120 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

RC Flying Models V4, radio controlled aircrafts

Lez Pall
post Aug 18 2015, 05:03 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Aug 18 2015, 04:06 PM)
I'm flying my hubsan X4 around the playground area of my condo... One day will fly out beyond the pool... tongue.gif

[attachmentid=4769278]
How can you see it from that high,is the X4 the H107D FPV model and you are flying it by viewing the screen?A slight gust of wind can send it all the way to Singapore if you're not careful. tongue.gif
blurjoey
post Aug 19 2015, 04:06 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Lez Pall @ Aug 18 2015, 05:03 PM)
How can you see it from that high,is the X4 the H107D FPV model and you are flying it by viewing the screen?A slight gust of wind can send it all the way to Singapore if you're not careful. tongue.gif
I'm flying when I'm at the playground area... Only have the H107L to practice... Usually try to fly when there is less wind... But quite hard as the pool/playground area is 150m high from sea level... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

That's why looking for another quad that's good to fly in windy situation...
blurjoey
post Aug 19 2015, 04:17 PM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

double post sweat.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Aug 19 2015, 10:49 PM
mkmobile
post Aug 24 2015, 02:08 AM

417 posts

deleted.

This post has been edited by mkmobile: Sep 2 2015, 03:46 AM
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 24 2015, 09:37 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Hi guys!

Wow, looks like most people in this thread flies quads eh?

I'm flying a Walkera V450D03 heli and also have WLToys V977 and V933 micros.

Recently just got a Walkera Devo 10 transmitter and now I can fly all of them with one transmitter! Woohoo! Deviation firmware is awesome!

Thinking of playing with planes and racing quads next time if the budget permits, currently keeping my fleet airworthy is already costing me enough money laugh.gif

I see some people asking for physical shops eh, can head to fb and search for this group 'Dunia RC Group Malaysia', there have quite a few sellers and also once in awhile some people will post quite useful tips etc. Pretty nice platform for discussion there.
davidwyl
post Aug 26 2015, 03:34 PM

155 posts

I fly quads &heli, transmitter become an huge problem when u own multiple quads & heli. So I Bought this devo 7e and modified it so it can control all my quad & heli.
Added 2 transmitter module inside the devo 7e. Now I can fly every quad&heli that I own .
Seem like very little forum discuss about walkera devention (Devo) with deviation TX firmware.

For those who did mod your devo Please share your modification also biggrin.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Nightstalker1993
post Aug 27 2015, 03:46 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(davidwyl @ Aug 26 2015, 03:34 PM)
I fly quads &heli, transmitter become an huge problem when u own multiple quads & heli. So  I Bought this devo 7e and modified it so it can control all my quad & heli.
Added 2 transmitter module inside the devo 7e.  Now I can fly every quad&heli that I own .
Seem like very little forum discuss about  walkera devention (Devo) with deviation TX firmware.

For those who did mod your devo Please share your modification also biggrin.gif
huahhhhh a Devention user! Pretty rare haha. Took me quite some amount of hours to set up the transmitter to how I liked it though, damn complex mixing menu is complex indeed

Mine is installed with the NRF24L01 module ripped off from a V262 quad controller, and a A7105 module ripped off from a V911.

Did you do the range mod on yours though? My friend is asking me to help him do the range mod on his 7E, but does the range mod affect the NRF module as well or just the built in module? As my friend flies with the NRF module usually.

Loving your tri-antenna design though, thinking of doing that as well, but yesterday flew my V977 micro and the range is plenty enough, flew it around 100m away until I had trouble seeing it but it was still under control, so thinking whether is it worth the trouble, plus preferably I would like white antennas on mine tongue.gif laugh.gif

Soldering both modules on the Devo10 is a real killer, it looks like the Devo 7E is easier to solder than my Devo 10. By the way, where did you get your neckstrap CG modifier add-on? And what quads and helis do you fly and where do you fly? brows.gif

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Aug 27 2015, 03:52 PM
SupermotoXL
post Aug 28 2015, 02:04 PM

213 posts

Cheap FPV display solution to enjoy FPV!

I just write up an article how you can save money using your smartphone to enjoy FPV/drone flight or ground FPV than spending thousand of FPV display DVR equipment with just less than few ringgit. I just made tutorial here how you can use your Android smart phone to do FPV thing. Enjoy

Read my article here:
http://www.supermotoxl.com/FPV/UAV-flight-...enu-id-120.html

Here some video to get you excited about this cheap and pro level setup:

This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Aug 28 2015, 02:06 PM
SupermotoXL
post Aug 28 2015, 02:47 PM

213 posts

Looks like Gearbest.com got some good deals again:
http://www.gearbest.com/promotion-kings-of...pecial-190.html
Check em out.
davidwyl
post Aug 30 2015, 12:04 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 27 2015, 03:46 PM)
huahhhhh a Devention user! Pretty rare haha. Took me quite some amount of hours to set up the transmitter to how I liked it though, damn complex mixing menu is complex indeed
Mine is installed with the NRF24L01 module ripped off from a V262 quad controller, and a A7105 module ripped off from a V911.
Did you do the range mod on yours though? My friend is asking me to help him do the range mod on his 7E, but does the range mod affect the NRF module as well or just the built in module? As my friend flies with the NRF module usually.
Loving your tri-antenna design though, thinking of doing that as well, but yesterday flew my V977 micro and the range is plenty enough, flew it around 100m away until I had trouble seeing it but it was still under control, so thinking whether is it worth the trouble, plus preferably I would like white antennas on mine tongue.gif laugh.gif
Soldering both modules on the Devo10 is a real killer, it looks like the Devo 7E is easier to solder than my Devo 10. By the way, where did you get your neckstrap CG modifier add-on? And what quads and helis do you fly and where do you fly? brows.gif
i did the range mod, power my devo up but i didnt test the range. Everything work fine. thumbup.gif
BUT
i ordered NRF24L01 but it was faulty (vcc and gnd is shorted). i didnt know at first, so i soldered it in (causing shortcircuit in my devo).
after the NRF24L01 mod, my devo behave very weird, so i suspect the stock module cyrf6936 got fried too. so i ordered the cyrf6936 module for devo 8s and soldered in to my devo 7e ( if u see the pic clearly, my stock module is different).
*managed to get a refund for that faulty NRF24L01 rclxm9.gif

since u r using devo 10, i highly suggest u use the multi module board. i ordered the 3 multi module board. i will do multi module mod for my fren devo 7e and my own devo 7e. will definitely buy devo 10 in the future since i got extra multi module board.
By using multi module board i can install 3 extra module cc2500 + NRF24L01 + A7105 ( i dunno why i need cc2500 cos i dont have any frsky receiver biggrin.gif , i do it just for the sake of doing it laugh.gif )

davidwyl
post Aug 30 2015, 12:09 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Aug 28 2015, 02:04 PM)
Cheap FPV display solution to enjoy FPV!

[url=https://imageshack.com/i/ipXy4rtHj][img]http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/640x480q90/673/Xy4r
i got mine from ebay, this is very good investment if u plan to use your phone / tablet as a screen. thumbup.gif
*make sure the seller is selling the one with UTV007 chip in it or else u might run into compatibility issue.
davidwyl
post Aug 30 2015, 12:35 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 27 2015, 03:46 PM)

i hightly suggest u use conductive ink to do the devo 7e range mod. the component inside is almost impossible to see.
if u screwed up the stock devo 7e module, u can always buy module for devo 8s just like what i did to mine.

u can get the neck strap balancer from ebay, i got mine below RM10 2,3months ago. now u need to pay more thanks to our impressive currency performance.
SupermotoXL
post Sep 1 2015, 11:35 AM

213 posts

Enjoying my weekend holiday flying my FPV P-51D Mustang long range flight:

Photos:

davidwyl
post Sep 1 2015, 12:05 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Sep 1 2015, 11:35 AM)
Enjoying my weekend holiday flying my FPV P-51D  Mustang long range flight:
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif super cool....i never fly plane before, so far only heli & quad.
any cheap & easy maintenance & highly popular plane for beginner?
mkmobile
post Sep 2 2015, 03:50 AM

417 posts

Hi guys, previously i was trying to get the Tarantula X6. After reading some reviews, I went for the Syma X8C, since it has more lifting power and more stable in wind resistant than X6.
And yes, the stock 2MP camera is useless, don't waste your time on that. Get cams like Mobius HD / XiaoYi / SJCam.

Tied up my SJCam SJ4000, and fly it up to see the outcome. I would say it works better than I expected.

It seems can fly up very high, till I almost cant see the drone. Fly time is abit short, just around 8 minutes.

Hazy days.. otherwise could be nicer with clouds sad.gif

Next steps would be upgrade to bigger batteries, FPV and extending the transmitter range.
And off course, need to get rids of those landing legs in the photos. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by mkmobile: Sep 2 2015, 03:54 AM
Lez Pall
post Sep 2 2015, 06:42 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(mkmobile @ Sep 2 2015, 03:50 AM)
Hi guys, previously i was trying to get the Tarantula X6. After reading some reviews, I went for the Syma X8C, since it has more lifting power and more stable in wind resistant than X6.
And yes, the stock 2MP camera is useless, don't waste your time on that. Get cams like Mobius HD / XiaoYi / SJCam.

Tied up my SJCam SJ4000, and fly it up to see the outcome. I would say it works better than I expected.

It seems can fly up very high, till I almost cant see the drone. Fly time is abit short, just around 8 minutes.

Hazy days.. otherwise could be nicer with clouds  sad.gif

Next steps would be upgrade to bigger batteries, FPV and extending the transmitter range.
And off course, need to get rids of those landing legs in the photos.  sweat.gif
replace the landing legs by using the dji phantom extended legs.It wide enough to not be seen by the camera and it fits directly to the X8C,the positions of the screwholes are the same.

http://www.amazon.com/Qiyun-Landing-Phanto...r/dp/B00IGRYODS

I think if you do a break in for the motors(running them on low speed without taking off for an entire battery life)you'll get better performance and flight time,as I've seen the X8C flying for 11-13 mins with the stock battery.Also,keep a can of compressed air to blow dirt from the gears from time to time.

mkmobile
post Sep 2 2015, 10:02 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(Lez Pall @ Sep 2 2015, 06:42 PM)
replace the landing legs by using the dji phantom extended legs.It wide enough to not be seen by the camera and it fits directly to the X8C,the positions of the screwholes are the same.
http://www.amazon.com/Qiyun-Landing-Phanto...r/dp/B00IGRYODS
I think if you do a break in for the motors(running them on low speed without taking off for an entire battery life)you'll get better performance and flight time,as I've seen the X8C flying for 11-13 mins with the stock  battery.Also,keep a can of compressed air to blow dirt from the gears from time to time.
Thanks for the suggestion! rclxms.gif will try break in the motors and see if it improves.
Lez Pall
post Sep 3 2015, 04:08 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(mkmobile @ Sep 2 2015, 10:02 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion! rclxms.gif will try break in the motors and see if it improves.
You're welcome,the break in process works with any RC that uses brushed motors.I also recommend doing a low altitude hover for a few minutes to further break in the motors after the 1st process.It should take you around 20-30 minutes overall,afterwards you can go crazy with it thumbup.gif

Do note that the camera can impact the flight time quite a bit,that means w/o the camera you can get up to 14mins of flight and with the camera,the flight time cuts to 8/9/10 minutes.But that depends how fast and high you take it.

And here's a simple range mod video,the stock transmitter has a range of 400 meters horizontal,but this mod can increase it to maybe 600-700 meters.

Tip:After every flight,put the quad next to a table fan to cool the motors as well as the battery.And don't fly it with the camera too often,or else you'll stress the motors and kill them faster.

This post has been edited by Lez Pall: Sep 3 2015, 04:54 PM
Nightstalker1993
post Sep 5 2015, 01:26 AM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(davidwyl @ Aug 30 2015, 12:04 PM)
i did the range mod, power my devo up but i didnt test the range. Everything work fine.
BUT
i ordered NRF24L01 but it was faulty (vcc and gnd is shorted). i didnt know at first, so  i soldered it in (causing shortcircuit in my devo).
after the NRF24L01 mod, my devo behave very weird, so i suspect the stock module cyrf6936 got fried too. so i ordered the cyrf6936 module for devo 8s and soldered in to my devo 7e ( if u see the pic  clearly, my stock module is different).
*managed to get a refund for that faulty NRF24L01 

since u r using devo 10, i highly suggest u use the multi module board. i ordered the 3 multi module board. i will do multi module mod for my fren devo 7e and my own devo 7e. will definitely buy devo 10 in the future since i got extra multi module board.
By using multi module board i can install 3 extra module cc2500 +  NRF24L01 + A7105 ( i dunno why i need cc2500 cos i dont have any frsky receiver , i do it just for the sake of doing it 
Where you ordered the CYRF6936 module? I see Banggood had stopped selling it already. Asking it just in case I need it in the future, currently so far so good laugh.gif

Well don't need the cc2500 at all so won't bother doing it. I'll be using the main module for my 450 heli and my NRF module for my V977 micro mostly, Installed the A7105 module to bind with my V911 for fun but either I did something wrong or I fried my A7105 module while desoldering it from the V911 tx. It can bind to my V911 and it the cyclic controls work smoothly with the heli in my hand, but once I spool up the throttle, all cyclic movements becomes jerky. It's like the refresh rate for the servo's are like 2 times per second. Searched around and can't find any definitive answer at all. Tried everything from using other people's model file, reflashing the firmware but nothing seems to work. The V911 is pretty flyable though since the cyclic stick is usually full forward anyways laugh.gif

Also, rerouted my modules location so the antenna is on the upper portion of the transmitter, seems to get better signal now for my V977, tried going roughly 80m without loss of signal, will try 100-120m tomorrow and see if the signal breaks.

Still sad that my A7105 module can't control my V911 nicely though, already tried binding with other V911 and still the same sad.gif

I may be able to get some cheap used Devo 10's though, someone I know might be selling his, only problem is that he's in Indon and he's letting it go pretty cheap. He have 2 of it, and one of them seems to have a failure in a pot I think as he said the rudder control is gone. Not sure should I take it or not though

What else do you fly by the way? I see a V911 in the photo with the modded paddle flybar. Used to have one of those but broke it and lazy to order again tongue.gif

Here's some photos from last week's flight with some friends. Mine is only the V450D03 with the gold canopy and the V977 micro next to it, no money to afford larger helis laugh.gif

Ultimate goal would be to try everything, fixed wing and racing quads. Already flew Phantoms and Inspires so that's ticked on my checklist laugh.gif

QUOTE(davidwyl @ Aug 30 2015, 12:35 PM)
i hightly suggest u use conductive ink to do the devo 7e range mod. the component inside is almost impossible to see.
if u screwed up the stock devo 7e module, u can always buy module for devo 8s just like what i did to mine.
u can get the neck strap balancer from ebay, i got mine below RM10 2,3months ago. now u need to pay more thanks to our impressive currency performance.
Is that diode really that small? I'm actually thinking of just dripping a drop of solder onto it, totally covering the diode. Do you think that will work?

I see they sell the balancer on Banggood, might consider getting one then.

QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Sep 1 2015, 11:35 AM)
Enjoying my weekend holiday flying my FPV P-51D  Mustang long range flight:

Photos:

Woah bro, awesome scale model you have there! Looks like your ADI isn't exactly tallying up with the actual attitude of the aircraft tongue.gif laugh.gif

Looking at your post history and website, damn man you have such extensive history with flying! Sifu!

Want to ask though, usually when you fly FPV, like on your Mustang, what equipment do you use and how far do you fly? vtx, goggles, transmitter etc. Looks like your camera follows your head movement so I'm guessing you're using goggles?

Also where do you fly bro? Would be very interested to meetup with you laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Sep 5 2015, 01:27 AM
davidwyl
post Sep 5 2015, 06:15 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Sep 5 2015, 01:26 AM)
Where you ordered the CYRF6936 module? I see Banggood had stopped selling it already. Asking it just in case I need it in the future, currently so far so good laugh.gif

Well don't need the cc2500 at all so won't bother doing it. I'll be using the main module for my 450 heli and my NRF module for my V977 micro mostly, Installed the A7105 module to bind with my V911 for fun but either I did something wrong or I fried my A7105 module while desoldering it from the V911 tx. It can bind to my V911 and it the cyclic controls work smoothly with the heli in my hand, but once I spool up the throttle, all cyclic movements becomes jerky. It's like the refresh rate for the servo's are like 2 times per second. Searched around and can't find any definitive answer at all. Tried everything from using other people's model file, reflashing the firmware but nothing seems to work. The V911 is pretty flyable though since the cyclic stick is usually full forward anyways laugh.gif
i fly lot of quad mini quad but all brush motor, i thinking to buy cheerson cx-20 for my next quad.
for heli i fly v911, v977, super cp, master cp.

didnt noticed any jerkiness in my v911 or v977, seem smooth.

btw, i successfully installed MUlti module into my devo 7e. so not all the protocol is enable. thumbup.gif
got 1 exta multi module board, thinking to buy devo 10 or not. laugh.gif
regarding the diode mod, u can drop a soldering iron on top but i strongly advise u work under magnifying glass and using a super fine soldering tip.
conductive ink still the best la, cheap also.

banggood stop selling CYRF6936 chip. maybe run out of stock.

my flybar broke also...didnt know will break so easy doh.gif , now use back the old flybar

120 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:03 AM