65 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Travel Travelling Tips & airport/airline rules, Thing to bring & things to avoid

juichuan
post May 23 2006, 01:09 PM

LA-Little Angel
1,635 posts

QUOTE(exkay @ May 23 2006, 04:41 AM)
- Soap could be use to wash some light garments like your briefs or socks.

- dry them by hanging them over the lamp ( becarefull not to get it burned ) or, i prefer to use the hair dryer to do the job .

- Shower caps could be used as a rain coat for your camera. Simply make a hole big enuff to stuff your lens thru on the shower cap, then put the shower cap on your camera to protect it against rain, or sand ( if you're visiting desert )

-will add more if i remember anything.
i don't quite get what you mean by poking a hole in the shower cap.. do you mean that the lens will be exposed but not the body of the camera?
db07mufan
post May 25 2006, 04:34 PM

3,705 posts

yes to my believe i think thats it.
elb
post May 25 2006, 06:08 PM

514 posts

One very VERY crucial piece of advice: Before you even book you accommodation or airplane tickets, please for goodness sake, search online or ask other people if there is anything to do. You don't want to waste several hundred or thousand £s/ euros/ (currency of choice) to find out that there is NOTHING TO DO at the place you are visiting.

I'll give you an example: I adviced a friend to skip Frankfurt (because there is absolutely nothing to do there besides visiting museums and one or two buildings, as I can attest first hand), but no she went ahead. When I asked her what did she do when she came back, she said: 'Sleep, eat and shop'. Enough said.
lovelyhelp
post Jun 18 2006, 03:39 PM

102 posts

hmmm...one of my relatives always keep extra money inside his clothes..She make a very comfortable small bag and she pin it inside her pants. Very good idea and safe. We didnt know about it until after so many years.

When travelling, after put all my luggage in hotel. Everytime when I want to go out, I will always like to bring a small bottle of water, extra t-shirt and a jacket. So I will always carry a small bag with me (like school bad) to keep all my things. When I did any shopping, I can also put my things inside my bag rather than holding in the hand.

But sometime I found my small bag is very inconveniece because sometime a shopping center might not allow you to bring in any bag but I have place all my money, password, purse or etc indise my bag.

If you go genting theme park, I must get people to take care of my bag when I want to play roller coaster or ....
sabretoothtiger
post Jul 19 2006, 02:05 PM

51 posts

umm..i normally keep cash everywhere. two different wallets, some stashed in the backpack, with the passport, in the camera bag, pouch, pocket of my clothes. and always have a pocket knife just in case.
-make friends during travelling, i.e. in the bus when people are discussing where to go next and if same destination, hook up and travel together.
- have an idea on where to stay and know how to get there without getting cheated.
ky_khor
post Aug 16 2006, 06:22 PM

No.22
894 posts

is there possible to join a tour if u got only urself - 1 pax? i checked lotsa agency (via web) most of them min 2 pax.

is it possible to "tumpang" tour trip?
vin_ann
post Aug 20 2006, 12:23 PM

10,912 posts

when visiting the High Risk Zone (being pick-pocket)....

only bring sufficient cash...and cash must be secretly keep... like put inside the shoe... o what ever place u can thinks of...

do not bring any bags, to avoid pick-pocket...

leave ur passport in hotel locker o hostel locker... never bring it out....

i got this advise when visiting Barcelona... the local bicycle tour guide told us...

APIITian
post Aug 25 2006, 12:37 PM

1,316 posts

Wikitravel has a good information on travel around the world.
ky_khor
post Aug 29 2006, 03:26 PM

No.22
894 posts

this kinda doesn't make sense but i will still state down this case:

if i pay RM10,000 into a CLASSIC credit card account, will left my credit balance = RM -10,000. account balance -10,000 + credit limit 3000 = i can spend 13,000 in 1 transaction

correct anot? maybe this's an alternative solution to temporary "extend" ur card limit during the travel?

This post has been edited by ky_khor: Aug 29 2006, 03:27 PM
leonidas
post Sep 7 2006, 10:47 PM

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Aug 29 2006, 03:26 PM)

if i pay RM10,000 into a CLASSIC credit card account, will left my credit balance = RM -10,000. account balance -10,000 + credit limit 3000 = i can spend 13,000 in 1 transaction

correct anot? maybe this's an alternative solution to temporary "extend" ur card limit during the travel?
Having 13,000 credited doesn't mean your credit limit is extended does it? Your credit limit is still 3000 and once you swipe above that limit, it will be declined anyway unless you've made special arrangements with the card issuer. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Singh_Kalan
post Sep 13 2006, 09:48 PM

2,033 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ May 23 2006, 04:18 AM)
Important tip for smokers...

Tar pau lotsa ciggies!!!!! Ciggies are expensive in all ang moh countries. (put some on hand luggage and some on the check in..don't go too overboard though)

In Europe, it's between 4 to 9 Euro...that's twenty over RM!!!
yeh...if u r an ex-ganja addict or some wannabe wanna test drug (marijuana), head straight for holland. laugh.gif It's legal there. flex.gif While u r hi there, can 'hang out' with some chicks too...and its legal icon_idea.gif
vin_ann
post Sep 16 2006, 12:03 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Sep 13 2006, 09:48 PM)
yeh...if u r an ex-ganja addict or some wannabe wanna test drug (marijuana), head straight for holland.  laugh.gif It's legal there.  flex.gif  While u r hi there, can 'hang out' with some chicks too...and its legal  icon_idea.gif
Holland Amsterdam???
how come i din notice it 1 leh???
greyshadow
post Sep 25 2006, 10:28 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Yo dudes above, carefull with the ganja remarks above leh... don't think it's suitable to promote the use of drugs in this forum... sweat.gif

nugget
post Oct 3 2006, 06:11 PM

1,001 posts

hi all.

if u plan to go to a foreign country when u have no idea bout their allowance or law,visa issue n etc.

u may wanna refer to this book. T.I.M = Travel infomation manual
or www.timaticweb.com <---I think u have to pay de...I m not sure coz I log in using my force's computer...

oppss...forget to tell wht inside....u will find things like visa requirment,ciggarete allowance,liqour etc...

This post has been edited by nugget: Oct 3 2006, 06:12 PM
Kusa
post Oct 15 2006, 03:35 AM

Team XOD
552 posts

When boarding onto a plane, throw everything that you have from your pockets (phone, wallet, coins, cigarette, lighters, passport, watch) into your carry-on luggage so they can x-ray your bag 1 time without you having to pour your pocket's contents into their crummy lil baskets before going thru the metal detector.

Oh, and don't forget to make sure that you don't have anything illegal in your bag (knives, nailcutters etc) or they'll have to pick through your hand-carry and you might lose your phones or wallets.
nugget
post Oct 16 2006, 02:43 AM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(Kusa @ Oct 15 2006, 03:35 AM)
When boarding onto a plane, throw everything that you have from your pockets (phone, wallet, coins, cigarette, lighters, passport, watch) into your carry-on luggage so they can x-ray your bag 1 time without you having to pour your pocket's contents into their crummy lil baskets before going thru the metal detector.

Oh, and don't forget to make sure that you don't have anything illegal in your bag (knives, nailcutters etc) or they'll have to pick through your hand-carry and you might lose your phones or wallets.
hmm...most of this thef occured when your basket finish being screen...but u still waitting your turn to be screen by the authority..
nugget
post Oct 19 2006, 04:37 PM

1,001 posts

do check b4 hand if u wanna tapau ciggy to certain country.
they hav their allowance for ciggy...some countries allow 100 stick...some 200

for singapore = 0 allowance.
1 kotak now ...u get caught start form oct 1st
1 kotak = fine sgd 400.....
gosh...they treat ciggy like gold here...
ChocolateChipCookies
post Oct 20 2006, 06:12 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(Kusa @ Oct 15 2006, 03:35 AM)
Last year i went to Koh Samui and i forgot to check my front backpack pocket. When I arrive at my hotel in Samui, i unpack my stuff and guess what I found, 4 "mercun bola" from last year hari raya...lol...its an explosive...well, talk about security...
nugget
post Oct 21 2006, 07:34 AM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(ChocolateChipCookies @ Oct 20 2006, 06:12 PM)
Last year i went to Koh Samui and i forgot to check my front backpack pocket. When I arrive at my hotel in Samui, i unpack my stuff and guess what I found, 4 "mercun bola" from last year hari raya...lol...its an explosive...well, talk about security...
I dunno bout malaysia authority...but from the eyes of security....
1st of all...is tht your checkin bag or ?
if your hand carry....1st of all..x-ray does not detect powder form.
2ndly....x-rays opreator are train to look out on ....component of I.E.D
which has main element of batts,wire,detonators...
mercun bola appear like normal ball on x-ray screen...

talk bout security...as klia is a centralize screening airport...it is bad system to have...which mean tht after the transit area...u wont be screen again b4 u borad the airplane...n we must understand the poor x-ray officer hav to screen ALL pax travelling via klia...imagine how many pipol there is...n human being will lack of concentration...psst...actually...aviation security sucks....
wlcling
post Nov 15 2006, 03:09 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Aug 29 2006, 03:26 PM)

Yap, it works. I've advised ppl to do that b4. Though that might not apply to every bank's system. So you shoud really call up to check. Alternatively, call up to request if you could get a temporary credit limit increase (not sure if Malaysian banks allow this)

Also b4 travelling, inform your bank. Sometimes they have a security parameter in place that rejects your transactions if you try to swipe overseas in 'high-risk' countries.

65 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:10 AM