the game combat is quite tough for this kind of game as the targeting is difficult and the fixed camera. enemies can go behind you and rush at you (mainly big creatures) while you try to take care of smaller enemies. if the camera is like darksiders the game would have been awesome.
Right... sorry, my mistake. Now I remember how Castlevania LoS (first game Not referring to those old school 2D or ps2 3D lah) combat camera really is, no actual manual lock-on camera system. The entire boss battle was just the camera auto position itself focusing on the boss on the fly (as seen on the video below where the spider jump around or Gabriel doge roll around, the camera just focus back on the boss). However when dealing with multiple enemies in all direction, the camera just pan out and yeah, you will wish you have manual lock-on camera to deal with tougher enemies first or the ability to manually turn the camera around to watch your back instead of fixed position camera. I remember spamming the area attack like crazy hoping I can kill the troll first before I kill the lesser enemies because I cannot manually lock-on at the troll. Yeah, camera like Darksiders will be great as it offer you total control over it
This post has been edited by Nam226: Sep 2 2013, 12:09 AM
There are do many BS in thr game that can kill you so fast that you won't even know what happened. Enemies could charge at you out of sight, aoe can go off out of sight, you can run into an invisible wall and you won't know about it due to the fixed camera, unblockable big attacks could go off right in your face without any warning, attacks that damage you as soon as it goes of even when the attack animation shows that the attack never made contact, path that stopd you from travelling back after certain jumps forcing you going around the stage, and so many more.
People would have slammed the game to death if it is not a Castlevania.
There are do many BS in thr game that can kill you so fast that you won't even know what happened. Enemies could charge at you out of sight, aoe can go off out of sight, you can run into an invisible wall and you won't know about it due to the fixed camera, unblockable big attacks could go off right in your face without any warning, attacks that damage you as soon as it goes of even when the attack animation shows that the attack never made contact, path that stopd you from travelling back after certain jumps forcing you going around the stage, and so many more.
People would have slammed the game to death if it is not a Castlevania.
I think the game was made for console with controller in mind. It made sense with controller. But i probably love Darksiders more for the total control of my hero. Overall, the story, the graphics, the music looks engaging to me enough. I play on medium difficulty. It's quite challenging already for me as i think the AI is pretty good. You need to be aware of the big monster and the small ones. Time the block is nice but is not easy as the small enemies attack you by sequence. You can't keep on dodging. Only dodge the big monsters. Takes time to practice but overall i'm liking it already .
But honestly if we have more control of the targeting and camera would have been nice.
Almost chapter 7. Loved the game so far. The camera still proves to be a problem for timing. But overall the most engaging stuff is the story
The game starts very slow and very painful due to all the titans and very limited survivability especially on harder difficulty, but once you get pass those and get a few upgrades, the game starts to become more interesting.
Chapter 9 now and really liked the game, camera is still crap though.
The game starts very slow and very painful due to all the titans and very limited survivability especially on harder difficulty, but once you get pass those and get a few upgrades, the game starts to become more interesting.
Chapter 9 now and really liked the game, camera is still crap though.
Eh the Titans are piece of cake. Maybe I adapted the gameplay d. I beaten the 2nd LoS with no problem lolx. Chapter 9 now. But anyway LoS2 Carmilla looks way hotter than LoS1?
What LoS 1 and what LoS 2? I thought LoS 2 only release in October?
The titans are easy but that does not make them interesting, in fact the fight is just boring and take a lot of trial and error to know what to do and what not to.
Basicslly it is a chore.
LoS2 will be released on February 2014.
This post has been edited by memphiz_zero88: Sep 19 2013, 02:15 PM
Basicslly it is a chore.
How do you define interesting? Wasn't it the same for Darksiders as well? . Anyway Chapter 7 was... .. It's so annoying that i died so many times becos of WASD. The platforming wasn't design for K+M. It suxs to the max.
The Guardian fight is the part I dislike the most as well but somehow I somehow forgive it due to all the horse riding and less QTE.
Thankfully it is a 1 time thing.
This post has been edited by neoengsheng: Sep 19 2013, 05:55 PM
once you got that sword it means God mode turn on... even Galamoth became super easy...
Anyway another reason I play that game so many times also bcoz of the great music (and of course, the very generous amount of monster made the grinding less boring ~~~)