21 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

DESIGNERS SALARY TALK, What's the market rate?

blek
post May 11 2015, 01:42 AM

720 posts

QUOTE(cgfx @ May 11 2015, 12:32 AM)
sorry etsuko - mind elaborate abit?

i'm the main guy in my office that handles 3D/visualization work. in fact, that is what i was hired for.

shouldn't my main priority be completing my task and be better at it?

are you saying that i should branch out in other area's, become a 'multitasking' person?
How old are u know?
U wanna stay at this position only doing 3d sitting on your office chair all day till u get old?
By the time u 28 yo you will feel that you can't compete with fresh grad especially in paid. They are cheap! While u planning on marry and setting up a family. Will your salary enough for you?

Golden age of designer are very short, most at its young age.
etsuko
post May 11 2015, 11:47 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(cgfx @ May 11 2015, 12:32 AM)
sorry etsuko - mind elaborate abit?

i'm the main guy in my office that handles 3D/visualization work. in fact, that is what i was hired for.

shouldn't my main priority be completing my task and be better at it?

are you saying that i should branch out in other area's, become a 'multitasking' person?
Of course, completing your tasks should be main priority. If you feel that you could still learn 3D/visualization from your colleagues; senior or junior, then you should probably stay and keep learning. That's your goal right there, learning more.

The other part I wrote about increasing your salary is knowing how to negotiate, by knowing your value.

If the superior / business owner thinks your value of skills to the company is only at 'this' level, then your salary will be that level. If you showed advancement or growth in needed situations, then you're silently saying "I've become better by...". When you continue doing this (regardlress of praise), you could one day use this as a negotiating chip because you know you've grown and you believe your value has increased.

But if the review says you're not ready for an increase and avoids giving a constructive answer, don't lay a smackdown. Be smarter and ask a question which questions your ability. For example; "is it because I hadn't been completing my tasks to the given deadline?" These are questions which you know the answer may not be true, but using it to your advantage to dig out the real reason of why the increase isn't being approved.

If the answer was constructive and true, then take it as a lesson and think of how you could overcome it to be even better.

There are only few paths in a company to increase your salary:

1. Take up a senior position - more tasks, manage juniors.

2. Take up a manager position - meet results, even more tasks, even more people management.

3. Head a new department - meet higher results, even much more tasks, even much more people management.

I suppose this is what we'd call climbing the corporate ladder. tongue.gif

Alternatively, what younguns are doing now are jumping companies just because they're too sensitive with the salary, work environment, people and some other reasons. Which in my personal opinion is not healthy because some of them don't pause to think how would a future employer view their resume later.

Well, that's enough ranting from me.
HoneyDear
post May 13 2015, 12:11 AM

83 posts

seriously designer's salary so high pay ? my sister thought of studying designing but my dad told her "NO FUTURE"
TSNeoMnemonic
post May 13 2015, 10:25 AM

760 posts

QUOTE(HoneyDear @ May 13 2015, 01:11 AM)
seriously designer's salary so high pay ? my sister thought of studying designing but my dad told her "NO FUTURE"
There are a few types of designers. Just avoid graphic especially, has no high salary. Now the trend is moving to UX/UI experience designer and pays much better.

This post has been edited by NeoMnemonic: May 13 2015, 10:26 AM
etsuko
post May 13 2015, 07:00 PM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(HoneyDear @ May 13 2015, 12:11 AM)
QUOTE(NeoMnemonic @ May 13 2015, 10:25 AM)
There are a few types of designers. Just avoid graphic especially, has no high salary. Now the trend is moving to UX/UI experience designer and pays much better.
Another alternative is study design overseas where the country is educated on design. Then work there. tongue.gif
HoneyDear
post May 14 2015, 11:09 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ May 13 2015, 07:00 PM)
Another alternative is study design overseas where the country is educated on design. Then work there. tongue.gif
but i dont want my sister to stay oversea ... ==, malaysia i heard a few friend of mine said working with big company like MCT get high pay only ... the rest very hard to survive
etsuko
post May 15 2015, 10:45 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(HoneyDear @ May 14 2015, 11:09 PM)
but i dont want my sister to stay oversea ... ==, malaysia i heard a few friend of mine said working with big company like MCT get high pay only ... the rest very hard to survive
MCT?

Well, if the country does not embrace the importance of creative thinking and design, there will only be a handful of organizations who do. And those are the organizations which your sister would have to find out lor.

P.S: If you're looking to be highly paid (more than 10k), then you're going to have to supercede yourself being a designer - become an agency partner etc. Otherwise, you may want to consider a different profession.
HoneyDear
post May 15 2015, 07:52 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ May 15 2015, 10:45 AM)
MCT?

Well, if the country does not embrace the importance of creative thinking and design, there will only be a handful of organizations who do. And those are the organizations which your sister would have to find out lor.

P.S: If you're looking to be highly paid (more than 10k), then you're going to have to supercede yourself being a designer - become an agency partner etc. Otherwise, you may want to consider a different profession.
true .. will gonna tell my sister bout this.. thanks for advice
yellowranger
post May 17 2015, 12:52 PM

120 posts

Job Title : Graphic Designer
Years spent in company : 1 year
Job Scope : 2D graphics all the way
Employment Level : Junior designer
Experience before joining : Freelance for 10 months
Salary : RM 2.5k

PS: I will have few freelance projects for every month. ( extra pocket money )

This post has been edited by yellowranger: May 17 2015, 12:56 PM
whit3feather
post May 27 2015, 05:25 AM

75 posts

I just got an offer as a junior graphic designer under probation in a integrated Media company. 2.2k, consider okay or low?

Fresh grad with only three months experience form internship

This post has been edited by whit3feather: May 27 2015, 05:25 AM
etsuko
post May 27 2015, 09:35 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(whit3feather @ May 27 2015, 05:25 AM)
I just got an offer as a junior graphic designer under probation in a integrated Media company. 2.2k, consider okay or low?

Fresh grad with only three months experience form internship
Instead of looking at it with a "is this fair now" view, why not consider discussing with the employer of a promotion plan within X period. You could be honest to let them know that you appreciate the offer and you'd like to propose an alternative plan for them to develop yourself to be a much better employee in their company. This is when you could share with them that you're loooking to be X salary within X period and you understand this is based on your performance.

This way, what you're putting on the table is clear and the employer is given a counter offer to hire you. Plus, depending on how you explained this to them, they may see you've more value because you know what you're looking for and you're not afraid to work.

Half the time now, I hear friends who tell me too many graduates are only looking for the big figure when joining but aren't prepared to work for th big figure.

I suppose that's where miscommunication of expectations were made - during interview.
whit3feather
post May 27 2015, 05:10 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(etsuko @ May 27 2015, 09:35 AM)
Instead of looking at it with a "is this fair now" view, why not consider discussing with the employer of a promotion plan within X period. You could be honest to let them know that you appreciate the offer and you'd like to propose an alternative plan for them to develop yourself to be a much better employee in their company. This is when you could share with them that you're loooking to be X salary within X period and you understand this is based on your performance.

This way, what you're putting on the table is clear and the employer is given a counter offer to hire you. Plus, depending on how you explained this to them, they may see you've more value because you know what you're looking for and you're not afraid to work.

Half the time now, I hear friends who tell me too many graduates are only looking for the big figure when joining but aren't prepared to work for th big figure.

I suppose that's where miscommunication of expectations were made - during interview.
Thanks for pointing this out! I do felt like I am blinded by the figure. Something to take note next time!
DavidLiou
post Jun 4 2015, 02:47 AM

The problem with studying the "specialisation/major" of the designing course for current trend is - you never know, when you graduate, the market might be over-saturated with the said major. Especially nowadays with the ever-growing technology and fast-pace marketplace, trends come and go very quickly.

My advice for would-be designer is to consider the future, but stick with areas that you are interested in. Because you will lose interest real quick in the industry if you have no passion in the work you do - and the financial incentives for designers alone are often inadequate to convince them to stay.
NingChau
post Jun 6 2015, 01:27 PM

May i know the market price for product photography? for each product photo? or by hours.

thanks.
best regards,
Huang Ning Chau
SUSAxeFire
post Jun 17 2015, 10:17 PM

368 posts

anyone in video production?
milopark
post Feb 18 2016, 11:42 AM

17 posts

Time to revive the thread. rclxms.gif

Job Title : Visualizer
Job Desciption : Graphic Design & Management
Years spent in company : 1 Year +, 2 Years (April 2016)
Industry : Print Design
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Junior Exec.
Experience before joining : Nil. Internship 3 months (another company).
Salary : RM2,000 (Before Deduction cry.gif )
Benefits : YE-Bonus + Insurance + All-Round Medical Coverage

Is the pay okay?

This post has been edited by milopark: Feb 18 2016, 12:10 PM
hankc
post Feb 24 2016, 03:54 PM

If you stick around for another 5 years, they may raise your salary to RM2,500.00. The point is to learn the tricks of the trade, take on some small projects on the sideline and eventually go fulltime and become your own boss. That's, I think, is the quickest way to get a raise. Oh by the way, you also need to pick up the skill as a salesman.
sue sue
post Mar 8 2016, 11:51 PM

wow seems like everyone is so well-paid,
designer's salary isn't as bad as rumour!
doinkz_gaara
post Mar 9 2016, 08:43 PM

Too fast to live, too young to die
2,381 posts

Currently serving as an art director in an digital agency. I guess on top of portfolios, it's important to let your future employers know that you have additional skillset that will help you:

Eg: Social media skills, people management, then on top of your design and art direction, you will definitely get a higher position, and well, more salary.
Flanegan
post Mar 23 2016, 10:47 PM

146 posts

QUOTE(aiqal @ Mar 19 2015, 06:05 PM)
hi guys, just wanted to ask. how the hell do u guys start freelancing.
eg: the contacts. im sure most to make extra income on freelance, u
guys must have contacts from other people in other agencies or field.
I have done any freelance job ever since i finished study which was July
Last year.
Go out, print small design profile of yours.
Search any company you think you can improve their visual design. Find their HQ phone and address.
Approach with thick skin, if you got shut in-front of the door.

Move on.... Look for other one.

21 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0273sec    1.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:36 PM