Got a feeling he's confused with the term porous...  laugh.gif
people not "first day in the industry" okay..... rolleyes.gif
RaptoR
post Oct 28 2015, 10:43 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 27 2015, 09:51 PM)
people not "first day in the industry" okay..... rolleyes.gif
Hehe jokes aside, even if one is not in the industry, googling for comparison, safe to say almost all results will show that quartz worktop are non porous.
SUSkimsim
post Oct 28 2015, 10:48 AM

Let Me ❀️ You
5,847 posts

Both are good, such as Quartz have more choices like color and pattern.

Granite are more natural, but solid wise still granite.
Quartz if accidently chop can be repair as well.
RaptoR
post Oct 28 2015, 10:53 AM

351 posts

Yes, granite has a slightly more natural look.. while quartz need to pay much more for the 'stone' look series

Quartz is also almost stain proof, while granite needs an impregnator sealant for maintenance.

Granite however is generally cheaper than quartz, unless those quartz made from China then maybe about same pricing

maxilife1
post Oct 28 2015, 11:45 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(RaptoR @ Oct 28 2015, 10:53 AM)
Yes, granite has a slightly more natural look.. while quartz need to pay much more for the 'stone' look series

Quartz is also almost stain proof, while granite needs an impregnator sealant for maintenance.

Granite however is generally  cheaper than quartz, unless those quartz made from China then maybe about same pricing
good info..

but granite is heavier than quartz?
RaptoR
post Oct 28 2015, 12:03 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(maxilife1 @ Oct 28 2015, 11:45 AM)
good info..

but granite is heavier than quartz?
granite thickness is about 18-20mm.. where else quartz comes in 12mm, 15mm, 20mm.. so it all depends.

In terms of heaviness.. both are bloody heavy lol. But a lot of sifus have mentioned before that granites are usually tougher and quartz slightly more brittle (during handling and transportation where they have to carry and move the stones around) .. although in my experience on the surface itself during completed works, quartz are more durable. Try using a key and scrub on quartz, it shouldnt scratch, any scratch mark is from the key and can be cleaned off.. where else do that on the granite.. you may get a permanent scratch mark.

maxilife1
post Oct 28 2015, 04:13 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(RaptoR @ Oct 28 2015, 12:03 PM)
granite thickness is about 18-20mm.. where else quartz comes in 12mm, 15mm, 20mm.. so it all depends.

In terms of heaviness.. both are bloody heavy lol. But a lot of sifus have mentioned before that granites are usually tougher and quartz slightly more brittle (during handling and transportation where they have to carry and move the stones around) .. although in my experience on the surface itself during completed works, quartz are more durable. Try using a key and scrub on quartz, it shouldnt scratch, any scratch mark is from the key and can be cleaned off.. where else do that on the granite.. you may get a permanent scratch mark.
noted and thanks thumbup.gif
evolution120
post Oct 28 2015, 08:25 PM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

bro, u from this stone industry?
idoblu
post Oct 28 2015, 08:40 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

thumbup.gif
what quartz are you using? branded or china brand?
one thing though, mine is white. i feel like it can stain/dirty easily and after that very difficult to remove sad.gif
RaptoR
post Oct 28 2015, 09:47 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Oct 28 2015, 08:25 PM)
bro, u from this stone industry?
Yah in kitchen cabinetry... so it's related!
RaptoR
post Oct 28 2015, 10:12 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Oct 28 2015, 08:40 PM)
thumbup.gif
what quartz are you using? branded or china brand?
one thing though, mine is white. i feel like it can stain/dirty easily and after that very difficult to remove  sad.gif
Personally using china quartz from 2 years ago.. chose a speckled type with some bling mirror chips embedded. very happy with it. branded back then too expensive still sad.gif

Yours? Usually if normal white still looks a bit off-white and with some black dots.. not pure white.(only imported brand has pure white range) For quartz, just use those stainless steel wire ball by cosway/amway with CIF, can usually remove all dirts and stain. Quartz even though it's supposed to be stain-proof, wine/coffee/turmeric powder if left on the surface for some time, it will seep in and sometimes not able to remove.
behkokhong
post Oct 28 2015, 11:13 PM

24 posts

If you are looking granite, marble or quartz, I can intro my fren to you since he is running a factory near my new house and also one of the KS supplier for the worktop. PM me if you r interested but u deal direct with him.
Slash21
post Nov 19 2015, 11:47 PM

214 posts

Hi All,

I am also in a dilemma over solid surface or Quartz. I was offered LG HI-Macs which is almost the same price as China quartz.

I like the pure white kitchen top and solid surface seems to look really good. Quartz on the other hand I was told to choose the one with small stones as it hides the joints making it not so obvious.

Quartz is more stain and scratch resistant compared to solid surface. Is this true? For lower maintenance and durability, is Quartz is the better choice?

This post has been edited by Slash21: Nov 19 2015, 11:47 PM
RaptoR
post Nov 20 2015, 12:00 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(Slash21 @ Nov 19 2015, 11:47 PM)
Hi All,

I am also in a dilemma over solid surface or Quartz. I was offered LG HI-Macs which is almost the same price as China quartz.

I like the pure white kitchen top and solid surface seems to look really good. Quartz on the other hand I was told to choose the one with small stones as it hides the joints making it not so obvious.

Quartz is more stain and scratch resistant compared to solid surface. Is this true? For lower maintenance and durability, is Quartz is the better choice?
My advise is, if you're okay with joint lines, always go for quartz now. It's way more durable and almost maintenance free. Also almost scratch proof. There are some china quartz supplier that also sells the pure white series, just have to look around. As like anything that is pure white, after some time over the years of usage they will definitely turn slightly yellow, be it solid surface, quartz, spray painted doors, laminate doors etc.
Slash21
post Nov 20 2015, 10:56 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(RaptoR @ Nov 20 2015, 12:00 PM)
My advise is, if you're okay with joint lines, always go for quartz now. It's way more durable and almost maintenance free. Also almost scratch proof. There are some china quartz supplier that also sells the pure white series, just have to look around. As like anything that is pure white, after some time over the years of usage they will definitely turn slightly yellow, be it solid surface, quartz, spray painted doors, laminate doors etc.
Thanks for the note, and yes leaning towards Quartz for easier maintenance. Reading the effort needed on the internet for solid surface seems like a pain.

On quartz, does it matter if it's going to be Silestone (Branded) or crappy China quartz is good enough? I suppose Quartz in general including China ones do not have problems of staining and scratches?

This post has been edited by Slash21: Nov 20 2015, 10:57 PM
sonerin
post Nov 21 2015, 11:42 AM

8,740 posts

QUOTE(Slash21 @ Nov 20 2015, 10:56 PM)
Thanks for the note, and yes leaning towards Quartz for easier maintenance. Reading the effort needed on the internet for solid surface seems like a pain.

On quartz, does it matter if it's going to be Silestone (Branded) or crappy China quartz is good enough? I suppose Quartz in general including China ones do not have problems of staining and scratches?
Usually is ok but for stain it depend on the Quartz is it done properly without mirco crack
frequency
post Nov 22 2015, 09:56 AM

ζˆ‘θ¦ζŒ‘ζˆ˜εδΈͺ!
2,567 posts

QUOTE(percheng @ Oct 21 2015, 01:00 AM)
hi there,
u could try to call or whatsapp him by 0173886962 or 0163386962. LIEW
boss do not recommend Ken anymore. Very irresponsible contractor...

u can come my house witness the mess.
sonerin
post Nov 22 2015, 10:43 AM

8,740 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Nov 22 2015, 09:56 AM)
boss do not recommend Ken anymore. Very irresponsible contractor...

u can come my house witness the mess.
There is a thread for bad contact or can add it there
RaptoR
post Nov 22 2015, 03:23 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(Slash21 @ Nov 20 2015, 10:56 PM)

China quartz generally isn't crappy, guess the only unknown factor is how they make in the China factory. In terms of stain and scratches both China and branded ones are the same. You are only getting branded if you particularly like a range of color that they offer, and also branded ones comes with proper certification that says you can do your work prep on the top itself without needing any board. (Green certain, bacteria free etc) But us Asians generally tend to use a board irregardless of whether the manufacturer say it's safe or not biggrin.gif

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:40 PM