25 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Primitive Fish V2, Fish that survived Milleniums

antzz
post Dec 10 2013, 11:57 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Dec 10 2013, 11:21 PM)
KB?? Mak aih.. Aku pg kuala terengganu pun rasa dah pg overseas.. KB lg la. Jauh sgt lol.

Post la LOL
X suka post2 ikan. Even dah ada buyer kat kemaman suruh pos, aku xnak.
antzz
post Dec 11 2013, 07:04 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(myboo_1988 @ Dec 11 2013, 01:24 PM)
Anyone having pet as piranha like me hehehe
Is it RBP? Can we ask for pic/s pls? smile.gif
antzz
post Dec 13 2013, 12:32 PM

115 posts

Bro @Awansakti hows ur aro doing? Aragorn undergoing rainy season here with chances to taste different types of food. That day i caught 2 centipedes. Aragorn terus sambar in a split second. I remember feeding small frogs to my late pearly. The frogs so many that finally he gave up eating frogs. Dunno what type of frog actually, or even its good for domestic fish. Now with aragorn i dont wana take any risk.

Todays shot. As usual he always come to me when i get closer.

This post has been edited by antzz: Dec 13 2013, 12:33 PM
antzz
post Dec 14 2013, 01:07 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Dec 13 2013, 11:04 PM)
Hello,

Just felt like sharing my tank. Hehe
Careful with the barrel. My kelah once stuck in there real tight, then he broke it into pieces. Lekat jugak la parut kat badan tu.. kesian..

YTC tu dah brp lama bela? Cpt besar gorgon tu bang..
antzz
post Dec 19 2013, 09:15 PM

115 posts

Today i moved turtle tank into new spot, still in the backyard. Got to play with Fly and a 10 cents goldfish which turns big and fat now. Somehow it survived from my catching net everytime by hiding somewhere in the tank. Now that it turns that big, i just keep it to accompany Fly.

antzz
post Dec 19 2013, 10:35 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Farhadd @ Dec 19 2013, 10:12 PM)
x gigit ke?  thumbup.gif
Manade gigit.. ni turtle whisperer lah.. haha.
antzz
post Dec 20 2013, 07:34 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(myboo_1988 @ Dec 20 2013, 05:01 AM)
Watched the video. Small but nice piranhas. Good-looking setup as well thumbup.gif

Back to childhood memories - grasshopper hunting! tongue.gif

Aragorn never refuses hoppers. Usually he consumes all hoppers i throwed in biggrin.gif
antzz
post Dec 21 2013, 10:59 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(awansakti @ Dec 21 2013, 10:46 AM)
passionate owner biggrin.gif aragorn is lucky, for mine i just caught juvi roaches and throw in.

btw where is that?golf turf?
My house only lar. Garden hasnt been kept well, the grass growing quite wild already. Thats why had to use macro imaging technique.. to cover the flaw of lazy garden owner tongue.gif

BTW its phillipine grass.

Just finished feeding Fly. Snapped a pic for sharing. U see, i know this is not my personal blog.. but im posting pics just for the fun of it. If got butthurts, sorry lar sweat.gif

This post has been edited by antzz: Dec 21 2013, 11:05 AM
antzz
post Dec 21 2013, 08:02 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Dec 21 2013, 03:06 PM)
I butthurt!! I got nothing to share!!  mad.gif
Dont be la.. u got monster fish also what.. Inb4 ololo.. marah2 syg tongue.gif

QUOTE(Farhadd @ Dec 21 2013, 03:47 PM)
anyone here have rare bodyshape or abnormal fish ?

pic taken from google ...

pls share ur fish pic
Unique.. But beware la.. those rare catches could cost u a bomb!

Today Aragorn gets to eat bullfrogs. Sharings pics again jgn marah bang.. tongue.gif

And i enjoy feeding crickets to those frogs as well icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by antzz: Dec 21 2013, 08:04 PM
antzz
post Dec 23 2013, 05:14 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Dec 23 2013, 04:37 PM)
after browsing through the pet magazine this morning, i really am tempted to make my dream come true~
owning a super garang aimara  rclxms.gif  but then reality hit me in the face.. no space.
Hoplias Aimara sweat.gif

Compatibility: Considered to the most aggressive Hoplias species and one of the most aggressive aquarium fish. They are well known for attacking maintenance equipment and given the chance will go for your hand. It is very unlikely that you will be able to keep other fish with them. It has been done usually with big wolves and very small cohabitants. There are examples of immature specimens being kept with larger fish but until these fish get bigger we won’t know if they are successful or not. As with most large fish personalities can vary between individuals. My own personal theory to the aggressiveness of Hoplias aimara is that they live in rapids where suitable territory to hide and wait for passing food is scarce so they are very defensive of their patch.

Preferred diet: Aimara are not fussy eaters and will except most meaty foods, shrimps, crabs, crayfish, and fish meats are all accepted and variety will help ensure good health.

Fierce monster for a fierce master. Suits u well genie tongue.gif

QUOTE(myboo_1988 @ Dec 23 2013, 05:06 PM)

aragorn from lord of the ring eat grasshopper  laugh.gif
That remains ancient secret.. only now ppl know.. it was grasshoppers that strengthen Aragorn and other people of Middle Earth to stand against Sauron biggrin.gif

Hoplias Aimara eats Red Bellied Piranha! shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by antzz: Dec 23 2013, 05:20 PM
antzz
post Dec 24 2013, 07:09 PM

115 posts

Its bullfrog frenzy for Aragorn now. Only now i know a lfs here gets his supply of bullfrog every tuesday, and theyre selling fast! So few days ago i told him to keep some for me, and today i got quite ample supply for Aragorn biggrin.gif

Sharing pics. I know bullfrogs maybe common for u monsterfishkeepers, but not for me! tongue.gif

Sorry for those who geli at katak, did not mean to make u geli tongue.gif
antzz
post Dec 24 2013, 07:59 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Dec 24 2013, 07:05 PM)
Sharing pictures:

What other fish can I put in? The tank looks so bare with just one fish.
Wah ur aba-aba looking very amazing la.. the skin somehow looks dolphin-like smile.gif

Maybe u should try bichirs? Theyre peaceful and look good in a long giant tank. If u want i may consider to give franky away as a gift. For elite monsterkeepers only, and strictly self-pick.

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Dec 24 2013, 07:38 PM)
Wah so many pics of pipul feeding their fishies today. I want to share oso la.  rclxms.gif
Ur RTC so tempting one. Ive always want one, but later dunno whom to give when it gets bigger.

Using blue light?
antzz
post Dec 24 2013, 09:11 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Dec 24 2013, 08:20 PM)
Your fish has no problem with bullfrogs? My fish will bite and spit out. My brother said it's the taste. Normal frogs taste smoother, bullfrogs taste rubbery. (Maybe he actually tasted it, I dunno. Hahahahaha... tongue.gif )

Which LFS do you go to?
Which one is Franky? And honestly, I am quite scared to put any other fish into the tank with the aba-aba. Later Franky gets eaten or something ..  shocking.gif
I've tried sebarau. Its tail was eaten. Left half of the body. I put in puyu, it got eaten whole.

I put in a crayfish. Crayfish kena attacked and it attacked back, aba-aba's mouth was injured.  cry.gif  Had to take the crayfish out.

Was thinking of getting cheap stingrays, but knowing the aba-aba it'll disturb it and maybe get injured.
Nope. Aragorn eat them whole, and he seems to like them more than every other foods ive given before. So im quite happy to add bullfrog as an alternative to his usual diet.

The LFS? Here in kb la, dun think u'll know it since ure far from seremban, rite? But its good that i know when is weekly supply will arrive, so can always plan to buy food stocks.

Back then i had 2 polypterus endlicheri, named them frankenstein I and II laugh.gif Both of them made a great combo of killing machine, finally i x tahan banyak sgt diorang makan small fishes. So i sold one of them. Now only have 1 endlicheri and 1 ornate bichir.

But lately Aragorn has aggression issues with franky, always assault him in the bottom. I just put another driftwood to let franky hide, and both seem to be happy then.

Btw he is about 1.5' long.

This post has been edited by antzz: Dec 24 2013, 09:19 PM
antzz
post Dec 25 2013, 08:27 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Dec 24 2013, 11:00 PM)
Right now I spend almost RM 40 per week on the aba -aba. 

RM 10 for catfish (10 tails)
RM 10 for lampam (20 tails)
RM 10 for the white fish, seluang (at Irene PJ it's RM 1 for 10 or 12, at this other LFS it's RM 1 for 20 tails but depends on your luck, usually it's all sold by the time I reach there.)
RM 5 for baby carp
RM 5 for shrimp or longkang fish
I have 2 Polypterus senegalus. One is a surviving 13 year old. The other one is 1 year old. Bought it to keep the older one company. The older one has spots. I think it's liver spots. I've trained them to eat pellets. Live feeder were costing a bomb.

Have to start breeding my own feeders.
Wow.. u sure are a serious monsterfishkeeper! blink.gif

QUOTE(awansakti @ Dec 25 2013, 01:08 AM)
rm40 demm

i feed them feeder fish like twice or 3 times per week.rm5 per feed and they finish it overnight.by them i mean 11bichirs, aro, 5 cichlids and 2 tigers. Damn overstocked T_T

breed your senegalus!
I feed small fishes twice or thrice per week as well. And by that, my 2 bichirs and aro always have small fishes around to catch whenever they feel hungry. U have 11 bichirs? Huhu.. respect that notworthy.gif

QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Dec 25 2013, 04:10 PM)
Back in 2005, my senegalus pair did breed. I had 2 pairs actually.  I kept them in a small pond with community fish like platies and neon tetras. They were on pellets, so the smaller fish were safe. I found a few babies. I transferred about 7 into a smaller tank. Tried feeding them baby guppies. After a while they just died off. Not sure why.  hmm.gif

The female jumped out during transportation in around 2008, and the other pair jumped out later on (my dad left the tank cover open  cry.gif ) So only left the male.

The newer senegalus is a bit short and stumpy compared the elder one ( the male). I'm not sure if it was the same species. Will snap a picture when I do the next water change. Hopefully I bought a female. I was a bit difficult to tell coz the shop aquarium was a bit crowded.

I am keeping them with two soon hocks. They grow so, so slowly.

I was thinking of letting them all go and trying discus.  drool.gif The colours are so beautiful.
Yeah discus so beautiful. But i heard the care a bit difficult. Pls update if u finally made up ur mind for discus. Maybe we could learn from u.

antzz
post Dec 26 2013, 06:25 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(awansakti @ Dec 26 2013, 06:12 PM)
Nok beli crossback sayang plak kalu ye kekoh kpala masing2.haha

Orait pape nnt aku roger
Haha.. wise thinking. Same like me, start with silver --> pearl --> hiback. That guy lied that it was super hi-back. But i didnt regret my choice, very happy to have Aragorn since then nod.gif

Crossback kena kekoh kepala.. rugi2x.. haha
antzz
post Dec 26 2013, 10:18 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(awansakti @ Dec 26 2013, 06:32 PM)
Isnt there a rule for aro comm, 2 = death. Should be 3 or more?  hmm.gif
Even 3 or 5, there's no guarantee bro. But if u wanna try, happy experimenting icon_rolleyes.gif Jgn lupa share result tau.. hehe

Today i feed Aragorn a frog, 3 crickets, 2 hoppers and a big spider. Just found that hairy 8 legged near car porch, and i killed it on the spot. Kalau ada bisa xtau la.. Aragorn nampak ok je.

Just now i snapped this, pandangan atas :

antzz
post Dec 26 2013, 10:46 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(awansakti @ Dec 26 2013, 10:43 PM)
Aragon bley panggil aroy je la. Boroi dh lepas melantak  laugh.gif

saspen plak nk comm camni  ohmy.gif
Aroy? Buruk giler.. sesia aku letak nama hero LOTR kalau setakay nak panggil boboy ops.. aroy.

tongue.gif
antzz
post Dec 26 2013, 10:56 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(awansakti @ Dec 26 2013, 10:51 PM)
Hahah ok pe.lord of the rempit  thumbup.gif

layan water change la sementara tunggu mancity-liverpool  whistling.gif
Gua layan Aragorn Wenger icon_rolleyes.gif
antzz
post Dec 27 2013, 02:04 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Dec 27 2013, 01:30 PM)
wow, everyone sharing photos.
I just did wc few days back after leaving for a month or two.
All my fishes still alive. phew~ even starved for a week also alive.
too bad dogs cant be like that. need people help to feed them daily
Long time no hear from u lah.. should participate more to keep our interest live and kicking.

These few days im studying about kois/ carps. Ordering 8' white tank from Raymond brows.gif
antzz
post Dec 27 2013, 03:01 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(aimank_88 @ Dec 27 2013, 02:39 PM)
Hi genie  wub.gif
Hahaha laugh.gif

25 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0993sec    0.28    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:03 AM