Hmnnn what's the diff between RMB & yuan haha...
If Ringgit can be called Dollar or even yuan (by M'sian chinese) so do RMB & Yuan..
Travel Currency exchange
Jul 8 2010, 02:53 PM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
Hmnnn what's the diff between RMB & yuan haha...
If Ringgit can be called Dollar or even yuan (by M'sian chinese) so do RMB & Yuan.. |
Jul 8 2010, 04:54 PM
haha putra angry liao....Told you...
Malaysian Chinese also using the same China denomination for ringgit mah: yuan or Qwai = Dollar/ringgit Jiao = sen /cent fen = as in wufen (5 cent) or yefen (1 cent) Similar system also in almost all Far east-lah...Japan using the same yen, koren - Won & Vietnam - Dong..almost similar sounding for Yuan This post has been edited by stimix: Jul 8 2010, 05:07 PM |
Jul 19 2010, 06:17 PM
Current market rate for NT to RM is ~ RM1.003 to NT$10 & the best here as u said is at RM-10.4
You can get better rate even after paying double commission by converting to US$ first & thereafter at Taipei airport, convert to NT$ When I went to Taipei last year, the market rate was at RM10.55 but most of the money changer here charging RM11.00. I converted to US$ ^ thereafter to NT$ wth avg rate at RM10.60..saving me RM0.40 for each Nt$ |
Jul 20 2010, 12:11 PM
You can check wth Bank Negara here:
http://www.bnm.gov.my/statistics/exchangerates.php Or use the internet converter such as: http://www.bnm.gov.my/statistics/exchangerates.php & compare this wth Wawasan.. http://www.wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.asp Not necessary wth Taiwain Dollar (Infact the gap improved already)others worst overpriced currency that I know here in Malaysia - Peso-Phillipine & Dong-Vietnam.. & to my suprise...Thai Bath also currently overpriced by local money changers!! That's not the case last time!! Good currency offer by M'sian Money changer by comparing the sell rate & the Bank Negara Middle rate include: US$, S$, HK$, UK pound, Japan Yen, A$, Ruppiah & more.. Just check the gap..If the gap between both very high, Might as well change to US$ 1st & thereafter to the country currency upon arrival |
Jul 21 2010, 07:24 AM
You can check the Bank of Taiwan exchange rate for US$ here:
http://rate.bot.com.tw/Pages/Static/UIP003.en-US.htm BTW, All money changers in Taipei are actually banks. Thus, u can find BOT at Taipei airport too. There will be a NT$30 commission changing at the airport. More info at the Taiwan thread..Well discussed before. Anyway, the gap between the market rate & money changer rate getting better already...last time the gap can be RM0.50 to RM0.70..From what I seee right now the gap only ~ RM0.35...If you are OK, changing direct also OK dy.. |
Jul 21 2010, 04:14 PM
B4 u do that, also check the US$ offer by bangkok money changer..i'm not sure any..If after converting to US$ & re-convert back, you can get ~ 10bath to RM1.. I think it will be good deal but if after converting you are getting ~ 10bath for RM1.02 or even RM1.03..might as well do it here..
Jul 23 2010, 11:12 AM
Wah..The gap between BNM & money canger rate for Thai Bath really damn huge..Yeah better change to US$ 1st better...Last time THB not like this!
Jul 23 2010, 03:35 PM
Haha...But current Thai bath to RM at market rate really tempting ..Now our rate higher then them liao..Thai Bath & taiwanese currency almost similar...Damn cheap going to Thailand & Taiwan right now..if only getting the market rate & not m'sian money changer rate haha
Jul 28 2010, 02:18 PM
Well up to you to change here or change to US$ 1st & thereafter to NT$ The gap getting closer..last time the diff is about RM0.50. For eg market rate RM10.50 to NT100 but Wawasana was quoting RM11. Currently Market rate is RM10 & money changer is at RM10.35..diff of RM0.35. If you change small amt not much diff. But if you change big amt, for sure better change to US$ first. U get xtra RM0.30 for every NT$ you change by doing this...Or you lost RM0.30 by convereting direct to NT$ here
Aug 17 2010, 05:12 PM
Where you intend to stay in KL? There arte lotsa recommended money changers here such as http://www.wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.asp
located at mid valley megamal ctr court basement. However they are no longer the cheapest but reasonable. You can use their rate & compare to others during your visit here.. Also at Bukit Bintang area, there are numerous money changers too so do every malls in KL. |
Aug 18 2010, 01:40 PM
Yes we know that but I dun think you can do that unless you are the money traders..Well I'm not sure, probably those money changers are the one using/buying Bank Negara. & thus the diff between BN & money changers are the commission income of those money changers
Sep 13 2010, 12:04 PM
To really find out, you need to know the money changers avg rate in Germany 1st. & comparing the money changer rate in Malaysia to Bank Negara Benchmark.
If the selling rate & bank negara rate very far apart, changing to US$ will be the best option but if the EURO in M'sia is strong & close to Bank Negara rate, might as well change it in Malaysia QUOTE(@lowyat @ Sep 13 2010, 11:37 AM) |
Oct 6 2010, 02:59 PM
Don't only look at the rate. But also transportation/parking cost of searching for the best rate..Sometime, it is cheaper just to bargain at the nearest money changer by showing what rate you want by comparing to Bank Negara 9Impossible to get) or even http://www.wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.asp
Oct 19 2010, 10:11 AM
Probably change everything back to US$ at Icheon airport & thereafter converted back to RM here. sometime you get better rate this way although having to pay double commission.
Applicable to those currencies not in demand in M'sia & having big gap between buy/sell rate. |
Oct 29 2010, 09:07 AM
For NT$, you get better rate even paying double for commission by converting 2st to US$ here & re-convert to NT$ at Taipei airport. The Money changers in Taipei airports are all banks & regulated so all the rate whether in downtown bank or airport almost the same except the fix NT$30 commission at the airport.
QUOTE(jayoscar @ Oct 28 2010, 05:27 PM) |
Nov 1 2010, 07:20 AM
Just shop around for the best SG rate in town. All money changers having diff rates. It's like buying & selling goods. No procedure. Only supply & demand.
The best benchmark is here: http://www.wawasanmoneychanger.com.my/exchangeRates.asp If you are converting to SG, the rate is the "Selling" rate qouted and if you are converting SG to RM, use the "Buying" rate. If you are using road, changing at JB sometime is attractive compare to KL. they somehow or rather having the same buying & selling rate. |
Nov 1 2010, 12:57 PM
Nowadays, there are lotsa money changers giving better than Wawasan dy..Mostly in KL area.
Nov 3 2010, 08:36 PM
Change near SG/JB border.. sometime very good price
Nov 4 2010, 09:46 AM
Well, wawasan is always a benchmark here and once the cheapest. However due to competitions & probably tnx to the forum & wawasan, others hv started reducing their prices..you just go back few pages & check which one offering the best...Right now, I found out those money changers in front & beside Starbucks BB plaza
Nov 5 2010, 07:36 AM
Wawasan is selling for 2.395 i.e for $500, you should be paying only RM1,197.50.
Anyway, the diff is very minimal..you only lost RM2.50 ..almost like the weekend parking in Mid Valley haha The rate of converting back or converting to S$ in Singapore is not so good compare to M'sia...Furthermore, near the border, I can't hardly find any money changers ~ Woodland compare to JB |
| Change to: | 0.0413sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:18 PM |