any taikor know where to get a customize 5' X 1.5' X 2' tank? How much would it be? Appreciate for the help, thx
Saltwater fish and reef tank keepers, All about saltwater creatures and reef
Jun 16 2012, 02:27 PM
936 posts Joined: May 2012 From: Klang Valley |
any taikor know where to get a customize 5' X 1.5' X 2' tank? How much would it be? Appreciate for the help, thx
Jun 27 2012, 09:11 AM
224 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
mind to share what is the basic equipment for starting saltwater tank? already have 2ft tank...
Jun 28 2012, 11:28 AM
314 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Anyone fitting DIY 3W LED lights for their tank?
I have a Nanocube 10Galllon, planning to fit 14LEDs in it. Anyone DIY LED from aquastyleonline.com? Very good reviews over at nano-reef.com |
Jun 28 2012, 11:43 AM
18 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Equine park, Selangor |
QUOTE(dino10chels @ Jun 16 2012, 02:27 PM) any taikor know where to get a customize 5' X 1.5' X 2' tank? How much would it be? Appreciate for the help, thx 88petsmart able to do it for you.i got quotation from them for my 5'x2'x2', 12mm black silicon , overflow compartment, Rm1300 which transportation and sump tank not included. QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Jun 27 2012, 09:11 AM) get ready about 1.5-2k cash for protein skimmer, live rocks, sump tank, return pump, salt, etc.QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Jun 28 2012, 11:28 AM) Anyone fitting DIY 3W LED lights for their tank? i going to do so for my freshwater planted tank.I have a Nanocube 10Galllon, planning to fit 14LEDs in it. Anyone DIY LED from aquastyleonline.com? Very good reviews over at nano-reef.com it would be much easier to design if you put 12x3W LED for your aquarium. is it fresh water or marine? what is the color temperature you prefer? |
Jun 29 2012, 12:00 PM
936 posts Joined: May 2012 From: Klang Valley |
QUOTE(weijie @ Jun 28 2012, 11:43 AM) 88petsmart able to do it for you. TQVM taikor weijie...i got quotation from them for my 5'x2'x2', 12mm black silicon , overflow compartment, Rm1300 which transportation and sump tank not included. get ready about 1.5-2k cash for protein skimmer, live rocks, sump tank, return pump, salt, etc. i going to do so for my freshwater planted tank. it would be much easier to design if you put 12x3W LED for your aquarium. is it fresh water or marine? what is the color temperature you prefer? |
Sep 4 2012, 03:11 AM
0 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
my topdown view..
![]() |
Sep 4 2012, 09:23 AM
Sep 4 2012, 12:34 PM
0 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
i use MH+T5..
Sep 6 2012, 05:27 PM
330 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Hi All sifu.. i plan to convert my planted tank to marine tank..
What are the basic equipments for a 2ft FOWLR tank? are these can still be used? - Eheim 2213 canister - Aquazonic T5 2x24w |
Sep 10 2012, 08:50 PM
66 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: currently in Malaysia |
Can quote me the stuffs i need for a nano or mini reef setup? Also the esitmate price.
Thinking of getting one for fun and trying new experience.. thanx |
Sep 10 2012, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(hooi_jd @ Sep 6 2012, 05:27 PM) Hi All sifu.. i plan to convert my planted tank to marine tank.. IMO, you can reuse the item.. but best if you can find sump.... about the lighting, if you go FO or FOWLR, it ok... can be reused... but if reef tank... you need to calculate the light requirement... over lighting will make the coral bleaching... better ask sifu feruz... hehehe .... oh another thing... marine tank need blue lighting... best if you use royal blue light (450nm)... lg best if you go LED.... oh nearly forgot... u need the important item... protein skimmer... the heart of the tank...What are the basic equipments for a 2ft FOWLR tank? are these can still be used? - Eheim 2213 canister - Aquazonic T5 2x24w This post has been edited by hafiz_tahir: Sep 11 2012, 11:21 AM |
Sep 10 2012, 11:35 PM
330 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(hafiz_tahir @ Sep 10 2012, 09:32 PM) IMO, you can reuse the item.. but best if you can find sump.... about the lighting, if you go FO or FOWLR, it ok... can be reused... but if reef tank... you need to calculate the light requirement... over lighting will make the coral bleaching... better ask sifu feruz... hehehe .... oh another thing... marine tank need blue lighting... best if you use royal blue light (470nm)... lg best if you go LED.... oh nearly forgot... u need the important item... protein skimmer... the heart of the tank... I see, then at the moment i shall just go for FOWLR, why canister filter not recommended for marine tank? |
Sep 11 2012, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(hooi_jd @ Sep 10 2012, 11:35 PM) I see, then at the moment i shall just go for FOWLR, why canister filter not recommended for marine tank? its not "not recommended", but better use sump.... as for FOWLR, lighting is not a big problem... just need the light that enhance the view of your marine tank.... enjoy the nemo...and also the grow of you live rock... |
Sep 11 2012, 04:47 PM
2,403 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak / United Kingdom |
Hi guys,
I have a thread about building a 2m x 11m x 8m aquarium here : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2494743&hl= Would appreciate any input. Especially for equipment supplier and good fish/coral breeders since I have very limited experience with salt water tanks. |
Oct 4 2012, 04:47 PM
2 posts Joined: Sep 2012 From: Damansara |
Hey guys... My first attempt on Saltwater Tank...
![]() Picture taken within 24 hour of initial set up. Pretty cloudy. Added on October 6, 2012, 4:36 pmSelling off my tank... http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2537533&hl= This post has been edited by hilmi.cimb: Oct 6 2012, 04:36 PM |
Dec 26 2012, 11:56 AM
219 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: MMU, Cyber+Malacca |
Really need sifu/experience ppl to help.
I am fresh water kaki also DIY electronic kaki, now planning to try 40 gallon coral reef tank, researching on coral lighting especially in LED, from googling and chuisui.com someone said you need 4..6...10Watt/gallon depends on coral type, I was confused because LED is much more efficient then T5. which mean the 10 watt in T5 might produced by 3Watt led... Is that true? or i should buy 40Watt LED for 40 gallon tank? This post has been edited by willer: Dec 26 2012, 11:57 AM |
Jan 11 2013, 08:36 PM
1,098 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Uncharted territory for me... and first time posting in this section. Don't mind the noob terms. And long story.
About 4 weeks ago, bought myself a 2 feet aquarium to start a marine tank (with chiller and all..). After letting the water pump and for the water to clear for 1 week, I was told my tank is ready to add fish. (?) On the second week, fish were added ; 4 clownfish and 2 tangs. (?) On the third week, got myself a bubble point anemone. On the fourth week, one-by-one, fish were dying. Thanks Marine Ich. Since I was so new to this, and listened to the pet shop fellow (Pets Wonderland IKANO), it turns out that marine ich outbreak had occured and I failed to control it. The timing, the waiting time before adding, etc. all in accordance to the recommendation. Now ALL my fish are dead. And having spent nearly RM2k (RM1.5k was my absolute max), I feel I have missed an opportunity to start my marine tank properly. Having Googled around and read a lot about marine ich, I realized the whole timing (wait 1 week then add fish, then add anemone) was ridiculously short. The fishes were stressed, and I added too many fishes too quickly. New hobby poison? I don't think so... I followed instructions BUT it was my fault for not doing research first. Now I'm thinking what is the best way to start over. I'm thinking draining out all the water, and adding new water, changing the carbon filter, etc.. and leave the tank to run for 4-5 weeks. The life cycle of the ich would be over by the end of 5th week. Then slowly, add one fish, wait 1 week, all is well, add another fish in week 2 (clownfish only, no tangs), etc. etc. then after a good few months add anemone. What say you sifus? |
Jan 20 2013, 11:09 PM
136 posts Joined: May 2008 From: Terengganu |
QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jan 11 2013, 08:36 PM) Uncharted territory for me... and first time posting in this section. Don't mind the noob terms. And long story. Make sure to check the ammonia, nitrite and nitrate level before you put a fish in your tank. Some tank only takes a week or 2 to cycle but other will take longer. Do more research on the fish that you want to buy. Some fish(tang) will grow big and need big tank to swim.About 4 weeks ago, bought myself a 2 feet aquarium to start a marine tank (with chiller and all..). After letting the water pump and for the water to clear for 1 week, I was told my tank is ready to add fish. (?) On the second week, fish were added ; 4 clownfish and 2 tangs. (?) On the third week, got myself a bubble point anemone. On the fourth week, one-by-one, fish were dying. Thanks Marine Ich. Since I was so new to this, and listened to the pet shop fellow (Pets Wonderland IKANO), it turns out that marine ich outbreak had occured and I failed to control it. The timing, the waiting time before adding, etc. all in accordance to the recommendation. Now ALL my fish are dead. And having spent nearly RM2k (RM1.5k was my absolute max), I feel I have missed an opportunity to start my marine tank properly. Having Googled around and read a lot about marine ich, I realized the whole timing (wait 1 week then add fish, then add anemone) was ridiculously short. The fishes were stressed, and I added too many fishes too quickly. New hobby poison? I don't think so... I followed instructions BUT it was my fault for not doing research first. Now I'm thinking what is the best way to start over. I'm thinking draining out all the water, and adding new water, changing the carbon filter, etc.. and leave the tank to run for 4-5 weeks. The life cycle of the ich would be over by the end of 5th week. Then slowly, add one fish, wait 1 week, all is well, add another fish in week 2 (clownfish only, no tangs), etc. etc. then after a good few months add anemone. What say you sifus? |
Jan 21 2013, 12:52 PM
defaultname365:
you need to cycle your tank for at least 2months, wait for caroline algae to start growing before you buy any fish. DO NOT listen to those workers especially from larger fish shop such as East Aqua. They do not understand how the system works. Do more reading before you restart your tank. i hope you are lucky enough to brought the correct equipments. Google "reef central" for more information. I am not sifu, but i read a lot about keeping corals in past 1year. havent got the courage and money to start my marine tank yet, |
Feb 2 2013, 08:05 AM
19 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(weijie @ Jan 21 2013, 12:52 PM) defaultname365: you need to cycle your tank for at least 2months, wait for caroline algae to start growing before you buy any fish. DO NOT listen to those workers especially from larger fish shop such as East Aqua. They do not understand how the system works. Do more reading before you restart your tank. i hope you are lucky enough to brought the correct equipments. Google "reef central" for more information. I am not sifu, but i read a lot about keeping corals in past 1year. havent got the courage and money to start my marine tank yet, just encourage you to buy more and if it dies than just buy again !!! and again !! finally your equipment not good enough, trade in your old one for fraction of the purchase price and pay premium $$ for new one again... |
| Change to: | 0.0295sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:01 PM |