Life Sciences The PHARMACY Thread v2

TSzstan
post Jun 14 2013, 06:54 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jun 13 2013, 04:40 PM)
No no, our actual results are only out in august this year.

So we were supposed to apply with forecast earlier to get our conditional offers.
I'm shocked because I think pianogirl used her actual results to apply and even then she was rejected.

Notts requirement is at most AAB. for AAA to be rejected...

I'm starting to think that personal statement plays a big role now lol
Well with all the competition nowadays nobody really looks at forecast results anymore unless they are lack in students. AAA is actually not quite great anymore since so many people are getting straight As as well so it's not a surprise there. :/

This post has been edited by zstan: Jun 14 2013, 06:55 AM
TSzstan
post Jun 14 2013, 03:02 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jun 14 2013, 11:48 AM)
But that's rather unfair to the students doing A levels with the traditional route isn't it?

We get our results in august and expect to enter uni in september. If they don't accept forecast results, that would mean we have to take a gap year which is not good for some of us!
Anyway I met another person at dinner yesterday from Taylor's MPharm. She was like "Oh you wanna do MPharm at Taylors? Taylors suck though. IMU too"
EMOOO

But mainly their complaints are about their dean who imposes her Islamic beliefs on the whole course people apparently
lol how is this unfair? it's just business and security. why take up students with forecast results when there are already students with full results. nothing wrong with a gap year though if you really want to enter a good uni. i did that last time biggrin.gif
TSzstan
post Jun 15 2013, 11:17 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jun 14 2013, 06:07 PM)
But considering how we're doing pharmacy, a gap year would mean we come out and work when we're 26/27?
True though, it's business and security. I kinda regret taking A levels if I wasn't trying to go UK straight. But it's prepared well.
What's wrong with that? You'd probably look more mature and Give your patients more confidence in you rather looking like some fresh kid.

QUOTE(Farmer_C @ Jun 14 2013, 06:11 PM)
That's me  cry.gif
You are not alone biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kazeko @ Jun 14 2013, 06:59 PM)
Hey guys, i just completed my A -levels too and i am still deciding which UNI to go twin to for IMU

Currently i have 2 options which is :
1. Bpharm twin to Australia (Sept intake)
2. Mpharm twin to UK (Jan intake)

So my question is, which Uni is better? Comparing between Queensland, Otago , and Strathclyde.
If money is NOT a problem.
If you a're talking about better in terms of rankings Queensland would be thr best. Otherwise you can consider which place suits you better. UK does ooffer you more opportunities to go to more countries to travel though.

QUOTE(june_c @ Jun 14 2013, 08:58 PM)
Hi, LYN.
I'm interested in pharmacy study.
Can you recommend some institution for this course ?
By the way, is it very difficult to find financial support to support the the fees for BPharm ?
Like scholarships, bursaries and all that.
I've no experience on the PTPTN and any others loan from the government.
How many $ does PTPTN approved for student who taking up BPharm in private institution ?
Read first page. Ptptn is easiest to get. 80k in total.

TSzstan
post Jun 15 2013, 12:58 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jun 15 2013, 12:46 PM)
Well my only worry is that with the pay we're getting here, if we decide to work as a hospital/community pharmacist, we'd probably be only able to afford a house at like 31 32 ish? And get married at 33ish..

Have kids at 35?

haha maybe I overthinking
Lol. If your aim is to make big bucks within 5 years after graduation then pharmacy is probably the wrong course for you

Whats wrong with getting a house after 30 anyway? Dont have to follow the trend and craze of the society.
TSzstan
post Jun 15 2013, 02:05 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jun 15 2013, 01:01 PM)
I actually want to get married earlier, so have to get a house earlier too!
Not exactly big bucks lah, just "enough" to buy a cheap apartment or cheap condo that I can survive in. But then again, one year doesn't seem like much.

I was actually advised against a gap year primarily because in one year I might lose alot of the knowledge I've gained from A levels and suffer in the first year of uni. Of course, that can be prevented if I self study and do internships at pharmacies etc.
Been there done that, survived first year pretty well. Never self studied and intern at pharmacy.

QUOTE(henghuang @ Jun 15 2013, 01:09 PM)
doctors earn more wei, pharmacist don't have prescription rights yet. I think have to wait for many years still not yet confirm...You guy or girl?
Pharmacy never had prescription rights in the first place. We are fighting for dispensing rights. Doctors earn more because their education fees are so bloody expensive. And it's not like they earn more as a fresh grad compared to a pharmacist.

This post has been edited by zstan: Jun 15 2013, 02:05 PM
TSzstan
post Jun 21 2013, 06:32 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(PuRp13 @ Jun 21 2013, 01:27 PM)
Hi there, does pharmacist will be surely involved in sales or maybe business field? Because I had heard some of them said that even they were a graduated pharmacists, they don't really need to apply their knowledge they have learnt during their degree. Is that true? And in order to be a pharmacists, do we need to have socialising skill and be an out going person? I'm quite quiet and my socialising skill is not that good.so is pharmacist really suit me? I have been in dilemma for few months. I don't know whether I have made a right choice to study pharmacy. Please help. T.T. Thanks in advance
not necessary if you are just involved with manufacturing in pharmaceuticals or doing research. not much social skills is required there.
TSzstan
post Jun 22 2013, 11:59 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Farmer_C @ Jun 21 2013, 06:55 PM)
^Agree with the point above but communication skills will still be essential (talking with clients, your superiors, colleagues, giving talks and presentations etc).
communication skills =/= social skills. in my opinion biggrin.gif
TSzstan
post Jun 23 2013, 10:21 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(PuRp13 @ Jun 22 2013, 08:36 PM)
I don't like to work in lab@@.I prefer helping people around. Actually I am a mufian,i have met the requirement, currently waiting for the offer letter.but I still considering whether to choose monash or imu because I don't feel waiting for half a year.TT
the half the year wait will be worth it.
TSzstan
post Jun 24 2013, 10:08 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(PuRp13 @ Jun 23 2013, 02:00 PM)
So monash is much batter imu?
well, let's just say you only pay about 20k more to get a degree which is recognised throughout the whole pharmacy world.

QUOTE(kemy @ Jun 23 2013, 10:44 PM)
Hello to everyone here, I am facing some problem on applying uni. I am a A level student, taking 3 subjects only, chem, phy and maths. I made up my mind to study pharmacy last year and I checked the requirements of most of universities and here too. There was NO biology required. However, when I was about to register for Monash today, they told me that the pharmacy board has made biology a must for new students. Anything I could do?
did you take Biology in SPM?

This post has been edited by zstan: Jun 24 2013, 10:08 AM
TSzstan
post Jun 24 2013, 02:22 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(confirm @ Jun 24 2013, 10:12 AM)
Singapore accepting Bpharm from Monash Sunway ?
dunno yet. first batch just out.

QUOTE(zenix @ Jun 24 2013, 11:47 AM)
hey all,

need your opinion as having a discussion with colleague.
they say aircond filter + air purifier is a must now because of haze.
true?
personally i think an aircond filter should the job. if you have extra money then go ahead. don't think it will increase your health at significant levels though.

QUOTE(kemy @ Jun 24 2013, 01:45 PM)
Yes yes, I got a B+ for it. The thing now is, the new set of requirements made it a must during our A levels and Monash refuse to let me register because of it. I am so lost right now. I planned to start my course in next year Feb, but now it becomes a problem to me.

Besides, I saw Monash havent get accreditation yet. So does it means that even I graduated from Monash Sunway, I cant register as a pharmacist in Malaysia?
they changed the requirements already lately.

http://www.pharm.monash.edu.my/future-stud...quirements.html

previously i have also added the requirements to page 1.

you can get registered. the first batch have already started working.

This post has been edited by zstan: Jun 24 2013, 02:41 PM
TSzstan
post Jun 25 2013, 12:01 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jun 24 2013, 07:25 PM)
Hi Farmer_C & zstan,

At the pharmacy schools, do you manually count individual pills on a tray, or rely on hands-free automated pill counter? sweat.gif

If counting manually, are there any rules of thumb for a pharmacist to dispense prescription of drugs safer, more accurate and more efficient? ohmy.gif
erm i don't have any pill counting classes if that's what you mean. blink.gif but in the hospital settings some pills are individually counted but most pills/tablets nowadays comes in packs of 10s, but yeah, manual counting most of the time. its financially infeasible to place one tablet counting machine in every single pharmacy.

QUOTE(kemy @ Jun 24 2013, 09:12 PM)
I know they changed the requirement lately, but it wasnt changed when I register for A levels. I take that as my guideline and now they changed it. Isnt it unfair to people like me? I studied one and half year A levels going through everything and now it becomes useless to me. What's the point of me studying A levels then? I am so frustrated right now. I called up to the pharmacy board today and got scolded because they said they had given notice to all school and university about this issue in year 2011. Yet it seems that many schools didnt give any attention to this piece of notice nor say anything about it. And me, ending up into a situation like this.
sorry to hear about your predicament sad.gif hopefully you can get things sorted out.
TSzstan
post Jun 25 2013, 10:51 PM

15,856 posts

Like what Farmer_C mentioned, if you are talking about drugs alone then yes, pharmacists are more trained in the aspects compared to the general physicians. but we wouldn't know how to diagnose as much.
TSzstan
post Jun 28 2013, 08:04 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jun 28 2013, 04:41 PM)
Thank you for your wonderful explanations. Pharmacists are indeed respectable health professionals. happy.gif

Could you tell how does the job description of a Pharmacy Assistant (shown below) differ from the Clinical Pharmacist’s one? If a Pharmacy Assistant works smart and long enough, will his or her knowledge be competitive as of the Clinical Pharmacist on the drugs inside out (doses, side effects, indications, contraindications, food/drug interactions)?

user posted imageuser posted image
Technically, in terms of clinical knowledge, pharmacy assistants (let's call them PA for short) can rival a pharmacist any day as long as he/she really puts in hard work. however there are some areas that PA fall short off. Firstly, is their official recognition by law. The most obvious difference is that PAs cannot dispense psychotropic drugs as well as many other controlled drugs, despite knowing how they work and act. They might not be trained to monitor drugs which have narrow therapeutic index. Actually they may not be trained in many stuff since their whole course only lasts for 3 years.

to put it in a blunt way they are more capable in doing all the 'easy' jobs that pharmacist used to do and are slowly taking over while pharmacist moves on to more 'sophisticated' jobs like patient counselling and other stuff.
TSzstan
post Jul 1 2013, 05:48 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(kemy @ Jun 30 2013, 11:49 PM)
If we cant get to register with the pharmacy board, can we still be a pharmacist in hospital/retail shop? What's the difference between registered and non-registered pharmacy?
nope. you can't do much without being registered. errr the difference is if you are not registered you cannot consider yourself a pharmacist. you must get registered.
TSzstan
post Jul 6 2013, 12:00 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(kemy @ Jul 5 2013, 01:58 PM)
Thanks for the reply. If Monash is not accredited, and their students is not registered, how does their students work in M'sia?
Monash has obtained pre-accreditation now so the students are allowed to work. you don't have to be fully registered to work as a pharmacist. you start off as a pre-registered pharmacist. after passing the requirements then only you get registered.
TSzstan
post Jul 15 2013, 11:55 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(firdausnazeri @ Jul 15 2013, 02:50 AM)
Hi,  i'm a IB diploma student.  I want to continue my study in pharmacy course.  I prefer MPharm than BPharm.  So,  i want to know which is better btwn Segi College(Sunderland)  and IMU (Strathclyde)?  In terms of teaching,  learning,  facilities,  places n learning culture?  Hope someone can answer my quests,  tq
IMU is much more established than Segi. Other than that it's really hard to compare objectively unless someone has studied at both places. you should visit both campuses and see for yourself personally.
TSzstan
post Jul 18 2013, 11:06 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jul 18 2013, 02:55 AM)
Hi Farmer_C & zstan,

Thanks for helpful answers and explanations. Just out of curiosity, have you ever produced Heroin No.4 or any other restricted drugs in your university lab? Is Heroin-assisted treatment allowed in Malaysia? icon_question.gif

Amaran: Penyalahgunaan Dadah akan mendatangkan kesan-kesan buruk dan bahaya ke atas kesihatan dan fungsi sosial seseorang.
no to heroin sweat.gif we don't have that kind of treatment but we use methadone instead.
TSzstan
post Jul 19 2013, 04:31 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jul 19 2013, 04:08 PM)
Thanks for telling me something about restricted drugs in pharmaceutical settings. I came across of Heroin-assisted Treatment (HAT) from these links when I was searching about Heroin.

(1) Heroin-assisted Treatment (HAT) a Decade Later: A Brief Update on Science and Politics
(2) Heroin-assisted treatment safe and effective: study
(3) New heroin-assisted treatment

I understand that paracetamol taken orally for a toddler (less than 1 year-old) has variable absorption rates and variable serum concentrations, which may be unpredictable. Therefore, how do I use the concept of bioavailability to calculate dosages for oral route of drug administration? Do the age and weight of the person play important roles? icon_question.gif
well in my opinion, there should be no problem in the treatment but it is the safety of storing the drug which will be the main issue here. how confident are you that your pharmacy/hospital would not have break ins should you have 1kg of these stuff at the back of the store?

the absorption rates should generally be the same. bioavailability is directly related to the amount of metabolism (or number of metabolising enzymes) someone has. you cannot really calculate exact bioavailability but you can compare it the bioavailability of paracetamol administered via IV (can assume no metabolism of drugs) and graphs of previous studies.

in a nutshell a dose is calculated based on the concentration that we want in blood and the volume of distribution.

age is important as toddlers tend to have less enzymes developed (especially newborns) and elderly have lesser liver function. weight is also in calculating the distribution of the drugs around the body. so both are important factors.

tried to put this into layman language hopefully you can understand.
TSzstan
post Jul 23 2013, 03:29 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Jul 22 2013, 02:55 PM)

Therefore, is there any promising therapy for arrhythmia associated heart failure at present clinical research? icon_question.gif

errr you have to be more specific with the types of arrhythmia as there are many types of them out there. and the earlier you detect it the better chance that you have to cure it.
TSzstan
post Jul 27 2013, 11:06 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jul 26 2013, 03:47 PM)
Edit: woops uhh, calculation error.
They are both priced around the same price!
Anyhow, why does IMU's 2+2 program start only in January?
so that you can finish your 2nd year by july to board the plane to Strathclyde before September

This post has been edited by zstan: Jul 27 2013, 11:06 AM

16 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0568sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:20 AM