Primitive Fish V2, Fish that survived Milleniums

PhisherSam
post Jan 3 2013, 07:46 PM

13 posts

Hi there, I'm new to this forum. I just want to know will its right fin grow back?

What might have caused its tail to turn white? The aquarium fish store that I went told me it's because of temperature and asked me to add some yellow treatment syrup and some anti-bacterial salt into the water. Will it really work?

Added on January 3, 2013, 7:51 pmWhere can I get those baby arapaimas? How much would it cost? I'm really interested.

This post has been edited by PhisherSam: Jan 3 2013, 07:51 PM
PhisherSam
post Jan 9 2013, 04:18 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(antzz @ Jan 7 2013, 06:48 PM)
lol. where in the world got that kind of pricing.. i mean 10 cents per fish la.. Sometimes got 12 for rm1. Ur seluang fish how many can get for rm1?
I buy feeder fish from big farm cost around 3-5 cents per piece depending on size. They call it leko or low grade carp fry or something like that. I found out that some species of bichirs only active and eat at night and some are active all the time.
PhisherSam
post Jan 10 2013, 08:45 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(antzz @ Jan 9 2013, 05:39 PM)
I think its lee koh, low grade carp fries, yes. 5 cents per piece, minimum how many units can buy? AFAIK, can only got that price from farms that sell in bulk, like 1000 fries or more.
I bought twice. First time I bought bigger than 1 inch ones and they charge me 5 cents per piece, I took 800 pieces. Yesterday my cousin help me go buy, I ask him take those smaller than 1 inch ones because I got myself some small/young bichirs. This time it's around 3 cents and I bought 900 pieces. I'm not sure if there's any minimum amount.
PhisherSam
post Jan 10 2013, 11:03 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(antzz @ Jan 10 2013, 08:49 AM)
Buy so much amount, u must have temporary tank to house them before moving into predator tank, right?
QUOTE(awansakti @ Jan 10 2013, 07:18 PM)
mesti save byk duit boleh beli more bichir hehe. temporary tank is how big?many of them mati x?
Nope, don't have tank, place them in those "tong biru" where factories keep their chemicals and most of them dies. Everyday throw those dead ones give tortoises to eat. Still figuring how to lower the death rate. Maybe next time separate put into few tong biru and change the pipe water to river water. This time de die more (>300 today) maybe because 100% pipe water + anti chlorine. Hmm... Any idea?

QUOTE(AiezentX @ Jan 10 2013, 06:42 PM)
fuhhh...ur pet should proud got u as owner...got big buffet for them icon_rolleyes.gif
I always make sure there are feeder fish in the aquariums. I don't mind my fish eat a lot just as long as they grow biggrin.gif
PhisherSam
post Jan 15 2013, 03:23 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 14 2013, 01:11 PM)
Same wit my lfs. Saw a pair of palma polli 10",each rm65. Stil thinking whether to buy or nt. Haha.
10 inch or 10 cm? I bought a pair around 10-12 cm for RM 50 each. They are like not growing because I stares at them everyday.
PhisherSam
post Jan 15 2013, 05:02 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 15 2013, 04:32 PM)
My baby senegal just KO today. Jump out frm the tank thru a very small hole!  Cant expect him to jump thru.
They will dash and jump out of water if something startled them. Mine almost jumped out when I was changing water just now. As soon as I saw it, the head was already on the corner of the aquarium. Used my palm to smack it back down to the water and put back the cover.
PhisherSam
post Jan 16 2013, 09:40 AM

13 posts

You guys eat sushi before? Know unagi? I want to ask what do the eels eat? It's freshwater ones.

This post has been edited by PhisherSam: Jan 16 2013, 09:41 AM
PhisherSam
post Jan 16 2013, 11:48 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Jan 16 2013, 10:29 AM)
if im not mistaken, most aquatic fishes will happily devour bloodworms and feeder shrimps since they are available in the wild.
you can try to train them to eat pellets.

How about living environment? Need sand or something? I see them keep rushing here and there non stop banging wall and trying to dig into the stones.
PhisherSam
post Jan 16 2013, 07:25 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Jan 16 2013, 10:29 AM)
if im not mistaken, most aquatic fishes will happily devour bloodworms and feeder shrimps since they are available in the wild.
you can try to train them to eat pellets.

They eat a little bit of bloodworms. Feeders shrimp like too fast for them, then I get a dead shrimp and peel off the shell and one of them ate it.

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Jan 16 2013, 11:55 AM)
im not very expert regarding this,
but from my experience from other fishes and other aquatics pets ive owned, it seems that ure eels is still scared with its new surroundings.
it may take some time for them to accustom to them, but adding a few cover/hidespots like driftwoods, hidey holes(pvc tubes, holey rocks) or try making a cave formation using driftwood or rocks(no sharp edges) might help to calm down. other stuffs also such as adding floating plants and dimming the lighting nearby ure tank area might also help.
substrate is just for aesthetic  looks only, but some fishes do enjoy and benefit from them. It just they will require more cleaning and hard to maintain than bare-bottoms tanks.

PVC tubes WORKS, they hiding inside.

QUOTE(AiezentX @ Jan 16 2013, 12:14 PM)
u keep eel???the normal eel like at sawah or tyre track,fire eel??
Er... Those you eat at sushi king? Yes, I mean it.
PhisherSam
post Jan 16 2013, 09:29 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(ayonymous @ Jan 16 2013, 08:23 PM)
do you have that freshwater eel?
Which do you mean? The ones in the pictures are mine biggrin.gif
PhisherSam
post Jan 17 2013, 12:19 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(ayonymous @ Jan 16 2013, 09:33 PM)
owh..i c...juvenile or adult?
Smaller than my little finger, guess it's still fry laugh.gif
PhisherSam
post Jan 17 2013, 09:07 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Jan 17 2013, 06:51 AM)
kewl Anguilla japonica, one of them is hiding in the gravel  thumbup.gif
wonder where do you get them, all i find are those normal black ones(for cooking)...and those fancy like fire track, electric eel, etc etc.

I'm not sure where because my dad got it from the exporter farm biggrin.gif
PhisherSam
post Jan 19 2013, 08:49 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(awansakti @ Jan 18 2013, 11:17 PM)
Getting too big for a tank. Location secret  biggrin.gif  lol @feeders stealing food.karma is a b*tch after all  sweat.gif

jaychou, the brand is aquadine 'river fish, sinking type'. murah je..
How big? Location secret? Come on... drool.gif
PhisherSam
post Jan 20 2013, 10:02 PM

13 posts

My fatty die jor cry.gif
Go out a while come back then it die jor~ Another one like dying also, I don't know what is happening so I put it to another aquarium. Hope it will survive.
PhisherSam
post Jan 20 2013, 10:58 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(kakarocht @ Jan 20 2013, 09:07 PM)
guise.....what u juu think about my kolam..what fish u think can putted in.... brows.gif

I would put some knife fish, arapaimas, alligator gars and some RTC, then buy 10k feeder fish pour all inside.

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 20 2013, 10:31 PM)
Waaa! Wat happen?! Hw big is he??
2 months ago when I bought them, they are less than 6 inch, now 7.5 inch already.
PhisherSam
post Jan 21 2013, 10:01 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 21 2013, 07:47 PM)
Whr u bought ur ornate and delhezi? Hw much?
I saw those at Ikia Aquapet in Melaka, Ornate RM 60 and Delhezi RM 30. Around 4-5 inch.
PhisherSam
post Jan 23 2013, 09:19 AM

13 posts

Can red arowana be put together with spotted gars?
PhisherSam
post Jan 23 2013, 04:29 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Alcip @ Jan 23 2013, 09:37 AM)
Phis,
The answer is no..
The gar will be bullied to death...or may be eaten...
Thanx
Red aro will bully my gars? Even if the gars are bigger?
PhisherSam
post Jan 23 2013, 07:24 PM

13 posts

Sigh... One of my Delzehi just died.

QUOTE(kakarocht @ Jan 23 2013, 05:21 PM)
should be no problem as long your tank is big enuf for this fish. dun forget sufficient food as well cos you know arowana how they eat compared with gars.. brows.gif
QUOTE(rickyfan8888 @ Jan 23 2013, 05:25 PM)
yes..make sure they are always well feed..the gar size dont too much different with the aro..else the aro might end up as gar's meal
Thanks for the info, will try. I'm not worry about feeder fish because I always keep extra. And new record this time is 0 death rate of my feeder fish. Use those empty drum (tong biru) and river water + oxygen pump will be enough.
PhisherSam
post Jan 24 2013, 07:53 PM

13 posts

Spotted gars hard to com with other fish. My clown knife fish was bitten, the flesh and tail koyak here and there. Don't dare put aro inside liao.
Fibre glass tank what color? Blue or white?

0.0277sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:59 AM