4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Theory/Lessons Q's on guitar strings, NPS, Stainless steel, Gauge, Fret wear..

TSplankton
post Feb 2 2006, 10:23 PM, updated 20y ago

*Place Custom Member Title Here*
809 posts

I read that stainless steel strings can cause faster fret wear compared to nickel plated strings. anyone know more bout this @ have tested the diff types of strings? which do u prefer (feel, sound etc..)?

09's n 10's string gauges. long story cut short.. bought guitar, forgot to ask stock string gauge(10),they changed strings to 9's, brought home,got some buzzing at first few frets, think the shop didn't adjust neck.
now im thinking ; continue using 9's n send for setup, or use 10's n no need to change neck. ive been using 9's all this while, would like to know if 10's are still playable (still easy to bend, vibrato etc..). havent got the time to test 4 myself at shop so asking here 1st until i have the time to go.

another thing. is there a shop that can do setups on the spot (few hours) without coming to get the guitar on another day n with good workmanship. i sent my other guitar to a shop in taipan for setup.. came back with scratches at the saddles and bridge sad.gif

thnx
newbie here smile.gif

Pix
post Feb 2 2006, 10:44 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

10s are still playable, just need few days to adapt.
no opinion on stainless steel.. i tried once a very long time ago, the sound seemed a bit colder than normal strings, and the strings themselves were "tougher".
you can setup the guitar yourself, there is absolutely nothing magical in that ! only issue would be a floating bridge... but still doable, if you're patient and careful.

MoNnY
post Feb 2 2006, 11:07 PM

Ooooo... Now I know how to change this
4,423 posts

stainless steels are brighter thats for sure and its also suppose to last longer than nickel plated strings...
but strings are all the players choice.. its what tone u are looking for that counts
TSplankton
post Feb 2 2006, 11:15 PM

809 posts

its cos the frets on my fender are thin. wouldnt want to use s steel strings on it if it has the potential to cause faster fret wear in the long run smile.gif

about setting up my guitar, im considering taking it to a shop if they can do it on the spot cos im working now n dont have that much time to do it myself (plus a pinch of laziness smile.gif )

blacktrix
post Feb 2 2006, 11:25 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Honestly, if you prefer to solo alot.... I suggest thinner strings....
If you're a Riffer..... then go for the thicker ones like .10 - .60....

I use the Zakk Wylde GHS and it actually helps me to improve my intonations and must apply even more pressure on the strings..... but the sound......
OMG..... beau-ti-ful!
TSplankton
post Feb 2 2006, 11:47 PM

809 posts

ic2.. im considering using .10 on that guitar.. smile.gif
blacktrix, hows bending on those strings? they're .10 right?

btw, anyone used fender bullet strings b4?
ZidaneZCustom
post Feb 2 2006, 11:53 PM

914 posts

QUOTE(plankton @ Feb 2 2006, 11:47 PM)
btw, anyone used fender bullet strings b4?
Yes, the original bullet string. Which is still the same sound compare with the normal original string by Fender. Just that the it's bullet-end and it holds the bridge tighter and of course, bullet is more special. smile.gif But I can say that Fender's Original Bullet is consider a good string.
blacktrix
post Feb 2 2006, 11:56 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Yes. They are .10 up to .60
Pix
post Feb 2 2006, 11:58 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

plankton.. strings are just strings... it's pretty hard to "HEAR" differences between them. The only bad memory I have is with the Dean Marley strings, which sounded really poor and lasted 2 days.

About the Fender Bullet, they're OK, I used to choose them for my Strat... I would say they tend to get dirty/darker a bit faster than d'addario, but otherwise, it's pretty identical. I don't recall having the feeling "How man, they sound SOOO good when they're new !!", something I always tell myself with D'Addario ..
The benefit of the "bullet" is inexistent : i never had any problem with regular strings tip wink.gif

And finally, I promise you that your fingers will bend as sharply and quickly they used to do with .09. Just give'em some days to get used to the extra tension, so that your fingers muscles (actually, forearm's) will develop.

ZidaneZCustom
post Feb 2 2006, 11:58 PM

914 posts

I wish to use .09 on my acoustic. Darn that it doesn't exist. sad.gif Will the sound become worst if really got .09 on acoustic? sweat.gif
Pix
post Feb 3 2006, 12:31 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

the fatter the better on an acoustic...
ZidaneZCustom
post Feb 3 2006, 12:47 AM

914 posts

QUOTE(Pix @ Feb 3 2006, 12:31 AM)
the fatter the better on an acoustic...
The fattest I use before is .10 only. Might try fatter gauge some day. smile.gif

Back in the electric guitar strings topic:
What about higher gauge than 0.11, how is the playing and all leh? I never try before. unsure.gif
led_zep_freak
post Feb 3 2006, 01:04 AM

5,231 posts

0.11 is what I use now, I kinda like it because it slows down my vibrato and requires one to really dig in to get the best out of it.
ZidaneZCustom
post Feb 3 2006, 01:16 AM

914 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Feb 3 2006, 01:04 AM)
0.11 is what I use now, I kinda like it because it slows down my vibrato and requires one to really dig in to get the best out of it.
Higher than 0.11 would be much more slower then. But then who would consider up to 0.12, 0.13?
leadaxer
post Feb 3 2006, 03:23 AM

EMG 81
2,451 posts

I read that blues players like BB King uses 13's. That could really break a finger or two. sweat.gif

But if u play lotsa chugging riffs AND solo a lot, y don't u try a custom gauge? 9's for the bottom treble strings and 10's for the top bass strings. Beware when using floating trems though. U might need to make adjustments to ur bridge.
davidlow7
post Feb 3 2006, 03:33 AM

StageMaster
8,306 posts

My guitar string.. ... the High E just patah.. sweat.gif
i am using Ernie Ball string on my Ibanez.....

GHS on my Stagemaster..

plan to change to GHS this time as I think I started to like GHS string when i tried it..

dunno how would it feel on my Ibanez
Pix
post Feb 3 2006, 04:20 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

you're not playing slower with heavier strings, that's a myth... you just need stronger fingers, with more endurance, but otherwise, you can still legato like thunder. Vibrato and bend are pretty hard to do on .013, but then again, after a while I did get used to it.
led_zep_freak
post Feb 3 2006, 10:43 AM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(ZidaneZCustom @ Feb 3 2006, 01:16 AM)
Higher than 0.11 would be much more slower then. But then who would consider up to 0.12, 0.13?
Jazz guitarists? Or Stevie Ray Vaughan? thumbup.gif

QUOTE(leadaxer @ Feb 3 2006, 03:23 AM)
I read that blues players like BB King uses 13's. That could really break a finger or two.  sweat.gif
Really? Still he has a vibrato technique to die for. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Pix @ Feb 3 2006, 04:20 AM)
you're not playing slower with heavier strings, that's a myth... you just need stronger fingers, with more endurance, but otherwise, you can still legato like thunder. Vibrato and bend are pretty hard to do on .013, but then again, after a while I did get used to it.
Yup, after awhile you would get used to it but your hands will get tired much easily than on 10s.
evo.com
post Feb 3 2006, 11:00 AM

2,234 posts

it just takes time to get used to higher gauges....
im on 11s atm and planning to move to 12s if the neck can handle it
try to make a bend on a wounded G and you'll know what hard is...LOL

leadaxer
post Feb 3 2006, 03:22 PM

EMG 81
2,451 posts

QUOTE(evo.com @ Feb 3 2006, 11:00 AM)
it just takes time to get used to higher gauges....
im on 11s atm and planning to move to 12s if the neck can handle it
try to make a bend on a wounded G and you'll know what hard is...LOL
Yeah, i think the best way is to proceed one step at a time. When ur already used to a certain gauge and bending/vibrato feels easy, move on 1 size higher.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:18 PM