Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

kabal82
post Mar 9 2014, 01:12 PM

♥Nature Lover♥
804 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 9 2014, 12:44 PM)
Answer you on Monday as my data and worksheets are in my office computer, not at home.

However, I do not recall it making into my shortlist.

Xuzen
How about PIDF? If compare with PRSF, which will you go for if using DDI?
takalimc
post Mar 9 2014, 02:16 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Mar 9 2014, 10:31 AM)
my question is which is the best way for me to invest in PM equity?

Either I :-
1. sold off all my bond and parked my cash back into my PB account & from there DDI to equity. Or;
2. switch certain amount monthly from bond to equity.

Both ways will incurred sales charge fees, right? which is better method? 1 or 2? What's the reason for your choices? I need advice from experts here. thanks.
1. if you sell off all your bond funds and park into your pb account and DDI got 2 disadvantage.
- firstly you've already paid some sales charges when investing into bond fund. When you reinvest through DDI you are paying the sales charge again, hence you get charged twice on your initial investment.
- secondly, why park your cash in your PB acount with that zero point something or 1 % interest and wait to invest the money back in. Why no just switch for RM25 plus whatever difference in % to load the fund and let your money work during that time.

2. Switching certain amoun monthly from bond to equity is probably the better choice but you will have to pay the switching fee per switch if not mistaken which will end up to alot more.

The choice is yours but if it were me I would just switch it all to equity and pay the loading, your cost per switch per unit will be alot less.

If we look at the pocket calculator, initial lump sump investments tend to pay off more then DDI in the same amount of time.

Hope this helps smile.gif
kabal82
post Mar 9 2014, 03:06 PM

♥Nature Lover♥
804 posts

QUOTE(takalimc @ Mar 9 2014, 02:16 PM)
1. if you sell off all your bond funds and park into your pb account and DDI got 2 disadvantage.
- firstly you've already paid some sales charges when investing into bond fund. When you reinvest through DDI you are paying the sales charge again, hence you get charged twice on your initial investment.
- secondly, why park your cash in your PB acount with that zero point something or 1 % interest and wait to invest the money back in. Why no just switch for RM25 plus whatever difference in % to load the fund and let your money work during that time.

2. Switching certain amoun monthly from bond to equity is probably the better choice but you will have to pay the switching fee per switch if not mistaken which will end up to alot more.

The choice is yours but if it were me I would just switch it all to equity and pay the loading, your cost per switch per unit will be alot less.

If we look at the pocket calculator, initial lump sump investments tend to pay off more  then DDI in the same amount of time.

Hope this helps smile.gif
If I follow ur advice and switch all to equity in 1 lump sum, what if that equity tanked??? doh.gif

Wouldn't it cost me to lose more? cry.gif As I know there's no such thing as profit from the start when investing in UT... or am I wrong? hmm.gif
xuzen
post Mar 9 2014, 08:48 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Mar 9 2014, 01:12 PM)
How about PIDF? If compare with PRSF, which will you go for if using DDI?
PIDF gives a better risk adjusted return compared to PRSF. If only given either of the two, I will go for PIDF.

Xuzen
kabal82
post Mar 9 2014, 09:50 PM

♥Nature Lover♥
804 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 9 2014, 08:48 PM)
PIDF gives a better risk adjusted return compared to PRSF. If only given either of the two, I will go for PIDF.

Xuzen
U mean there's better option than these 2? Which 1? notworthy.gif
takalimc
post Mar 10 2014, 10:19 AM

252 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Mar 9 2014, 03:06 PM)
If I follow ur advice and switch all to equity in 1 lump sum, what if that equity tanked???  doh.gif

Wouldn't it cost me to lose more?  cry.gif  As I know there's no such thing as profit from the start when investing in UT... or am I wrong? hmm.gif
u can switch your funds into multiple funds depending on the amount. for example say you have a 100k lump sum you can go for 25k each in 4 funds. you should be able to diversify your risk.

All investments come with risk. It's your decision to make on how much risk you're willing to take, there is no investment with a 100% guarantee return* correct me if i'm wrong.

UT is meant to be a medium to long term investment. 3 to 5 years or more.

What i meant is if you're earning say for example:
if you're earning a 2.5% - 3.5% return with bonds over a period of 3 years as compared to a 8-12% return of an equity fund over the same period of time. At the end of the day you will have higher returns within the same period of time. Of course with higher returns there are also higher risk
kabal82
post Mar 10 2014, 10:53 AM

♥Nature Lover♥
804 posts

QUOTE(takalimc @ Mar 10 2014, 10:19 AM)
u can switch your funds into multiple funds depending on the amount. for example say you have a 100k lump sum you can go for 25k each in 4 funds. you should be able to diversify your risk.

All investments come with risk. It's your decision to make on how much risk you're willing to take, there is no investment with a 100% guarantee return* correct me if i'm wrong.

UT is meant to be a medium to long term investment. 3 to 5 years or more.

What i meant is if you're earning say for example:
if you're earning a 2.5% - 3.5% return with bonds over a period of 3 years as compared to a 8-12% return of an equity fund over the same period of time. At the end of the day you will have higher returns within the same period of time. Of course with higher returns there are also higher risk
Nah, only 10k with ROI 7% (IRR 2.95%)... Already got 3 equities with PM (1 thru EPF), all closed fund but still able to DDI (not sure EPF fund can still top up or not)...

Need to study 1st on how I can reduce the sales fee / switch fee if wanna buy equity funds... my agent did introduce PIDF, PITGF & PRSF for me previously
takalimc
post Mar 10 2014, 11:01 AM

252 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Mar 10 2014, 10:53 AM)
Nah, only 10k with ROI 7% (IRR 2.95%)... Already got 3 equities with PM (1 thru EPF), all closed fund but still able to DDI (not sure EPF fund can still top up or not)...

Need to study 1st on how I can reduce the sales fee / switch fee if wanna buy equity funds... my agent did introduce PIDF, PITGF & PRSF for me previously
If not mistaken you cant DDI into epf fund only can withdraw every 3 months smile.gif

PRSF is a good fund probably one of the top for PM. I've had good experience with it. Not too sure bout the ittikal growth havent really looked into it. But there are a number of pretty good funds with PM la smile.gif
xuzen
post Mar 10 2014, 02:29 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Mar 9 2014, 09:50 PM)
U mean there's better option than these 2? Which 1?  notworthy.gif
PISEF

Xuzen
xuzen
post Mar 10 2014, 02:34 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(takalimc @ Mar 10 2014, 11:01 AM)
If not mistaken you cant DDI into epf fund only can withdraw every 3 months smile.gif

PRSF is a good fund probably one of the top for PM. I've had good experience with it. Not too sure bout the ittikal growth havent really looked into it.  But there are a number of pretty good funds with PM la smile.gif
PRSF is ranked below PISEF. How do I rank them?

I ranked them using Jessen-Alpha Ratio and Modigliani Ratio. If you do not know them, just goggle them.

Why am I being complicated and do all these funny calculations?

Because I know how to and because I have the information available to me.

Xuzen

kabal82
post Mar 10 2014, 03:15 PM

♥Nature Lover♥
804 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 10 2014, 02:34 PM)
PRSF is ranked below PISEF. How do I rank them?

I ranked them using Jessen-Alpha Ratio and Modigliani Ratio. If you do not know them, just goggle them.

Why am I being complicated and do all these funny calculations?

Because I know how to  and because I have the information available to me.

Xuzen
Ohhh... PISEF... I also got. But the fund is closed to public already, rite? It's a good thing, I invest thru DDI so still able to increase my fund size... thumbup.gif

Now, dunno want to go for PRSF or PIDF... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
SUSyklooi
post Mar 10 2014, 03:19 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Mar 10 2014, 03:15 PM)
.....Now, dunno want to go for PRSF or PIDF...  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
I think forummer Xuzen would have gone for.......refer to post #2228
xuzen
post Mar 10 2014, 03:52 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Mar 10 2014, 03:19 PM)
I think forummer Xuzen would have gone for.......refer to post #2228
I think forummer Xuzen would have got off his lazy arse and open a FSM a/c and go for Lee Sook Yee wub.gif fund liao.

takalimc
post Mar 10 2014, 03:55 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 10 2014, 03:52 PM)
I think forummer Xuzen would have got off his lazy arse and open a FSM a/c and go for Lee Sook Yee  wub.gif  fund liao.
forumer Xuzen still has to reply me regarding PFSF lolzz biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
kabal82
post Mar 10 2014, 03:56 PM

♥Nature Lover♥
804 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 10 2014, 03:52 PM)
I think forummer Xuzen would have got off his lazy arse and open a FSM a/c and go for Lee Sook Yee  wub.gif  fund liao.
Heheh... FSM is FSM, PM is PM... I got both account... but my PM funds performance is better than FSM at the moment thumbup.gif

Need to give more time for my FSM funds to mature~
xuzen
post Mar 10 2014, 04:04 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(takalimc @ Mar 10 2014, 03:55 PM)
forumer Xuzen still has to reply me regarding PFSF lolzz biggrin.gif  thumbup.gif
Forummer Xuzen is looking at his datasheets and PFSF did not even make into his shortlist.

Further digging, forummer Xuzen realised that PFSF perform almost on par with its benchmark which leads him to question why he need to pay 1.5% p.a. management fee to the fund manager who cannot beat the benchmark.

Xuzen

p/s: Answering in 3rd person can be some funneh!
kimyee73
post Mar 10 2014, 05:43 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 6 2014, 03:59 PM)
PDSF < PRSF. Tell your agent F3ck-Off, listen to Xuzen.

PRSF is benchmarked against KLCI-EMAS100. You asked the wrong question. You should ask, does KLCI-EMAS100 has room to grow or not? Fund price is easily manipulate and is not a good proxy to say whether the fund is cheap or not.

BTW, PISEF which is the best fund from Pub-Mut is ranked at a lowly No. 10 among all the M'sia equity. This is from Lipper rank which you can get from The Edge. Which is the best M'sia fund?

Of course it is non other than: Lee Sook Yee fund  wub.gif

and another good alternative:

Chen Fan Fai fund.

Xuzen
I have all PDSF, PRSF, PISEF, Lee Sook Yee fund and Chen Fan Fai fund and more rclxm9.gif
xuzen
post Mar 10 2014, 05:53 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Mar 10 2014, 05:43 PM)
I have all PDSF, PRSF, PISEF, Lee Sook Yee fund and Chen Fan Fai fund and more rclxm9.gif
Ah Kim ar... you realised that you are not diversifying at all hor.

PDSF, PRSF, PISEF, Lee Sook Yee wub.gif fund & Chen Fan Fai fund semua are jaguh kampung wan leh.

Why you no go oversea a bit?

Everyday eat Nasi Kandar... no diversification, tak jemu ke?

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 10 2014, 05:54 PM
kimyee73
post Mar 10 2014, 06:23 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(kabal82 @ Mar 10 2014, 10:53 AM)

I would suggest that you invest 70% of the $ lump sum and 10% every 3 months afterward. This would take advantage of better lump sum return but at the same time have sufficient fund to top up in case the fund going south. I would do this if I have lots of cash to invest. The return is better than DCA in most market condition.
takalimc
post Mar 10 2014, 06:38 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Mar 10 2014, 06:23 PM)
I would suggest that you invest 70% of the $ lump sum and 10% every 3 months afterward. This would take advantage of better lump sum return but at the same time have sufficient fund to top up in case the fund going south. I would do this if I have lots of cash to invest. The return is better than DCA in most market condition.
+1

149 Pages « < 110 111 112 113 114 > » Top

0.0263sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:50 AM