133 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

Travel Currency exchange

yawha
post Dec 1 2011, 08:40 PM

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 1 2011, 12:09 AM)
That's weird. The Hana Bank branch i went to is located inside D Cube Shopping Centre in Sindorim. I stayed at Sheraton Seoul D Cube and the hotel is inside that building. So it was very convenient for me.

The first thing i asked when i walked into the branch is whether they buy foreign currency at this branch and they said yes. I was then asked what currency i wanted to sell and i answered Malaysian Ringgit. They gladly said can... can and asked me to have a seat. The branch manager also came out because the teller attending me didn't speak much English.

It is very likely the staffs at that particular Hana Bank branch you walked into has never dealt in selling or buying MYR. So they thought they can't buy MYR.
Yes. That is the preferential rate for Asiana Airlines passenger. Without the preferential rate, the rate quoted to me was 2.83. Once i took out my Asiana Airlines boarding pass and showed it to the branch manager, he said ah... Asiana boarding pass, special rate special rate  tongue.gif

By the way, before that i sold some of my MYR at one of the many Hana Bank foreign exchange booths at Incheon Airport. So i know that Hana Bank is one of the few Korean banks that actually buy MYR in cash. The rate quoted at their foreign exchange booth at the airport is slightly higher than their branches in downtown Seoul even with the Asiana Airlines 50% preferential rate. So it is recommended that one sells their MYR at Hana Bank in downtown Seoul.
The actual market rate is even lower. That is why they can sold me the KRW for just KRW1,000 = RM2.753. So one can imagine just how much those money changers in Malaysia can actually earn if many people buy KRW from them  doh.gif

By the way, Hana Bank also can buy MYR (cash) even if you are not an Asiana Airlines passenger. Just that the rate will be higher.
MilesAndMore,
Thanks for the explanation here.
I will try and visit D Cube shopping centre tomorrow. Finger cross that nothing went wrong and I shall be able to get the money changed. Will update you if I manage to do that so that more people know that this is possible.
Thanks ya.

straw
post Dec 2 2011, 10:28 AM

266 posts

Thanks for sharing.

If want go Korea better bring ringgit and change there.
Then if want change back to ringgit better change at Msia.

Human Nature
post Dec 3 2011, 12:55 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

Went to change HKD and RMB, got a lousy rate.

Forex
HKD 40.28
RMB 49.34

Money exchanger
HKD 41.30
RMB 50.50
yiyibrowers
post Dec 3 2011, 03:05 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 3 2011, 01:55 PM)
Went to change HKD and RMB, got a lousy rate.

Forex
HKD 40.28
RMB 49.34

Money exchanger
HKD 41.30
RMB 50.50
It crazily increase ald the HKD??? where u exchange the money??? U will be going to China??
Human Nature
post Dec 3 2011, 03:10 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(yiyibrowers @ Dec 3 2011, 03:05 PM)
It crazily increase ald the HKD??? where u exchange the money??? U will be going to China??
In Melaka, the one under the pedestrian bridge. Yeah, going to zhuhai as well.
yawha
post Dec 5 2011, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 1 2011, 12:09 AM)
That's weird. The Hana Bank branch i went to is located inside D Cube Shopping Centre in Sindorim. I stayed at Sheraton Seoul D Cube and the hotel is inside that building. So it was very convenient for me.

The first thing i asked when i walked into the branch is whether they buy foreign currency at this branch and they said yes. I was then asked what currency i wanted to sell and i answered Malaysian Ringgit. They gladly said can... can and asked me to have a seat. The branch manager also came out because the teller attending me didn't speak much English.

It is very likely the staffs at that particular Hana Bank branch you walked into has never dealt in selling or buying MYR. So they thought they can't buy MYR.
Yes. That is the preferential rate for Asiana Airlines passenger. Without the preferential rate, the rate quoted to me was 2.83. Once i took out my Asiana Airlines boarding pass and showed it to the branch manager, he said ah... Asiana boarding pass, special rate special rate  tongue.gif

Hi, I have check. Sad to tell that NOPE. Changing from ringgit to won is not allow!
Hana Bank in D cube shopping centre only give privillege to Sheraton's guests.
I duno how they could detect you are a guest there or so, but i have tried hard and nope, they is only those foreign exchange bank (eg. KEB bank) allows ringgit to won. and the rate is 2.95++

QUOTE(straw @ Dec 2 2011, 10:28 AM)
Thanks for sharing.

If want go Korea better bring ringgit and change there.
Then if want change back to ringgit better change at Msia.
As mentioned above, please do your exchaneg in malaysia unless you are on Aseana Airlines or staying in Sheraton .

MilesAndMore
post Dec 6 2011, 10:26 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(yawha @ Dec 5 2011, 03:26 PM)
Hi, I have check. Sad to tell that NOPE. Changing from ringgit to won is not allow!
Hana Bank in D cube shopping centre only give privillege to Sheraton's guests.
I duno how they could detect you are a guest there or so, but i have tried hard and nope,
Must be a Sheraton guest ? I did not know that. I didn't even tell them i was staying upstairs. I also did not tell them i have an Asiana Airlines boarding pass initially. Anyway, going to Seoul again next year and i will try again. Hopefully i won't face any problem sweat.gif

So basically you are saying that they will only buy your Malaysian Ringgit provided you are staying upstairs (Sheraton Seoul D Cube) ?

QUOTE(yawha @ Dec 5 2011, 03:26 PM)
they is only those foreign exchange bank (eg. KEB bank) allows ringgit to won. and the rate is 2.95++
That's expensive doh.gif

yawha
post Dec 6 2011, 06:13 PM

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 6 2011, 10:26 AM)
Must be a Sheraton guest ? I did not know that. I didn't even tell them i was staying upstairs. I also did not tell them i have an Asiana Airlines boarding pass initially. Anyway, going to Seoul again next year and i will try again. Hopefully i won't face any problem  sweat.gif

So basically you are saying that they will only buy your Malaysian Ringgit provided you are staying upstairs (Sheraton Seoul D Cube) ?
That's expensive  doh.gif
yupe, no luck on me i think. or maybe i din wear like a professional and go in. haha.
Even I tried to cheat and said I came with friend 2 months ago, still they say it is not allowed. The staff then tried to call I believe is someone in higher position and ask. The answer given was as what I have told before. I did ask how should I proof I am staying in the hotel, no answer given as the one who speaks english with me doesn't speaks well and can't help me much.
Well, that is my experience.
I will be here for 3 months, till March. Maybe we can meet up if you ae coming within this period.

aeiou228
post Dec 6 2011, 06:40 PM

5,867 posts

From my observation, most money changers in Seoul only display rates for HK, RMB, S$, Yen, NT$, US. If you bring only RM to Korea, it will very hard for you to change and the exchange rate is definitely not favorable.
Please bring USD to Korea.
MilesAndMore
post Dec 6 2011, 11:55 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(yawha @ Dec 6 2011, 06:13 PM)
Even I tried to cheat and said I came with friend 2 months ago, still they say it is not allowed. The staff then tried to call I believe is someone in higher position and ask. The answer given was as what I have told before.
LOL. Though it didn't work, it was still a good try. Anyway, this reminds me to bring the Hana Bank receipt next time i go there. Luckily i still keep that receipt with me sweat.gif

I did ask how should I proof I am staying in the hotel, no answer given as the one who speaks english with me doesn't speaks well and can't help me much.
Most likely they will ask you to produce your hotel key card or alternatively, they can call the hotel directly. After all, the hotel is just upstairs biggrin.gif

I will be here for 3 months, till March. Maybe we can meet up if you ae coming within this period.

Most likely i will go in April. Will bring my grandparents along. Pretty much why we intend to go in April instead because April is not so cold anymore. But i'll drop you a PM in case i'm going early smile.gif

By the way, have you tried Shinhan Bank ?

Oh yeah, the Hana Bank and Shinhan Bank money exchange booths at Incheon definitely buy MYR. Shinhan Bank even displays MYR exchange rate on the board. The exchange rate isn't that good though without the Asiana Airlines boarding pass.

yawha
post Dec 8 2011, 06:18 PM

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Dec 6 2011, 11:55 PM)
LOL. Though it didn't work, it was still a good try. Anyway, this reminds me to bring the Hana Bank receipt next time i go there. Luckily i still keep that receipt with me   sweat.gif
Most likely they will ask you to produce your hotel key card or alternatively, they can call the hotel directly. After all, the hotel is just upstairs   biggrin.gif
Most likely i will go in April. Will bring my grandparents along. Pretty much why we intend to go in April instead because April is not so cold anymore. But i'll drop you a PM in case i'm going early   smile.gif

By the way, have you tried Shinhan Bank ?

Oh yeah, the Hana Bank and Shinhan Bank money exchange booths at Incheon definitely buy MYR. Shinhan Bank even displays MYR exchange rate on the board. The exchange rate isn't that good though without the Asiana Airlines boarding pass.
shoudl try and come at May, Then can participate in Jongmyo's yearly celebration..UNESCO certified ceremony.
Anyway, if you will be visiting earlier, just drop me email or so then .

Added on December 8, 2011, 6:23 pm
QUOTE(yawha @ Dec 8 2011, 06:18 PM)
shoudl try and come at May, Then can participate in Jongmyo's yearly celebration..UNESCO certified ceremony.
btw, did not try Shinhan..Gived up .tongue.gif COz when I ask Yoori and Hana bank staff, they both refer me to the foreiegn exchange bank. :I

This post has been edited by yawha: Dec 8 2011, 06:23 PM
MilesAndMore
post Dec 8 2011, 06:38 PM

9,301 posts

Sure. Will do smile.gif

btw, did not try Shinhan..Gived up .tongue.gif COz when I ask Yoori and Hana bank staff, they both refer me to the foreiegn exchange bank. :I
LOL. Yeah, Woori Bank definitely can't. I've tried there before too in one of their branches in Gangnam sweat.gif

abc111
post Dec 14 2011, 01:31 PM

29 posts

Where is the best rate for Euro and Pound at the moment? Let say RM10k for Euro and Rm5k for pound. Thanks!
cybersim2
post Dec 15 2011, 04:55 PM

503 posts

Where can I get better rate for Thai Baht coz I see Wawasan rate is RM10.45 - THB100
stimix
post Dec 15 2011, 06:02 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wawasan temporary out of business and the site has not been updated since Oct 2011.

Just goto the neighbour i.e MV or the NZ magazine store Money changer beside Jusco supermarket/ opposite McD in MV.

Otherwise, just goto any money chagners outside & surrounding BB Plaza..great rates there. Or if PJ - Goto IKANO - Money changer opposite Uncle Lim
Putraskyline
post Dec 21 2011, 03:15 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Dec 15 2011, 04:55 PM)
Where can I get better rate for Thai Baht coz I see Wawasan rate is RM10.45 - THB100
I change to THB on Saturday at 10.30 at Bkt Bintang Area.
cybersim2
post Dec 21 2011, 03:16 PM

503 posts

Oic..no wonder the rate so high..thanks for the tip
impedance
post Dec 26 2011, 05:11 PM

166 posts

If I have SGD and AUD, and want to convert to EUR, is it better to convert here in Malaysia or to convert them in Europe?

By converting SGD/AUD in Malaysia, I would need to exchange SGD/AUD -> MYR -> EUR?

Please advice, thanks!
yiyibrowers
post Dec 26 2011, 10:37 PM

751 posts

QUOTE(impedance @ Dec 26 2011, 06:11 PM)
If I have SGD and AUD, and want to convert to EUR, is it better to convert here in Malaysia or to convert them in Europe?

By converting SGD/AUD in Malaysia, I would need to exchange SGD/AUD -> MYR -> EUR?

Please advice, thanks!
I would recommend u convert at Europe more better as these currency accepted worldwide... If convert at Malaysia, you will waste or double conversion rate....
Putraskyline
post Jan 7 2012, 04:41 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

Change THB at 10.12 at Mid Valley today. Quite cheap .

133 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0360sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:08 AM