LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! V26, Keeping up with the others for over 27

Quazacolt
post Jul 20 2013, 05:28 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(AzeL @ Jul 19 2013, 10:36 PM)
seems like now while making rather sharp turns while speeding up (coming out of a junction for example or going up a spiral indoor parking ramp) there's this very very audible "tak tak tak tak" sound. Happens either turning left or right.

Did some reading and it might be a CV joint problem?...also, while reading up on those I realise my driveshaft (inner cv joint?) might have some issues too because whenever the car is about to start moving seems like it is underpowered and there is this clunking sound. Didn't have this feeling last year, now accelerating 1st gear somewhat not so smooth.

Any clues?, if I do have to replace driveshaft plus joint and everything  how much roughly would that cost?, any comment would be much appreciated. Takut kena potong at workshop later.
most likely your drive shaft CV joints. replacing them aren't that expensive, i've heard it's around rm100-200 per side cv joint
not sure if original proton sells only the joints, or the entire 1 side of drive shaft (easily over 500-600+)
i haven't bother to ask despite facing same issue on turning right (lol i whack too many uturns sweat.gif ) since lately tight on cash haha

and yes, i face that clunking issue from standstill/straights too, that's why i also thinking of just replacing the entire drive shaft with ori proton heh.
no underpowered issue though, however that could be because i just whack the throttle anyways sweat.gif (and that's just overcoming the issue by compensating with more power? who knows)

*RARE CASE* it could be wheel bearing also since i did faced that, turning got sound (however not "tak tak or krok krok", more of a deep hum) and after replacing both side bearings sound gone smile.gif

personal advise, if possible go with ori proton despite the damn expensive price. after market are just hopeless sad.gif (coming from experience)
AzeL
post Jul 20 2013, 08:51 AM

304 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 20 2013, 05:28 AM)
most likely your drive shaft CV joints. replacing them aren't that expensive, i've heard it's around rm100-200 per side cv joint
not sure if original proton sells only the joints, or the entire 1 side of drive shaft (easily over 500-600+)
i haven't bother to ask despite facing same issue on turning right (lol i whack too many uturns sweat.gif ) since lately tight on cash haha

and yes, i face that clunking issue from standstill/straights too, that's why i also thinking of just replacing the entire drive shaft with ori proton heh.
no underpowered issue though, however that could be because i just whack the throttle anyways sweat.gif (and that's just overcoming the issue by compensating with more power? who knows)

*RARE CASE* it could be wheel bearing also since i did faced that, turning got sound (however not "tak tak or krok krok", more of a deep hum) and after replacing both side bearings sound gone smile.gif

personal advise, if possible go with ori proton despite the damn expensive price. after market are just hopeless sad.gif (coming from experience)
Well I asked yesterday, apparently proton don't sell the joints, have to buy the whole thing. The joints can be purchased from spare part shops or found as used spared in half cut shops.

Money is tight these few months too so this sudde problem really give me headache...can't exactly ignore it as well because worst case scenario would mean the a destroyed joint ad an unmovable car.

Have no issues with wheel bearing (I think) since haven't experieced the usual wheel bearing humming issues...just the usual tyre noise against asphalt.

Advise noted bro...however have to balance cost as well...if it is many times more expensive then I might be forced to go the other way.

Not surprising also la for me, its been almost 14 years, high time to change lol
Quazacolt
post Jul 20 2013, 08:59 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(AzeL @ Jul 20 2013, 08:51 AM)
Well I asked yesterday, apparently proton don't sell the joints, have to buy the whole thing. The joints can be purchased from spare part shops or found as used spared in half cut shops.

Money is tight these few months too so this sudde problem really give me headache...can't exactly ignore it as well because worst case scenario would mean the a destroyed joint ad an unmovable car.

Not surprising also la for me, its been almost 14 years, high time to change lol
damn i was hoping they do as the turning noise was very apparent especially when i do hard cornering/during track.
the stand still minor sound wasn't that big of a deal since i didn't face "power loss" that you did, just minor sound (which is still a lot less than the turning sounds)

and yes, you are absolutely right in the worst case scenario because i've heard many stories from my fellow track kaki where they broke their drive shafts during track and they have to toll the car back. and toll fees from sepang, or even worse - other states such as melaka mimc or pasir gudang track isn't exactly cheap as opposed to JUST replacing the drive shaft (now they have to do that, and the towing sweat.gif )

if you cant fork out the money for ori, then after market are WAYYYY cheaper, rm200-300 for 1 side, which netts to like 500-600 for both sides smile.gif (the longer side will cost slightly more)

14 years for drive shaft is actually damn good mind you. that said, if you go for non-ori, you'll have to set your expectations way lower on how long it may last.

=edit=
oh yea i did mentioned speaking from experience right? i remembered changing both side drive shafts maybe 2-3 years ago? definitely not longer than 4 years? (since both side giving out noises) and yeah, it only lasted me between 2-4 years (iinm 2 la). which is just annoying as hell since they aren't exactly all that cheap too if you consider ori *CAN* last maybe 7-10 years. (yours 14? special case maybe but you get the point)

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 20 2013, 09:02 AM
Albert B
post Jul 20 2013, 11:11 AM

QUOTE(AzeL @ Jul 19 2013, 10:36 PM)

seems like now while making rather sharp turns while speeding up (coming out of a junction for example or going up a spiral indoor parking ramp) there's this very very audible "tak tak tak tak" sound. Happens either turning left or right.

Did some reading and it might be a CV joint problem?...also, while reading up on those I realise my driveshaft (inner cv joint?) might have some issues too because whenever the car is about to start moving seems like it is underpowered and there is this clunking sound. Didn't have this feeling last year, now accelerating 1st gear somewhat not so smooth.

May I know if the condition of the rubber bellows/boots is still intact or they have torn? If torn, grease would have been expelled and water/dirt have gone in.

I have an experience with a previous car (non-Proton) where the rubber boots fail every 3 years or so and this led quickly to the clack-clack sound. If we use after market ones, so long as the rubber boots are ok keeping the grease in and the dirt out, the CV joints should last, isn't it? Or maybe the aftermarket ones have different grades or country of origin?

My Iswara is still using the original CV joints after 11 years and I dread the day they start to fail.
Quazacolt
post Jul 20 2013, 06:13 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Jul 20 2013, 11:11 AM)
May I know if the condition of the rubber bellows/boots is still intact or they have torn? If torn, grease would have been expelled and water/dirt have gone in.
for mine, the rubber boots are still in tact and not torn at all, shafts still pretty f***ed laugh.gif
and i still hate after market ones lol, hopefully the ori proton won't disappoint me
Verblassen
post Jul 21 2013, 12:55 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Jul 17 2013, 01:36 PM)
For my case the difficulty was engaging gear no.2. Same problem for 2 different Iswaras. After changing gear oil, no more problem.

According to Hayne's manual, difficulty in engaging gear could be due to:
1) clutch fault
2) oil low level
3) worn/damaged linkage
4) incorrectly adjusted linkage
5) worn synchroniser units (I believe this not applicable to reverse gear)
QUOTE(poolcarpet @ Jul 17 2013, 01:49 PM)
Mentioned before here... If difficulty in engaging gear, always change gear oil first. Nothing else. Then monitor. Sometimes water get into the gearbox and causes these issues, changing gear oil is a cheap economical first step.
Hmmm thanks for the input! I thought my mechanic friend changed the oil already during service. A bit noob la in these matters though I was also suspecting the gear oil to be the cause. Will go and check with him asap. Only reverse gear though, strangely. Will update once I get it sorted out, that way other people with the same problem can know the solution.
alifhezrey93
post Jul 21 2013, 05:45 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(AzeL @ Jul 19 2013, 11:36 PM)
Wow been quite some time since I checked this thread...car has been running fine but a big problem occurred a few days ago...

Any clues?, if I do have to replace driveshaft plus joint and everything  how much roughly would that cost?, any comment would be much appreciated. Takut kena potong at workshop later.
i have same problem with you bro,
but happen to me if i turn to left only and when i open the aircond, this problem very2 pelik... haha
alifhezrey93
post Jul 21 2013, 05:45 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Jul 19 2013, 08:04 PM)
As Quazacolt said, something between the sensor to the meter is disrupting the signal, it could
be any of these - sensor fault, loose socket connection, wiring open/short-circuit, meter
electronics.

There is not much DIY you can do. The only place you can do is observe the sensor and the
wiring connection to see if anything abnormal (the sensor is screwed into the intake manifold, below the coolant hose ,see photos below for the location). The rest of the possible fault locations are concealed in the harness and dashboard, best left to the wireman to find.
thank bro biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Jul 21 2013, 06:12 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(alifhezrey93 @ Jul 21 2013, 05:45 PM)
but happen to me if i turn to left only and when i open the aircond, this problem very2 pelik... haha
hmm, when's the last time you flushed your power steering fluid?
alifhezrey93
post Jul 21 2013, 06:14 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 21 2013, 07:12 PM)
hmm, when's the last time you flushed your power steering fluid?
my power steering is this new, because i install below than 1 year,
i already fill the power steering oil, but still same happen sad.gif
Quazacolt
post Jul 21 2013, 06:58 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(alifhezrey93 @ Jul 21 2013, 06:14 PM)
my power steering is this new, because i install below than 1 year,
i already fill the power steering oil, but still same happen sad.gif
so you're saying you never flushed its fluids? (1 year is just about the right time to do it)

also do not overfill it as that may create too much pressure within the PS unit that could cause premature wear/damage.
alifhezrey93
post Jul 21 2013, 09:06 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 21 2013, 07:58 PM)
so you're saying you never flushed its fluids? (1 year is just about the right time to do it)

also do not overfill it as that may create too much pressure within the PS unit that could cause premature wear/damage.
Yup never flushed it before.

Thank bro, i think i overfill the fliud. This problem sure about power steering? I think before it is about driveshaft or cv joint.
This case very unique because it happen when turn on aircond only.
Albert B
post Jul 21 2013, 10:06 PM

QUOTE(alifhezrey93 @ Jul 21 2013, 09:06 PM)

Thank bro, i think i overfill the fliud. This problem sure about power steering? I think before it is about driveshaft or cv joint.
I am confused. The discussion is on 3 different systems : power steering fluid, air-con, CV joint ?
Quazacolt
post Jul 22 2013, 12:04 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(alifhezrey93 @ Jul 21 2013, 09:06 PM)

reason why i suspect the air cond because the sudden spike of engine load from BOTH the compressor/power steering may result the power steering being under powered and producing grinds/sounds. more so if the fluid is either deteriorated, and/or overfilled (over pressured)

the sound would be like metal grind/squeaks right? instead of the klucking/clanking of "joints" (in drive shaft/joint case - the bearings) beating against each other right?
AzeL
post Jul 22 2013, 09:48 AM

304 posts

Just got back from sending my car to the workshop...will be replacing both sides at RM200 each with 35 labour charge each side....no discussion on whether to use aftermarket or proton ori so I suppose original very hard to find.

Also will be changing timing belt, gear oil, service plus alignment and balancing.

Total estimated cost for all the above would be 800++ OMG

Everytime near Raya sure poket lubang...last year was due to replacing compressor haha.
flex3x
post Jul 22 2013, 04:38 PM

How much did you replaced the compressor last year?

This post has been edited by flex3x: Jul 22 2013, 04:42 PM
AzeL
post Jul 22 2013, 05:41 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(flex3x @ Jul 22 2013, 04:38 PM)
How much did you replaced the compressor last year?
replaced compressor with ac service rm730....just picked up my car from workshop...turns out the rear left brake pump leaking so had it changed...total damage was rm870 lol
alifhezrey93
post Jul 22 2013, 08:32 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 22 2013, 01:04 AM)
reason why i suspect the air cond because the sudden spike of engine load from BOTH the compressor/power steering may result the power steering being under powered and producing grinds/sounds. more so if the fluid is either deteriorated, and/or overfilled (over pressured)

the sound would be like metal grind/squeaks right? instead of the klucking/clanking of "joints" (in drive shaft/joint case - the bearings) beating against each other right?
i have record the sound,
http://picosong.com/REFz/

Quazacolt
post Jul 22 2013, 09:21 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(alifhezrey93 @ Jul 22 2013, 08:32 PM)
i have record the sound,
http://picosong.com/REFz/
sounded more like low rpm during slow turning and engine vibrate la sweat.gif

really can't tell from just the sound
megadisc
post Jul 23 2013, 01:17 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(Albert B @ Jul 17 2013, 09:33 AM)
I assume you are referring to the 4 black ones (see photo).

1) As far as I remember, I just install them without any consideration of the positive or negative positions, and they worked.

2) It is unlikely the bulbs are faulty, but still can be a possibility.

3) You said you tried different locations - when you interchange the go and the no-go bulbs, do the no-go bulbs follow the bulbs or follow their locations? (i.e. the same bulbs not lighted up, or only the bulbs in the same hole do not light up?)

4) What  if you put back the old bulbs - same problem?

5) The bulbs have 2 contacts that press against the circuit on the board - could it be the contact is not as good as the original? If you massage the board/bulb a bit , any improvement?
u were able to remove ur dashboard

thats awesome

126 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 >Top

0.0289sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:25 AM