127 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S II Official Thread V37, Jellybean me, maybe?

TS1wildcat1
post Oct 28 2012, 12:03 AM, updated 14y ago

I'm still a n00b :(
1,371 posts

Samsung Galaxy S2

Latest News : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1751529 <- Official 4.0.4 for Galaxy S2 NON-G. News by arslow.

Rules :

1. Strictly no discussions on warez, pirated apps
2. Do NOT ask for links to such apps or links to get free apps which needs to be paid for
3. Do NOT post links or references to such sites that promotes downloads of pirated, cracked, warez apps
4. Please keep the thread CLEAN from such illegal stuffs
5. Any members demands / pirated apps (or of similar nature) will be outright ignored and will attract warning and suspensions from the mods.
6. Posts / assistance given in this thread are on a voluntary basis by the members and please respect that.
7. Readers are advised to try out any suggestions at their own risk.
8. Learn to use "Search Topic" at bottom of each page before asking
9. Read the first post if you have a question before asking here, if you really cannot find the answer, you may ask here smile.gif
10. Posters who spam non-relevant news just to get higher post count will be reported. *cough* Positron *cough*

Specifications :

Previous version of Official Samsung Galaxy S2 Threads

Reviews from Tech Blogs

Video Reviews

Pricing and Availability

TS1wildcat1
post Oct 28 2012, 12:03 AM

1,371 posts

Frequently Asked Questions

Beginners Guide to Galaxy S2?

Super AMOLED Plus Display?

Mass Storage Mode?

Tethering?

NFC (Near Field Communications) Support?

1GB of RAM not shown?

Samsung Galaxy S2 internal memory explanation

Camera Shutter sound?

Samsung Widgets does not appear in other Launchers?

Check Hardware functions and Phone/Battery Information?

Maximize Battery Life?

Wakelocks?

Paid Apps?

Phone not Detected by PC? Installing KIES did not help?

Factory/Hard Reset?

Navigation in Google Maps?

Charging Output?

Apps that are safe to remove?

Deep Sleep?

Data Usage?

File System Used?

Notification LED?

Locked Bootloader?

Nvidia Tegra Zone games?

Titanium Backup?

Nandroid or Titanium?

Overheating Issues?

Back Cover feels flimsy?

List of SEP Dealers in Malaysia?

TS1wildcat1
post Oct 28 2012, 12:04 AM

1,371 posts

Rooting

What is it?

Warranty?

How to Root? (ONLY For the Original Galaxy S2 variant (i9100)

How to Root? (ONLY For the G Variant of the Samsung Galaxy S2 variant (i9100G)

Extra PIT files flashing Knowledge

Recovery/Download Mode?

Difference between Normal Recovery and ClockWorkMod Recovery?

What is ROM/Flashing/FAQ about Flashing?

What is IMEI?

How to Backup your IMEI? (IMPORTANT)

What is Samsung KIES?

USB JIG? What does it really do?

TS1wildcat1
post Oct 28 2012, 12:04 AM

1,371 posts

Samsung Galaxy S2 G Variant

Please note that ROMS made for the Original S2 cannot be flashed with the G version of S2 or you will brick your phone.
Only ROMS made for the G version can be flashed.

List of ROMS for G version?

List of Kernels for G version?

How to fix a Bricked i1900G?

Miscellaneous

Using Pirated Apps?

APN Settings for Malaysia Telco

Comparison between I9100 and I9100G?

How to Full Wipe?

Free Apps from Amazon?

TS1wildcat1
post Oct 28 2012, 12:05 AM

1,371 posts

Users List

Anyone who own this device and would like his/her name in the list, please PM me.

SUSdestEX
post Oct 28 2012, 12:07 AM

oink oink
3,432 posts

Hello v37

and hello there 1wildcat1
mtxx
post Oct 28 2012, 12:08 AM

5,011 posts

You pop out of nowhere n bomb the previous thread when I was replying. Haha. Got a shock topic was locked.
hanknives
post Oct 28 2012, 12:15 AM

252 posts

sII ftw!
Ultima
post Oct 28 2012, 12:19 AM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

Gratz on new thread
yang90
post Oct 28 2012, 12:57 AM

602 posts

congratulation
fwhoam
post Oct 28 2012, 01:50 AM

824 posts

wow. v37. notworthy.gif
still going strong.
thumbup.gif
Harapan
post Oct 28 2012, 06:51 AM

159 posts

No news of the official JB yet?
Twinchest
post Oct 28 2012, 07:07 AM

387 posts

morning wake up and now i'm in new thread. morning....!!! later eat official jellybean at batu 3. heheheheh... s3 already got jellybean. s2 soon...
gin&tonic
post Oct 28 2012, 07:28 AM

4,874 posts

Congrats v37. Jelly Bean or not s2 still rocks.
reijikageyama
post Oct 28 2012, 08:15 AM

whatthingamajigga
1,202 posts

reporting in and good morningggggggg!

wifi still KO sad.gif hope wifi chip is okay so i can replace the resistors
Vcys86
post Oct 28 2012, 09:35 AM

524 posts

yo reporting into new thread~~
SUSaaronsuarez95
post Oct 28 2012, 10:41 AM

huehuehue
721 posts

yay v37
xixo_12
post Oct 28 2012, 10:44 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

Congrats hope for sources
cskean
post Oct 28 2012, 10:51 AM

2,551 posts

Good morning guys, I just updated my firmware via KIES few days ago to the Malaysia 4.0.4.

Now I'm thinking to root my SGS2 since the warranty period is over, but there is something that hold me back after I did some reading from the xda forum.

4.0.4 stock kernel might brick SGS2, does this mean if I intend to root my SGS2, it will hardbrick my phone?

Can I flash to Siyah kernel without having my SGS2 rooted? Or it is a must to root in order to flash other kernel?

I've already download the CF-Root-SGS2_XW_OXI_LPF-v5.5-CWM5.zip from here. Just wondering is this the correct file I'm choosing to root my SGS2?

After update, my info are as below

Andorid version : 4.0.4

Baseband version : I9100DXLPB

Kernel version : 3.0.15-1056084 dpi@HP16 #3 SMP PREEMPT Thu Aug 23 13:50:48 KST 2012

Build number : IMM76D.DXLPF

My intention to root the SGS2 is because I wanted to be able to mod the battery icon , enable the Google Map Navigation, remove some ads and also bloatware from Samsung. At the moment, I will not into the custom rom cause I'm still a noob, so just will stay in stock rom. Therefore I need to clarify few things before I really proceed it.

1. Does the USB JIG still able to remove the Yellow Triangle and reset the Binary counter in ICS?

2. Will I still able to get firmware updates from OTA or KIES if I rooted my SGS2 with stock rom?

3. What are the apps that can be use to remove the bloatware? Does the Titanium Backup free version able to do so?

I will attach a pic of my SGS2 info in case I missed out some of the important info that is needed.

I hope that sifus here can help out a newbie here.

TQVM.

This post has been edited by cskean: Oct 28 2012, 11:15 AM

hysteresis
post Oct 28 2012, 11:31 AM

202 posts

This phone really rocks! Still going strong until now. It's light, ultra thin and just the right screen size. With the strong custom ROM support, don't feel the urge to change at all. Still feel like a new gadget to me everyday with new apps and new ROMs.

127 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0333sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:27 PM