Travel Currency exchange

joeylny
post Jul 23 2010, 03:19 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 23 2010, 11:12 AM)
Wah..The gap between BNM & money canger rate for Thai Bath really damn huge..Yeah better change to US$ 1st better...Last time THB not like this!
sigh shud have posted this earlier before my thailand trip last mth then i can shop more ..
anyway thanks for this information!

stimix
post Jul 23 2010, 03:35 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha...But current Thai bath to RM at market rate really tempting ..Now our rate higher then them liao..Thai Bath & taiwanese currency almost similar...Damn cheap going to Thailand & Taiwan right now..if only getting the market rate & not m'sian money changer rate haha
dawnreaver
post Jul 23 2010, 03:51 PM

660 posts

Anyway I was doing some research these past few days and found out in order to get RM1 = THB10 you can change from RM to THB at the Superrich money changer located at Pratunam (near the BigC supermarket). Hope this helps. biggrin.gif
joeylny
post Jul 26 2010, 01:02 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 23 2010, 03:35 PM)
Haha...But current Thai bath to RM at market rate really tempting ..Now our rate higher then them liao..Thai Bath & taiwanese currency almost similar...Damn cheap going to Thailand & Taiwan right now..if only getting the market rate & not m'sian money changer rate haha
Yeah so tempting to go to thailand..Now waiting for airasia promo.
hopefully by then this way is still feasible.

Lis000
post Jul 26 2010, 01:56 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(dawnreaver @ Jul 23 2010, 03:51 PM)
Anyway I was doing some research these past few days and found out in order to get RM1 = THB10 you can change from RM to THB at the Superrich money changer located at Pratunam (near the BigC supermarket). Hope this helps.  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(joeylny @ Jul 26 2010, 01:02 PM)
Yeah so tempting to go to thailand..Now waiting for airasia promo.
hopefully by then this way is still feasible.
Yeah, me too. But I saw this in the news today :

Bomb in central Bangkok kills 1, wounds 10
- The bomb had been hidden near a trash bin at a bus stop on Ratchadumri Road in the heart of Bangkok's commercial district.

This was actually infront of the BigC supermarket!

Wouldn't these continous chaos affect the Baht exchange rate?

joeylny
post Jul 26 2010, 02:07 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(Lis000 @ Jul 26 2010, 01:56 PM)
Yeah, me too. But I saw this in the news today :

Bomb in central Bangkok kills 1, wounds 10
- The bomb had been hidden near a trash bin at a bus stop on Ratchadumri Road in the heart of Bangkok's commercial district.
This was actually infront of the BigC supermarket!

yeah heard bout that news as well..
probably wont be booking flights to travel now but to travel to bkk few mths later or next year.. so hopefully things are cleared by then,.
plus its also your luck if u happen to choose the time to travel n there is riot or bombs.. we just never know

tatsuyachiba
post Jul 26 2010, 02:10 PM

QUOTE(Lis000 @ Jul 26 2010, 01:56 PM)
You would think so but no. THB actually held steady during the last demonstrations and even appreciated some against USD.
The purported reason is that all this hoo-haa is doing is killing the tourism market.
Tourism is only 6% of Thailand's GDP. It's export sector (manufacturing and food) is growing gangbusters year-on-year in the high teens.
Hence the strength of the THB.

MR_alien
post Jul 27 2010, 08:17 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

anyone here knows which money changer is best in sabah?
want to exchange MYR to SGD soon
LAEDIDEAL
post Jul 28 2010, 09:41 AM

17 posts

I'm going to london this 6 august... any advice on exchanging RM to Pound?

This post has been edited by LAEDIDEAL: Jul 28 2010, 09:42 AM
jimmyay
post Jul 28 2010, 10:45 AM

228 posts

I am travelling to Aus soon. As i have some USD with me too, do i exchange it to AUD in Msia or Aus?

Any website in AUS that can show me rates like wawasan?
smoochiesayn
post Jul 28 2010, 12:11 PM

787 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 23 2010, 03:35 PM)
so, i assume now it's a good time to exchange some TWD now, yes?

will be heading to TPE end of oct.
stimix
post Jul 28 2010, 02:18 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Well up to you to change here or change to US$ 1st & thereafter to NT$ The gap getting closer..last time the diff is about RM0.50. For eg market rate RM10.50 to NT100 but Wawasana was quoting RM11. Currently Market rate is RM10 & money changer is at RM10.35..diff of RM0.35. If you change small amt not much diff. But if you change big amt, for sure better change to US$ first. U get xtra RM0.30 for every NT$ you change by doing this...Or you lost RM0.30 by convereting direct to NT$ here
stimix
post Aug 17 2010, 05:12 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Where you intend to stay in KL? There arte lotsa recommended money changers here such as http://www.wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.asp
located at mid valley megamal ctr court basement.

However they are no longer the cheapest but reasonable. You can use their rate & compare to others during your visit here..

Also at Bukit Bintang area, there are numerous money changers too so do every malls in KL.
mileginy
post Aug 18 2010, 12:59 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 17 2010, 05:12 PM)
Where you intend to stay in KL? There arte lotsa recommended money changers here such as http://www.wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.asp
located at mid valley megamal ctr court basement.

However they are no longer the cheapest but reasonable. You can use their rate & compare to others during your visit here..

Also at Bukit Bintang area, there are numerous money changers too so do every malls in KL.
Hi guys... I found that bank negara currency exchange rate is much cheaper. http://www.bnm.gov.my/statistics/exchangerates.php

Wonder whether can we go to Bank Negara to exchange money? hmm.gif Anybody know that ?
stimix
post Aug 18 2010, 01:40 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yes we know that but I dun think you can do that unless you are the money traders..Well I'm not sure, probably those money changers are the one using/buying Bank Negara. & thus the diff between BN & money changers are the commission income of those money changers
tzuen
post Aug 19 2010, 06:34 PM

430 posts

Gonna change some CHINESE RMB, any recommended place?
@lice~~
post Aug 19 2010, 07:07 PM

565 posts

QUOTE(tzuen @ Aug 19 2010, 06:34 PM)
Try World Rate at Damansara Uptown

moody5
post Aug 22 2010, 01:32 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(jimmyay @ Jul 28 2010, 10:45 AM)
I am travelling to Aus soon. As i have some USD with me too, do i exchange it to AUD in Msia or Aus?

Any website in AUS that can show me rates like wawasan?
you should it in Aus as it will give you more AUD

if you want to convert those USD into AUD in M'sia, you will get lesser AUD as the money chnger will convert your USD into MYR then only convert those MYR into AUD

but you can convert the USD into AUD directly in AUD

Added on August 22, 2010, 1:34 pm
QUOTE(tzuen @ Aug 19 2010, 06:34 PM)
seriously if you in KL but you only change less than RMB 10k, no point to keep on travel to certain to change it.

RMB rate is around RM 47.8 to RMB100

This post has been edited by moody5: Aug 22 2010, 01:34 PM
aliluya
post Aug 23 2010, 01:58 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 28 2010, 02:18 PM)
Well up to you to change here or change to US$ 1st & thereafter to NT$ The gap getting closer..last time the diff is about RM0.50. For eg market rate RM10.50 to NT100 but Wawasana was quoting RM11. Currently Market rate is RM10 & money changer is at RM10.35..diff of RM0.35. If you change small amt not much diff. But if you change big amt, for sure better change to US$ first. U get xtra RM0.30 for every NT$ you change by doing this...Or you lost RM0.30 by convereting direct to NT$ here
stimix bro, i get quote on Taiwan dollar 10,000 with RM 1,020. Is this rate ok?

and also get quote on RM 3,155 for USD$1000. Which one better?

objective is to switch to Taiwan dollar later on.

fuzagi
post Aug 24 2010, 08:36 AM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

hi. just wanna ask, will i get more to change MYR to SGD here in msia, or in singapore itself?

133 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:06 PM