127 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

Mech Keyboard Club v8, Red Blue Brown Black Clear, now Green?

jepertine90
post Nov 28 2012, 11:49 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(heavyarm @ Nov 28 2012, 11:36 PM)
Lol...will inform u once restock..very soon d
@@ hope arrive tis saturday or at most next week mon/tue. I oso sien d
wait ur good news... can't wait to taste the keys~
kopitiamtard
post Nov 29 2012, 12:52 AM

207 posts

Slick from linustechtips likes Filco or Ducky...

Is this justifiable?

Is there a superior brand?
siles1991
post Nov 29 2012, 12:55 AM

I love tubes so should you!
1,861 posts

QUOTE(kopitiamtard @ Nov 29 2012, 12:52 AM)

Is this justifiable?

theyre both superior brands tongue.gif
bv2427
post Nov 29 2012, 08:58 AM

657 posts

QUOTE(kopitiamtard @ Nov 29 2012, 12:52 AM)

Is this justifiable?

I subscribe to him too! And yes, those brands are awesome.
joyformidable
post Nov 29 2012, 10:16 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Nov 28 2012, 03:13 PM)
come on, there's no point comparing PCB mounted board with plated mounted QFR. rolleyes.gif
the flex is not the pcb, but the casing. low quality, me is sad...
SUSHuman10
post Nov 29 2012, 11:09 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(joyformidable @ Nov 29 2012, 10:16 AM)
the flex is not the pcb, but the casing. low quality, me is sad...
He means that you can't simply compare between PCB mounted and plate-mounted boards.

Each have their own way of functioning and advantages.
joyformidable
post Nov 29 2012, 01:25 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Nov 29 2012, 11:09 AM)
He means that you can't simply compare between PCB mounted and plate-mounted boards.

Each have their own way of functioning and advantages.
well, dont know about advantages and functions, but it feels low quality'ish.
siles1991
post Nov 29 2012, 01:32 PM

1,861 posts

QUOTE(joyformidable @ Nov 29 2012, 01:25 PM)
advantage...cheaper price? good for those with tight budgets imo
SUSHuman10
post Nov 29 2012, 02:02 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Nov 29 2012, 01:32 PM)
advantage...cheaper price? good for those with tight budgets imo
Not really.

AFAIH, PCB mounted switches are even pricier than normal plate mounted switch. As PCB mounting doesn't have the steel plate to support the position of switches, the switches had to come with 2 extra pins/legs (plastic pins) to ensure the switches being mounted onto it firmly.

PCB mounting also means easier to disassemble the switches (good for modder) and lighter overall weight of the keyboard (which is good for smaller travel keyboards).

Lastly, even the typing feels also had quite a significant differences. Plate mounted switches will feel more solid and hard while PCB mounted will feel more soft and elastic/flexible when bottom up the switches.

Of course, I don't deny that PCB mounting may cause a board to be "flexible" and less solid (I feel you with my Cherry MX 2.0 Board), but also thanks to that board, I realize that some switches (RED for me) actually feel better on PCB mounted boards.

BTW, PCB mounted yet solid and not much flexing boards do exist (Cherry 3000 series and PLUM96 are nice examples).
siles1991
post Nov 29 2012, 02:07 PM

1,861 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Nov 29 2012, 02:02 PM)
Not really.

AFAIH, PCB mounted switches are even pricier than normal plate mounted switch. As PCB mounting doesn't have the steel plate to support the position of switches, the switches had to come with 2 extra pins/legs (plastic pins) to ensure the switches being mounted onto it firmly.

PCB mounting also means easier to disassemble the switches (good for modder) and lighter overall weight of the keyboard (which is good for smaller travel keyboards).

Lastly, even the typing feels also had quite a significant differences. Plate mounted switches will feel more solid and hard while PCB mounted will feel more soft and elastic/flexible when bottom up the switches.

Of course, I don't deny that PCB mounting may cause a board to be "flexible" and less solid (I feel you with my Cherry MX 2.0 Board), but also thanks to that board, I realize that some switches (RED for me) actually feel better on PCB mounted boards.

BTW, PCB mounted yet solid and not much flexing boards do exist (Cherry 3000 series and PLUM96 are nice examples).
thanks for the enlightenment tongue.gif i'm still noob in mech board haha
chbea
post Nov 29 2012, 05:39 PM

121 posts

power logic mech keyboard crappy? any 1 got experience
example strikeeagle mki3
zongeva
post Nov 29 2012, 06:10 PM

561 posts

QUOTE(chbea @ Nov 29 2012, 05:39 PM)
power logic mech keyboard crappy? any 1 got experience
example strikeeagle mki3
The one that uses Kailh red switch? doh.gif
kaiserreich
post Nov 29 2012, 08:52 PM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(joyformidable @ Nov 29 2012, 01:25 PM)
Not sure what do you mean by low quality.
Is the case going to fall apart when you are typing?
Or did the casing chipped out on some sides?

Some people think that heavier boards have better quality. There's a whole wiki on it at Geekhack.
Just a suggestion, maybe you can put some weights on it and see if it changes your opinion?

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Nov 29 2012, 09:00 PM
areleeza8
post Nov 29 2012, 10:35 PM

288 posts

want to buy mechanical keyboard with backlight..any suggestions? biggrin.gif
siles1991
post Nov 29 2012, 10:38 PM

1,861 posts

QUOTE(areleeza8 @ Nov 29 2012, 10:35 PM)
want to buy mechanical keyboard with backlight..any suggestions? biggrin.gif
lets talk budget!
areleeza8
post Nov 29 2012, 10:41 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Nov 29 2012, 10:38 PM)
lets talk budget!
i really don't have a range since i saw all the mech keyboard price..if suggested, i'll just start saving money from now biggrin.gif
TSnoobandroid
post Nov 29 2012, 10:43 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(areleeza8 @ Nov 29 2012, 10:41 PM)
i really don't have a range since i saw all the mech keyboard price..if suggested, i'll just start saving money from now biggrin.gif
at least rm250 and above
areleeza8
post Nov 29 2012, 10:45 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Nov 29 2012, 10:43 PM)
at least rm250 and above
and what is it that you prefer sir? drool.gif
TSnoobandroid
post Nov 29 2012, 10:47 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(areleeza8 @ Nov 29 2012, 10:45 PM)
and what is it that you prefer sir?  drool.gif
with that money, i bought HPE from taobao
SUSHuman10
post Nov 29 2012, 11:06 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(areleeza8 @ Nov 29 2012, 10:41 PM)
No range? Optimus Maximus anyone?

Just kidding. Maybe you can wait for Ducky Shine 2.

127 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:18 PM