14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Singapore REITS, S-REITS

Showtime747
post Sep 1 2015, 04:41 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(davidcch07 @ Sep 1 2015, 01:56 PM)
hahaha... all share also depending on chart... and i'm not trader... just an advise only.  biggrin.gif
investor usually does not go in and out of market. Traders do.

I hold stock for the long term. The So called "ride through the ups and downs" and collect dividends. So troublesome to sell and then buy back. Because I never know when is peak and when is bottom. Just choose good stocks and stay with them for many years
Showtime747
post Sep 1 2015, 05:44 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(davidcch07 @ Sep 1 2015, 05:19 PM)
unless you like WB... bought close the platform and do not open another 10 year!  tongue.gif
Not even close to WB. But I still hold some counters since 1990s tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 1 2015, 06:53 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 1 2015, 06:26 PM)
it is not so much about the trouble of buy and sell.

it is all about the transaction costs!

go back a few years, each buy and sell cost 1%. even now incl gst it's 0.5-0.6%.

over the years and thousands of trades. >50% of "losses" are due to brokerage!!

remember the 90s... remisiers and brokers were among the highest income earners, collecting houses and land while you punters bleed.

but no more, brokerage has come down, but not low enough still.

i await the day 1 buy or 1 sell cost rm1 or sgd1. laugh.gif
I still remember the days without CDS account. All paper certificate. The real shares certificate + transfer forms. When selling, have to deliver to the stock broker tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 1 2015, 07:01 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 1 2015, 06:54 PM)
hehe... i knew that was going on, just i wasn't in it then. biggrin.gif
And the days when price is quoted on a black board where the broker rub and write the latest price of a share. During bull market, people fight and squeeze to get inside the stock broker firm. Those couldn't get in stand at the door overflowing to the road side. That was in the 70s and 80s I think tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 7 2015, 06:19 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 7 2015, 05:10 PM)
first reit today 1.22. just saw it.. anybody buy?
I very takut nowadays. Better hibernate yawn.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 12 2015, 09:00 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(kendo88 @ Sep 12 2015, 02:08 AM)
PAP won, monday sgd and sti up & up?
Maybe. But The election result is expected, depending on more or less seat PAP win only. Government not going to change in any case.

More will be affected by fresh leads around the world. Mainly Fed interest rate and news from China Japan US Europe Middle East...
Showtime747
post Sep 16 2015, 10:26 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 16 2015, 10:01 PM)
Free Seminar in Sgp on this coming Saturday. It's not too difficult to take an economical flight early morning down to Sgp to attend this. Or you can take a coach down the day before, but you will need a place to put up in for the night.

You can learn how to open accounts there, and many other questions that you may have. IT'S DEFINITELY WORTH IT !!

http://onlinetradersclub.org/2015-09-19-sa...eits-kenny-loh/

Good luck ! Please put in effort to help yourselves,....
Fly down just to attend a seminar on Sreits ?

Showtime747
post Sep 17 2015, 06:46 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 16 2015, 11:39 PM)
Attend seminar. Network. Ask questions and learn abt opening of bank accts, brokerage accts and unit trust accts.
It's on a Saturday. You need to fly down again to do the documents. Also The seminar is for Singaporeans on reits there may not be people in the banking and brokerage to give answers.

Can always use telephone and email to enquire process of opening account. And there is another option of using local platform to trade in overseas market
Showtime747
post Sep 17 2015, 11:26 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 17 2015, 10:55 AM)
Read the article carefully,... it's not only for Singaporeans. And if it's only for Singaporeans, so what ??? When I first started many years ago, all these talks were mostly attended by Singaporeans only,... come on, so what ?? We make friends with them-lar,...

Public transportation is convenient, makan is tasty, clean and reasonably-priced (don't convert), 'girls are pretty', environment is clean,... go before they close their doors !!!!!!

BUT IT'S ALL UP TO YOU ALL-LAR,... I'M JUST TRYING TO HELP PEOPLE IN THIS FORUM, ESPECIALLY IN THIS THREAD. FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE KEEN TO DIVERSIFY OUT OF THIS COUNTRY.

Edited by adding final para...
I mean the seminar is not targeted for malaysian who want to open an trading account. It is on Sreit specifically. The seminar may not have the right people for the purpose. If you want to teach people, show them which bank, which broker they can contact, step by step...

You are really sensitive man. Why suddenly write in Cap-lock ? Chill bro. Be more confident. Don't need to explain everything you wrote. People got eyes to read and judge for themselves. We all know your good intention. I was just saying it may not be worthwhile to fly down to a seminar which the purpose is not teaching people how to open accounts in Sg
Showtime747
post Sep 18 2015, 07:17 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 18 2015, 02:56 AM)
us fed no int rate hike.

tmrw, can buy some good yield reits. tongue.gif
thumbup.gif

Hope they stay and won't increase like last 2 days
Showtime747
post Sep 18 2015, 12:23 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 18 2015, 10:20 AM)
most already up, like i expected. sad.gif
would like to add capitamall and suntec but both up a lot already...

now considering aimsamp and starhill.
Accordia down 1 cent now tongue.gif

13+% yield drool.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 18 2015, 12:24 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 18 2015, 11:34 AM)
haiz... everything up >2 cents. sad.gif

will hv to wait for next chance.
October Yallen will be on centre stage again. Let's keep our bullets and wait for another month tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 18 2015, 01:05 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 18 2015, 12:31 PM)
Hopefully no need to wait for another month. If something bad out of China between now and that October date for Janet Yellen to speak again, then the chance comes again.

SOmehow,... I am beginning to lose hope that I can depend on the Feds to help me,...us to be able to buy-in cheaper for SG REITs. Must look for other stimulus news already.
Got to be patient bro. You might be better off let the money sit in the bank doing nothing than risk it in a volatile market. Unless you are a risk taker.
Showtime747
post Sep 18 2015, 06:24 PM

4,258 posts

STI today follow DJI. From +24 points to -16 at close tongue.gif

Both Suntec and Capitalmall down a bit.

Fast fast Q early for Monday !
Showtime747
post Sep 22 2015, 11:12 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Sep 22 2015, 10:58 AM)
My objective is Yield... returns over time.
and preferably Cap appreciation too.
Storing funds in SG for my kid to use for overseas study.

And.. since i am not so good in Analysis.. i go for the diversification concept.
Hence a little bit in everything.

Overall portfolio is not that huge a negative.
Eg: my Lippo Malls is -ve 30%... but i get +ve 29% for Sheng Siong...

Since i do not have a huge position, i do nothing.. Did not take profit or Cut loss...
Also, i dunno right or wrong.

My biggest total holdings is in AIMS so far...

like u said.. after costing in Yield collected and Forex, return is definately better
than keeping in RM.
I used to be same like you. Looking for yield, and yield only. Buy, keep and forget. But recently the volatile market gives us opportunities. Trading is more profitable. In and out in days or a week can make decent returns. Like Singtel in recent months fluctuation is relatively big. Even Reits fluctuates a lot and can make some pocket money tongue.gif Start to change from a long term boring investor to a "quais-trader" already. Not a true goreng trader but still into fundamental stock because even if I make mistake, I still can hold long term and don't feel like cutting loss tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 29 2015, 10:23 AM

4,258 posts

A lot of value buy now. What are you guys waiting for ? tongue.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 29 2015, 01:47 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 29 2015, 10:32 AM)
ya, fishing, fishing...

use yr usd to buy - 1.43 now! laugh.gif
QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 29 2015, 10:34 AM)
Good morning.

Yes, agreed,... a lot of value buys now. Don't look at REITs only,... remember to diversify. Look at dividend stocks also. But don't look at yield only. Look at the DPU sustainability, investigate the company background closely.

Decided to change tactic a bit - change MYR into USD FIRST, then when ready to fire ammo in a month or two , change over to the SGD. Will get more bank when changing over from USD to SGD later. When ready to load-up, then only convert over the USD to SGD.
My bottom fishing all success ! Except Singtel. Price still holding. Should key in earlier mad.gif

The fish are so hungry until I scared. Ya, save some for October. It will come down further I think. Accumulate slow and steady

Hensel, US$ going up too fast. Be careful. They are pricing in the expected rate increase. When Yellen announce, it might come down...Best is hold a few currencies so spread your risk...
Showtime747
post Sep 29 2015, 01:53 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 29 2015, 11:37 AM)
Yes,... but please do not focus on REITs only. Do have a peek on strong dividend counters too. As you have mentioned earlier, Starhub is one of them, though there is an entry of a fourth Telco player soon.

This is the time to diversify our Sgp holdings out into different sectors for more resilience.
Ya, got other good ones besides Reits. Fishing Valuetronics also. Good dividend, zero gearing, good past track records....But this bugger never budge <0.40 even market is bad now. Very stubborn doh.gif
Showtime747
post Sep 29 2015, 01:54 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 29 2015, 01:52 PM)
yes, this will happen.

hence selling some usd to buy sgd now is not a bad idea. tongue.gif

but... the usd will slowly creep back up again in time.

becos... all nations, all equities, all commodities are in bad shape.

only us treasuries stay mighty.
Very true. For the next 1 year, still very confident with US$
Showtime747
post Sep 29 2015, 02:20 PM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Sep 29 2015, 02:16 PM)
Hi bro,... I heard of Valuetronics and took a quick look at it. My negative opiions :-

1) They pay out dividend once a year - a bit too slow for my liking before the money comes to me.
2) Their divvy is paid out in the HKD - currency risk later on.
3) If you look at their DPU over the years, they go up and down and not very consistent. As of the latest period, they are running at a yield of 8.80%, that's good,.. but we have to think of the sustainability.
4)If I am not mistaken, Valuetronics is in the electronics manufacturing outsourced business, right ?

Just quick glances at their DPUs over the years, compare against currenct price and whatever I could recall that they do.
Thanks for your opinion thumbup.gif

From the analysts :

http://sgx.i3investor.com/servlets/ptg/bn2.jsp

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.4076sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:48 AM