QUOTE(andrewtho @ Nov 2 2012, 07:47 PM)
Its not meant to be flagship model of LG the manufacturer.Its meant to be the flagship of GOOGLE
Google's Nexus 4, built by LG
Nov 2 2012, 08:33 PM
3,026 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: KL, Penang & JB |
Nov 2 2012, 08:34 PM
349 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Sabah\(^∀^)メ(^∀^)ノ |
i take back my word....suddenly fell in love with this lg n4....already has nexus 7, they gonna make love everyday
Nov 2 2012, 08:38 PM
5,936 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: City of Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Nov 2 2012, 08:33 PM) Well, he clearly indicated that he meant LG's flagship model. We all know that Nexus is under Google.Added on November 2, 2012, 8:39 pm QUOTE(joonwei23 @ Nov 2 2012, 08:13 PM) iPhone 4s user here. Google Play store only for US residence no? This is gonna be my first android phone Where are you guys pre-ordering it ? Google play store ? Join the gang, from iPhone to N4. hehe This post has been edited by andrewtho: Nov 2 2012, 08:39 PM |
Nov 2 2012, 08:44 PM
9,590 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: S'wak||KL||SG |
QUOTE(joonwei23 @ Nov 2 2012, 08:13 PM) iPhone 4s user here. This is gonna be my first android phone Where are you guys pre-ordering it ? Google play store ? Unless you're from overseas then sure you can see. Just not in malaysia |
Nov 2 2012, 08:53 PM
739 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
Nov 2 2012, 08:57 PM
14,902 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur & Selangor |
QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Nov 2 2012, 07:14 PM) but they didn't reply lol even if optimus g cheaper or on par with nexus, i still won't choose LG.even the optimus g haven't start selling in malaysia they just said before christmas @@ don't forget optimus g looking forward their price they are very slow in updating OS. In this case, probably making the update available for LG phones. at least for nexus, u get it direct from google. i also coming from apple background the 3gs era this is my first android phone hopefully it is as good as iphone's ownership experience, if not better This post has been edited by Icehart: Nov 2 2012, 08:58 PM |
Nov 2 2012, 09:07 PM
1,299 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Puchong Utama |
QUOTE(Icehart @ Nov 2 2012, 08:57 PM) lol even if optimus g cheaper or on par with nexus, i still won't choose LG. One thing you dont know as you come from apple. they are very slow in updating OS. In this case, probably making the update available for LG phones. at least for nexus, u get it direct from google. i also coming from apple background the 3gs era this is my first android phone hopefully it is as good as iphone's ownership experience, if not better LG only manufacture the hardware of Nexus 4, all the software will come DIRECT from GOOGLE. No involvement of LG anymore. So, u dont need to worry about all the update. This post has been edited by hackcremo: Nov 2 2012, 09:08 PM |
Nov 2 2012, 09:07 PM
1,954 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(Icehart @ Nov 2 2012, 08:57 PM) lol even if optimus g cheaper or on par with nexus, i still won't choose LG. sorry to disappoint u, but if u r talking about services (warranty claim, customer service etc.), not many company can compete with APPLE, especially not small players (mobile products) like LG. but if u r talking about the functionality of the device itself, then u r safe, u will love Nexus devices. and I hunger for LG Nexus for a long time because LG makes (one of) the best hardware on the market, the build quality is tip top (even if it's plastic) and it's IPS screen is better than Samsung's super AMOLED (in my personal opinion), the colour is just amazing and very natural. The worst bit of LG is it's slow updates but being a Nexus, it solves all its flaws. this is the perfect phone for me.they are very slow in updating OS. In this case, probably making the update available for LG phones. at least for nexus, u get it direct from google. i also coming from apple background the 3gs era this is my first android phone hopefully it is as good as iphone's ownership experience, if not better |
Nov 2 2012, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(Icehart @ Nov 2 2012, 08:57 PM) lol even if optimus g cheaper or on par with nexus, i still won't choose LG. they are very slow in updating OS. In this case, probably making the update available for LG phones. at least for nexus, u get it direct from google. i also coming from apple background the 3gs era this is my first android phone hopefully it is as good as iphone's ownership experience, if not better Nexus S vs Galaxy S Nexus vs... Tak tau LG N4 vs LG Optimus G Then Nexus price is set by Google. Say Google sell Nexus at RM1400. Their optimus G cannot be priced much higher than that because ppl will just omit the SD Card slot and get Nexus 4 Say... If Nexus 4 RM1400, Optimus G RM1700... Which one will you guys get? I mean if both is Ori from Local LG |
Nov 2 2012, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(stormlcc @ Nov 2 2012, 09:07 PM) sorry to disappoint u, but if u r talking about services (warranty claim, customer service etc.), not many company can compete with APPLE, especially not small players (mobile products) like LG. but if u r talking about the functionality of the device itself, then u r safe, u will love Nexus devices. and I hunger for LG Nexus for a long time because LG makes (one of) the best hardware on the market, the build quality is tip top (even if it's plastic) and it's IPS screen is better than Samsung's super AMOLED (in my personal opinion), the colour is just amazing and very natural. The worst bit of LG is it's slow updates but being a Nexus, it solves all its flaws. this is the perfect phone for me. Agreed that IPS is better than AMOLED (Super or non Super). Even iPhones use IPS display. AMOLED looks very saturated and blurry at times |
Nov 2 2012, 09:18 PM
1,954 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Nov 2 2012, 09:09 PM) Nexus S vs Galaxy S Nexus vs... Tak tau LG N4 vs LG Optimus G Then Nexus price is set by Google. Say Google sell Nexus at RM1400. Their optimus G cannot be priced much higher than that because ppl will just omit the SD Card slot and get Nexus 4 Say... If Nexus 4 RM1400, Optimus G RM1700... Which one will you guys get? I mean if both is Ori from Local LG |
Nov 2 2012, 09:19 PM
187 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(stormlcc @ Nov 2 2012, 09:07 PM) sorry to disappoint u, but if u r talking about services (warranty claim, customer service etc.), not many company can compete with APPLE, especially not small players (mobile products) like LG. but if u r talking about the functionality of the device itself, then u r safe, u will love Nexus devices. and I hunger for LG Nexus for a long time because LG makes (one of) the best hardware on the market, the build quality is tip top (even if it's plastic) and it's IPS screen is better than Samsung's super AMOLED (in my personal opinion), the colour is just amazing and very natural. The worst bit of LG is it's slow updates but being a Nexus, it solves all its flaws. this is the perfect phone for me. This.I've owned more than 3 LG phones in the past and they all have superior build quality over other brands.One of them survived a toilet bowl drop and washing machine wash. |
Nov 2 2012, 09:19 PM
14,902 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur & Selangor |
QUOTE(hackcremo @ Nov 2 2012, 09:07 PM) One thing you dont know as you come from apple. before apple i own 2 LG phones, KU990 and Secret, two top of the line and flagship phone from LGLG only manufacture the hardware of Nexus 4, all the software will come DIRECT from GOOGLE. No involvement of LG anymore. So, u dont need to worry about all the update. that time their software update is so shitty that it makes their top of line phones laggy and buggy i understand that android comes from google but still if with optimus g i think LG still need to roll out the android update (without 3rd party mod). (i was talking abt lg optimus, not nexus) |
Nov 2 2012, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(andrewtho @ Nov 2 2012, 09:11 PM) Agreed that IPS is better than AMOLED (Super or non Super). Even iPhones use IPS display. AMOLED looks very saturated and blurry at times If you're picky to colour and needs accurate colour, IPS/PLS/SLCD is what you need.But to majority ppl, even though not accurate, those over saturated colours are more pleasing to eyes. Another advantage of SAmoled is response time. LCD technology can only manage fastest 1ms + - response time while SAmoled is at the range of 10us (micro) Actually SAmoled will be good if it's calibrated since it's capable of displaying 140% of the Standard RGB Gamut, means it's capable of displaying all the required colours in media content. It's just displaying too much of them. But I read an article saying that calibration of SAmoled is hard and complex due to the lifespan of each sub pixel of different colour. Anyway, Samsung has proven that even with such over saturated device, its flagship Galaxy S series still sells so well. What's the problem? I'm using Galaxy Nexus which I must say the SAmoled HD (it's the first SA HD anyway) on this is not good enough and the pixel is still noticeable (due to pentile thingy). It should be fixed in GNote 2 SAmoled with the new sub pixel config. Don't mind if tl;dr |
Nov 2 2012, 09:27 PM
5,957 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: www.bitching.asia |
QUOTE(stormlcc @ Nov 2 2012, 09:07 PM) sorry to disappoint u, but if u r talking about services (warranty claim, customer service etc.), not many company can compete with APPLE, especially not small players (mobile products) like LG. but if u r talking about the functionality of the device itself, then u r safe, u will love Nexus devices. and I hunger for LG Nexus for a long time because LG makes (one of) the best hardware on the market, the build quality is tip top (even if it's plastic) and it's IPS screen is better than Samsung's super AMOLED (in my personal opinion), the colour is just amazing and very natural. The worst bit of LG is it's slow updates but being a Nexus, it solves all its flaws. this is the perfect phone for me. sometime we can't blame manufacture also, is due to local distributor policy on claim, after sale service and so on ....i just recall samsung galaxy S with faulty gps (not accurate), when we complaint to local samsung, their response is rude and brainless (they claim they don't make gps chip n satelite), really screw them ... but in UK, US and aus, u can walk in to in samsung dealer and they replace a new working unit ..... that is main different, because our law is strong enoguh to protect purchaser ... |
Nov 2 2012, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Nov 2 2012, 09:21 PM) If you're picky to colour and needs accurate colour, IPS/PLS/SLCD is what you need. That part, is due to Samsung's aggressive marketing strategy. Consumers believed that Super AMOLED is the best display out there, just like how Apple claim about their Retina Display IPS display. Same thing, its just the matter of how well you market product even if they are shitty.But to majority ppl, even though not accurate, those over saturated colours are more pleasing to eyes. Another advantage of SAmoled is response time. LCD technology can only manage fastest 1ms + - response time while SAmoled is at the range of 10us (micro) Actually SAmoled will be good if it's calibrated since it's capable of displaying 140% of the Standard RGB Gamut, means it's capable of displaying all the required colours in media content. It's just displaying too much of them. But I read an article saying that calibration of SAmoled is hard and complex due to the lifespan of each sub pixel of different colour. Anyway, Samsung has proven that even with such over saturated device, its flagship Galaxy S series still sells so well. What's the problem? I'm using Galaxy Nexus which I must say the SAmoled HD (it's the first SA HD anyway) on this is not good enough and the pixel is still noticeable (due to pentile thingy). It should be fixed in GNote 2 SAmoled with the new sub pixel config. Don't mind if tl;dr |
QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Nov 2 2012, 09:27 PM) sometime we can't blame manufacture also, is due to local distributor policy on claim, after sale service and so on .... You mean our law is strong enough to protect seller isit? i just recall samsung galaxy S with faulty gps (not accurate), when we complaint to local samsung, their response is rude and brainless (they claim they don't make gps chip n satelite), really screw them ... but in UK, US and aus, u can walk in to in samsung dealer and they replace a new working unit ..... that is main different, because our law is strong enoguh to protect purchaser ... |
13,192 posts Joined: Jul 2011 From: Middle of Avalon |
QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Nov 2 2012, 09:27 PM) sometime we can't blame manufacture also, is due to local distributor policy on claim, after sale service and so on .... Yup..when buying any Samsung phone..make sure you check EVERYTHING first before take it home. Once you step out from the shop..bye bye for any 1 to 1 replacement policy. Be it from the shop or from Samsung.i just recall samsung galaxy S with faulty gps (not accurate), when we complaint to local samsung, their response is rude and brainless (they claim they don't make gps chip n satelite), really screw them ... but in UK, US and aus, u can walk in to in samsung dealer and they replace a new working unit ..... that is main different, because our law is strong enoguh to protect purchaser ... Btw..how's LG handle warranty claim..is it any good..? |
Nov 2 2012, 09:48 PM
5,957 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: www.bitching.asia |
Nov 2 2012, 10:26 PM
349 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Sabah\(^∀^)メ(^∀^)ノ |