PC Audio Please Recommend... a 2.1 or 5.1 speaker set V5, Comparison and Advice

applezhai
post Sep 6 2014, 02:25 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 6 2014, 02:01 AM)
"Space friendly"? How much space do you have for those stereo speakers? As for HiVi X4, its nice but you may find it lacking in bass (have that boxy type sound) due to its (small) size. For RM2K, there are plenty of options and combos as well. And do you have space for a dedicated subwoofer? hmm.gif
Eh say normal workdesk friendly? Where does the subwoofer go normally? On the floor? If that's the case, yeah definitely.

I only have the yulong dac for a stereo setup. But i do think speakers has speaker out for subwoofers right? And subwoofers are normally powered if i am not wrong. Haha anyway i am a noob on these, please advise.

ktek
post Sep 6 2014, 06:46 AM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

QUOTE(applezhai @ Sep 6 2014, 02:25 AM)
Eh say normal workdesk friendly? Where does the subwoofer go normally? On the floor? If that's the case, yeah definitely.

I only have the yulong dac for a stereo setup. But i do think speakers has speaker out for subwoofers right? And subwoofers are normally powered if i am not wrong. Haha anyway i am a noob on these, please advise.
i think aego m 2.1 can tapau all others in space tight competition
lex
post Sep 6 2014, 11:28 PM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(applezhai @ Sep 6 2014, 02:25 AM)

Yes, usually the subwoofer stays on the floor. And with 2.1 speaker systems added, there are lots of choices ranging from cheap to very expensive active speaker systems... icon_rolleyes.gif
applezhai
post Sep 7 2014, 01:21 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 6 2014, 11:28 PM)
Yes, usually the subwoofer stays on the floor. And with 2.1 speaker systems added, there are lots of choices ranging from cheap to very expensive active speaker systems... icon_rolleyes.gif
How about a dedicated hifi active stereo setup instead for now, may range from RM2k-2.5k. I think i will add a sub if its necessary in the future, normally speakers have line out for subs right? Or do i need a AV receiver for 2.1 systems?

Does powered subs come cheap? How much for a decent one?
ktek
post Sep 7 2014, 10:41 PM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

nope, you need to find subwoofer with high level cross over.

QUOTE(applezhai @ Sep 7 2014, 10:34 PM)
Does powered subs come cheap? How much for a decent one?
from a thousand (most basic type) to 5-6k and beyond...
applezhai
post Sep 8 2014, 06:27 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 7 2014, 10:41 PM)
from a thousand (most basic type) to 5-6k and beyond...
Hmm fair enough, can you mentioned a few decent brands in mind for the subwoofer, just to sort of kick start in the right direction. Stereo powered hifi speakers too.

ktek
post Sep 9 2014, 12:31 AM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

QUOTE(applezhai @ Sep 8 2014, 06:27 AM)
Hmm fair enough, can you mentioned a few decent brands in mind for the subwoofer, just to sort of kick start in the right direction. Stereo powered hifi speakers too.
seriously, consider the acoustic energy aego m i've mentioned.
well priced, solid quality, small in size, wide sound stage, got subwoofer.

other options from audioengine ae2 ae5, krk rokit, jbl control lsr (american), hivi m200, edifier studio (china), yamaha hs msp(japan), wharfedale pro, kef ls (england), psb alpha (canada)
andrew9292
post Sep 9 2014, 04:54 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Hi sifus, I'm looking for a decent set at a max budget about RM800.

Prefer something with
1. Fast warm-ish tone with throaty & punchy bass that goes low enough for music.
2. Plenty lower mid-range 'snare/tom' punch. Plenty of weight for lower-end of electric guitars.
3. Highs should be there but natural, not harsh and doesn't give away the speaker position too much.

I listen to a lot of genres. Most of my music has average recording quality, especially rock genre. I love rock but most speakers don't do that genre justice.
I listen to 50% 'average recording' music. So, something not too revealing/bright would be good.
Can't help it, the speaker has to fit in according to my music taste. icon_rolleyes.gif

Tried Edifier R2700/2800 Series... A nice balanced set but lower mid-range has not enough weight nor punch, no-no for rock music. Everything else plays fine. I admit, it's a great speaker for many but not for my ears.

Any recommendations? Does Swan M50W has tone controls? Or am I asking too much for the budget? notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Sep 9 2014, 05:00 AM
ktek
post Sep 9 2014, 08:03 AM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

andrew, you are looking for "thx style cinema sound" laugh.gif
its true, no joking
lex
post Sep 9 2014, 08:50 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Sep 9 2014, 04:54 AM)
Hi sifus, I'm looking for a decent set at a max budget about RM800.

Prefer something with
1. Fast warm-ish tone with throaty & punchy bass that goes low enough for music.
2. Plenty lower mid-range 'snare/tom' punch. Plenty of weight for lower-end of electric guitars.
3. Highs should be there but natural, not harsh and doesn't give away the speaker position too much.
Not easy to find such active powered speakers with specifications like that. Fast attack (high gain) for punchy music means the bass has to be pretty tight (those thuds and thumper style bass sounds), plus bigger midrange drivers. And good natural highs means Class A/B amplifier. "Warmish" tone means some added distortion/coloration which are vacumm tube speciality... wink.gif

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Sep 9 2014, 04:54 AM)
I listen to a lot of genres. Most of my music has average recording quality, especially rock genre. I love rock but most speakers don't do that genre justice.
I listen to 50% 'average recording' music. So, something not too revealing/bright would be good.
Can't help it, the speaker has to fit in according to my music taste. icon_rolleyes.gif

Tried Edifier R2700/2800 Series... A nice balanced set but lower mid-range has not enough weight nor punch, no-no for rock music. Everything else plays fine. I admit, it's a great speaker for many but not for my ears.

Any recommendations? Does Swan M50W has tone controls? Or am I asking too much for the budget? notworthy.gif
Naturally Edifier Studio 8 (a.k.a Edifier R2800) would be closest to your specifications, however if you feel still not satisfied then you may have to look to other speaker systems. And usually 2.1 speakers systems are weak at midranges. I would highly recommend auditioning/testing those speakers and see if it suits your listening preferences... hmm.gif

QUOTE(applezhai @ Sep 7 2014, 01:21 PM)
How about a dedicated hifi active stereo setup instead for now, may range from RM2k-2.5k. I think i will add a sub if its necessary in the future, normally speakers have line out for subs right? Or do i need a AV receiver for 2.1 systems?
How much space do you have on your desk? Dedicated HiFi setups means separate components such as integrated amplifiers, passive speakers, preamplifiers. etc... hmm.gif
applezhai
post Sep 9 2014, 12:30 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 9 2014, 12:31 AM)
seriously, consider the acoustic energy aego m i've mentioned.
well priced, solid quality, small in size, wide sound stage, got subwoofer.

other options from audioengine ae2 ae5, krk rokit, jbl control lsr (american), hivi m200, edifier studio (china), yamaha hs msp(japan), wharfedale pro, kef ls (england), psb alpha (canada)
Alright will take a look at it, thanks very much.

i am not too sure yet, might shift to wider space soon. Currently only multimedia speakers/head-fi compatible. Just asking advice atm
andrew9292
post Sep 9 2014, 03:34 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 9 2014, 06:38 AM)
Not easy to find such active powered speakers with specifications like that. Fast attack (high gain) for punchy music means the bass has to be pretty tight (those thuds and thumper style bass sounds), plus bigger midrange drivers. And good natural highs means Class A/B amplifier. "Warmish" tone means some added distortion/coloration which are vacumm tube speciality... wink.gif

Naturally Edifier Studio 8 (a.k.a Edifier R2800) would be closest to your specifications, however if you feel still not satisfied then you may have to look to other speaker systems. And usually 2.1 speakers systems are weak at midranges. I would highly recommend auditioning/testing those speakers and see if it suits your listening preferences... hmm.gif
Always many thanks for your recommendation lex. biggrin.gif Are there any 2.1 speaker choices say if I double the budget to around 1.5k-ish? Any good places that carry a lot of sets for auditioning?

Studio 8... nevertheless was good & might still in my list. Swan M50W comes close, also considering & need to audition again. I'll ask again in the 2.0 thread notworthy.gif =>

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 9 2014, 08:03 AM)
andrew, you are looking for "thx style cinema sound" laugh.gif
its true, no joking
Had a MX5021 & auditioned Z 623 a couple of times... Bass is maddening but everything else was just okay... Doesn't have the tone & speed i'm looking for though cry.gif
ktek
post Sep 9 2014, 05:39 PM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Sep 9 2014, 03:34 PM)
Had a MX5021 & auditioned Z 623 a couple of times... Bass is maddening but everything else was just okay... Doesn't have the tone & speed i'm looking for though cry.gif
oh, not "computer grade" thx but the home theater thx select /select2
lex
post Sep 11 2014, 05:25 AM

Old Am I?
18,182 posts

QUOTE(applezhai @ Sep 9 2014, 12:30 PM)
i am not too sure yet, might shift to wider space soon. Currently only multimedia speakers/head-fi compatible. Just asking advice atm
Well, if you have the space them you may want to consider those Edifier Studio series... nod.gif

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Sep 9 2014, 03:34 PM)
Always many thanks for your recommendation lex. biggrin.gif  Are there any 2.1 speaker choices say if I double the budget to around 1.5k-ish? Any good places that carry a lot of sets for auditioning?

Studio 8... nevertheless was good & might still in my list. Swan M50W comes close, also considering & need to audition again. I'll ask again in the 2.0 thread  notworthy.gif =>
Agressive sounding speakers aren't that many. Perhaps you may want to consider pairing an a dedicated amplifier paired with a matching passive speaker setup. For such stuff, usually found in those HiFi showrooms where you can audition them plus pick and choose the combo. Thus be prepared with some deeper pockets.... sweat.gif

SinclairZ
post Sep 11 2014, 04:47 PM

75 posts

Hi guys,

Need some recommendation on speakers, mainlu use it for gaming and movies, budget would b arnd 700

Thx
PowerGadget
post Sep 13 2014, 07:45 AM

821 posts

Hello guys,I need a desktop speaker and have budget around RM800+- . May I know what is the best speaker for the range? Love to listen to music and movie. No gaming I think except mini games.

In my mind,I think of Harman kardon sound sticks,does it worth the money? How is the sound quality when compare to edifier studio 8(seemed popular in this forum)?
sgmati
post Sep 13 2014, 10:24 AM

182 posts

Hi I want a disco like deep bass, which one you recommended?

For music only. (Use with durian cd)

Clumsy_JJ
post Sep 13 2014, 08:37 PM

21 posts

HI, just wan to have some advise. already own a Edifier studio 8 speaker and pair with Stoner Acoutics USB DAC UD120.

Can i add on a sound bar to improve my pc sound system? any good sound bar recommend? looking budget for few hundred.thankss......
ktek
post Sep 14 2014, 04:46 AM

小喇叭
13,196 posts

QUOTE(SinclairZ @ Sep 11 2014, 04:47 PM)
Hi guys,

Need some recommendation on speakers, mainlu use it for gaming and movies, budget would b arnd 700

Thx
edifier s530d enough

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Sep 13 2014, 07:45 AM)
Hello guys,I need a desktop speaker and have budget around RM800+- . May I know what is the best speaker for the range? Love to listen to music and movie. No gaming I think except mini games.

In my mind,I think of Harman kardon sound sticks,does it worth the money? How is the sound quality when compare to edifier studio 8(seemed popular in this forum)?
sound stick is super space saving, studio 8 is super space taker.
your preference?

QUOTE(sgmati @ Sep 13 2014, 10:24 AM)
Hi I want a disco like deep bass, which one you recommended?

For music only. (Use with durian cd)
buy disco speaker, not that expensive to get disco effect

QUOTE(Clumsy_JJ @ Sep 13 2014, 08:37 PM)
HI, just wan to have some advise. already own a Edifier studio 8 speaker and pair with Stoner Acoutics USB DAC UD120.

Can i add on a sound bar to improve my pc sound system? any good sound bar recommend? looking budget for few hundred.thankss......
buying cheap sound bar will only downgrade, go for passive book shelf.
Clumsy_JJ
post Sep 14 2014, 11:05 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 14 2014, 04:46 AM)
buying cheap sound bar will only downgrade, go for passive book shelf.
passive bookshelf means audioengine speaker?? but i already own a studio 8. XD

144 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:31 AM