Jun 8 2006, 09:07 AM
1,851 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: kuala lumpur |
how to know it was V5 ??? All new linksys WRT54G is V5 version already? If i want to buy the support DD-WRT router, how to get?
Jun 8 2006, 09:38 AM
5,568 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: the lack of sleep |
QUOTE(jeremy05 @ Jun 8 2006, 09:07 AM) how to know it was V5 ??? All new linksys WRT54G is V5 version already? If i want to buy the support DD-WRT router, how to get? Because V5 is using a different firmware and they started the version number at 1.00 again.Your current firmware version is 1.00 and that indicates that you have a V5. If you had a V4 that can use 3rd party firmware, it will show firmware version 4.xxx |
Jun 8 2006, 10:23 AM
12,925 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
You have two choices , your first choice is of course............Get a JTAG Cable [that itself costs you around RM 200-300 [assuming you're getting from eBay] or buy yourself a WRT54GS v4 [I know , those guys placed a higher price tag , because you its pretty much rare and sooner or later it will be replaced by WRT54GS v5]
Jun 8 2006, 11:50 AM
12,090 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Malaysia |
DD-WRT does support v5 but you will need to use the micro version of DD-WRT and you will require a JTAG cable for flashing though.
Jun 8 2006, 11:53 AM
94 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 8 2006, 10:23 AM) You have two choices , your first choice is of course............Get a JTAG Cable [that itself costs you around RM 200-300 [assuming you're getting from eBay] or buy yourself a WRT54GS v4 [I know , those guys placed a higher price tag , because you its pretty much rare and sooner or later it will be replaced by WRT54GS v5] I already made a remark about this. A JTAG cable will get you nowhere if you can't solder the header on the board. And if you can do that, you also have the skill to make your own JTAG cable. I made my own for 15 RM The big trouble is the header which needs to be soldered properly on both sides of the board. I had to do it 3 times to get it all working. And while you at it, better solder the serial header too then. |
Jun 8 2006, 12:21 PM
157 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: KL |
My previous question, not sure if any of you missed it.
Should I enable the 'Wireless Multimedia Support Settings' under Wireless\Advanced Settings if say I want to stream video from another PC within the next work via WiFi? Rather, what is the purpose of Wireless Multimedia Support? Thanx ya. |
Jun 8 2006, 08:15 PM
2,792 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
i'm can't setup my router.......my aztech 305E modem can't detect my router.....its 'ETH/ACT' light doesn't on and blink at all.....
i tried netset from linksys....but netset cannot detect my router...... but there's a weird thing...even though the aztech modem cannot detect the router...but i can flash the firmware....after i restart the modem...i can't logon to 192.168.1.1.....what's the problem now? Thanks. EDIT: if you all don't mind...i hope that anyone here can give me some advice or tutorial by discussing on MSN:bking_shall@hotmail.com Thanks in advance.. This post has been edited by ANGELING: Jun 8 2006, 08:30 PM |
Jun 10 2006, 03:06 AM
676 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh / Melaka |
Need some help..... My wired based PC cant seem to detect my wireless PC while my wireless PC can detect the wired based PC... what is the problem?
Jun 10 2006, 03:08 AM
ok...now the certain problem fixed.....but my router cannot get the WAN Ip? what's the problem now?
Thanks. |
Jun 10 2006, 03:43 AM
243 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
hi all..
i own wrt54G router. never know about 3rd party firmware. this is my version; ![]() after read along this thread from the 1st page my eyes cannot tahan what firmware version of my router now? i ever upgrade before..forget what previous version. what is the DDWRT is all about? can i flash my router with DDWRT? what advantage if i flash it to my router? will it help improving my internet speed? if i want to flash it, what version of DDWRT should i take? * i used streamyx 1Mb.. but my torent speed max ever reached only 50kB. i did port forwading. just know a litle about QoS when i read this thread. mind to tell more about it? i dont know much about networking things.. |
Jun 10 2006, 09:43 AM
QUOTE what is the DDWRT is all about? A 3rd party firmware QUOTE can i flash my router with DDWRT? Of course , you seem to be using < v5...So its possible » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « You will unlock all those goodies....Extras , you could load software , tons of goodies..Improved Firewall and lots more... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Yep » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Better go with Mini. I suggest everyone to take mini. Unless you want IPV6 Support and Hotspot support [i.e if you plan to open your own Hotspot area]. Mini would do fine www.dd-wrt.com covers everything. Read their wiki as well ! |
Jun 10 2006, 09:44 AM
4,038 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Earth |
I received an email a few weeks back that asked me to see whether I could determine whether Linksys' WRT54G V5 wireless router is really as bad as users seem to have found it to be. For those of you unfamiliar with the situation, here's a short synopsis.
Linksys, like most consumer networking companies, constantly evolves the design of its products. Some changes are for cost reduction, others for performance reasons and others for reasons known only to the company. At any rate, these companies seem to think that consumers need not be concerned with the changes, since they in most cases don't change the model number of the product. The WRT54G wireless router is probably one of Linksys' top five most popular products, with sales volumes in the "hundreds of thousands per month" according to this LinuxDevices article. It is Linux-based and also is probably the #1 "hacked" consumer networking product, with numerous alternative firmware distros available including Sveasoft, HyperWRT, Ewrt, DD-WRT, and OpenWrt. Although loading any of them voids the product warranty, enough users have found the risk worth it due to the features they provide. Some simply provide access to transmit power settings, while others add features not available with Linksys' code. For whatever reason, with the V5, Linksys decided to remove the hackability "feature", switching to the proprietary VxWorks embedded operating system that is used in other consumer networking products. The V5 also halves the amount of both RAM and flash memory to 8 and 2 MB respectively, which according to the LinuxDevices article lets Linksys come out ahead in cost reduction even with the additional cost of the VxWorks license fee. The reduced memory also serves as a deterrent for hackers who might want to find a way around the new bootloader. The change didn't sit well with enough of Linksys' customers that the company responded to the outcry and created the WRT54GL (L for "Linux"), which is still loadable with alternative firmware. At the time of announcement, Linksys said it wouldn't guarantee how long the "L" would be available. But apparently it's popular enough that it has progressed to a "V1.1" version. http://www.tomsnetworking.com/2006/06/08/l...a_lousy_router/ |
Jun 10 2006, 09:56 AM
1,276 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: ..in your heart 中心 Status: Blessed |
Jun 10 2006, 11:03 AM
243 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
i use to video conference and torrent..
and i also share my wireless with my housemates. is it ok if i use mini? if i have flash it with mini..can i flash it back to original firmware later? or flash it with other than mini? what the different; micro,mini,standard,voip,vpn? This post has been edited by mokh: Jun 10 2006, 11:05 AM |
Jun 10 2006, 11:37 AM
nobody can help me? please......
my WAN IP is now 0.0.0.0......what should i do? This post has been edited by ANGELING: Jun 10 2006, 11:39 AM |
Jun 10 2006, 02:57 PM
ANGELING : PPPoE ?..How are you connected to the Net..I had this problem..I restarted and just set it up again
mokh : Read the old posts...Many people have explained it...and check the Wiki out as well [DD-WRT's wiki] mini - Pretty much has all the stuff you need...Improved QoS , Wireless booster , etc. It gives end users some storage space so they can load program Standard - Has Hotspot stuff and IPV6 , SD Card support + stuffs from mini VOIP - The name says it all as well VPN - The name says it all as well micro- Meant for V5 - Linksys WRT54G... Just go with mini. Please read the wiki , and I suggest to read from the first page till the last page of this thread [if possible]. DD-WRT.com covers everything you want , just click on WiKi and read from A-Z...Then flash |
Jun 10 2006, 03:04 PM
i've to choose PPopE to connect with the modem and to the internet as well?
so..i just type my streamyx registered password and username there? |
Jun 10 2006, 03:07 PM
Of course , just type it there and hit Save Settings. It should do the rest...
Jun 10 2006, 03:23 PM
12,090 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(kev_neville @ Jun 10 2006, 03:06 AM) Need some help..... My wired based PC cant seem to detect my wireless PC while my wireless PC can detect the wired based PC... what is the problem? Use the PC with wireless card and ping to the PC with wired LAN and see, if it shows back destination host unreachable then the problem is most likely that there is a firewall at the PC with wired LAN blocking incoming connections. |
| Change to: | 0.0259sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:09 PM |