Putraskyline
post Dec 25 2009, 11:51 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(asciii @ Dec 25 2009, 10:36 AM)
does visa and amex credit card providers charge admin fees when using their credit cards overseas?
Yes, Amex/Visa/MC do charge for admin, surcharge on top on exchange rates. Amex was the highest which is 2.5%. Its vary from bank to bank.
Putraskyline
post Feb 2 2010, 09:29 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

Hmmm.....I'm confuse of calculation from ringgit to THB.

From Wawasan,

100        THAI BHAT   Buying 10.300000   Selling 10.500000

Thats means, if I change Rm 8k, what I got is :

(8000/10.5)*100 = THB76,190

If change with h4e,

(8000/10.4)*100 = THB76,923

If I want to change at Phuket, for example

http://www.bangkokbank.com/Bangkok%20Bank/...es/Default.aspx

MYR   Malaysia: 10, 50, 100   Buying 8.95   Selling 10.01 
[Unit : Baht per 1 unit of foreign currency]

Thats mean :

8000*8.95 = THB71,600

All my calculation correct or not ?

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Feb 2 2010, 09:54 AM
Putraskyline
post Feb 2 2010, 10:01 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 2 2010, 10:00 AM)
Yes correcto liao
Means, change in M'sia better than in Thailand liao?
Putraskyline
post Feb 2 2010, 10:08 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Feb 2 2010, 10:05 AM)
Yeah..Unless u can change 1/2 here & another 1/2, u can try looking for better than Banghkok bank money changer in phuket?
I was looking the same method. Change half with h4e and another half at money changer in Phuket. But from seeing Bangkok Bank rates, do you think money changer rates in Phuket can compete with ours?
Putraskyline
post Feb 23 2010, 09:34 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

Thai Baht going down. Good news to me smile.gif

http://www.wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.asp
Putraskyline
post Feb 25 2010, 12:28 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Feb 25 2010, 10:42 AM)
It went down to 10.30 on Mid Jan.. Good Luck to you!
Going up back today. Last night went to MV. Wawasan rate are 10.5 while changer inside NZ Shop are 10.47.
Putraskyline
post Feb 25 2010, 04:25 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Feb 25 2010, 03:03 PM)
biggrin.gif  i saw 10.30 in Mid-Jan but thinking to wait for it to drop further and didn't change then at last had to change at  10.45  vmad.gif
Haha.....I think I will be the next tongue.gif Wait to drop till 10.4 though.
Putraskyline
post Mar 1 2010, 04:45 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

Finally I changed to THB last Sunday. While rates at Wawasan and beside shop is at 10.55, booth inside NZ Bookstore 10.50, I found out Maybank The Garden offer better rates at 10.48.
Putraskyline
post Mar 3 2010, 07:45 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Mar 3 2010, 09:15 AM)
I'm not going to BKK. I'm going Phuket. But the rates are quite good.
Putraskyline
post Jul 7 2010, 03:43 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(ljf123 @ Jul 7 2010, 03:22 PM)
location?sure got stock or not...i need it on Saturday.... swiss franc 500
Call them first to ask to avoid disappointment.
Putraskyline
post Jul 8 2010, 04:28 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(kazama82 @ Jul 8 2010, 03:14 PM)
i think different as the exchange rate is different
Why too lazy? Simple google will tell you the answer.

by Jian Shuo Wang (@jianshuo) on August 26, 2007 under Living in Shanghai

This may seems a very easy question, but it is frequent one - trust me, I receive several emails everyday from visitors to Shanghai, and many people got confused of the difference between RMB and Yuan. For example, yesterday, when I answer a question with 2500 RMB, my reader asked: Is RMB and Yuan the same thing?

Yes. It is the same. RMB is the abbr. of Ren Min Bi, or the People's Money. It is the official currency (maybe the only one) in China.

Yuan is the base unit for RMB - just as Dollar in USD. This is the currency system in China:

分 Fen cent
角 Jiao dime
圆 Yuan dollar

The first characters (you may not be able to see them if your computer don't have Chinese font support) are the Chinese character of the currency unit. The second is its Pinyin / English name, and the last one is the counterpart in USD.

So Yuan and RMB is not always the same (as Yuan is just one of the currency units in RMB), but they can often be used interchangeably. 2500 RMB and 2500 Yuan is exactly the same amount of money.

http://home.wangjianshuo.com/archives/2007...he_same_yes.htm

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g2942...ne-Beijing.html

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Jul 8 2010, 04:30 PM
Putraskyline
post Jul 8 2010, 05:11 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 8 2010, 04:54 PM)
haha putra angry liao....Told you...

Malaysian Chinese also using the same China denomination for ringgit mah:

yuan or Qwai = Dollar/ringgit
Jiao = sen /cent
fen = as in wufen (5 cent) or yefen (1 cent)

Similar system also in almost all Far east-lah...Japan using the same yen, koren - Won & Vietnam - Dong..almost similar sounding for Yuan
I'm not angry lah biggrin.gif Sometimes forum are good to share and not for spoonfeeding like this.
Putraskyline
post Dec 21 2011, 03:15 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(cybersim2 @ Dec 15 2011, 04:55 PM)
Where can I get better rate for Thai Baht coz I see Wawasan rate is RM10.45 - THB100
I change to THB on Saturday at 10.30 at Bkt Bintang Area.
Putraskyline
post Jan 7 2012, 04:41 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

Change THB at 10.12 at Mid Valley today. Quite cheap .
Putraskyline
post Jan 17 2012, 09:13 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 17 2012, 11:03 AM)
Yesterday in Carrefour Puchong RMB50.40

Based on BNM rate Today rate of 49.65 http://www.bnm.gov.my/statistics/exchangerates.php it's abit pricey lor..If can get exactly RMB50 or 50.20 should be good liao. Anyway, wawasana rate still not updated ...meaning they are still facing licensing problem. The surrounding MV probably ~ 50.30 based on my last tmth comparison wth Puchong. The Ikano side -opposite Uncle Lim probably ~ 50.30 and I think those in front of BB plaza even lower  hmm.gif
Wawasan Still closed till now.
Putraskyline
post Jan 30 2012, 03:53 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 30 2012, 02:51 PM)
Done a comparison wth MV & front of BB Plaza Starbucks money changers Yesterday.. Overall, those in front of BB Plaza pawned MV!

For eg..the selling rate of following that I can recall:

US - MV- 3.04 , BB - 3.02
Japanese Yen - MV - 40.00, BB - 39.80
Korean Won - MV -2.85, BB 2.82

Meaning at this moment, Those money changers fronting Starbucks BB Plaza better than MV for sure.  smile.gif
Agreed.....Nowadays BB are better.
Putraskyline
post May 9 2013, 12:07 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(namh @ May 9 2013, 11:56 AM)
just want to share.. i found this money changer in Ampang nearby Ampang Point, exact place is in Petronas Jalan Kerja Ayer Lama.. easy to go and parking.. and have website which updated daily for online reference:

http://www.afrresources.com.my/

their rate looks quite good too
Their Euro looks good!!
Putraskyline
post Sep 2 2013, 01:19 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE($kidzl @ Sep 2 2013, 12:27 PM)
buying rupiah. pm me if youre selling.
Rupiah is cheap at money changer.
Putraskyline
post Sep 2 2013, 01:31 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE($kidzl @ Sep 2 2013, 01:28 PM)
can recommend me a good one?
1st Page....1m for RM295
Putraskyline
post Sep 10 2013, 04:41 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(e30 @ Sep 10 2013, 02:13 PM)
is it better to exchange MYR for rupiah in msia  or in jkt?
Currently almost the same but depend on money changer also.

0.0268sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:43 AM