Theory/Lessons Q's on guitar strings, NPS, Stainless steel, Gauge, Fret wear..
TSplankton
Feb 2 2006, 10:23 PM, updated 20y ago
I read that stainless steel strings can cause faster fret wear compared to nickel plated strings. anyone know more bout this @ have tested the diff types of strings? which do u prefer (feel, sound etc..)? 09's n 10's string gauges. long story cut short.. bought guitar, forgot to ask stock string gauge(10),they changed strings to 9's, brought home,got some buzzing at first few frets, think the shop didn't adjust neck. now im thinking ; continue using 9's n send for setup, or use 10's n no need to change neck. ive been using 9's all this while, would like to know if 10's are still playable (still easy to bend, vibrato etc..). havent got the time to test 4 myself at shop so asking here 1st until i have the time to go. another thing. is there a shop that can do setups on the spot (few hours) without coming to get the guitar on another day n with good workmanship. i sent my other guitar to a shop in taipan for setup.. came back with scratches at the saddles and bridge  thnx newbie here
TSplankton
Feb 2 2006, 11:15 PM
its cos the frets on my fender are thin. wouldnt want to use s steel strings on it if it has the potential to cause faster fret wear in the long run  about setting up my guitar, im considering taking it to a shop if they can do it on the spot cos im working now n dont have that much time to do it myself (plus a pinch of laziness  )
TSplankton
Feb 2 2006, 11:47 PM
ic2.. im considering using .10 on that guitar..  blacktrix, hows bending on those strings? they're .10 right? btw, anyone used fender bullet strings b4?
TSplankton
Feb 3 2006, 04:10 PM
going down to pyramid this sunday to buy a set of 10's  hope they have them though cos dont have transport to go other places  .. maybe ill give them a call 1st ive been using Boomers, all this while, n now its time for a string change.. wanna try other types. anyone know bout stainless steel strings causing faster fret wear? just curious.. tried ernie balll strings once.. but rusted to quick for me even with a string conditioner.. huhu.. must be my extra acidic sweat. also tried those cheapo strings once, rm12, bought from kinta city shopping mall.. was ok 4 the price.
TSplankton
Feb 4 2006, 12:45 PM
erm, some guitars have diff gauges as stock, but usually its 0.09's..
TSplankton
Feb 7 2006, 10:29 AM
thnx 4 the info noisetrigger  will definitely avoid stainless steel from now on. erm, is high tension = hard to bend  ? im going to try the fender strings on my strat .. but dun hv transport to go buy from bentley. gonna go n check taipan usj. went to guitar collection sunway pyramid, but didnt have the strings i was looking 4. seems like their strings selection is quite limited.. wow blacktrix.. u sure wake up early eh  or is it u have classes in the morning
TSplankton
Feb 7 2006, 10:33 PM
lol.. dunno y i keep imagining him playing voodoo chile from the G3 vid when someone mentions his name..
"Girl ill stand up next to a mountainnnnnnn urrghh"~~
TSplankton
Feb 8 2006, 10:07 AM
or is it maybe, boil the strings but let it cool down on its own ?? that way it shouldnt change the metal's properties... i think  .. This post has been edited by plankton: Feb 8 2006, 10:12 AM
TSplankton
Feb 8 2006, 10:22 AM
Haha if u really do try, try boiling two sets, have one cooled down rapidly.. the other one on its own. tell us if it works, id do it if it works
TSplankton
Feb 8 2006, 01:46 PM
ur fingers must be the size of my thumb !
TSplankton
Feb 8 2006, 05:20 PM
davidlow: itll be ok after a few days.. u can stretch the strings yourself, pinch two or three strings at once for a few times, then retune.
Musicwalk in taipan has a lot more choices for strings than always thought .. bought fender and ernie ball strings from them yesterday.
TSplankton
Feb 10 2006, 09:17 AM
oo.. thnx for telling.. i go there on weekdays, didnt know they had wierd open hours. will avoid going there on weekends  .. restringed my schecter with ernie ball .10's the other day.. really like it. thinking of putting .10's on my strat too.. hmmmm