-= MyForte - Naza Kia Forte Owners Club =- V14, Leaves You Speechless

bennedict82
post Aug 6 2012, 11:08 PM

2,122 posts

Hi all,

Few years back, there is a guy called Taipan. He used few ways to improve the fuel consumption and very impressive.

1) Use Fully Synthetic Oil 5W-30 (every 10K KM) 2) Change to Simota Performance Air Filter at 20K KM 3) Change to Iridium Power at 30K KM 4) Install TAB + PBTE at 35K KM 5) Install VS + GC at 40K KM (latest mod at this date)

I have few questions here, if I get these installed on my car, will it void the warranty? Will it cause any side effect? Appreciate your advice.

Average 7.5liter / 100km. Full tank can go up to 600km. around 15cents / 1km. Looks very good.
bennedict82
post Aug 7 2012, 11:19 AM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(ryanleehartamas @ Aug 7 2012, 10:41 AM)
just got my forte last week !..add me in owner list !

ryanlee 1.6SX White 6 Speed..
btw..few questions..

1) full tank Rm 85 - total mileage only hits 410km.. = Normal ??
2) radio reception is poor and not stable = any1 experience the same thing?
1) I think about same to me. Mine used up 3 quarters, close to 300km only. sad.gif
2) Radio is OK.
3) This morning I can hear my dashboard start rattling noise after 3days only . sad.gif
bennedict82
post Aug 8 2012, 04:49 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(Davidho @ Aug 8 2012, 02:40 PM)
Aiya , oredi did research from Internet more than one month Lar , but still cannot conclude now , supposed today after work need to meet up the SA for Kia forte to ask more, but for sure he will try to talk about good thing for forte Lar . I more Concern on quality & reliability compare to Honda . For FC , as long as not below 9km / litre for worst case then I still can accept it . For resale value , as long as the depreciation not extra more than 10%  compare to civic 2.0 then I still also can accept it .
I was in dilemma as well. At the end I chose Kia Forte because of the features. Yes FC is high around 10litres/100km. But remember this car is 1300kg.

All the features you will never find from other SEDAN. If you are the man looking for Sedan like me. This is the one.
bennedict82
post Aug 8 2012, 11:52 PM

2,122 posts

I come back with FC (Fuel Consumption) question again. Sorry

1. I heard Simota Drop In Air Filter will help on FC. Anyone has test it and proved this working good? Where I can buy from Penang? Will it void the warranty?

2. Anyone try PBTE and TAB? Will it help on FC improvement too?
bennedict82
post Aug 9 2012, 02:26 PM

2,122 posts

Same to me. Dashboard got rattling noise when drives on uneven road especially in the morning. Must have good tinted to protect your dashboard from sunlight. Or you must cover with something such as carpet.

Left pull.. need to test first.

FC .... drop to 9.3-10L/100KM after 4 days. Hope will make it more.
bennedict82
post Aug 9 2012, 03:20 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Aug 9 2012, 02:46 PM)
My FC according to the meter is 8.1L/100 KM currently. Still got bout quarter tank to go .. I always follow the instant litre screen that shows how much fc we will use and kept below 10 LOL! Lets see whats the real FC when i finish the whole tank and calculate manually. My driving 75% highway 25% city ba .. Sometimes also stuck in jam.
Highway ... always good. If I can make it drop to 8L/100KM in city drive, I will be happy enough.

I am thinking about modify the car now in order to reduce the FC ....
bennedict82
post Aug 9 2012, 04:47 PM

2,122 posts

What is the problem if we keep discuss FC here? This car is very worth to buy except the FC is a bit high compare to other car such as Vios, City and Elantra. I know it is heavy car but if you can make the FC on par with other cars, I can tell you this car will champion. I have no complain at all just I would like to learn about FC since I am new. Please dont stop anyone to discuss about FC.

Most of the Forte owner not reach, that's why they choose forte. If they are rich, they already go for Altis or Civic ...

We learn about how people keep their FC low and indirectly we promote sales of this car.

Once we have many people buy it, it will become famous and all the resale value will raise including spare part become cheaper.

This post has been edited by bennedict82: Aug 9 2012, 04:47 PM
bennedict82
post Aug 9 2012, 08:59 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Aug 9 2012, 07:12 PM)
before 40 000km service - my forte for a full tank can go about 520-560km before the DTE left about 60-70km.
now after 40 000km service - my forte only can go between 400km-480km before the DTE left about 60-70km.
This is scary. Your right foot get heavier? If not, there must be something the mechanic forgot to put back when you sent for 40k mileage maintenance. sweat.gif

Added on August 9, 2012, 9:01 pm
QUOTE(22222222 @ Aug 9 2012, 06:00 PM)
Haha...tip to reduce FC :

1) Reduce your air-cond temp around 24C and speed to level 1

2) Make sure your tyre always above 32psi

3) Maintain your speed around 80 ~ 100km/h with lower rpm 1.5k ~ 2.5k
Thank you very much for your tips thumbup.gif

Added on August 9, 2012, 9:06 pm
QUOTE(izputra @ Aug 9 2012, 04:48 PM)
How to enjoy the drive more if the right foot is less aggresive  tongue.gif

Added on August 9, 2012, 4:56 pm
Frankly speaking, if we put the same weight & the same 17" Forte rims on the Vi0s or Citi, the FC will surely not as good as we all thinking of, i believe.
Agreed rclxms.gif

Added on August 9, 2012, 9:11 pm
QUOTE(Davidho @ Aug 9 2012, 08:25 PM)
Funny why ur fc become worse ??

So many old and repeat & repeat again for same  problem like rattling sound on dashboard and left pull issues still happen until now. Why the Naza Kia dun bother also ? why not they solve it before hand over cars to buyer ? Are they aware the problems and try to solve it or improve it ? ? Or they really fun have Quality control ?? All these will make a lot people who are considering in buying forte to think twice !! Although is not major problems but buyer mostly expect problem free for new car !

is there any lucky guy whose hv no problem for the left pull issue and rattling sound after having new car ??
VERY GOOD QUESTIONS! This is something I want to know as well. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bennedict82: Aug 9 2012, 09:11 PM
bennedict82
post Aug 9 2012, 09:16 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(forte_cyber @ Aug 9 2012, 06:44 PM)
My forte (1.6sx w/o bodykit) FC is in the range of 7.2 - 8.5 L/100km, other than driving habit and traffic conditions (highway, city or jam). I believe the following factors might affect (although not as influential as the above)  the FC as well.

1. Air-con (better get a good tint)
2. Bodykit (add more weight, probably increase the friction also)
3. Number of passengers in the car

They are still many factors that affecting the FC of a car, as such it is very difficult to conclude whether the car is petrol drinker or not. I think it is reasonable if the FC for this car is within 7 - 9 L/ 100km.
Wow!!! thumbup.gif 7.2-8.5L/100KM is very good already. You drive on highway all the time?
bennedict82
post Aug 10 2012, 09:34 AM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(Ah_Bear @ Aug 10 2012, 01:10 AM)
I beg to differ.. 1st and foremost.. comparing FC with totally different segment B and C car in terms of dimensions and weight, and engine's cubic capacity and horsepower (refinement level too) simply isn't a good idea..

I'm used to be a Vios TRD Sportivo owner for 3 solid years before this current Forte. Vios which is the trademark of good FC is because of its lightweight 1050kg as opposed to Forte's more than 1300kg with wider body dimension, bigger inch with wider tires. But the 1.5 fuel efficient engine power was so weak and that puny little engine is so noisy above 100kmph which I was having some hard time to overtake any car. Forte 2.0 has higher torque and horsepower, better get up and go and thus drinks slightly more fuel. Forte 1.6 not too sure.. In case if you are comparing the Forte 2.0 FC which is higher than Elantra 1.8 FC.. well reason for this is numbers already spoken itself. Speaking of which I've a friend of mine owns an Elantra MD 1.8 for a month or 2. His mixed driving FC is 10.1liter/100km and mine Forte 2.0 is about avg 10.9liter/100km. If your major concern is the FC, you'll be better off with VW Golf 1.4 TSI which similar to vios / city and also could get acceleration of a Camry 2.4 feel.

2ndly, most Forte owner might have bought this car in the 1st place simply because they've done sufficient research for purchasing a car with great safety features and value, being easy on the wallet in mind, influenced by plenty of positive reviews from auto journalists around the world from PC / Ipad, arguably one of the best looking C-segment sedan to-date. I believe most consumers don't want to spend too much money for a basic and decent comfort car for purpose of point A to B daily. Frankly (if I am in the shortlist on C-Segment market again), I wouldn't spend a whopping RM133k for a Corolla Altis 2.0 which has utterly cramp interior and legroom especially the shallow driver's legroom and my left knee is hitting against the side part of "floating" centre console plastic. Seats support for overall body are plain rubbish too for bigger and taller sized people.

To keep FC low ? plan your journey ahead each day to avoid heavy traffic congestion hours as often as possible. We cannot expect a 1.8-2.0 NA engine to sip fuel like 1.5 NA engine while stuck in a prolonged traffic jam. Set the A/C to the temperature you'll feel just nice and comfy enough, hence avoid to burn more fuel unnecessarily to power the A/C system.

Before I bought this car I'm kinda expecting its FC would be like any typical 2.0 NA.. unless if I go for Prius, but I decided to give others a try and not buying another Toyota again..

perhaps I am not 100% happy with my Forte because of my nit-picking problems on those different minor funny noises.. (my previous Vios and Swift isn't a total silent car too).. if I am rich enough, I would buy a decent house first and then a brand new Volkswagen CC.

Ah_Bear,
Thanks for your detail sharing. I am not thinking bad about FC. Same as others, I did a lot of research before decided to take up this car. I totally understand this car is heavier compare to others same range of car. I know will have to pay more for FC already. Just want to learn more from fortezens here. nod.gif

Someone asking not to talk about FC and I think this is against purpose of forum post.

Thanks again.. Very good sharing.

bennedict82
post Aug 10 2012, 03:44 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(lung85 @ Aug 10 2012, 03:23 PM)
for forte, any owner drive outstation, i frm sarawak, u know sarawak road no good, like from kuching to sibu, need 6hr drive but the road condition is bad, donno can tahan o not
Sure can tahan, just you will have rattling dashboard easily.
bennedict82
post Aug 11 2012, 07:47 AM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(stonekean @ Aug 10 2012, 11:34 PM)
hey all, new member here!!
i'm just get my car 2 week and so far so good.. my FC is around 8.5-10.1 so far and just done the first service yesterday... so far i had pumped 3 times of petrol which different petrol station.. the conclusion now it's look the E brand the best FC while the P brand really PK 1... Anyone of you using the Hyundai Engine Oil? What different of it with the Petronas?
Beside that, did anyone of you facing problem to register the GPS (Speednavi)? I'm facing problem when entry the Serial Key in keep pop-up incorrect key even i had insert the correct key... did you all have any ideas and solutions to share?
What is E brand and P brand? What engine oil the SC used when you sent for 1000km maintenance?
bennedict82
post Aug 11 2012, 10:13 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(keagan @ Aug 11 2012, 09:46 PM)
Just wondering, those with the 6 speeder, what's ur FC for the 2.0?

I have the 4 speed..and my FC is really madness ... penang driving conditions with a heavy foot as well..i'm only clocking 310-320KM per full tank with Shell and Caltax...BUT... the last tank i reluctantly pumped in Esso (heard its underpowered) but surprise surprise..i clocked a 370km this tank..so i'm going for a round 2...gotta admit the engine is not as eager but its still more than driveable hence i think i'm gonna stick to Esso if its giving good FC from now on...
Thank you for sharing about fuel saving thumbup.gif
bennedict82
post Aug 11 2012, 11:15 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(Motorman @ Aug 11 2012, 10:54 PM)
Are you looking for the Best Forte offer? Save the hassle searching.
To find the best offer ever, just click below!

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Edwin,
Our hero... You must know well with KIA CEO / CIO / COO / CFO / UFO... since you are famous and get so many car with them .... laugh.gif

Can you highlight to them, ask them to fix multiple common issues before sell to customer lah... Although those not really critical.

1. Left pull issue
2. rattling dashboard

Thank you smile.gif
bennedict82
post Aug 12 2012, 12:10 AM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(nazarethnuss @ Aug 12 2012, 12:04 AM)
im using 1.6 ex and i think the FC is not bad for long distance cruising and city cruising. My idea to reduce FC on my car soon:-

1. To change 16" lightweight rims
2. To replace spare tyre with small used spare tyre (common yellow collor that been used in most car) 16" .
3. Iridum Spark Plug (for better torque n response)
4. Drop in air filter (for better torque n response)
5. Might dismantle the oem bodykit (lighter).
6. Voltage Stabilizer (increase engine efficiency a.k.a reduce fc) - But im afraid the car will have a warranty issues)
6. Lighter Bucket seat (optional).

To reduce about 15-20kg i think might affect the FC slighty as well as give your forte a better performance smile.gif. And yes, its all depends on your right foot!. Just my 2cents. Any idea to add on?.
Great Great ....

Does the engine oil help too? I heard must use 5W-30 Petronas? Or Hyundai Engine Oil?

What about change to more power car battery?

These 2 will void warranty? I heard drop in air filter will make your engine dirty (bad filtration)
3. Iridum Spark Plug (for better torque n response)
4. Drop in air filter (for better torque n response)

How long you have used your car? Mind to share your fuel consumption?

This post has been edited by bennedict82: Aug 12 2012, 12:11 AM
bennedict82
post Aug 12 2012, 12:37 AM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(keagan @ Aug 12 2012, 12:21 AM)
no problem, but i heard a friend saying the 2.0's FC is equal to that of an accord, not a civic... but how accurate, wa tak tahu..coz never driven a 2.0 civic or owned one before..
Your friend is right. Check both stats from below URL (Accord and Forte)
http://www.fuelly.com/car/honda/accord
http://www.fuelly.com/car/kia/forte

That's why we have to get the best idea how to save fuel for our Forte. Otherwise, people will thinking Forte is another Spectra ... smile.gif

bennedict82
post Aug 12 2012, 11:00 PM

2,122 posts

When fuel meter/indicator drop to 'E', how many litres still left? How far still I can go?

The fuel alarm light only will be on when drop to E?
bennedict82
post Aug 12 2012, 11:34 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(Ah_Bear @ Aug 12 2012, 11:05 PM)
one question.. do you own a Forte now actually ?
it has info of KM to empty tank (Distance to Empty) on the dash.
I dont trust DTE. That's why I am asking this question.
bennedict82
post Aug 13 2012, 12:43 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(zlyc @ Aug 13 2012, 12:29 PM)
Nice info.
Tried once when "---" is displayed. Drive for another 40km++ distance with no jam and refill around 48.XX litres. So i assume when "---" starts to blink, you would have about 7 litres petrol left in your car. This is also same to my myvi where 7 litres left when empty indicator is show.

so be on the safe side, dont drive beyond 50km although a little more KM can be achieved.
Thanks for your good analysis and detail. Really appreciate that thumbup.gif

Added on August 13, 2012, 12:47 pm
QUOTE(noobie123 @ Aug 13 2012, 08:12 AM)
Ya I think so. But no matter what preve is a Proton had bad experience with this brand so even if it's 10k cheaper I will not consider. First time on Korean car hope it won't end up like this too. BTW don't u guys realize what makes PROTON think that their car price can be on par with vios, city, and our precious forte? If u look at highest spec of inspira it even on top of it.  And don't forget those car is expensive due to import tax. Take out tax those car is a lot cheaper PROTON. Or they think their brand is on top of Honda & Toyota?
Right! And if you want to know the actual price of Preve, keep watching when they export this car to other countries (normally cheaper). You will know how much expensive they sell to Malaysian.

Pity myself and Malaysian sad.gif

Added on August 13, 2012, 12:49 pm
QUOTE(Ah_Bear @ Aug 13 2012, 02:08 AM)
Thanks for sharing  tongue.gif  you're staying in Pandan Indah ?
I am the kiasi type anywhere near 1/4 petrol left.. i will quickly look for petrol jor..  sweat.gif
Because you kiasi ... that make your survive more even better than others. You will never die. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bennedict82: Aug 13 2012, 12:49 PM
bennedict82
post Aug 14 2012, 02:10 PM

2,122 posts

QUOTE(ZaiZai1989 @ Aug 14 2012, 12:13 PM)
hi guys.. i am new here..

just went to kia showroom ytd..

the sa offer me 2k discount, tint, gps, budykit full set, logo emblem rear and front

do u guys think the deal is good?

ps : ex 1.6L forte
Very good offer. You may want to consider SX version with many advanced features.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0521sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:25 PM