QUOTE(AssToast @ Sep 6 2012, 11:03 PM)
if they wanna get back their customers, the prices cut has to be very attractive [Official] Rig Suggestion Thread V1, Hardware Q&A RRG™
[Official] Rig Suggestion Thread V1, Hardware Q&A RRG™
Sep 6 2012, 11:05 PM
6,996 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Bolehland |
Sep 6 2012, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Sep 6 2012, 11:08 PM) Want to ask bout d price slash for 7870, it is only for limited period or confirm price drop... only sapphire as i see. i may see see if budget enough, build an i3 with one of those cheap card so i can gaming in office only sapphire? how bout Msi...i like MSI cuz their after sales service was superb... This post has been edited by zerohunter: Sep 6 2012, 11:12 PM |
Sep 7 2012, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(taf89 @ Sep 6 2012, 10:22 AM) just curious here.. is Silverstone tj08-e the best small form factor casing? how good this casing compared to bitfenix prodigy? QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Sep 6 2012, 10:49 AM) well, just for information.. I've been looking around for TJ08-E, just being told that the supplier is out of stock. QUOTE(Cable707 @ Sep 6 2012, 11:06 AM) Tj08-e available stock herehttp://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2499117 |
Sep 7 2012, 10:19 AM
Sep 7 2012, 02:12 PM
Sep 7 2012, 02:22 PM
Sep 8 2012, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(afhamhilman @ Sep 8 2012, 12:19 AM) to all sifus here. im trying to finalize my gaming rig. my budget still around rm3.5k. and having some dilemma with gpu and psu. u don't need 600w, a good 500w is enough, i vote for msi 670 power edition rm1440 + enermax naxn 550w rm215 i5 3470 - 583 Asus P8Z77-M - 315 Kingston 4gbx2 - 110 WD Blue 1tb - 235 Intel 330 120gb - 310 Liteon Dvd - 55 Corsair Carbide 400R - 300 Total (RM 1900) as for the gpu and psu. (RM1600) should i go for leadtex gtx670 - 1129 with corsair tx 650M - 359 @ corsair gaming series 600W - 285 Total RM1488( save 112) @ Total RM1414 ( save 186) or msi gtx670 power edition - 1440 with Enermax NAXN82+ 650W PSU - 265 Total RM1705. is it worth to add another rm105? i really do hope all the sifus here can help me to decide this. this is actually going to be my first time build a gaming rig. so i do hope all the items that im going to buy are best bang for bucks. Thank you in advance and sorry for the long post. side note, u don't really need that z77 mobo pair with the non 'k' cpu, get p8h77m-le or msi h77ma-g43 This post has been edited by zerohunter: Sep 8 2012, 12:27 AM |
Sep 8 2012, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(kabusribut @ Sep 8 2012, 12:29 AM) glad to hear that, share ur experience with others in IB oc thread, nvidia thread, etc, hehe. can also post some pic of ur pc here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1638975 http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1741598 |
Sep 8 2012, 01:37 AM
QUOTE(afhamhilman @ Sep 8 2012, 12:43 AM) tq for your great recommendation. when u wanna get the item? this weekend i'm not in kl, going ipoh. my way is u bank in deposit, then i go take stock then we meet up and pay the balance hope u don't think that reason i suggest the msi 670 pe is to push my sales, i don't earn much from that, just to share good things with good prices with fellow members. the pros of the cards on par with 680 out of the box with little overclock, it out perform 680 twin frozr iv cooling system, quiet and cool (more quiet then asus dcu ii, i know that coz i used 670 dcu ii before this) maybe u can take this opportunity to survey see if u can get lower price ? This post has been edited by zerohunter: Sep 8 2012, 01:53 AM |
Sep 8 2012, 01:56 AM
QUOTE(afhamhilman @ Sep 8 2012, 01:51 AM) hopefully if everything goes well. by next week im going to buy my rig. so will let you know later. min requirement is 500w so don't worry, the input power for this card is LOW but the output performance is HIGH btw for the enermax 550w. it's the minimum recommendation power for msi n670 power edition right? so do u think the psu can last long? shouldnt i take a higher psu just in case? i suggest enermax naxn 550w reason 550w 80+ bronze rated nicely sleeved cables one of the top psu makers (u can google for user review) i personally used 2 psu of enermax before, the reason i'm not using it on my rig now is coz they don't have any 650w gold rated modular |
Sep 8 2012, 02:07 AM
Sep 8 2012, 02:11 AM
QUOTE(afhamhilman @ Sep 8 2012, 02:08 AM) ok then. now u assure me for the psu. still undecided for the gpu though. haha. still have few more days to think about it. btw, for the motherboard. let say if i have extra cash. can i go for MSI Z77A-G43? as the price differences 30-40 with the one u suggested earlier. if u insist, why not ? the reason u don't need the z77 is because u are not doing any cpu overclocking. if u wanna do the overclock, u need the k version cpu, z77 mobo, and of course an after market cpu cooler as well coz it will produce more heat when add cpu voltage and overclock. the h77ma-g43 and the other one z77a-g43 no different except the h77 and z77 chipset. maybe u can save up the money for a gaming mouse or xbox controller |
Sep 8 2012, 02:22 AM
QUOTE(afhamhilman @ Sep 8 2012, 02:19 AM) tq for the info. a yes for above statement. it's overall a good price/performance mobo. somehow changing mobo is troublesome, need to remove many things that attached, if u have the plan to learn oc, get the z77 one thenat the moment i have zero percent knowledge about overclocking. but if i have the free time. im willing to learn about overclocking. so maybe i could learn to overclock in the future and i invest on the motherboard first? if im not mistaken, based on my research. the motherboard is one among the best right? actually all other equipment i already have. except for the rig. currently using dell u2312hm connected to my laptop. filco keyboard and ime3.0 mouse damn ur peripherals are great This post has been edited by zerohunter: Sep 8 2012, 02:23 AM |
Sep 8 2012, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(dlwl @ Sep 7 2012, 03:24 PM) [Budget] RM3k [Purpose] For redering / calculation using MATLAB software [Hardware that will be reuse from old rig] None, all brand new [Monitor resolution] FullHD [Game or software that use frequently] MATLAB Can have 2 quotations, 1 with monitor and 1 without monitor? Thanks QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Sep 8 2012, 03:04 AM) depend on what the user is rendering/calculating in MATLAB, from my experience (few weeks of experience in MATLAB for image recognition assignment). but I'm gonna say that it'll cost quite a bit hmm, perhapshere's the information for sifu to recommend system for you. CPU: more core = better (quad core or quad core with HT) *I've heard some pro MATLAB user use an array of PCs to calculate RAM: MATLAB is one memory hungry application (memory trashing might affect the rendering) HDD / SSD: *if user uses virtual RAM, it'll affect the performance as well. *faster application startup. MATLAB do startup slow. (I use Crucial M4 128GB also feel it starts very slow.) GPU: CUDA cores will help in computation, but in the end, it still relies on user's project whether got utilize it or not. nvidia cards with CUDA 1.3 or later (http://developer.nvidia.com/cuda/cuda-gpus) *MATLAB do not support computation acceleration from AMD/ATi there you go, recommend a machine to fit his needs. intel core i7 3770 rm909 msi h77ma-g43 rm319 kingston value 4gb x4 rm248 leadtek gtx 550 ti rm369 intel 330 120gb rm319 wd blue 1tb rm249 liteon dvd-rw rm59 fsp hexa 500w rm149 aerocool strike x one advance rm139 total rm2760 (viewnet) recommended monitors viewsonic vx2250vm 21.5' full hd led rm350 (jayacom) dell u2312hm 23' full hd ips led rm559 (boonykun garage sales) QUOTE(alvincks @ Sep 8 2012, 06:59 AM) Guru, z68Need some understanding of below :- 1. what is the different between Z68 vs h77 chipset ? 2. what is SLI/Crossfire about ? Thanks in advance ! This chipset represents the pinnacle of Intel’s second-generation, mainstream Core processor platform (also known as Sandy Bridge). It combined the key features of the earlier P67 and H67 chipsets, as we have previously discussed. It supports splitting the main PCI-Express x16 connection into two x8 slots, allowing SLI or Crossfire functionality for improved gaming. It also allows for overclocking of select processors, and was the first Intel chipset to add Smart Response Technology – Intel’s fancy name for SSD caching of a traditional hard drive. Use of the onboard graphics on Intel’s Sandy Bridge processors is also supported, with up to two simultaneous monitor outputs. h77 This is a scaled-back chipset option, suitable when overclocking and multiple video cards are not needed. It cannot split the main PCI-Express x16 slot into two connections, though the PCI-Express 3.0 standard is still supported (with the upcoming processors). Support for increasing the multiplier on unlocked processor models is also missing, hence the lack of overclocking support. Aside from those two limitations, though, it is effectively the same as Z77: the same number of SATA and USB ports are there, SSD caching, onboard Intel graphics, and more. source here basically for current new setup, u only need to look at z77 or h77 . for oc, get z77, non oc get h77. |
Sep 8 2012, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(AIAF @ Sep 8 2012, 12:36 PM) Hi guys, Can consider Need help in buying a new pc. Not sure if this is ok cause I don't see other people asking this question around here. I'm not very pro in pc lingo (eg: overclocking?) but I'll try my best to give you guys more details. What I intend to do with the PC: Graphics software (lightroom, photoshop, illustrator, occasional after effects and video editing), gaming (I play some first person shooter games but the graphics dont have to be at highest levels) + all usual stuff like internet, office etc etc My budget: 2.5k, could be more or less depends on your suggestions. Also I don't need a monitor and speakers as I already have them. Here's the vague part, would appreciate it if anyone could suggest a suitable specs for my requirements above and also tips on cooling, power supply, etc. Kinda frustrating when you get home with a new comp then after a few days you just realise there's a tonne of problems with it. Also, where's the best place to get a desktop in KL? Still lowyat? IF it's possible I hope to get everything in one shop, or at least just 2 shops that are nearby. Also I might want to get one within a few days, as I'm heading back to my uni and my desktop harddisk just crashed so I'm leaving that at home for repairs. Any guidance would be much appreciated! Intel core I5 3450 rm564 MSI h77ma-g43 rm319 Kingston value 4gb x2 rm124 Sapphire hd 7870 ghz edition 2gb rm839 WD blue 1tb rm249 Liteon dvdrw rm59 Fsp hexa 500w rm149 Aero cool strike x one advance rm139 Total rm2442, all prices from viewnet except GPU from lingloong @ garage sales . I'm not sure shops in lowyat has updated their prices for sapphire card as the company recently has a big price cut for most of their cards |
Sep 8 2012, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(kabusribut @ Sep 8 2012, 11:35 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Just want to share my rig setup. *Intel Core i5 3570K @ 4.5ghz (30C + to TJ MAX) *ASRock Z77 Extreme-4 *MSI GTX670 Power Edition OC Version Graphics card (Bought from zerohunter) *Crucial M4 128GB (Bought from Boonykun) *8GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 CL9 Rams *Thermaltake Toughpower Gold 650W non Modular PSU *Corsair Carbide 300R *LG 24X DVD RW *XSPC Raystorm 750 RS240 Kit *Blue Coolant *Roccat Pyra Wireless Gaming Mouse *Logitech G510 Gaming Keyboard *TPLink USB Wifi Adapter Total = RM5543 All parts from Cyntrix unless stated. |
Sep 9 2012, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(manubis @ Sep 8 2012, 11:57 PM) intel core i7 3770 Yes the PSU can support . Tell your friend if the pc is mainly for gaming , not doing any 3d rendering stuff , no need i7 , an i5 is enough , use the money for an SSD is betterMSI H77MA-G43 WD 1TB Caviar Blue 64 DVDRW FSP Hexa 500W Kingston 1333 DDR3 ram 4GB x2 leadtek gtx 670 2gb rm1149 my fren want i7 and powerfull gfc...just want to conform, with this spec the psu could support or need to up more? thanx |
Sep 9 2012, 12:24 AM
QUOTE(budak nakal @ Sep 8 2012, 11:07 PM) Hi, I need your help regarding below: [Budget] 6k [Purpose] 3d design, graphic image, HD video processing This rig also will be used to host 4 VM for my brother company SAP playground box (training purpose) as he just started a consultation company for SAP This VM will need minimum 8gb dedicated ram on it to run normally without lag. The design or video processing will be use on demand only as that is my part time but the video that I'll be process can up to 300fps. [Hardware that will be reuse from old rig] 2 X 24inch monitor, keyboard, mouse [Monitor resolution] 1920 x 1280 [Game or software that use frequently] 1. Adobe Photoshop, Premier, and Illustrator.(Can say most of the adobe products) 2. Sony Vegas and Pinnacle Studio HD 3. as for music i'll use fruity loops for the beginning 4. Autodesk Maya 5. Cinema 4D 6. SAP product [Personal Preference Brand] None Thanks p/s: btw, is there any intel socket 1155 mobo that have more than 4 ram slot? QUOTE(Cable707 @ Sep 9 2012, 12:03 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Can try : Intel Core i7 3930K 3.2GHz RM1799 Gigabyte X79A-UD3 RM805 Kingston 1333 ram 4x4GB RM256 Leadtek GTX680 2GB RM1499(lingloong) Seasonic S12 II 620W PSU RM299 Corsair Carbide 400R case RM299 WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD RM240 Intel 330 series 120GB SSD RM339 Antec Kuhler H2O 620 AIO Cooler RM295 Lite-On 22x DVDRW RM59 Total - RM5890.00 Mobo - asus p9x79 le rm825 (total 8 ram slot compare to the above , also Asus has better after sales service compare to gg) PSU - enermax naxn 650w rm269 (cheaper yet more power , also one of the most reliable PSU maker) Cooler - noctua nh-d14 rm273 (cex) - cheaper yet better performance compare to the above |
Sep 9 2012, 12:52 AM
QUOTE(Cable707 @ Sep 9 2012, 12:33 AM) I didn't say best , but better . I personally experienced that for both brands , I know that . Also there was a topic in this q&a where a forumer asked about 2 same features mobo of both brands , which to get and why , many has responded and share their own experience . U can google around or pm one of the forum seller whose name start with "b" and he may answer u about his experience |
Sep 9 2012, 08:28 AM
| Change to: | 0.0301sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:03 PM |