Oil & Gas Career v4, Technical Sharing & Career Opportunities

ch_teo
post Sep 3 2012, 09:15 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Sep 3 2012, 08:59 PM)
So, after 1 day you already regret and give up? Than ONG is not suitable to you.
rclxms.gif good one from u ICDeadPeople!

i mentioned some time ago, lot of people wanna join o&g (with the mindset don mind the low $ with burdened of jobs. or maybe the mindset already with lot $ in the mind), but never self-evaluated physically & mentally capable or not.
talk is one thing, action is another thing.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Sep 3 2012, 09:16 PM
ch_teo
post Sep 6 2012, 12:21 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(december88 @ Sep 6 2012, 11:22 AM)
Hey to the folks who are living at Labuan, which telco is better Maxis or Celcom in terms of broadband (3G), voice and coverage.
get Celcom.

sometimes, near south china sea when using maxis speaking with someone, one can listen "voice..no voice...voice...no voice..." from your speaker for the conversation. so most of the times, i will switch to my another phone using celcom when at labuan. so far stationed at there long time ago 3 months using celcom data plan very good transfer rate especially midnight. just hope no raining. if raining, the signage may not good.
celcom the best choice for among the 3 telcos at labuan in term of coverage at present.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Sep 6 2012, 12:24 PM
ch_teo
post Sep 12 2012, 10:39 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(adambomb @ Sep 12 2012, 03:10 PM)
Its always my dream to be working in the O&G industry

I'm 24
Manufacturing Engineering graduate from UM
CGPA not so good though 2.7+
2 years working exp
1st year in sony as a New model process engineer
2nd year in Steelcase, dealing with Autocad daily

Any recommendation or advise for me?

Thanks in advance seniors smile.gif
keep trying and harder.

ang moh who is ex-soldier in middle east can become third party inspector without knowing the specifications sweat.gif . come to m'sia to eat certain portion of our citizen's rice bowl.
ch_teo
post Sep 13 2012, 10:17 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(adambomb @ Sep 13 2012, 06:43 PM)
yes i am trying  smile.gif
btw, is Autocad software useful in the o&g industry?
found some jobs with Autocad as the requirement
but most of the times, the requirement also needs exp in some other softwares that i havent heard of
for product example OCTG, most of the time using Solidworks/Pro E. as long as one has the basics of cad/cam, any softs can be mastered with self initiative. autocad also got for product design but lesser.
for structures/skid modules/piping, i have no idea.

i only learnt catia & unigraphic during in uni. autocad self-learning.

ch_teo
post Sep 14 2012, 10:25 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(adambomb @ Sep 14 2012, 03:13 PM)
i see. thanks for your reply smile.gif
anyways, are u working in the o&g industry now? what is the name of the post if you dont mind sharing smile.gif

thanks again
welcome.
in OCTG.

from mechanical engineer/site inspector turn operations project engineer then turn into qhse project engineer.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Sep 14 2012, 10:26 PM
ch_teo
post Sep 19 2012, 05:08 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(kucinggemok @ Sep 19 2012, 01:48 PM)
Any live update from MOGSEC? Cant attend coz in Bintulu..

Added on September 19, 2012, 1:53 pmBtw I heard Saudi Aramco is coming to Bintulu either this week / next week

Received e-mail on the Updates this morning.

You can check the program here in pdf.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Sep 19 2012, 05:09 PM
ch_teo
post Sep 21 2012, 11:33 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Sep 21 2012, 06:04 PM)
haisss missing labuan already.......well back to the east coast then.hehe biggrin.gif
once in a while for short period days or weeks is ok. but months, one will start to feel the icon_question.gif
was there last month for 1 week. more and more new hotels are there. more new company warehouses/offices at ranca-ranca. the bridge is completely constructed.
can see some people wearing their lanyard with those new companies when eating lunch/dinner outside. koh loh mee still nice taste. seafood good. but am a bit disappointed as those new companies hiring such people... same like my Brunei's colleague sharing with me about situation in brunei the slow pace...

things are more rapid developed compared to last year when was there.

good thing was i pick-up 2 liter alcohol as usual biggrin.gif
able to by chance coincident met with a OCTG premium connection technical advisor who just back from rig on sharing his recent encountered. his next trip is to Egypt after labuan...

my next trip next week to indonesia...

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Sep 21 2012, 11:42 PM
ch_teo
post Sep 22 2012, 10:47 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(apisspek @ Sep 13 2012, 04:26 PM)
any document controller jobs?
on and off there are some JV companies offering such postings.

Doc Controller
ch_teo
post Oct 1 2012, 12:41 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(mh70 @ Sep 27 2012, 09:09 AM)
Hi all, i ask tis question behalf of my fren. what is the common lubricant use in water based mud? Pls help smile.gif thank you in advance.
you may want to check in the Product Details Factsheets.
Scomi Water Based Fluids
They supply their mud to Mid-East & Indonesia but no idea what type based.

Baker Water Based Fluids

Global Drilling Fluids and Chemicals

Some may be environmental friendly and some may not. depends on geographical locations to be used.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Oct 1 2012, 12:48 PM
ch_teo
post Oct 9 2012, 09:14 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(gto87 @ Oct 8 2012, 12:23 PM)
If I'm an Electrionics Eng - Major in telecommunication student,

1)can I do my intern at any Oil and Gas companies?
2)if it's possible, what position should I ask for?
3)If it's not possible, what should I do to enter Oil and Gas companies as an Engineer. What qualification or extra certs that i should have. (some of my friends told me that the easiest way is to get safety certs)

Please let me know as it'll be very helpful for me and my friends.
MWD/LWD or works related to SCADA for data streaming.

years ago, a few seniors with tele ended in MWD/LWD but not long as can't withstand the offshore environment.

everyone wanna work in o&g but not evaluated himself/herself suitable or not.

u should try the tele companies honestly.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Oct 9 2012, 09:15 PM
ch_teo
post Oct 10 2012, 10:57 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(jkl1980 @ Oct 10 2012, 05:24 PM)
guys actually how active is Total E&P in malaysia ? which business segment are they involve here? upstream? downstream ? what i can see is only lubricant oil ? any idea
Total

based on my last trip to northern territory Australia july 2012, they are very active in Ichthys LNG Project owned by Inpex.

based on my last month trip to indonesia, they are very active and there are big tender in progress.

in msia, i only know in east peninsular malaysia their activities as on & off our kemaman/singapore plant has some OCTG orders from them.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Oct 10 2012, 10:58 PM
ch_teo
post Nov 3 2012, 10:31 PM

809 posts

"Lundin spudded the third well in its 2012 Malaysian drilling campaign—the Merawan Batu-1 exploration well in the PM308B block, offshore east coast Peninsular Malaysia. The vertical well, to be drilled to a depth of 11,759 ft in about 195 ft of water, is targeting hydrocarbons in Oligocene-aged sands in a faulted anticline in an undrilled area 31 miles to the west of Lundin’s 2011 Janglau oil discovery. Lundin, through its subsidiary Lundin Malaysia, holds a 75% interest in the block, with Petronas (25%)."

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Nov 3 2012, 10:33 PM
ch_teo
post Nov 8 2012, 04:53 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(gebi08 @ Nov 8 2012, 03:13 PM)
Salam and Hi,
Currently i'm doing petroleum engineering and looking placement for industrial training in oil and gas industry.Anyone have any idea about which company need internship student?

you will want to check out website of halliburton, schlumberger, baker, etc.
ch_teo
post Nov 18 2012, 07:44 PM

809 posts

Body found from Black Elk oil rig explosion
ch_teo
post Nov 21 2012, 10:32 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(pahbedah @ Nov 21 2012, 10:06 PM)
as i read from v1 to v3,you all guys are rarely discuss about corrosion. is it not lucrative field as subsea or drilling field?
Inspection Engineer Career Path, How to be an Inspection Engineer..?

Publ 941 Steels for Hydrogen Service at Elevated Temperatures and Pressures in Petroleum Refineries and Petrochemical Plants
Publ 942 Controlling Weld Hardness of Carbon Steel Refinery Equipment to Prevent Environmental Cracking
API 510 Pressure Vessel Inspection Code: Maintenance Inspection, Rating, Repair, and Alteration
API 570 Piping Inspection Code: In-service Inspection, Rating, Repair, and Alteration of Piping Systems
API RP 571 Damage Mechanisms Affecting Fixed Equipment in the Refining Industry
API RP 572 Inspection of Pressure Vessels
API RP 573 Inspection of Fired Boilers and Heaters
API RP 574 Inspection Practices for Piping System Components
API RP 575 Inspection of Atmospheric & Low Pressure Storage Tanks
API RP 577 Welding Inspection and Metallurgy
API Std 579-1/ASME FFS-1 Fitness-For-Service
API RP 580 Risk-Based Inspection
API RP 581 Risk-Based Inspection Technology
API RP 582 Recommended Practice Welding Guidelines for the Chemical, Oil, and Gas Industries
API Std 653 Tank Inspection, Repair, Alteration, and Reconstruction

ROV Diver Observation of commercial diver underwater welding
ch_teo
post Nov 25 2012, 11:18 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(azraeil @ Nov 25 2012, 09:38 PM)
My company pays GBP26K a year per child for Boarding School. A lot of the Malaysian here sends their kids to Boarding school in Bahrain/UK/Switzerland/US/Canada. The one I'm looking at will cost me RM125K per year per child .... that will be difficult to swallow if no company is willing to pay for that.
1 of our ang moh managers in Abqaiq places his family in Bahrain and works in Abqaiq. For the betterment life of his family, he decides to do so.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Nov 25 2012, 11:19 PM
ch_teo
post Nov 26 2012, 04:53 PM

809 posts

perhaps one needs to understand the most basic org structure then self-explore various functional responsibilities.

ch_teo
post Nov 27 2012, 04:59 PM

809 posts

OSEA 2012 Day 1, 27 Nov 2012 in pdf
ch_teo
post Nov 27 2012, 05:09 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(noruazumi @ Nov 26 2012, 05:31 PM)
Aisehman... No engineering team. I am sad.
there is this thing called AFE (authorization for expenditure). one may find Engineering teams are needed as part of the intangible drilling costs.
ch_teo
post Dec 4 2012, 07:12 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Dec 4 2012, 06:59 PM)
that is the challenge for them.. is that better if they join big 4?
people always think want to join o&g. but they forget rewards will only fruitful after correct posting of job scopes match with correct niche skills & experience.
the same apply to some telecommunications background personnels.

last weekend, i went to attend a course conducted by a speaker from Engineer turned lecturer who worked in Ministry of Finance serving Tun M many years back. He was able to involve in Telekom projects and mentioned Telekom is one of the best to work with and things are changing for better.

This post has been edited by ch_teo: Dec 4 2012, 07:24 PM

0.0671sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:59 AM