126 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Monk Discussion V2, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

dARKaNGEl
post Jul 19 2012, 11:40 AM

Just another helping hand
1,368 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 19 2012, 11:04 AM)
Any takers?
how much victory gore and cat's knock?
yuhhaur
post Jul 19 2012, 11:40 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Jul 19 2012, 11:40 AM)
how much victory gore and cat's knock?
ugpm!
cowithgun
post Jul 19 2012, 11:45 AM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Jul 19 2012, 11:28 AM)
btw any knew how the life steal formula calc?

make it like example 3% life steal (max stat). life steal benefit to those huge dps + range?
works like this:

if the damage you deal = 100k
3% life steal = 3k life back to you

but since inferno nerf that to 20%, you only get 3k * 20% = 600 life.

that is almost the same as if you have a LoH of 600.

except, LoH has co-efficiency on multiple target. meaning to say, when you use skill such as FoT (that hit multiple targets), you only get 75% of 600 LoH. but it's for every target.

Life steal does not have co-efficiency, so, you will get pure 600 on each target.

range got nothing to do with this.

yuhhaur
post Jul 19 2012, 11:55 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

If you got 100k damage deal. Most of our monk deal how much damage? My dps is just 16k with 200% critical hit is only 30k maybe? Life steal nerfed so you get 200 life back.
LoH 600 is always 600 whether you hit a target dealing 3k damage or 30k damage. So LoH wins.

Best? LoH + fast or High Crit chance + High crit dmg (as per Sifu's advise)
KIntos
post Jul 19 2012, 11:57 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(LifeX @ Jul 19 2012, 11:33 AM)
KK, will show if its not sold. :-)
For Life Steal %, in inferno they have nerf it. So not effective already. For other difficulties it works 100% as per the stats shown.

In inferno i think they nerf it to 0.2% for the full 100% stats.

LoH would be a much better option.

Its rather unfair to Monk, as if you use WotF, even though you hit 7 hits ( without rune ), you only get 1 time LOH as its consider as one attack with multiple hits.

Barb with WotB hit so damn fast, and crit dmg n chance passive, and with overpower n ignore pain, so imba.
alright. 1 hit eventhough multihit skill so basically LoH is much reliable option. Thanks

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jul 19 2012, 11:45 AM)
works like this:

if the damage you deal = 100k
3% life steal = 3k life back to you

but since inferno nerf that to 20%, you only get 3k * 20% = 600 life.

that is almost the same as if you have a LoH of 600.

except, LoH has co-efficiency on multiple target. meaning to say, when you use skill such as FoT (that hit multiple targets), you only get 75% of 600 LoH. but it's for every target.

Life steal does not have co-efficiency, so, you will get pure 600 on each target.

range got nothing to do with this.
so if im using group hit skill like FoT, i would get 75% of 600 Loh/target? consider like 75% of 600* 5 target?

Added on July 19, 2012, 11:59 am
QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 19 2012, 11:55 AM)
If you got 100k damage deal. Most of our monk deal how much damage? My dps is just 16k with 200% critical hit is only 30k maybe? Life steal nerfed so you get 200 life back.
LoH 600 is always 600 whether you hit a target dealing 3k damage or 30k damage. So  LoH wins.

Best? LoH + fast or High Crit chance + High crit dmg (as per Sifu's advise)
so meaning life steal might be benefit to those slow attacking but huge dps dmg. example 2h using 1.6k dps weapon boosted up to above 100k dps

This post has been edited by KIntos: Jul 19 2012, 11:59 AM
cowithgun
post Jul 19 2012, 12:06 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Jul 19 2012, 11:57 AM)
so if im using group hit skill like FoT, i would get 75% of 600 Loh/target? consider like 75% of 600* 5 target?
yes. at our current DPS, LoH is definitely better.

but in long run, LoH has a few problem:

1. LoH will not give you life if you use Sweeping Wind's Cyclone or other DoT (Exploding Palm) attacks. Life steal may... i say may because i cant find any info on this. Will buy some life steal weapon and test this when i get enough $. imaging Exploding Palm's Essense Burn that will affect multiple targets...
2. LoH will not increase due to your crit chance and crit damage.
poyol
post Jul 19 2012, 12:09 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jul 19 2012, 12:06 PM)
yes. at our current DPS, LoH is definitely better.

but in long run, LoH has a few problem:

1. LoH will not give you life if you use Sweeping Wind's Cyclone or other DoT (Exploding Palm) attacks. Life steal may... i say may because i cant find any info on this. Will buy some life steal weapon and test this when i get enough $. imaging Exploding Palm's Essense Burn that will affect multiple targets...
2. LoH will not increase due to your crit chance and crit damage.
You mean if sweeping wind is active I won't get life per hit?
yuhhaur
post Jul 19 2012, 12:09 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

What about dual wield with one hand LoH and another hand crit hit+crit dmg, will the actual damage take both into consideration upon EVERY HIT?
cowithgun
post Jul 19 2012, 12:12 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(poyol @ Jul 19 2012, 12:09 PM)
You mean if sweeping wind is active I won't get life per hit?
no, what i mean is, Sweeping wind itself will not give your Life if you are not hitting anything. but with Life Steal, u stand there, Sweeping wind do damage, you get Life...

Added on July 19, 2012, 12:16 pm
QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Jul 19 2012, 12:09 PM)
What about dual wield with one hand LoH and another hand crit hit+crit dmg, will the actual damage take both into consideration upon EVERY HIT?
Dual wield in Diablo works differently than other RPG. Each hand has it's own damage. Each hand take damage alternatively. So with your setup, first hit (with LoH), you get Life. Second hit with Crit hand, you will not get Life. *i think i m wrong in this part, need to research more*

But you still have 15% IAS by simply dual wield. If you use passive, you get another 15% chance to dodge.

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jul 19 2012, 12:32 PM
SpikeTwo
post Jul 19 2012, 12:22 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

after reading this, one noob question. if I have one loh ring, it will have effect on both hands ?
bigQbear
post Jul 19 2012, 12:27 PM

Question :

Hand 1 : fist with crit dmg only
Hand 2 : spear with crit dmg and life steal 3%

will i get life steal every hit?
shinkawa
post Jul 19 2012, 12:36 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(bigQbear @ Jul 19 2012, 01:27 PM)
Question :

Hand 1 : fist with crit dmg only
Hand 2 : spear with crit dmg and life steal 3%

will i get life steal every hit?
not sure, but i just assume la.

if use fist of thunder.

2nd and 3rd might get life steal.

i did research when i'm building for dual wield monk.
many theories or best advise from them are get both weapon which have almost similar stats.

in WoW, offhand are sure to hit slower. So they would put higher dps weapon on main hand and faster weapon on offhand. But in D3, they say both hand are kinda same.

Amedion
post Jul 19 2012, 12:38 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

Life on hit or Life steal on any part of your items. You will get it on every swing.
cowithgun
post Jul 19 2012, 12:38 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jul 19 2012, 12:22 PM)
after reading this, one noob question. if I have one loh ring, it will have effect on both hands ?
your noob question make me realize i could be wrong about the LoH on dual wield... will look into this after lunch hehehe... sorry for confusing others... hopefully some sifu can come and safe my a$$ by providing the correct theory...
Amedion
post Jul 19 2012, 12:46 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

I read it somewhere before in google.
If I still remember it correctly.

Life steal or Life on hit will stack. Doesn't matter which part has it, you will get it on your every hit be it main hand or off hand swing.

Like many pro explained, blizzard nerf the life steal in inferno. So, life on hit is better.

There's hidden scaling that reduce your life on hit/life steal based on the skill/rune that you use. Let say you hit one target with 100 LOH, you get 100% which is 100HP. IF your skill has small area of AOE, then the percentage will reduce. The bigger the AOE, the lower the percentage you're getting.
sexbomb
post Jul 19 2012, 12:48 PM

93 posts

my target now is just to hit 50k dps unbuff and it will make my life so much easier in act3
TSQuazacolt
post Jul 19 2012, 12:54 PM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jul 19 2012, 12:22 PM)
non weapons LoH/IAS/Crit dmg etc affects globally. it's weapons that even myself am not sure of
shinkawa
post Jul 19 2012, 12:56 PM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ Jul 19 2012, 01:46 PM)
I read it somewhere before in google.
If I still remember it correctly.

Life steal or Life on hit will stack. Doesn't matter which part has it, you will get it on your every hit be it main hand or off hand swing.

Like many pro explained, blizzard nerf the life steal in inferno. So, life on hit is better.

There's hidden scaling that reduce your life on hit/life steal based on the skill/rune that you use. Let say you hit one target with 100 LOH, you get 100% which is 100HP. IF your skill has small area of AOE, then the percentage will reduce. The bigger the AOE, the lower the percentage you're getting.
true! Before this, i was a WD. Each skill have different amount of effect for LoH.
For monk, no people research yet. But i know Fist of Thunder is the best LoH skill.

cyruz13
post Jul 19 2012, 12:59 PM

Look for the light
717 posts

many question mark on my brain liao.. lulz..

.. my first hand.. high cd with socket.. so i slot +70% cd gem....
.. my offhand.. high LOH with socket.. so i slot +400 LOH gem....

... rclxub.gif

shall i swap the gem? make it balance??? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by cyruz13: Jul 19 2012, 01:00 PM
sexbomb
post Jul 19 2012, 01:14 PM

93 posts

so how does LoH works on "way of the hundred fist" ?
if lets say i got 500 LoH, each mini hits = 500 LoH?
or 1 complete cycle = 500 LoH?

lol im guessing the latter but who knows?

tongue.gif

126 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0152sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:26 PM