending and maggi noodles before my wallet has enough ammo to pull on another time piece...
If you are talking about this Piaget:

The current list price is USD 24K equivalent to RM 73K+. RM50K+ considered a good buy. Buy half a dozen, keep one and sell the rest for 60K each. laugh.gif
At 43mm, I think its too big for a dress watch and I prefer watches with minute markers.

I'm not into dress watches, but I like the design and functionality of this watch:
Nomos Glashuette Tangente Gangreserve
Diameter 35mm, Thickness 6.6, Sapphire caseback.

Its simple yet elegant dial tells the wearer everything he needs to know.
Catnip
post Dec 4 2012, 11:59 PM

1,633 posts

Don't be so modest la... I know you could get one if you really wanted one.
Catnip
post Dec 7 2012, 02:03 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Dec 6 2012, 09:30 AM)
The design is so nice, but the price is also nice.. T___T
QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 6 2012, 09:47 AM)
In the grand scheme of things... manufacture movement and what not... its priced not THAT high.
No second hand value though.. I see Tangente's in the auction sites here in Taiwan for around < RM3K
Any links to the auction sites? Prior to 2005, they were using ETA 7001 movements and were originally priced DM980 in 1991. Roughly RM 2K.
Their current in-house movements are actually based on ETA 7001 ebauches anyway. wink.gif Stowa makes something similar to the basic Nomos Tangente. So does Orient and Seiko with true in-house movements. brows.gif

Looking at the modifications made, the addition of triovis fine adjustment regulator and taking into account of ETA restriction of ebauches, ultimately its the buyers' decision whether the current asking prices for new ones are worth it.
Catnip
post Dec 9 2012, 05:02 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 8 2012, 11:07 AM)
Came across this yesterday..  What do u think?
http://yeomanseiko.com/2011/10/31/orient-c...morative-watch/
Examined the Stainless Steel variant today No. 0xxx/2000. Its too big for my wrist. More than 50mm lug to lug. Okay for display collection. Looks larger than the Orient M-Force Diver and it has English / Kanji Day ring.

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Dec 9 2012, 08:27 AM)
the current inhouse movement alpha is base on ETA 7001 design, alot of tear down on those pre-2005 alpha movement. ebauches is used when a maker buys parts from ETA and make them. Its much like Tag Heuer getting Seiko design making their Chrono.

there are little mention on their other movements,  some forum says they just beautify alpha movement and change to 3/4 plate, forgetting that these mod are done too ie hacking (iirc original Peseux 7001 does not hack), Glashütte click, Trivois fine adjustment. others claim all these chances qualify its as a inhouse movement as there are little resemblance. Anyway, so how much by industrial standard to qualify inhouse?

Today, they make most of the movement inhouse only parts like rubies and balance springs are bought from suppliers. nomos didn't move to make their own movement because of ETA restriction on ebauches.

much like buying any watch, its always buyer decision if a watch is worth it. A tudor use unmod ETA prices are higher than many brands that do Mod their movement. LOL

Seagull also make inhouse movement for that matter.
Federation of the Swiss Watch Industry FH Dictionary: <Link>
Ébauche : The modern ébauche is a jewelled or non-jewelled watch-movement, without its regulating organs, mainspring, dial or hands.

Just to clarify, I did not say that Nomos bought ebauches from ETA. If they did, maybe they could price them lower and pass the savings to customers. For the alpha and gamma movement with their modifications, i think it would be more accurate to say that it based on the ebauche rather than the Peseux 7001 movement itself. Please correct me, if I'm wrong.

Anyway, so how much by industrial standard to qualify inhouse?
That's the problem because there is no standard definition for an inhouse movement. Any Tom, d*** & Harry Swiss Watch company that proclaims to have an inhouse movement could have been designed or/and manufactured or/and assembled by someone else. Some just slap on their name, put their fancy finishing and decorations and use precious metals to jack up the price.

If one were to apply the same standards to the automotive industry, would one consider Perodua, Proton and Naza making inhouse cars or licensed rebadged cars?

In my case, I refer to my own strict inhouse movement criteria since the money comes out from my wallet:
It must be designed, manufactured and assembled by the watch company itself to qualify for the definition of an inhouse movement.

I had no intention of disparaging Nomos. Just giving my opinion from my perspective. Thinking of getting a Tangente Gangreserve or this for the right price:

NOMOS Tangente Taiwan Sky LE

Catnip
post Dec 11 2012, 10:34 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(67zai @ Dec 11 2012, 09:14 PM)
where in pyramid? today i went, uh their price.. all 1.1k O_O im actually thinking of getting it from amazon or online.. but dont know whether it is genuine or not.
QUOTE(67zai @ Dec 11 2012, 10:05 PM)
wait. ima get the picture of the kind of watch im looking at >.<
#1  Orient ET0P003W
but now at the moment im very interested in this orient wan >.<
Did you just go and look at the price or did you nego seriously? Talk only but no cash they also not interested in giving best price. laugh.gif
Catnip
post Dec 12 2012, 01:30 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 11 2012, 04:31 PM)
Better still hunt for a 5513 tongue.gif
There are some interesting ones for auction at Christie's on December 14th.
Sale 2610 Important Watches
SIGNED ROLEX, OYSTER PERPETUAL, EXPLORER, REF. 1016, CASE NO. 2'119'388, CIRCA 1969
SIGNED ROLEX, OYSTER PERPETUAL, 200M=660FT, SUBMARINER, CASE NO. 1'338'833, REF. 5513, CIRCA 1964
SIGNED ROLEX, OYSTER PERPETUAL DATE, DOUBLE RED SEA-DWELLER, SUBMARINER 2000, 2000FT=610M, SUPERLATIVE CHRONOMETER OFFICIALLY CERTIFIED, REF. 1665, CASE NO. 1'720'913, CIRCA 1967

Anyone interested? biggrin.gif
Catnip
post Dec 13 2012, 02:17 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(arm_audioslave @ Dec 12 2012, 01:36 AM)
im looking for couple watches, around 6-7k for both?any reccomendation?
A pair of Mido?

MIDO M001.431.11.031.92 BELLUNA Gents
MIDO M001.230.11.031.91 BELLUNA Lady

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Dec 12 2012, 06:08 PM)
why is that Submariner so cheap?!!??!?!
surely not 3000-5000 but 30,000-50,000!
Since 5513 is in production from 1963 to 1990, there's probably millions in the market today. Those that fetch high prices that I have seen are military and comex issued watches. I'm not the expert on Rolex and I was hoping that you can enlighten me instead. sweat.gif
Catnip
post Dec 14 2012, 12:43 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(doublezul @ Dec 14 2012, 12:16 AM)
yo guys, whats ur opininion on this SUPERDRY watch >

To put it bluntly, it doesn't whet my whistle.
Catnip
post Dec 15 2012, 11:29 PM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(Akisuki94 @ Dec 14 2012, 11:30 PM)
Bro can any 1 tell me how much is this Watch ?
What do you want the forumers here to do? doh.gif
The link that you posted has the telephone no and email address of the watch company in question. Why don't you call or email that company to find out the price?

In addition, there is a watch shop in AEON Bukit Tinggi that sells J. Bovier watches located on the ground floor. Why not go there tomorrow and ask the price for that watch?
Catnip
post Dec 20 2012, 01:54 AM

1,633 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Dec 19 2012, 10:54 AM)
Surely not an elegant solution but some folks say it doesn't matter, ROO also same approach and doesn't matter since RSC doing the service.

What's your take on this?
Since DD modules are complex and require special tools and calibration with highly restricted parts, I guess that they will just swap the module 1:1. Faster, easier and less headaches. Similar to ETA 8150 module (IIRC RM 2k+) in ETA 2894 during servicing. Or (Highly unlikely) they will send the modules back to the DD factory to be serviced.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0577sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:41 AM