135 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Bottom

Oil & Gas Career v4, Technical Sharing & Career Opportunities

blo0dLuSt
post Nov 25 2012, 08:22 PM

37 posts

Guys. If i start as technical assistant, its good for me or not? How much is the expected salary?
azraeil
post Nov 25 2012, 09:15 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(blo0dLuSt @ Nov 25 2012, 03:22 PM)
Guys. If i start as technical assistant, its good for me or not? How much is the expected salary?
Where? Usually a TA is for non-degree holder so you cannot expect a high salary.

Added on November 25, 2012, 9:26 pm
QUOTE(mhyug @ Nov 25 2012, 10:00 AM)
ahh the feeling of being far away from teh dan nasik.well yet to sample that feeling but i hope to do that very soon if some other chance is there to be fought for.

wanna see it before blk m'sia settle down and start plotting that next branch/fruits of the tree haha:lol:
myhug .... I remembered you were one of the loyal poster in this thread and finally managed to get a position in O&G so get as much experience as you can (go overseas if you have the opportunity). I suspect your line of work involves a lot of hands on and hard work (meaning, dangerous line of work right?) so once you're ready to settle down ... get a girl la and with your experience I'm sure you'll be able to move around in the industry. trust me once you get 5 years in O&G, people couldn't care less about your degree or whatever ... they will only be interested with the skill you acquired on the job.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Nov 25 2012, 09:26 PM
mangoman
post Nov 25 2012, 09:34 PM

Retired Member
560 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 25 2012, 01:13 PM)
Main reason I am here is because of my kids. If companies in Malaysia is willing to pay for my kids education, then we can seriously discuss my return.
I thought kids education is still not that expensive compared to college/university tuition fees. tongue.gif
azraeil
post Nov 25 2012, 09:38 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(mangoman @ Nov 25 2012, 04:34 PM)
I thought kids education is still not that expensive compared to college/university tuition fees. tongue.gif
My company pays GBP26K a year per child for Boarding School. A lot of the Malaysian here sends their kids to Boarding school in Bahrain/UK/Switzerland/US/Canada. The one I'm looking at will cost me RM125K per year per child .... that will be difficult to swallow if no company is willing to pay for that.
farid_cool
post Nov 25 2012, 09:42 PM

529 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 25 2012, 09:38 PM)
My company pays GBP26K a year per child for Boarding School. A lot of the Malaysian here sends their kids to Boarding school in Bahrain/UK/Switzerland/US/Canada. The one I'm looking at will cost me RM125K per year per child .... that will be difficult to swallow if no company is willing to pay for that.
So lucky that company support education for your child.
blo0dLuSt
post Nov 25 2012, 09:44 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 25 2012, 09:15 PM)
Where? Usually a TA is for non-degree holder so you cannot expect a high salary.

myhug .... I remembered you were one of the loyal poster in this thread and finally managed to get a position in O&G so get as much experience as you can (go overseas if you have the opportunity). I suspect your line of work involves a lot of hands on and hard work (meaning, dangerous line of work right?) so once you're ready to settle down ... get a girl la and with your experience I'm sure you'll be able to move around in the industry. trust me once you get 5 years in O&G, people couldn't care less about your degree or whatever ... they will only be interested with the skill you acquired on the job.
i got an interview for TA in onyx kl. Around 2k is too high?
azraeil
post Nov 25 2012, 10:20 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(farid_cool @ Nov 25 2012, 04:42 PM)
So lucky that company support education for your child.
Part of the package offered but once you take the education assistance, you will be stuck with the company for the remainder of your children's education. Now, if a company in Malaysia is willing to cover some of the expenses, we can sit down and discuss.
ch_teo
post Nov 25 2012, 11:18 PM

809 posts

1 of our ang moh managers in Abqaiq places his family in Bahrain and works in Abqaiq. For the betterment life of his family, he decides to do so.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Nov 25 2012, 11:19 PM
ACD
post Nov 25 2012, 11:23 PM

Hi all, i'm very interested in OnG career..
graduate from ILP just have a few certificate.. cry.gif
-certificate of electrical technology
-Wireman PW2 (Suruhanjaya Tenaga)
-SKM lvl 1,2,3-senior electrical technician
-Building wiring installer(CIDB)
-NIOSH OGSP
1year 4month working experience as a wireman with electrical contractor

any chance for me in OnG?

really need job to earn my family icon_question.gif
abgkik
post Nov 25 2012, 11:59 PM

2,143 posts

Fuhhh... That is expensive..
digoil
post Nov 26 2012, 02:18 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 25 2012, 10:20 PM)
Part of the package offered but once you take the education assistance, you will be stuck with the company for the remainder of your children's education. Now, if a company in Malaysia is willing to cover some of the expenses, we can sit down and discuss.
Bro azraeil,

Is Aramco need mud specialist/engineer now? Do you know Seah from Shell?

mhyug
post Nov 26 2012, 07:49 AM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 25 2012, 09:15 PM)

yeah bro thx.those months of relentless applying, searching, info gathering and to some extent the monetary investment i made paid off.right now im just absorbing it all and am not looking too much into my salary(its not big yet not small, but im happy with what im getting out of the job) that much and just waiting to get those years under my belt.after that i hope to move on the ladder and with more hard work move abroad a few years smile.gif .

a lot of you guys gave me that encouragement and the know how, my thanks to all of you.

btw bro by boarding school does your kids stay with you or they have an hostel or some sort hmm.gif (mcm asrama/sekolah asrama penuh alike??)

This post has been edited by mhyug: Nov 26 2012, 07:51 AM
ThekidZ
post Nov 26 2012, 11:27 AM

248 posts

Wanna ask, is giving a 2 months notice before leaving a O&g company a norm practice?
azraeil
post Nov 26 2012, 12:15 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(digoil @ Nov 25 2012, 09:18 PM)
Bro azraeil,

Is Aramco need mud specialist/engineer now? Do you know Seah from Shell?

Heh heh heh .... off course we need mud specialist. Seah got his extension (he's 60 already) so he'll be staying another year (well that was in March so another couple of months) and I suspect he is going to get another extension .... no one to replace people meehhhh ...

Added on November 26, 2012, 12:18 pm
QUOTE(abgkik @ Nov 25 2012, 06:59 PM)
Fuhhh... That is expensive..
Tell me about it .... some even have to top up because the Boarding school especially in the US costs upwards of USD45K, tu tak campur the nominal monthly allowance lagi tu. Lagi mahal dari University.

myhug, yes boarding school is like Asrama Penuh la .... but not like the one we used to experience la, no Ikan Jaket or Hati Lembu kind of thing in the dewan makan heh heh heh ....

Added on November 26, 2012, 12:20 pm
QUOTE(ch_teo @ Nov 25 2012, 06:18 PM)
1 of our ang moh managers in Abqaiq places his family in Bahrain and works in Abqaiq. For the betterment life of his family, he decides to do so.
Yeah we have a couple of guys who does that as well. He must have gotten an OOP (Out of Policy) exception. Most brought their family back into Saudi after the unrest in Bahrain last year.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Nov 26 2012, 12:20 PM
acgerlok7
post Nov 26 2012, 12:38 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 25 2012, 10:20 PM)
Wah bro...no companies back in Msia actually offers you expatriate package? smile.gif Maybe got lyk 80k one month oso damn good di...hahaha, can survive well if staying in not so high cost area lyk in KL
azraeil
post Nov 26 2012, 12:43 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Nov 26 2012, 07:38 AM)
Wah bro...no companies back in Msia actually offers you expatriate package?  smile.gif Maybe got lyk 80k one month oso damn good di...hahaha, can survive well if staying in not so high cost area lyk in KL
Passport Malaysia so no expat package .... I've told a lot of companies that if that is the case then they can shove it up their fanny. They spend millions bringing expats to Malaysia but when it comes to local Malaysians, well you just have to send your kids to normal school lah .... screw that.

Contracts ada la offer from 80-120K a month but it will be short term etc and will not be conducive for the family.
heavenhell
post Nov 26 2012, 12:56 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 26 2012, 12:43 PM)
Passport Malaysia so no expat package .... I've told a lot of companies that if that is the case then they can shove it up their fanny. They spend millions bringing expats to Malaysia but when it comes to local Malaysians, well you just have to send your kids to normal school lah .... screw that.

Contracts ada la offer from 80-120K a month but it will be short term etc and will not be conducive for the family.
wow boss , rm100k+ per month shocking.gif
acgerlok7
post Nov 26 2012, 01:01 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 26 2012, 12:43 PM)

Yeah...seems some companies in Msia still having the "overc ppl more talented" mindset, whereby Malaysians themsevels are very talented...just look at the amount of Malaysians overc lol.
azraeil
post Nov 26 2012, 01:12 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Nov 26 2012, 08:01 AM)
Yeah...seems some companies in Msia still having the "overc ppl more talented" mindset, whereby Malaysians themsevels are very talented...just look at the amount of Malaysians overc lol.
Yeah, so in the end, the questions that most headhunters will ask is "Do you want to come back to Malaysia?" instead of "We have a package that you will definitely want to review" ... so Kalau nak balik, join la kitaorang ..... pathetic ...
k.mark45
post Nov 26 2012, 01:12 PM

150 posts

seems like bro azraeil here becomes a hot stuff. haha

135 Pages « < 38 39 40 41 42 > » Top

0.0307sec    1.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:39 AM