Putraskyline
post Jul 7 2010, 03:43 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(ljf123 @ Jul 7 2010, 03:22 PM)
location?sure got stock or not...i need it on Saturday.... swiss franc 500
Call them first to ask to avoid disappointment.
mou yok
post Jul 7 2010, 07:31 PM

96 posts

anyone know about the money exchanger in One Utama? i need Swiss france 450..

please give me the contact number! thanks!
rayfoo
post Jul 8 2010, 06:51 AM

2,562 posts

786 Star Licensed Money Changer 1U

QUOTE(mou yok @ Jul 7 2010, 07:31 PM)
anyone know about the money exchanger in One Utama? i need Swiss france 450..

please give me the contact number! thanks!
kazama82
post Jul 8 2010, 01:30 PM

1,427 posts

i plan go beijing via tianjin..should i change to RMB or Yuan?..
stimix
post Jul 8 2010, 02:53 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Hmnnn what's the diff between RMB & yuan haha...

If Ringgit can be called Dollar or even yuan (by M'sian chinese) so do RMB & Yuan..
kazama82
post Jul 8 2010, 03:14 PM

1,427 posts

i think different as the exchange rate is different
Putraskyline
post Jul 8 2010, 04:28 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(kazama82 @ Jul 8 2010, 03:14 PM)
i think different as the exchange rate is different
Why too lazy? Simple google will tell you the answer.

by Jian Shuo Wang (@jianshuo) on August 26, 2007 under Living in Shanghai

This may seems a very easy question, but it is frequent one - trust me, I receive several emails everyday from visitors to Shanghai, and many people got confused of the difference between RMB and Yuan. For example, yesterday, when I answer a question with 2500 RMB, my reader asked: Is RMB and Yuan the same thing?

Yes. It is the same. RMB is the abbr. of Ren Min Bi, or the People's Money. It is the official currency (maybe the only one) in China.

Yuan is the base unit for RMB - just as Dollar in USD. This is the currency system in China:

分 Fen cent
角 Jiao dime
圆 Yuan dollar

The first characters (you may not be able to see them if your computer don't have Chinese font support) are the Chinese character of the currency unit. The second is its Pinyin / English name, and the last one is the counterpart in USD.

So Yuan and RMB is not always the same (as Yuan is just one of the currency units in RMB), but they can often be used interchangeably. 2500 RMB and 2500 Yuan is exactly the same amount of money.

http://home.wangjianshuo.com/archives/2007...he_same_yes.htm

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g2942...ne-Beijing.html

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Jul 8 2010, 04:30 PM
stimix
post Jul 8 2010, 04:54 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

haha putra angry liao....Told you...

Malaysian Chinese also using the same China denomination for ringgit mah:

yuan or Qwai = Dollar/ringgit
Jiao = sen /cent
fen = as in wufen (5 cent) or yefen (1 cent)

Similar system also in almost all Far east-lah...Japan using the same yen, koren - Won & Vietnam - Dong..almost similar sounding for Yuan

This post has been edited by stimix: Jul 8 2010, 05:07 PM
Putraskyline
post Jul 8 2010, 05:11 PM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 8 2010, 04:54 PM)
haha putra angry liao....Told you...

Malaysian Chinese also using the same China denomination for ringgit mah:

yuan or Qwai = Dollar/ringgit
Jiao = sen /cent
fen = as in wufen (5 cent) or yefen (1 cent)

Similar system also in almost all Far east-lah...Japan using the same yen, koren - Won & Vietnam - Dong..almost similar sounding for Yuan
I'm not angry lah biggrin.gif Sometimes forum are good to share and not for spoonfeeding like this.
kazama82
post Jul 9 2010, 09:38 PM

1,427 posts

thanks!
cancellation
post Jul 19 2010, 05:15 PM

59 posts

hi all..

i want to exchange malaysian ringgit to taiwan dollar in this 2 weeks time.

may u all know which and wher the currency exchange dealer give a good price for this deal? can be change more get more discount?

i wan to exchange quite an amount of MYR to taiwan dollar:) current lowest price that i look around was RM10.4 = TWD $100.

pls gv me a guidance and enlighten me....thanks
stimix
post Jul 19 2010, 06:17 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Current market rate for NT to RM is ~ RM1.003 to NT$10 & the best here as u said is at RM-10.4

You can get better rate even after paying double commission by converting to US$ first & thereafter at Taipei airport, convert to NT$

When I went to Taipei last year, the market rate was at RM10.55 but most of the money changer here charging RM11.00. I converted to US$ ^ thereafter to NT$ wth avg rate at RM10.60..saving me RM0.40 for each Nt$
joeylny
post Jul 20 2010, 11:56 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 19 2010, 06:17 PM)
Current market rate for NT to RM is ~ RM1.003 to NT$10 & the best here as u said is at RM-10.4

You can get better rate even after paying double commission by converting to US$ first & thereafter at Taipei airport, convert to NT$

When I went to Taipei last year, the market rate was at RM10.55 but most of the money changer here charging RM11.00. I converted to US$ ^ thereafter to NT$ wth avg rate at RM10.60..saving me RM0.40 for each Nt$
but how did u know the market rate was lower than our exchange rate?
does it apply to taipei only?
or other places as well..

stimix
post Jul 20 2010, 12:11 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

You can check wth Bank Negara here:
http://www.bnm.gov.my/statistics/exchangerates.php
Or use the internet converter such as:
http://www.bnm.gov.my/statistics/exchangerates.php

& compare this wth Wawasan.. http://www.wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.asp

Not necessary wth Taiwain Dollar (Infact the gap improved already)others worst overpriced currency that I know here in Malaysia - Peso-Phillipine & Dong-Vietnam.. & to my suprise...Thai Bath also currently overpriced by local money changers!! That's not the case last time!!

Good currency offer by M'sian Money changer by comparing the sell rate & the Bank Negara Middle rate include:

US$, S$, HK$, UK pound, Japan Yen, A$, Ruppiah & more..

Just check the gap..If the gap between both very high, Might as well change to US$ 1st & thereafter to the country currency upon arrival
cancellation
post Jul 21 2010, 12:47 AM

59 posts

thanks stimix for the information. so fyi u recommended that change USD at malaysia 1st then only change the NTD at taiwan airport?

how to know that taiwan dollar changing rate ther is lower than here?scare kena chop by the ppl there~
stimix
post Jul 21 2010, 07:24 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

You can check the Bank of Taiwan exchange rate for US$ here:

http://rate.bot.com.tw/Pages/Static/UIP003.en-US.htm

BTW, All money changers in Taipei are actually banks. Thus, u can find BOT at Taipei airport too. There will be a NT$30 commission changing at the airport. More info at the Taiwan thread..Well discussed before.

Anyway, the gap between the market rate & money changer rate getting better already...last time the gap can be RM0.50 to RM0.70..From what I seee right now the gap only ~ RM0.35...If you are OK, changing direct also OK dy..
dawnreaver
post Jul 21 2010, 01:46 PM

660 posts

Stimix, seeing that local money changers are currently overpricing the THB, would it better to change RM to USD and then change USD to THB over in Thailand? Got a long vacation coming up and I need quite a large sum of THB.
stimix
post Jul 21 2010, 04:14 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

B4 u do that, also check the US$ offer by bangkok money changer..i'm not sure any..If after converting to US$ & re-convert back, you can get ~ 10bath to RM1.. I think it will be good deal but if after converting you are getting ~ 10bath for RM1.02 or even RM1.03..might as well do it here..
joeylny
post Jul 23 2010, 09:26 AM

555 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jul 21 2010, 04:14 PM)
B4 u do that, also check the US$ offer by bangkok money changer..i'm not sure any..If after converting to US$ & re-convert back, you can get ~ 10bath to RM1.. I think it will be good deal but if after converting you are getting ~ 10bath for RM1.02 or even RM1.03..might as well do it here..
I am going to hk soon so i just tried comparing HKD
BNM 41.3076
wawasan 41.5

Scenario 1: MRY -HKD
RM5000 =HKD 12048.19

Scenario 2: MYR-USD-HKD
RM5000 = USD1557.63
According to hk bank rate if i sell USD its 7.72
so USD1557.63 X 7.72 = 12024.90 + Commission charges

So i guess wif that small a gap its not worth changing to USD.

But if its Thai baht then i guess its worth changing

thai baht:
BNM 9.95
Wawasan 10.30

Scenario 1=MYR-THB
RM5000= THB48543.69

Scenario 2-MYR-USD-THB
RM5000=USD1557.63

Thai bank rate 32.04= 49406.47

Indeed u get much more for certain currencies..

Not sure if i did the right calculations but i use BNM / wawasan ./ foreign bank bill buy rate.
stimix
post Jul 23 2010, 11:12 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wah..The gap between BNM & money canger rate for Thai Bath really damn huge..Yeah better change to US$ 1st better...Last time THB not like this!

133 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:34 AM