214 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career, place where grease monkeys gather

gambit88
post Jul 13 2008, 02:01 PM

40 posts

biggrin.gif FOr a fresh grad, if u want to get a break in the O&G:

-Decide what u would like to do in the O&G,it's a wide variety: upstream,downstream, in details;-piping,electrical,insturment,procurement,equipment specialist suppliers,drilling, etc etc

Once u decide, try to apply for the relevant companies. Now, Don't give up hope even the relevant companies dun give u an answer. U should also TRY smaller companies,as a stepping stone, they r great places to get into O&G & if they r willing to accept freshies & give them the training,, go for it!

Even if u didn't get to do what u wanted,,,its ALRIGHT.Start with other companies in the O&G, as long as u r related to the industry, u will get a preference compared to others from other industries. I've been to quite a few interviews where the company is doing something totally different from wat i do, & the REASON i was shortlisted: Because I m in the O&G.

There are many opportunites around in Msia, don't think about the pay first when u start out,as long as its a decent figure, its OK. Think about the prospects & your goal.

As for foreign countries, of course it will b nice if u have the permit to work there. But they will mostly shortlist ppl with experience & really worth their effort to bring over to their country. If the company really needs your skills, I m sure they can help u in documentations. For a freshie, y not try Msia companies first? biggrin.gif
triad
post Jul 13 2008, 04:01 PM

356 posts

Yup as gambitt said

Try giant comp like exxon,shell,murphy and please state ur preference in ur resume;eg exploration and production,drilling division,etc.Theese comp looking for best of the best graduate,think of high cgpa from reputation U.Certain U need 3.5 but some U they can accept 3 it merely depends on what U did u graduate.Expect tough interview stage.

If ur qualification is a lil bit low,try service company first,some like halliburton,technip,etc..They merely not look ur qualification if u can tailor ur CV nicely.Soft skill are really dependent during interview process.This type of company salary a lil bit small but it depends.Training mostly at their origin country.

Then if ur qualification are so-so try our local o&g company,some like mmc ong,sime,kenchana..etc..they still need staff right,just send ur resume and state where ur position in details.Salary is quite high compare with other industries.

The tricks;please find 'org dalam'..u dun need them to pass ur resume (if they can,u should do it),but to know what is the vacant place and tailor ur CV right,state clearly at the header of ur CV.It works.

Nway, i just graduated,might find a new job.All my comments based on my fren who work in o&g comp (schlumberger,petronas,scomi,mmc,kenchana,halliburton,exxon,murphy and of course PETRONAS)
NicholasG5
post Jul 13 2008, 06:08 PM

114 posts

I'm an IT fresh grad. Is there any way/company that is hiring IT grads currently? And what should I do to get high pay?
ubanlai
post Jul 13 2008, 07:55 PM

24 posts

thanks for the info.

can you list down more service related companies? nevermind they are local or multinational.

really appreciate it.

=)
mahsiuling
post Jul 13 2008, 09:22 PM

71 posts

With recent oil price hike, working at oil related companies seems to be sooooo gooooood....!!!
allenultra
post Jul 13 2008, 09:32 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(NicholasG5 @ Jul 13 2008, 06:08 PM)
I'm an IT fresh grad. Is there any way/company that is hiring IT grads currently? And what should I do to get high pay?
Schlumberger IT, they offer high pay.
They moving their office to Rohas Perkasa soon.

With recent oil price hike, working at oil related companies seems to be sooooo gooooood....!!!

Number of projects are lesser nowadays, fresh grad harder to find jobs, economic recession ? rclxub.gif
NicholasG5
post Jul 13 2008, 09:41 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Jul 13 2008, 10:32 PM)
Schlumberger IT, they offer high pay.
They moving their office to Rohas Perkasa soon.
But SLB only take programmers right? or do they take people for other IT related jobs like network engineer as well?

How to apply for a job there other than through their website? Can I go directly to Rohas Perkasa and ask?
kslee79
post Jul 13 2008, 10:01 PM

452 posts

Don't have answer to all your questions dude, barely know anyone in that division yet (ProductionQuest)...

This post has been edited by kslee79: Jul 13 2008, 10:04 PM
gambit88
post Jul 14 2008, 04:25 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(kslee79 @ Jul 13 2008, 10:01 PM)
Don't have answer to all your questions dude, barely know anyone in that division yet (ProductionQuest)...
Its no problem, just sharing what i found out from my 'chat' session.
Thanks kslee for your info, really appreciate it. Look forward to becoming baker colleagues with ya!

I also have a interview for Baker Atlas Malaysia coming up on 22nd. This should be for a wireline logging position.
I saw from previous posts that succesful candidates will be sent to trainings where many tests will be given & if u dun pass a certain amount, u will ultimately be FIRED! Is that true? What are the rates of ppl passing?50-50?
Another fren told me this wireline logging job is much tougher physically & mentally compared to him doing MWD in Halli. He also remarked that he wouldn't take it unless there is really no choice! haha,,,,
Anyone like to share on this?

Added on July 14, 2008, 5:23 am
QUOTE(mahsiuling @ Jul 13 2008, 09:22 PM)
smile.gif Well, U have to know what u would like to do. I have seen for myself it could really prove otherwise!

The O&G sector is very busy now,,,depending on what u do n where u work, this would mean LOTS of overtimes, no life but work,work,work,huge amounts of responsibilities, very high expectations & high levels of STRESS!

Guess what? This jobs are with NO Overtime claims,no extra money for working weekends & public holidays,non-impressive salaries & increments,low outstation allowances,no good sleep,broken relationships & more.

What u've been hearing from are ONLY impressive remarks by ppl working for the few big players. What u have NOT heard are thousands of other ppl in Msia working for hundreds of other O&G related companies out there. IN fact,i boldly say that people working in other sectors:IT, Banking,Finance,Accounts,Semicon etc can earn better, have more benefits & able to lead a more balanced life compared to these poor souls in the O&G

Y i say that? Because I have been there & seen it. I spent a good amount of time working for big O&G related companies both local & MNC. Thankfully, things are starting to go the way I want only now. I still pity those poor souls whom I've worked & met b4 who are still doing what they do for that pitiful amount of money.
These poor souls are the very same ppl who just goes into anything O&G related but just stuck there because they do not know of where they would like to be otherwise. Obviously if they know better, they wouldnt still be there!

For those who are just interested to get into anything O&G related, pls take what I said above seriously & be prepared to take all the shit with a lower pay than u think u should deserve. There are still many good companies in respective fields who pays better & give u a better life.
Do not expect to get what ppl from the big players get bcos there really aren't many of them around & this is a very specialised industry. If u do get in, then congrats.

As for those who would like to be somewhere but still not there yet, I encourage u not to give up,try ur best in what u get, n look for any opportunites to get to the place u want.

I still stand firmly to what I said earlier, know where u like to be & what u would like to do in the O&G industry. I sincerely do not like to see anyone ending up as the MAJORITY of the poor souls in the O&G industry when u could have done better elsewhere especially after reading this. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by gambit88: Jul 14 2008, 05:23 AM
dr_farnz
post Jul 14 2008, 09:08 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(gambit88 @ Jul 14 2008, 04:25 AM)
Its no problem, just sharing what i found out from my 'chat' session.
Thanks kslee for your info, really appreciate it. Look forward to becoming baker colleagues with ya!

I also have a interview for Baker Atlas Malaysia coming up on 22nd. This should be for a wireline logging position.
I saw from previous posts that succesful candidates will be sent to trainings where many tests will be given & if u dun pass a certain amount, u will ultimately be FIRED! Is that true? What are the rates of ppl passing?50-50?
Another fren told me this wireline logging job is much tougher physically & mentally compared to him doing MWD in Halli. He also remarked that he wouldn't take it unless there is really no choice! haha,,,,

Added on July 14, 2008, 5:23 am

smile.gif Well, U have to know what u would like to do. I have seen for myself it could really prove otherwise!

The O&G sector is very busy now,,,depending on what u do n where u work, this would mean LOTS of overtimes, no life but work,work,work,huge amounts of responsibilities, very high expectations & high levels of STRESS!

Guess what? This jobs are with NO Overtime claims,no extra money for working weekends & public holidays,non-impressive salaries & increments,low outstation allowances,no good sleep,broken relationships & more.

What u've been hearing from are ONLY impressive remarks by ppl working for the few big players. What u have NOT heard are thousands of other ppl in Msia working for hundreds of other O&G related companies out there. IN fact,i boldly say that people working in other sectors:IT, Banking,Finance,Accounts,Semicon etc can earn better, have more benefits &  able to lead a more balanced life compared to these poor souls in the O&G

Y i say that? Because I have been there & seen it. I spent a good amount of time working for big O&G related companies both local & MNC. Thankfully, things are starting to go the way I want only now. I still pity those poor souls whom I've worked & met b4 who are still doing what they do for that pitiful amount of money.
These poor souls are the very same ppl who just goes into anything O&G related but just stuck there because they do not know of where they would like to be otherwise. Obviously if they know better, they wouldnt still be there!

For those who are just interested to get into anything O&G related, pls take what I said above seriously & be prepared to take all the shit with a lower pay than u think u should deserve. There are still many good companies in respective fields who pays better & give u a better life.
Do not expect to get what ppl from the big players get bcos there really aren't many of them around & this is a very specialised industry. If u do get in, then congrats.

As for those who would like to be somewhere but still not there yet, I encourage u not to give up,try ur best in what u get, n look for any opportunites to get to the place u want.

I still stand firmly to what I said earlier, know where u like to be & what u would like to do in the O&G industry. I sincerely do not like to see anyone ending up as the MAJORITY of the poor souls in the O&G industry when u could have done better elsewhere especially after reading this. notworthy.gif

Added on July 14, 2008, 9:15 amHI all forumers....

I'm now waiting like hell for my OFS 1..I dunno where it will be held since the last one was held in kl..somewhere in end of june...I miss it coz by my medical report pending...(kantoi on BMI)...so be carefull for those who obese...huhuhu...

ok lets started...I was offer by Western Geco who is also schlumberger owns. A position of Trainee Acquisition Specialist.I need to work 5weeks offshore and 5weeks on break...I will be paid 18000USD per annum@allowance not included..if included it would be more then my salary.lol

SO any f u guys get offered by Western Geco...

cheers... icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by dr_farnz: Jul 14 2008, 09:15 AM
riolala
post Jul 14 2008, 10:53 AM

QUOTE(gambit88 @ Jul 14 2008, 04:25 AM)

gambit88,

i am currently working in wireline logging service co. as field engr. FEs need to be working on site, either offshore or onshore. u need to do all the heavy works i.e. lift all the heavy tools, connect them, rig 'em up/down, n u need to cooperate with all the wireline assistants and operators in preparing wireline tools i.e. BOP etc. that's why FEs are paid much higher than other positions. in short, get your hands dirty!

i love my job anyway thumbup.gif

Added on July 14, 2008, 11:12 am
QUOTE(dr_farnz @ Jul 14 2008, 09:08 AM)

I'm now waiting like hell for my OFS 1..I dunno where it will be held since the last one was held in kl..somewhere in end of june...I miss it coz by my medical report pending...(kantoi on BMI)...so be carefull for those who obese...huhuhu...

ok  lets started...I was offer by Western Geco who is also schlumberger owns. A position of Trainee Acquisition Specialist.I need to work 5weeks offshore and 5weeks on break...I will be paid 18000USD per annum@allowance not included..if included it would be more then my salary.lol

cheers... icon_idea.gif
dr_farnz,

my fren juz got an offer from SLB's western geco, land jr seismic engineer, to be based in Egypt... will report duty today. her basic is USD 3,200/month with 4 weeks work + 4 weeks break.

also i have a fren ex-Slb somewhere in US (senior field engineer), been working there for 4 yrs+. but he juz resigned 'coz he cud not handle the pressure working with 'em. no life, no rest at all! after came back from offshore (for a month) at 10am, he got a call to perform another job at another platform (offshore again). his chopper at 10pm on the same day!! and during the 4 weeks break, there was no break at all. he was assigned to other region i.e. Africa. after that came back to base. life goes on... sweat.gif

p/s: haven't heard the experience from western geco cool2.gif

This post has been edited by riolala: Jul 14 2008, 11:12 AM
tkhpeng
post Jul 14 2008, 11:29 AM

91 posts

Dont think that working in O&G is as good as you think, unless you are in Upstream, maybe compare to CSA those company is true, O&G give you better salary, bonus and training. I'm working in world largest O&G company and going to resign soon cause better offer in Penang.

*Just my 2cents advise, in Malaysia they had same practise like Petronas, only Mal*y will get higher opportunity, dont believe, you can look at supervisor/manager level it is less than 15%. compare to Mal*y race.
their race promotion like rocket 3 years can get supervisor pos, but for other races work until 10 years+ also hard to get team leader pos, here got alot chinese uncle working more than 10 years also position. Indian work for contract 6 years baru convert to employee.

Good thing here very relax, just follow thier step, but later or sooner you will get lazy. year end you also can get 2 months bonus as well smile.gif
enkadirmainbola
post Jul 14 2008, 12:05 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(dr_farnz @ Jul 14 2008, 09:08 AM)

ok  lets started...I was offer by Western Geco who is also schlumberger owns. A position of Trainee Acquisition Specialist.I need to work 5weeks offshore and 5weeks on break...I will be paid 18000USD per annum@allowance not included..if included it would be more then my salary.lol

cheers... icon_idea.gif
Let's hope you'll be assigned to a vessel in Australia.. due to some sort of law they have, WG is required to pay a min of USD2000 base salary. That means more money for you brader!!

Truth be told though.. I personally think WG is the best segment to work in SLB (of course this statement is slightly biased since I'm with WG..hihi). Sure we don't make as much money as ppl in Wireline or D&M but we get more vacation days as we've got the 5/5 rotation...compare this to International Mobile people who work for months on end in some remote location and only get 3-4 weeks off. At least you won't completely miss everything back home. Since we're also on International Commuter status there's a fair bit of traveling involved which is nice. The working hours are not as grueling too as we're only required to work 12 hrs a day..

(I am in no way dissing the IM guys ok.. I know you guys make enough money per annum to give like a 1,000,000 kids free vaccinations)

And being stuck out in the middle of the ocean isn't so bad if you've got a nice boat and a great crew.. BBQ's on the helideck, watching DVDs in the theater room, working out in the gym, playing video games in the dayroom, stargazing on the bridge (you ain't seen nothing if you've never seen the sky on a cloudless, moonless night)

Ok enough gloating.. I'm gonna shut up now.
gambit88
post Jul 14 2008, 02:44 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(riolala @ Jul 14 2008, 10:53 AM)
gambit88,

i am currently working in wireline logging service co. as field engr. FEs need to be working on site, either offshore or onshore. u need to do all the heavy works i.e. lift all the heavy tools, connect them, rig 'em up/down, n u need to cooperate with all the wireline assistants and operators in preparing wireline tools i.e. BOP etc. that's why FEs are paid much higher than other positions. in short, get your hands dirty!

i love my job anyway  thumbup.gif
Riolala,

Care to share more info:-Where are u based, How long have u been a FE in wireline,how are the rates & the company u work for?

I would like to know how are the rates for wireline FE as FE packages differ between each Baker units.
I heard certain companies give by higher than average salary,a small daily offshore allowance & most of the money from a percentage of the contract offer. How is it like with yours?
Which is a better package: Percentage of contract offer per job or A good daily offshore allowance?

comat
post Jul 14 2008, 02:55 PM

59 posts

For those who are working with BH

However,I hope you don't mind to explain to me regarding below issue:

1- How is the interview like?I mean, how is the format,i.e
5 panels and 1 candidate.or there is a discussion of 5-6 person.Cause
different company use different style of conducting interview.

2-Can you brief me how the employment process,is there any 3rd stage
interview after this face2face interview?

3-During the interview,what are the panels expect from the candidate?

4-During the interview,is there any writing test ?

Comat

EddyHyip
post Jul 14 2008, 05:12 PM

361 posts

I'm currently final year in Chemical Engineering. Many mentioned working offshore for 2-4 weeks and then have break for the next 2-4 weeks. Is the company so good? I mean during the break, aren't you suppose to work onshore.

The high pay i assume already substitute your distant from family and your day off sacrifices as well during working weeks.

I am keen to join oil and gas but nevertheless, always keep every options open

Peace

syyang85
post Jul 14 2008, 09:34 PM

982 posts

Thank you for your recent application expressing interest in opportunities with Shell.

We have carefully reviewed your application with interest. Unfortunately we do not have a suitable position for you now. However, if a position suitable for you appears within the next 12 months from the date of your application, we will get in touch with you.

sad
gambit88
post Jul 14 2008, 10:44 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(syyang85 @ Jul 14 2008, 09:34 PM)
sad
Don't be. You gotta get used to it until there's not much feeling left when u get this emails rolleyes.gif
kslee79
post Jul 15 2008, 01:27 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(EddyHyip @ Jul 14 2008, 10:12 AM)
I'm currently final year in Chemical Engineering. Many mentioned working offshore for 2-4 weeks and then have break for the next 2-4 weeks. Is the company so good? I mean during the break, aren't you suppose to work onshore.

The high pay i assume already substitute your distant from family and your day off sacrifices as well during working weeks.

I am keen to join oil and gas but nevertheless, always keep every options open

Peace
Seow meh brother - try work 6 weeks straight (42 days, no weekend off) in the middle of the dessert or ocean, then you tell me whether you still want to go work during your 4 weeks break!!! Onshore / back home = NO WORK!

Added on July 15, 2008, 1:36 am
QUOTE(comat @ Jul 14 2008, 07:55 AM)
For those who are working with BH

However,I hope you don't mind to explain to me regarding below issue:

1- How is the interview like?I mean, how is the format,i.e
5 panels and 1 candidate.or there is a discussion of 5-6 person.Cause
different company use different style of conducting interview.

2-Can you brief me how the employment process,is there any 3rd stage
interview after this face2face interview?

3-During the interview,what are the panels expect from the candidate?

4-During the interview,is there any writing test ?

Comat
I would say that an excellent command of conversational English is essential during the interview, since being realistic, you will have to work with a bunch of Mat Salleh on the rig, and most often than not, you'll have to mix in that rowdy bunch of hicks. If your English is excellent, it will show especially at being confident in conversation.

My interview with Baker Hughes INTEQ 3 years ago, was fairly informal. I only had interview appointment twice. So, the best is to be prepared for any circumstances, be it formal, informal, over a coffee (maybe) or even with written exams. It depends a lot on the manager who is doing the hiring. Usually there is at least 2 person, one from HR, two person representing that particular department.

I would rather say that a proactive and confident attitude helps and being a good listener would be a merit. High GPA from a reputable uni is definitely a plus, but you must be prepared to back up your claims in your resume/cover letter with some solid case history of prior work/school/intern experience...

Come prepared, research the industry sector BHI is in, as well as the company's history, strong point, and perhaps some weak points too. It gives you brownie points that you did your homework. Lastly, be yourself! Don't be too tensed, as I am sure that your interviewers just want to know the 'real you' more.

This post has been edited by kslee79: Jul 15 2008, 01:36 AM
Shinichi
post Jul 15 2008, 08:24 AM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

Just curious, are there any O&G company in Penang?

214 Pages « < 58 59 60 61 62 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:16 AM