144 Pages « < 138 139 140 141 142 > » Bottom

PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V5, Comparison and Advice

anderu87
post Apr 4 2015, 08:48 PM

71 posts

Wish to ask sifu here how long does a speaker last?
My logitech z506 just broke last week just after merely 3 years and 3 months.
Kind of lost trust in the brand.
ktek
post Apr 4 2015, 08:54 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

QUOTE(lala_cai @ Apr 3 2015, 08:49 PM)
bought the S530D,
not an audiophiles, but why do I feel like the old Altec Lansing 45.1 have better bass?
different crossover point

QUOTE(power911 @ Apr 3 2015, 09:22 PM)
I wouldn't call altec 45.1 better bass but louder.
All Edifier speakers generally had tamed bass compared to altecs famous wild bass.

Some may disappoint but most people who has gotten used to Edifier bass never go back to altec bass but shifted to HiFi
im still listen to old altec after upgraded becos no other choices at low price that can satisfy my listening

QUOTE(lala_cai @ Apr 3 2015, 11:19 PM)
I see, maybe I'm too used to the AL bass.
initially I was expecting a significant improvement in terms of SQ, but it was a let down for me.
either I set my expectation too high or I dun really know how to listen. lol
dont worry. Just follow ur heart.
ktek
post Apr 4 2015, 08:57 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

QUOTE(anderu87 @ Apr 4 2015, 08:48 PM)
Wish to ask sifu here how long does a speaker last?
My logitech z506 just broke last week just after merely 3 years and 3 months.
Kind of lost trust in the brand.
old altec from 1999 and 2007 still working.
anderu87
post Apr 4 2015, 09:11 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 4 2015, 08:57 PM)
old altec from 1999 and 2007 still working.
I may be on the wrong thread, but any thread here teaches precautions to protect our speakers from sudden death?
This was what happened to my speaker. speaker power plug plugged into belkin surge protector. When I switched on surge protector, heard rather loud "pop" sound, maybe from subwoofer, (speaker ON/OFF switch is OFF), then the speaker no longer turns on...very sad my 5.1 speaker gone after just 3 years.
ktek
post Apr 4 2015, 10:22 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

QUOTE(anderu87 @ Apr 4 2015, 09:11 PM)
I may be on the wrong thread, but any thread here teaches precautions to protect our speakers from sudden death?
This was what happened to my speaker. speaker power plug plugged into belkin surge protector. When I switched on surge protector, heard rather loud "pop" sound, maybe from subwoofer, (speaker ON/OFF switch is OFF), then the speaker no longer turns on...very sad my 5.1 speaker gone after just 3 years.
sorry to hear that. Actually i never use any surge protector or filter on speaker. Just on--off like everybody else doing
Hawaiiii
post Apr 5 2015, 03:53 PM

687 posts

Any good speaker recommended budget 2k, currently eye-ing bose companion 5 or harman kardon nova, need some suggestion anout the 2 speaker.

Btw im using hkssiii right now.
zack_png
post Apr 7 2015, 03:18 PM

any good speaker budget 200~300 (almost gaming) to replace my dying AL VS4121?

This post has been edited by zack_png: Apr 7 2015, 03:54 PM
ktek
post Apr 7 2015, 03:21 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Apr 5 2015, 03:53 PM)
Any good speaker recommended budget 2k, currently eye-ing bose companion 5 or harman kardon nova, need some suggestion anout the 2 speaker.

Btw im using hkssiii right now.
take bose or go separate component
siew14
post Apr 7 2015, 04:54 PM

845 posts

hello guys,

can you please recommend me a 5.1 speaker for desktop? Thought of getting the razer leviathan though.

My budget is 700 to 900 la.

and btw, how do i setup a 5.1 speaker? haha. I mean do i really to assign the 2 rear speaker behind me? Cause i m using a desktop.
Hawaiiii
post Apr 7 2015, 05:21 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 7 2015, 03:21 PM)
take bose or go separate component
So far i only know atlast this company carrying this bose, will go and visit their store to test 1st, i read review saying bose produce too much bass and weak at mid and high.
Hawaiiii
post Apr 7 2015, 05:22 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ Apr 7 2015, 04:54 PM)
hello guys,

can you please recommend me a 5.1 speaker for desktop? Thought of getting the razer leviathan though.

and btw, how do i setup a 5.1 speaker? haha. I mean do i really to assign the 2 rear speaker behind me? Cause i m using a desktop.
For desktop better use 2.1, 5.1 is too messy and not actually good for music.
ktek
post Apr 7 2015, 06:25 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

hello guys,

must put side or behind. and then it wont give any sound when u play music.
only surround track got surround sound.

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Apr 7 2015, 05:21 PM)
So far i only know atlast this company carrying this bose, will go and visit their store to test 1st, i read review saying bose produce too much bass and weak at mid and high.
like that review is bad placement problem.
take note every new speaker need time to run in

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Apr 7 2015, 05:22 PM)
actually 5.1 can be good one. need moolah to invest SACD moneyflies.gif
siew14
post Apr 7 2015, 07:14 PM

845 posts

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Apr 7 2015, 05:22 PM)
messy as in?

i m not an audiophile, so i guess i wont feel the diff when listening to music. haha.

the 5.1 mainly for movie and gaming actually.
i got the xonar sound card installed, just want to put the card in good use actually (the mainboard sound card rosak already).

QUOTE(ktek @ Apr 7 2015, 06:25 PM)
must put side or behind. and then it wont give any sound when u play music.
only surround track got surround sound.
like that review is bad placement problem.
take note every new speaker need time to run in
actually 5.1 can be good one. need moolah to invest SACD moneyflies.gif
side as in?

Assuming screen in front (90 degree) , side as in 180 degree or like 40 degree?

pls see the spoiler for reference (the degree)

This post has been edited by siew14: Apr 7 2015, 07:16 PM
ktek
post Apr 7 2015, 07:29 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

U can easily search for dolby 5.1 spkr placement
Hawaiiii
post Apr 7 2015, 07:33 PM

687 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ Apr 7 2015, 07:14 PM)
messy as in?

i m not an audiophile, so i guess i wont feel the diff when listening to music. haha.

the 5.1 mainly for movie and gaming actually.
i got the xonar sound card installed, just want to put the card in good use actually (the mainboard sound card rosak already).
side as in?

Assuming screen in front (90 degree) , side as in 180 degree or like 40 degree?

pls see the spoiler for reference (the degree)

The cable can be very messy and spoil mood, and the 5.1 rear speaker u really have to put at ur rear, u cannot hide those cables sad.gif
power911
post Apr 7 2015, 09:58 PM

Misguided Angel of Death
6,513 posts

5.1 is indeed a hassle but if you plan your purchase in advance you can manage your cables wisely. If you had a chance to visit my room you can see how I hide the cables behind cupboards and tables with electrical tape/zip ties.

It's all about planning but I'd go for 2.1 or 2.0 anytime if used for daily ordinary needs

5.1 is only when you are going hardcore movie or gaming enthusiast

most of the time the extra speakers are wasted on youtube or music playback and splitting the audio/mixing stereo to 5.1 would make sound noisy at times

to go super deep into technical side, there could be audio phase problems which cause weird wooshing sound if you upscale stereo to 5.1 (they call it comb effect)

I can easily recommend Edifier R2800 and this massive speaker is going to fill the room in new ways that small 2.0 or 2.1 speakers cannot do especially when sitting close to these speaker
ktek
post Apr 8 2015, 02:08 AM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

I lay cable all over the floor. Looks not so bad.
Indeed stereo upmix to surround need a good processing driver and pc often fail at that
yonghong
post Apr 9 2015, 09:55 PM

551 posts

Hi all sifu. I am currently using Edifier R401, any recommendation upgrade with budget rm200+- , mainly for movies and music. Thanks.

This post has been edited by yonghong: Apr 9 2015, 10:00 PM
Davence
post Apr 11 2015, 12:17 PM

31 posts

Hello guys,am seeking advise for an upgrade for my current unknown-brand pair of speakers. laugh.gif Due to my room limitation and desk setup,I'd prefer only 2.0 system with decent budget,best below RM200,mainly for movie and music. Feel free to PM me for detailed information.
Please kindly provide items range which can be purchased locally. =] Thankiiew!
moniqee
post Apr 11 2015, 11:37 PM

7,864 posts

hello guys,

5.1 speaker? any brand preference?

would recommend u go to shops to audition the speakers... tongue.gif u never know some of the 2.1 speakers may blow u away...

144 Pages « < 138 139 140 141 142 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:23 AM