Basic Intake and Exhaust Modification Guide, for normal aspirated cars v1.0

egiewan
post Aug 8 2009, 11:25 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Aug 8 2009, 07:27 PM)
Say, for my case where D16 engine mods not that popular in JP/MY, what kind of extractor should i look for and where?
I've been using 2" piping for years and since 'ade rezeki' recently, i think its time for me to change the extractor.

*im using 1.6L SOHC D16(me516) efi in a civic eg, manual.
**the only headers i can find are by US tuners (DC, megan, etc etc)

***oh, i have PM'd kweng for his oppinions
Bro ijam! Remember me? Long time no see. Why wanna change your extractor? Bocor edy ka? Use stock extractor can already...just redo your exhaust system after the extractor. Need more info, call me la. Belanja minum ke tongue.gif
e-jump
post Aug 8 2009, 11:58 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

QUOTE(egiewan @ Aug 8 2009, 11:25 PM)
Bro ijam! Remember me? Long time no see. Why wanna change your extractor? Bocor edy ka? Use stock extractor can already...just redo your exhaust system after the extractor. Need more info, call me la. Belanja minum ke tongue.gif
Ala, ingat aje wave.gif
Just that i have been too busy since the last time we met, and I got posted overseas for a while.
Thats why menghilang kejap.

Anyway, theres nothing badly wrong with the extractor, but last 2years it did leak, and dah tampal.
considering its already entering its 13th year, maybe mau kasi improvements over stock.
I already did my 2" piping, 1 ketul bullet and now w/ imitation twinloop.

BOT maybe? but for now i wont be going B-series route unless my engine died miserable death
(halfcut price already reach ridiculous pricepoint for olde engine)

*do we actually have DC,skunk2 stuffs here?
egiewan
post Aug 9 2009, 12:06 AM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Aug 8 2009, 11:58 PM)
Ala, ingat aje wave.gif
Just that i have been too busy since the last time we met, and I got posted overseas for a while.
Thats why menghilang kejap.
Anyway, theres nothing badly wrong with the extractor, but last 2years it did leak, and dah tampal.
considering its already entering its 13th year, maybe mau kasi improvements over stock.
I already did my 2" piping, 1 ketul bullet and now w/ imitation twinloop.

BOT maybe? but for now i wont be going B-series route unless my engine died miserable death
(halfcut price already reach ridiculous pricepoint for olde engine)
*do we actually have DC,skunk2 stuffs here?
Oic...wahh...got bring back chocolates for me or not? LOL! DC kena order bro. Skunk2 got...N1, JC, Pentagon to name a few. Oh in that case, can change your manifold edy lor...or better still, B18CR thumbup.gif laugh.gif Any problems with your current exhaust setup? Top speed, pickup, FC all ok?
e-jump
post Aug 9 2009, 12:49 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

QUOTE(egiewan @ Aug 9 2009, 12:06 AM)
Oic...wahh...got bring back chocolates for me or not? LOL! DC kena order bro. Skunk2 got...N1, JC, Pentagon to name a few. Oh in that case, can change your manifold edy lor...or better still, B18CR thumbup.gif  laugh.gif Any problems with your current exhaust setup? Top speed, pickup, FC all ok?
I came back late last yr.. currency exchange was bad, bawak body je balik.

Skunk2... N1.... hmmm.... need to do more header research..
B18Cr sounds nice... but engine swap+overhaul cost too much these days. While i do like to feel the power of vtec, but a slight improvements on my daily ride would be sufficient. I'll save the monies for a new better car.

No major issues with the system. For my current setup, Topspeed UP and pickup DOWN abit after i change from noisy straight flow Tanabe to replica twinloop. FC wise, rm10 only go 60-75km full city driving on both muffler =___= w/ once a while spirited driving.
egiewan
post Aug 9 2009, 12:55 AM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(e-jump @ Aug 9 2009, 12:49 AM)
I came back late last yr.. currency exchange was bad, bawak body je balik.

Skunk2... N1.... hmmm....  need to do more header research..
B18Cr sounds nice... but engine swap+overhaul cost too much these days. While i do like to feel the power of vtec, but a slight improvements on my daily ride would be sufficient. I'll save the monies for a new better car.

No major issues with the system. For my current setup, Topspeed UP and pickup DOWN abit after i change from noisy straight flow Tanabe to replica twinloop. FC wise, rm10 only go 60-75km full city driving on both muffler =___= w/ once a while spirited driving.
Slowly laa...B18CR is best. Yours 4 door maaa body berat tongue.gif What's your top speed now? Tell you what, maintain your setup but replace your bullet with 2 oval mid box with the same inlet/outlet size(Everco/Matola brand). You will feel some improvement wink.gif Bro, dun simply buy those fancy2 aftermarket manifolds...the collector too big. You will sacrifice your torque. A friend of mine using B16A tried J's Racing manifold...dyno his torque was barely 14kg. Changed back to stock manifold, went up to 16kg shocking.gif He said with the stock manifold, easier to reach top speed icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by egiewan: Aug 9 2009, 12:59 AM
smokey
post Aug 9 2009, 10:15 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

hi guys...
is there any twin tail pipe muffler which is as silent as oem?
the_catacombs
post Aug 9 2009, 10:37 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Aug 9 2009, 10:15 PM)
hi guys...
use 2 oem muffler can adi
smokey
post Aug 9 2009, 10:44 PM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

err..what do u mean?
egiewan
post Aug 9 2009, 11:23 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Aug 9 2009, 10:15 PM)
hi guys...
Twin pipes damn alot la bro...local made ones la. You can choose which type you want. Got Merc/BMW style also hehe biggrin.gif
mls_gamer
post Aug 10 2009, 12:06 AM

1,589 posts

edit~~

This post has been edited by mls_gamer: Aug 10 2009, 12:11 AM
alvinz
post Sep 8 2009, 12:57 AM

832 posts

would like to know some info on bullets ...
i see some bullet in spiral shape, some like sausage, some mixture of both spiral and sausage ...
wats the difference? .. and if for a normal 1.5cc manual car ... which is best fitted in? ...
thanks notworthy.gif
91jude
post Sep 9 2009, 09:25 AM

Hey guys.. i wanna change my iswara exhaust. the old ones so old ordy.mcm pisang. any suggestion or links to buy?? thanks. =D
icyd
post Sep 9 2009, 06:51 PM

727 posts

macam pisang?
post Sep 10 2009, 10:35 PM

836 posts

lolz , egiewan , iirc u beat me to that satria mivec , wanted 2 call up and then it was sold hehe ...

yes yes b18c-R is nice , that day went ulu yam on a dc2 , scary man ...
Wuakaka
post Sep 13 2009, 04:27 PM

244 posts

brothers and sisters here,can any1 clarify wit me isit saga blm inlet is 1.8??so if i now already changed 2 inch midbox and 2 inch straight flow muffler,never to 4get dat i have changed 4-2-1 extractor too,so the piping i should change 1.8 also??btw,if c from my current setting,4-2-1 mendrel bent extractor,2 inch midbox and 2 inch muffler,wat is the consequences i will feel now?coz i felt dat my car now is slower than stock,=x
empire23
post Sep 13 2009, 04:49 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

^ Is the extractor a properly tuned length one or just some shitty cap ayam one you bought for 300 ringgit?
ryan_hustler
post Sep 13 2009, 05:07 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(Wuakaka @ Sep 13 2009, 04:27 PM)
brothers and sisters here,can any1 clarify wit me isit saga blm inlet is 1.8??so if i now already changed 2 inch midbox and 2 inch straight flow muffler,never to 4get dat i have changed 4-2-1 extractor too,so the piping i should change 1.8 also??btw,if c from my current setting,4-2-1 mendrel bent extractor,2 inch midbox and 2 inch muffler,wat is the consequences i will feel now?coz i felt dat my car now is slower than stock,=x
obviously..ur blm 1.3 and you changed ur piping to 2"..if piping diameter was directly proportional to power you would see most performance cars have drain pipes as their exhaust system.

There are a few important considerations when changing ur exhaust piping..
firstly is to provide a smooth path from start to exit..no kinks, bends and sharp turns..
secondly is to maintain exhaust gas velocity..the diameter of the piping must be large enough to allow the exhaust gasses to sufficient flow yet small enough to maintain the gas velocity all the way..

Think of these two concepts like a garden hose..when you turn it on water flows,place ur thumb on the outlet to narrow the opening and the water flows faster..the amount of water is the same,just that the pressure is now more..
theres too many more to list and im bored of explaining already..go look up how an exhaust system works before making any more idiotic modifications and wonderin why your car is now slower..
Wuakaka
post Sep 13 2009, 05:08 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Sep 13 2009, 04:49 PM)
^ Is the extractor a properly tuned length one or just some shitty cap ayam one you bought for 300 ringgit?
erk,wxx hxng punya???

Added on September 13, 2009, 5:17 pm
QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Sep 13 2009, 05:07 PM)
obviously..ur blm 1.3 and you changed ur piping to 2"..if piping diameter was directly proportional to power you would see most performance cars have drain pipes as their exhaust system.

There are a few important considerations when changing ur exhaust piping..
firstly is to provide a smooth path from start to exit..no kinks, bends and sharp turns..
secondly is to maintain exhaust gas velocity..the diameter of the piping must be large enough to allow the exhaust gasses to sufficient flow yet small enough to maintain the gas velocity all the way..

Think of these two concepts like a garden hose..when you turn it on water flows,place ur thumb on the outlet to narrow the opening and the water flows faster..the amount of water is the same,just that the pressure is now more..
theres too many more to list and im bored of explaining already..go look up how an exhaust system works before making any more idiotic modifications and wonderin why your car is now slower..
soli boss,i will never repeat it again, cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by Wuakaka: Sep 13 2009, 05:17 PM
SUSmatt wee
post Sep 13 2009, 07:09 PM

52 posts

Hi all sifuss here,wana ask something regarding my car:

Just installed my 4-2-1 extractor and zenden twister bullet because was recommended by them for my waja 4g18 auto tranny...

is it true we need to let the ecu re-calibrate the system again after we have changed the extractor or touch the o2 sensor?

because after install i didn't feel any different...and claimed by them need drive and let ecu re-calibrate again right?

And regarding the bullet in pic below,which side should receive exhaust gases and which one is letting it out?

the one below is smooth side...they put it as the gases out,and inlet for exhaust in is opposite it..mean quite restriction right?

And does this twister bullet really suit to my auto tranny?or some straight-flow mid box or bullet more better?

empire23
post Sep 13 2009, 07:23 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Wuakaka @ Sep 13 2009, 05:08 PM)
erk,wxx hxng punya???

Never heard of it.

As i always say, if a tuned extractor usually costs 1500 ringgit and you get one for 300, something must be wrong.

Make sure there are no restrictions in the system, minimum bends and kinks, nothing is loose or bent and above all a good system for smooth flow.

119 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:32 PM