Oil & Gas Career v4, Technical Sharing & Career Opportunities

gates_way
post Dec 11 2012, 03:10 PM

60 posts

Dear all master/sifus,
I got two offers now. Downstream production engineer in Petronas Refinery. Upstream field engineer with baker.
Both are away from home =( one in kerteh, one in labuan. I prefer hands-on job, which both also can offer. Some says it's better to go to client's side. some says services company could let myself expose to more technical experience.
What masters/sifus here would say?
Xerxethable
post Dec 11 2012, 04:24 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(gates_way @ Dec 11 2012, 03:10 PM)
Dear all master/sifus,
I got two offers now. Downstream production engineer in Petronas Refinery. Upstream field engineer with baker.
Both are away from home =( one in kerteh, one in labuan. I prefer hands-on job, which both also can offer. Some says it's better to go to client's side. some says services company could let myself expose to more technical experience.
go for upstream. wait until u have 15years experience that time u jump to client. your salary gaw gaw! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Xerxethable: Dec 11 2012, 04:28 PM
abgkik
post Dec 11 2012, 04:32 PM

2,143 posts

Dear all master/sifus,
Go to baker.. wink.gif
azraeil
post Dec 11 2012, 06:45 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(gates_way @ Dec 11 2012, 10:10 AM)
Dear all master/sifus,
rclxms.gif

Congrats. As I said in my PM, asks for feedback from those who work in downstream as well. If you're a muslim, maybe do sembahyang istikharah as well.

Good luck
Stamp
post Dec 11 2012, 09:06 PM

4,864 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Dec 11 2012, 11:23 AM)
Don't ever trust As-built drawings..always kena tipu by it..damn those consultant..lazy to do revision which reflect the actual built. Just stamped 'As-Built' then handover..even client also didnt properly review it.
Do you know that As-Built drawings are under the scope of work of the fabricator, and not the consultant?

The fabricator may sub-contract the As-Builting works to the consultant, and the fabricator is responsible to do a proper job in marking-up the AFC drawings to indicate any changes during fabrication.

The client is not supposed to do quality checks on fabricator's work. That's fabricator's responsibility and they are being paid for it.

Added on December 11, 2012, 9:09 pm
Dear all master/sifus,
go for upstream, join baker. focus on learning the job as much as possible.

later (maybe after a decade) you join the client. big money down the road in later years.

This post has been edited by Stamp: Dec 11 2012, 09:10 PM
feekle
post Dec 11 2012, 09:12 PM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

december88
post Dec 11 2012, 09:15 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(sky_casper @ Dec 11 2012, 10:57 AM)
Actually i really want to go into field engineer or do offshore's jobs because i hate the office work's environment. (based on my experience during my internship. The environment in the office is so quite and stressful  biggrin.gif )
Bro offshore is more stress especially for FE. When things are not going well, you will be the one who would be responsible.
If things really screw up and the rig is in not being "productive" for a long period and you'll get runoff i.e kick out of the rig, HQ will start calling your ops manager because you just lost millions of dollar contract for that rig.

Dear all master/sifus,
Baker, you will learn more and currently in Labuan you will be fast track fast, usually the program for FE is to be completed after 3 years but some are being fast track within 1.5 - 2 years depending on product line.

After that you can choose to continue as an FE or get a desk job and IF you're extremely good, some clients will poach you to work with them, true story.

Anyway take Baker if you want a good challenge, and I suspect Baker's basic is better than Petronas. No problemo to jump to client after 5 years experience, folks who stayed at service companies more than 10 years are a dedicated lot and operation = good money.

What's your product line?

khrill
post Dec 11 2012, 10:43 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Stamp @ Dec 11 2012, 09:06 PM)
Do you know that As-Built drawings are under the scope of work of the fabricator, and not the consultant?

The fabricator may sub-contract the As-Builting works to the consultant, and the fabricator is responsible to do a proper job in marking-up the AFC drawings to indicate any changes during fabrication.

The client is not supposed to do quality checks on fabricator's work. That's fabricator's responsibility and they are being paid for it.

Agree, normally As-Built come from fabricator side and from drawing latest revision. They will remove all the cloud marking and revision number and stamp for As-Built.

Client have a right to do quality check by themselves especially in ndt. Heard from friend, one of the east coast fabricator company has been blacklist, it because the client bring their own man and they detect so many joint failed in test.
gates_way
post Dec 11 2012, 11:55 PM

60 posts

Thanks all the sifus explanation! especially bro Azraeli!
I think I'm ready for the challenge in Baker, and as you all have said, I really think that's the better choice now.
As for the structured training from Baker, is it really true that I can switch back to desk job after 3 years like they said on the brochure?
I wish to get back to my family my parents after 3-5 years.
Yes, bro december, the pay is better than petronas, but of course the working hours are longer =( the product line is not confirmed yet. would be wireline, tentatively.
Thanks guys!
syarehey
post Dec 12 2012, 01:14 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(feekle @ Dec 11 2012, 09:12 PM)
when is the walk in interview? Can't read your post,too small.

This post has been edited by syarehey: Dec 12 2012, 01:16 AM
chungyinjie
post Dec 12 2012, 01:18 AM

QUOTE(feekle @ Dec 11 2012, 09:12 PM)
Hi syarehey,
Pls can you advise petrofac's job opening detail? The snapshot is blur when zoom in, yet could not find any info in internet. Thanks.
Gino89
post Dec 12 2012, 02:17 AM

QUOTE(gates_way @ Dec 11 2012, 08:10 AM)
Dear all master/sifus,
May I know how you applied Baker? Via its official website or any other alternative ways such as submit the application form to their HR department as well. Thanks
feekle
post Dec 12 2012, 08:26 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

QUOTE(syarehey @ Dec 12 2012, 01:14 AM)
when is the walk in interview? Can't read your post,too small.
check this link..http://www.miricommunity.net/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=57818

Added on December 12, 2012, 8:26 am
QUOTE(chungyinjie @ Dec 12 2012, 01:18 AM)
Hi syarehey,
Pls can you advise petrofac's job opening detail? The snapshot is blur when zoom in, yet could not find any info in internet. Thanks.
http://www.miricommunity.net/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=57818

This post has been edited by feekle: Dec 12 2012, 08:26 AM
gates_way
post Dec 12 2012, 10:17 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(Gino89 @ Dec 12 2012, 02:17 AM)
May I know how you applied Baker? Via its official website or any other alternative ways such as submit the application form to their HR department as well. Thanks
Yes, via their official website. i think it's the only way. they don't take cv personally.
good luck.

azraeil
post Dec 12 2012, 12:37 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(gates_way @ Dec 11 2012, 06:55 PM)
Thanks all the sifus explanation! especially bro Azraeli!
I think I'm ready for the challenge in Baker, and as you all have said, I really think that's the better choice now.
As for the structured training from Baker, is it really true that I can switch back to desk job after 3 years like they said on the brochure?
I wish to get back to my family my parents after 3-5 years.
Yes, bro december, the pay is better than petronas, but of course the working hours are longer =( the product line is not confirmed yet. would be wireline, tentatively.
Thanks guys!
If you get into the wireline business, you're set. It's a very challenging and rewarding experience. The work is tough but the reward especially down the line in your career will be very very good. Get as much experience as possible, and after 5-7 years I'll bet a LOT of operators (PETRONAS/Talisman/Petrofac/Hess/Murphy etc) will be interested in your skills.
gates_way
post Dec 12 2012, 11:06 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Dec 12 2012, 12:37 PM)
If you get into the wireline business, you're set. It's a very challenging and rewarding experience. The work is tough but the reward especially down the line in your career will be very very good. Get as much experience as possible, and after 5-7 years I'll bet a LOT of operators (PETRONAS/Talisman/Petrofac/Hess/Murphy etc) will be interested in your skills.
Thanks guys and Azraeil.

I think I found my answer then. Baker is the one.

On top of that, I need to prepare myself, both physically and mentally.

Good luck to me and everyone. smile.gif
N3sh25
post Dec 13 2012, 10:03 PM

285 posts

Reviews on Halliburton working environment and job prospects as field engineer. Thank you peps

This post has been edited by N3sh25: Dec 13 2012, 10:03 PM
Xerxethable
post Dec 14 2012, 09:20 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(N3sh25 @ Dec 13 2012, 10:03 PM)
Reviews on Halliburton working environment and job prospects as field engineer. Thank you peps
Haliburton, 2 of my friends is there, they said it was a good company to go.
N3sh25
post Dec 14 2012, 12:00 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(Xerxethable @ Dec 14 2012, 09:20 AM)
Haliburton, 2 of my friends is there, they said it was a good company to go.
details bro..i would like to hear from people working there. Thanks
Xerxethable
post Dec 14 2012, 12:13 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(N3sh25 @ Dec 14 2012, 12:00 PM)
details bro..i would like to hear from people working there. Thanks
will do once i contact him.

135 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top