12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Mech Keyboard Club v8, Red Blue Brown Black Clear, now Green?

SUSHuman10
post Oct 15 2012, 10:17 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(anscious @ Oct 15 2012, 08:51 PM)
guys, im new to mechanical kb here.. biggrin.gif am looking forward to get CM Storm Quickfire pro with mx blue switch. i have a few question here

1 ) i found some review mention the double tap problem with mx blue switch. will the key still be inserted if we double tap it without fully lifting my finger up?

2 ) any feedback on this kb ? thanks biggrin.gif
1. Some ppl will find it weird to do fast double tapping on Blue, due to the registering, tactile, clicky and re-registering points being synchronized. Though, most ppl still enjoy their blue switch. So I suggest better try it out personally to see whether it suit you.

2. For CM Storm Quickfire Pro, it is literally a clone brother of Razer BWU(they came from a same OEM - iOne). Ppl tend to avoid iOne made board if because it is known to had bad QC in the past, not sure now. Also, iOne board having the less popular (and thus less favorable) modifiers size and spacebar length, which made changing keycaps a hell job for it...

Added on October 15, 2012, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(ricstc @ Oct 15 2012, 05:10 PM)
where everyone just shiok sendiri boasting their wares
I can't defy you if that is what you think.

For us, Mech KB is more of a hobbies, where we enjoy it both mentally and physically.

This post has been edited by Human10: Oct 15 2012, 10:19 PM
SUSHuman10
post Oct 15 2012, 11:31 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(anscious @ Oct 15 2012, 11:06 PM)
thanks guys for the comment biggrin.gif i really like the clicky sound haha.. hope it wont gives me trouble biggrin.gif
ah i see.. so do u hv any kb could suggest below rm300 range?..  biggrin.gif
Try Rosewill RK9000. It came from the same OEM as the Filco.

Though, do note that it may took you some luck and praying that you get a faultless board. But also no need to be too paranoid as the distributor promised warranty or even 1to1 exchange for faulty units. Details better ask the distributor for Rosewill.
SUSHuman10
post Oct 15 2012, 11:36 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(dragorc @ Oct 15 2012, 11:33 PM)
wow, REally a strong self introduction  notworthy.gif
+1

KBT Race also consider a rare stuff here...
SUSHuman10
post Oct 16 2012, 01:00 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(epiguru @ Oct 16 2012, 12:40 AM)
@mikelanding: Congratulations on getting your first Kinesis.

Since I had to relearn how to type, I thought I must as well change the keyboard layout to minimise use of the index and little fingers. I just finished writing an article on why the Workman keyboard layout is better than the default in my case.

Added on October 16, 2012, 12:54 am

My impression is that most gamers prefer linear switches (MX reds and blacks) because the bump in the tactile switches will be too much. The clickiness of the blues may also be too much... But everyone has their own preferences; some gamers like blues, and I like typing on blacks more than any other Cherry switch.

For a keyboard around RM300, especially if I was into games, I would consider Kaiser's KBTalking RACE 75% Mechanical Keyboard Green Backlit.
Drovak seems to be the most popular alternative layout for QWERTY.

I had being trying to change to Colemak for that it is less different from QWERTY yet the keystroke density is more well distributed by 2 hands, but ended giving up due to no time, lazy + still need to deal with QWERTY for daily basis(phones, using PC not belong to me and so on).
SUSHuman10
post Oct 16 2012, 03:32 AM

6,774 posts

Consider the high price to get BWU Stealth and so on, I will suggest you to go for other board.

There are other better board out there, such as Ducky Shine 2 or Filco(no backlit). CM Storm Trigger may also be the better choice compared to BWU Stealth.

Lastly, do you consider getting a mini/compact keyboard? If yes then pay a visit to here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2343083&hl=
SUSHuman10
post Oct 16 2012, 03:45 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(MathsGeniusOrNot @ Oct 16 2012, 03:41 AM)
Hello bro thanks for the quick reply, oh.. cuz im using BWU as i mentioned above, and everytime i feel very fragile while using it.. its like the feeling of its going to break down... so yea..   hmm, but what switches do u recommend me to get bro? as i posted what are my daily activities with my keyboard. Thank you smile.gif
The "fragile" interpretation may come from either the clickiness of the Cherry Blue or the glossy + not solid built of Razer BWU.

If so, you probably need a board with a more solid built. If take apart backlit, good choices include Filco, Ducky, Leopold and so forth.

If you are happy(but you seems to be paranoid to MX Blue) with the MX blue you using now, then you can still getting a board with MX blue or change to MX brown. If you feel like to try out something new, go for linear switch such as RED or Black(if you had a stronger finger).

Added on October 16, 2012, 3:48 amI am not particular sure on who is the new distributor for Ducky in Malaysia.

You may find Ducky board from Heavyarm, but I am not sure if Ducky Shine2 had reached Malaysia market.

This post has been edited by Human10: Oct 16 2012, 03:48 AM
SUSHuman10
post Oct 16 2012, 03:59 AM

6,774 posts

Apart from Ducky & CM Trigger, most other BL board are also made by iOne, which mean is like clone brothers of Razer BWU.

May be you can try to source for the more rare Mionix Zibal but I doubt you can land your hand on it locally.

Red is sort of like a lighter Black(imagine a black switch with Blue spring). Brown on the other hand is like Red, but with a bump at the middle of pressing.

For gaming, I will say linear(red/black) switch suit "me" better. Cause doesn't feel the need for the tactility. Linear switch should also be fine for daily works like surf net and typing, but some ppl tend to make typo on red, so beware.
SUSHuman10
post Oct 17 2012, 02:28 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Ahmaz @ Oct 16 2012, 07:19 PM)
Hi guys, I've been eyeing a Corsair K90 for a while now... any thoughts on that particular mech keyboard?
Honestly, those rubber dome on the Corsair K90 sucks. vmad.gif

I rather type on a full rubber dome board than some hybrid and mix between both... doh.gif

Added on October 17, 2012, 2:30 am
QUOTE(Ahmaz @ Oct 16 2012, 07:44 PM)
Eh.. no bling bling la.. only blue LED... I like it because its got media keys/macro n dedi volume which i use frequently... no other mech keyboard has that atm.

What's the model of the recently released Logitech one?
Are you trolling me? Most mech kb out there, especially those "gaming" one are having media keys or volume keys. Most of them are just an "Fn" away.

This post has been edited by Human10: Oct 17 2012, 02:30 AM
SUSHuman10
post Oct 17 2012, 09:46 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(zongeva @ Oct 17 2012, 04:02 PM)
it is black on (very) dark grey printing, so it is hard to see the contrast of the legends. I see mine become blank too sometimes, maybe because of the stains from my fingers I guess.
Actually, I will had grabbed the PBT also if it is unprinted full black color, LOL...
SUSHuman10
post Oct 17 2012, 09:57 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 17 2012, 09:52 PM)
me too, holding back due to bad colors
For me, my priority is always blank keycaps. So that I don't need to worry about the worn of fonts, LOL.
SUSHuman10
post Oct 17 2012, 10:15 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 17 2012, 10:05 PM)
with tkl u lose one thing gain one thing
Then you should get this. You loss literally nothing but you gain literally everything one will ask for.

1. PBT Keycap(those blank one is KBC POM) by default
2. Wireless
3. Backlit-able(just add your own LED and it is good to go)
4. TKL but with numpad
5. PCB mounted for a lighter weight(though it isn't exactly the lightest board around) 444
SUSHuman10
post Oct 17 2012, 10:27 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Oct 17 2012, 10:25 PM)
the heck is this board? and the grey on white, not for me too, i like to see my letters, tq
PLUM96
SUSHuman10
post Oct 17 2012, 10:31 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(pristine @ Oct 17 2012, 10:27 PM)
CM Storm just announced a Rapid TK, the layout pretty much looks like that!
Meh, the modifiers size are pretty much a deal breaker.
SUSHuman10
post Oct 18 2012, 12:09 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(zongeva @ Oct 18 2012, 12:04 AM)
+1 tongue.gif
hmm, hopefully Costar will make boards of this layout.
note that the RK9100 has tiny spacebar due to three 1.5x modifier on the left... left thumb may be harder to reach the spacebar while gaming lol
It is MX Brown if I am not mistaken
Last time heard that WASD planned to make one. But till now no any news yet, I guess the plan being dumped.
SUSHuman10
post Oct 18 2012, 03:54 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Oct 18 2012, 03:46 AM)
Hey guys my gf wants to get me a gift for my bday was looking for a good mech keyboard around RM250 can give some suggestions? Im using it for gaming. Backlit would be really nice xD
Backlit under RM250 is a little too hard.

The nearest is getting this and then solder on your own LED.
The board along cost around RM200, shipping took another RM20. Spend another RM15 for purchase LED(it is cheap in Taobao) and spend another RM15 to find ppl to help you solder on those LED incase you can't do it yourself.
SUSHuman10
post Oct 18 2012, 05:03 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Oct 18 2012, 01:25 PM)
yea i know xD but its the closest I can get to a backlit board around RM250, if I can go a bit higher than 250 what could I get thats backlit, more or less whats the cheapest basklit mech kb I can get thats not DIY.
DIY good what? You can set the color or pattern of LED to your liking.
100leds cost less than RM10, most less than what those gaming boards charged you.
SUSHuman10
post Oct 18 2012, 11:40 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Oct 18 2012, 09:04 PM)
i thought last time you posted one review that mentioned about the odd length of the spacebar and it being the biggest put off of the deal????  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
laugh.gif  laugh.gif
oh... this time got built in internal memory? will it be able to save the lighting preferences that Shine v1 cant do? Coz if not mistaken, Shine v1 cannot maintain the mode of lighting, and will be "rebooted" after every restart?  hmm.gif

I think, last time got someone (not sure from geekhack or LYN) mentioned that should include one backlit mode which is at first all the 104 keys are lit, then each key pressed will put out the light, then the key relights a while after that, that i think is a more sleek and geek style of backlit, hopefully Ducky can put this into their next Shine v3  drool.gif  drool.gif 
oh? another groupbuy?  hmm.gif
Odd length of spacebar? Which board you mentioning about?

Plum having pretty standard dimension for keycaps(except the 0 and 00 may be).

Though, one thing to be noted is that it using a spacing similar to Keycool(probably, will confirm again once I am free to take out my keycool spacebar to do a comparison).

Added on October 18, 2012, 11:46 pm
QUOTE(siles1991 @ Oct 18 2012, 11:05 PM)
is there anyone that can add LED's to my keyboard if I got one of the Rosewill's or any other keyboard like CM Storm etc.

the reason because I have trouble gaming/typing at night and would like to have a backlit board T.T sorry if asking for too much.
Add backlit to those without specially prepared circuit or holes for LED are pain as HELL. Only few ppl are willing to go through all those hassle and risk. If you are still interested, try ask Bai101(a member here) on his experience to mod his non-BL keyboard and add LED.

The PLUM I recommended afternoon just now is different though. It already had predrilled holes for LED and even the wiring circuit for it. What lacks are just insert your own LED.

This post has been edited by Human10: Oct 18 2012, 11:47 PM
SUSHuman10
post Oct 19 2012, 12:17 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Oct 19 2012, 12:09 AM)
PLUM?

I narrowed down to this 3. Below Rm400 backlit mech boards are they ok?

DK9008 G2 Pro
CM Storm Trigger Full Red LED
RK-9100 Illuminated Blue Backlit
G2 Pro only WASD got backlit.

CM Storm should be fine. Not too sure. But I personally don't like coated casing.

RK-9100, a newcomer to Malaysia market. The Left CTRL, ALT and WIN keys are larger than normal standard, which made it less favorable(at least for me).
SUSHuman10
post Oct 19 2012, 01:44 AM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(MathsGeniusOrNot @ Oct 19 2012, 01:37 AM)
hello everyone,  i hope u guys can answer my questions >< pls and thanks..
1) is the kai's KBT race 75% keyboard small? the good thing about it is that there is no numpad, so i can place  my mouse comfortably.. but will it be too small?  my monitor is around 20inch.. only 1 monitor la tongue.gif
Keyboard is to suit your hands, not your screen.
2) should i get the Ducky 9008 Shine 2 instead of the Kai's KBT? the 9008 ducky shine 2 is freakin cool.. but just that there is numpad sad.gif .. there is also the 9087 shine 2 which is the exact same thing as the 9008 shine 2 but without numpad.. but alot of stores dont sell it..
9087 had just come out, so give it some time to reach here. Else, you can go for the Year Of Dragon LE which basically the same thing as 9087.
3) where can i find Ducky keyboard shop in Taipei? will it be cheaper there? or almost the same price? thanks smile.gif
Erm, try those shops like Armygroup/Inpad? Visit their website can let you roughly get the price there. Last time Ducky boards are marginally cheaper in TW, not sure for now.
This post has been edited by Human10: Oct 19 2012, 01:45 AM
SUSHuman10
post Oct 19 2012, 03:07 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Oct 19 2012, 02:42 PM)
if i like bottom out the keys frequently would it get damaged?

and are cherry red's really that sensitive? I've read a lot about people complaining that they're too easy to push down
normal bottom up will do no harm. But smashing on it may be.

Actually, black is more sensitive. It rebound faster due to stronger spring and also it actuate earlier(less than 2mm) than other switch.

12 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0193sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:30 AM