4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Theory/Lessons Q's on guitar strings, NPS, Stainless steel, Gauge, Fret wear..

Pix
post Feb 8 2006, 09:22 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

that's the jimi's way... i'm very skeptical about this method though. Scientifically, i could relate that to heating up steel very quickly, and cooling it down very quickly; It is supposed to give extra-resistance to the metal... or is it to increase rigidity ? Can't remember. Should try it.

Why strings makers are not using this method if it works ?
TheWhacker
post Feb 8 2006, 10:03 AM

3,914 posts

QUOTE(Pix @ Feb 8 2006, 09:22 AM)
that's the jimi's way... i'm very skeptical about this method though. Scientifically, i could relate that to heating up steel very quickly, and cooling it down very quickly; It is supposed to give extra-resistance to the metal... or is it to increase rigidity ? Can't remember. Should try it.

Why strings makers are not using this method if it works ?
You want to try that on the strings? blink.gif

Won't that actually spoil the strings in terms of making them harder ? unsure.gif

I heard from somewhere, don't put your guitar in the car under the hot sun coz your strings will heat up and blah blah takes in more oksigen and thus more harder ....
TSplankton
post Feb 8 2006, 10:07 AM

*Place Custom Member Title Here*
809 posts

or is it maybe, boil the strings but let it cool down on its own ?? that way it shouldnt change the metal's properties... i think blink.gif ..

This post has been edited by plankton: Feb 8 2006, 10:12 AM
Pix
post Feb 8 2006, 10:16 AM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Feb 8 2006, 10:03 AM)
You want to try that on the strings?  blink.gif

Won't that actually spoil the strings in terms of making them harder ?  unsure.gif

I heard from somewhere, don't put your guitar in the car under the hot sun coz your strings will heat up and blah blah takes in more oksigen and thus more harder ....
more harder ? that must be way too much hardest wink.gif
what i'm saying is that Jimi Hendrix used to do that on the strings : boil'em. And ppl says it's a good method, it works, the new strings are in tune faster, and they also last longer.
as a science guy, the only thing I can relate it to is the quick heat / quick cold process on steel, which does modify its properties.
and yes, i'll try one day... i don't care about spoiling a set of strings.. it's all in the name of science !
TSplankton
post Feb 8 2006, 10:22 AM

809 posts

Haha

if u really do try, try boiling two sets, have one cooled down rapidly.. the other one on its own. tell us if it works, id do it if it works smile.gif
sean392
post Feb 8 2006, 10:45 AM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

yeah pix! u shud try it out
u ARE an engineer rite? lool
evo.com
post Feb 8 2006, 10:49 AM

2,234 posts

i dont think you;re suppose to boil it then cool it down rapidly... it'll just make the string more ermm.... slinky i guess (think wonton mee)
my friend boils it in hot water and lets it cool down in the water on its own... then when he installs the strings he doesnt have to worry about stretching the strings cause they havealready 'expended'

led_zep_freak
post Feb 8 2006, 12:27 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(Pix @ Feb 8 2006, 10:16 AM)
more harder ? that must be way too much hardest wink.gif
what i'm saying is that Jimi Hendrix used to do that on the strings : boil'em. And ppl says it's a good method, it works, the new strings are in tune faster, and they also last longer.
as a science guy, the only thing I can relate it to is the quick heat / quick cold process on steel, which does modify its properties.
and yes, i'll try one day... i don't care about spoiling a set of strings.. it's all in the name of science !
Huh? I thought he only stretched and massaged his strings... but boiling? sweat.gif

wonton mee LOL! biggrin.gif
nerd
post Feb 8 2006, 12:38 PM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

I'm using D'addario XLs, .010 - .052s.

Hey Pix, I'm just repeating what the others said, but do tell us if it works kay? tongue.gif
Jemi
post Feb 8 2006, 12:58 PM

688 posts

For me now using D'addario .011 - .052s. Previously useErnie Ball.
Pix
post Feb 8 2006, 01:06 PM

Tube Glower Phreak
2,918 posts

jemi > 0.011 ? and you're shredding over them like there's no tomorrow... woaw man, i'd like to see your fingers biggrin.gif are you tuned in standard E ?
TSplankton
post Feb 8 2006, 01:46 PM

809 posts

ur fingers must be the size of my thumb ! smile.gif
davidlow7
post Feb 8 2006, 01:55 PM

StageMaster
8,306 posts

Thanks dude
Quite weird cause i previously install my strings also nvr have this occur..
Hopefully can ... aikkssss

Worst thing is I dun have a tuner
tune by ears.. is quite a time consuming
evo.com
post Feb 8 2006, 02:08 PM

2,234 posts

go dl APtuner.... FOC smile.gif
Jemi
post Feb 8 2006, 02:37 PM

688 posts

Naahh.. thin finger only( I dunno about led_zep_freak & Blacktrix biggrin.gif ). Hey, i'm not big guys you see.

When first time using it, hurt like hell. Finger become weak so fast, especially when doing alot of bending. Now, I also forgot I'm using this gauge but finger exhausted still when long play.

Emm.. its means time to change the string.

Yeah my tune is E standard.

This post has been edited by Jemi: Feb 8 2006, 02:41 PM
blacktrix
post Feb 8 2006, 03:03 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Hey.... my fingers hurts like hell after playing.... Hurts even more when I play my acoustic.....

But it's definately ALL worth it.
TSplankton
post Feb 8 2006, 05:20 PM

809 posts

davidlow: itll be ok after a few days.. u can stretch the strings yourself, pinch two or three strings at once for a few times, then retune.

Musicwalk in taipan has a lot more choices for strings than always thought .. bought fender and ernie ball strings from them yesterday.
davidlow7
post Feb 8 2006, 06:13 PM

StageMaster
8,306 posts

QUOTE(plankton @ Feb 8 2006, 05:20 PM)
davidlow: itll be ok after a few days.. u can stretch the strings yourself, pinch two or three strings at once for a few times, then retune.

Thanks mate.. I iwll try..
sean392
post Feb 8 2006, 08:20 PM

Hirano Aya-Tard
6,339 posts

QUOTE(plankton @ Feb 8 2006, 05:20 PM)

Musicwalk in taipan has a lot more choices for strings than always thought .. bought fender and ernie ball strings from them yesterday.
problem is their opening time is a bxxch to keep up with... they dont open on weekends la.. this that... i went 3 times
all 3 times closed
unlucky huh?
TSplankton
post Feb 10 2006, 09:17 AM

809 posts

oo.. thnx for telling.. i go there on weekdays, didnt know they had wierd open hours. will avoid going there on weekends smile.gif..

restringed my schecter with ernie ball .10's the other day.. really like it. thinking of putting .10's on my strat too.. hmmmm

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0316sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:20 AM