Jay Chua CC
post Jan 30 2013, 06:56 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

QUOTE(antzz @ Jan 30 2013, 01:48 PM)
Casualty in turtle tank :

Casualty in turtle tank : The pump wire being bitten by Fly the PNT. Naughty guy indeed. When i touched the water, it feels like an electric shock! I tried several times and still the same. Sheesh.. it hurts. Surprisingly the PNT and all feeder fishes seem normal, no sign of stress let alone shocks.

I tried to nurse the wounded wire by applying thick tapes, but to no avail, still feels electricity in water. Well, maybe its time for a new pump. Or i'll just use normal powerhead pump (for top filters). Lower flowrate though  sad.gif
Before tis is submersible pump? More power means higher suction power?
antzz
post Jan 30 2013, 07:47 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 30 2013, 06:56 PM)
Before tis is submersible pump? More power means higher suction power?
Yep, the old unused submersible pump 40w @2000L/Hr, Tsurumi brand. Pic :

Pic of turtle temporary tank setup :

Early installation

The pump keep changing places as my PNT constantly played with it. Then i put it in plastic ware, to prevent wire biting as well.

Today it proves that u cant trust a turtle with something chewa-bitable. My bad as well, i should've used a taller ware to provide full-protection. So currently i just used 18w normal powerhead pump (actually for top filter). By math, it is less than half the power of former submersible pump.

Jay Chua CC
post Jan 30 2013, 07:58 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(antzz @ Jan 30 2013, 07:47 PM)
Yep, the old unused submersible pump 40w @2000L/Hr, Tsurumi brand. Pic :

Pic of turtle temporary tank setup :

Early installation

The pump keep changing places as my PNT constantly played with it. Then i put it in plastic ware, to prevent wire biting as well.

Today it proves that u cant trust a turtle with something chewa-bitable. My bad as well, i should've used a taller ware to provide full-protection. So currently i just used 18w normal powerhead pump (actually for top filter). By math, it is less than half the power of former submersible pump.

Submersible pump has greater suction power tn n powrhead? Wil suck al the fish poops? Haha
antzz
post Jan 30 2013, 08:06 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 30 2013, 07:58 PM)
Submersible pump has greater suction power tn n powrhead? Wil suck al the fish poops? Haha
If u looking for greater power, consider this from Shanda

Notice that the SDP10000A has about 10 times more wattage/ flowrate than normal powerhead top-filter pump. Imagine a pump that powerful, a LFS once said he dare not test a powerful pond pump in his shop, scared the output water will ruin his ceiling LOL laugh.gif

This post has been edited by antzz: Jan 30 2013, 08:08 PM
Jay Chua CC
post Jan 30 2013, 08:24 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(antzz @ Jan 30 2013, 08:06 PM)
If u looking for greater power, consider this from Shanda

Notice that the SDP10000A has about 10 times more wattage/ flowrate than normal powerhead top-filter pump. Imagine a pump that powerful, a LFS once said he dare not test a powerful pond pump in his shop, scared the output water will ruin his ceiling LOL  laugh.gif
Weh, bro, im nt digging apond in my house to use that. Hahaha. Btw, my powehead is shanda too. Xp
antzz
post Jan 30 2013, 08:28 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 30 2013, 08:24 PM)
Weh, bro, im nt digging apond in my house to use that. Hahaha. Btw, my powehead is shanda too. Xp
U dont have to apply into a pond to use a 4500L/Hr pump. I'm using that on my aquarium biggrin.gif

BTW what model is ur shanda powerhead? May this pic help? tongue.gif

Trust me bro, if ure going further in this hobby, u'll crave for a bigger tank, higher flow power brows.gif

This post has been edited by antzz: Jan 30 2013, 08:29 PM
awansakti
post Jan 30 2013, 08:30 PM

50 posts

Wowowow all this sump and trickle filter talk makes me wanna revise my traditional top filter system to a new one
Jay Chua CC
post Jan 30 2013, 08:38 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(antzz @ Jan 30 2013, 08:28 PM)
U dont have to apply into a pond to use a 4500L/Hr pump. I'm using that on my aquarium biggrin.gif

BTW what model is ur shanda powerhead? May this pic help? tongue.gif

Trust me bro, if ure going further in this hobby, u'll crave for a bigger tank, higher flow power brows.gif
Yea, is in the pic! Haha. If use tat submeraible pump, wil all the food(pellets whic is given to the fish is suck before is eaten?
antzz
post Jan 30 2013, 09:00 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(awansakti @ Jan 30 2013, 08:30 PM)
Wowowow all this sump and trickle filter talk makes me wanna revise my traditional top filter system to a new one
brows.gif

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 30 2013, 08:38 PM)
Yea, is in the pic! Haha. If use tat submeraible pump, wil all the food(pellets whic is given to the fish is suck before is eaten?
Too much flowrate and strong current of water will surely suck the pellets. High power sump is not recommended to put in main tank. I put mine in filter tank.

Come to think again, having a tank /pond is a different kind of enjoyment and exp biggrin.gif
Jay Chua CC
post Jan 30 2013, 09:17 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(antzz @ Jan 30 2013, 09:00 PM)
brows.gif
Too much flowrate and strong current of water will surely suck the pellets. High power sump is not recommended to put in main tank. I put mine in filter tank.

Come to think again, having a tank /pond is a different kind of enjoyment and exp biggrin.gif
Wats the diff between filter tank main tank?for u, wats the best filter for a 2.5 ft tank? hmm.gif for me, i lk a tank better coz i can see almost everything in my tank. XD
TSgenielee_83
post Jan 31 2013, 08:01 AM

120 posts

My acrylic compartments:
a set of 3 tier x 3
a set of 3 tier x 2

less than RM150 for two.

I saw off the blocking panel (the blue plastic tank cover yet thecompartment cant fit. so i just put directly on the tank. Sambung top filter head dulu.
Will look for sub power head later.
heavy bio-loads..hmm maybe 25oo L/hr might work for my 4ft.
what says you guy?
My fishes are slow, so will not go extreme for gushing effect
AiezentX
post Jan 31 2013, 09:49 AM

which 1 better?

user posted image or user posted image ...
i want try make DIY filter but no time to do (lazy i guess lol) + scare leaking 1 when im not around... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by AiezentX: Jan 31 2013, 09:50 AM
antzz
post Jan 31 2013, 02:54 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 30 2013, 09:17 PM)
Wats the diff between filter tank  main tank?for u, wats the best filter for a 2.5 ft tank?  hmm.gif  for me, i lk a tank better  coz i can see almost everything in my tank. XD
Filter tank is the one underneath ur aquarium, where u put ur sump filter in. For a 2.5ft tank, i think top-filter should do the job. The one to look for upgrade (if ure up to it), is the powerhead pump power.

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Jan 31 2013, 08:01 AM)
My acrylic compartments:
a set of 3 tier x 3
a set of 3 tier x 2

less than RM150 for two.

I saw off the blocking panel (the blue plastic tank cover yet thecompartment cant fit. so i just put directly on the tank. Sambung top filter head dulu.
Will look for sub power head later.
heavy bio-loads..hmm maybe 25oo L/hr might work for my 4ft.
what says you guy?
My fishes are slow, so will not go extreme for gushing effect
Picture tells a thousand word sis biggrin.gif

2500L/Hr sounds ok, especially if the position of tank is not high. But i think u should go for something a bit more, as i'm using a 3000L/Hr for my mom's 4' tank. A former Tsurumi 2000L/Hr was proven too slow to maintain the water quality.

QUOTE(AiezentX @ Jan 31 2013, 09:49 AM)
which 1 better?

i want try make DIY filter but no time to do (lazy i guess lol) + scare leaking 1 when im not around... whistling.gif
The one in white colour looks good and spacey. How about the flowrate power?
awansakti
post Jan 31 2013, 06:49 PM

50 posts

Anyone looking for arapaima?2 4" of them for rm200 each at nearby lfs here
Jay Chua CC
post Jan 31 2013, 07:25 PM

5,907 posts

[quote=antzz,Jan 31 2013, 02:54 PM]
Filter tank is the one underneath ur aquarium, where u put ur sump filter in. For a 2.5ft tank, i think top-filter should do the job. The one to look for upgrade (if ure up to it), is the powerhead pump power.
Picture tells a thousand word sis biggrin.gif

Kkk. The top filter box's size doesnt matter if big or small, is stil the same ryte? Higher power powerhead will cause a 'tornado' in my tank or nt? blink.gif
PhisherSam
post Jan 31 2013, 10:22 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(awansakti @ Jan 31 2013, 06:49 PM)
Area? I'm interested drool.gif
awansakti
post Jan 31 2013, 11:39 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(PhisherSam @ Jan 31 2013, 10:22 PM)
Area? I'm interested  drool.gif
Rasah, seremban. There's another one in ampangan area rm400 for ~8"
AiezentX
post Feb 1 2013, 12:00 AM

QUOTE(awansakti @ Jan 31 2013, 06:49 PM)
size 2-4inch??dammm almost forget the dream to have that monster,dun bring it up.... cry.gif
awansakti
post Feb 1 2013, 12:27 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(AiezentX @ Feb 1 2013, 12:00 AM)
size 2-4inch??dammm almost forget the dream to have that monster,dun bring it up.... cry.gif
Bang, 2 ekor. Saiz lebih kurang 4inci. Sekor rm200 kihkih. Mula2 dia label kat tank tu alligator gar rm35. I asked to make sure they're not making a mistake cause they know their stuff quite well(manatau tersalah jual for rm35 i will buy both hahaha)
AiezentX
post Feb 1 2013, 03:58 AM

QUOTE(awansakti @ Feb 1 2013, 12:27 AM)
Bang, 2 ekor. Saiz lebih kurang 4inci. Sekor rm200 kihkih. Mula2 dia label kat tank tu alligator gar rm35. I asked to make sure they're not making a mistake cause they know their stuff quite well(manatau tersalah jual for rm35 i will buy both hahaha)
zzzz.....should grab 1st if rm35....then sell to me rm50...heheheh,im checking pasar pudu today....

133 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:46 AM