Hobbies Model Trains (HO, N, O, G scale...), Discuss and share here

judge-the
post May 13 2011, 06:54 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(zafran57 @ May 13 2011, 06:37 PM)
owh, where can i read out for info... i wanna learn..
you can google and you'll come across plenty of forums. anything i'm not sure i'll ask my sifu over here smile.gif
youtube also got many useful videos

like i said earlier don't rush. plan properly smile.gif
judge-the
post May 15 2011, 02:00 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ May 15 2011, 12:20 PM)
hi judge

ive browsed thru thefavoritespot ebay products
really impressive

tempted to buy the acela train set for rm 660.. but the shipping cost is almost half the cost of the train itself lol

and one thingi read is that..
we wont mark down the prices of the product or mark it as a gift
please check with ur country's customs b4 bidding for the product =.=

the set.. plus shipping cost plus dono how much the duty to be imposed by the stupid custom... sigh

wat if u buy for me from nz... ill pay u back plus maybe rm 100 for "shipping cost" ? tongue.gif haha
nz also same like msia but here any package above nz$400 kena pay tax.
shipping cost from us to msia is almost the same as us to nz.

well you are right shipping cost almost half the item price but again like i said, in the end still cheap lah. just search the same item from different seller in us and you can see his price really cheap.

i bought 2 steam engines (us$53+us$61) and shipping cost to nz is $59 and really half of what i paid for 2 steam engines. but still bloody damn cheap compared buying from a shop in nz smile.gif

i don't mind help you get anything you want from here but only 1 thing very sux in nz... cheapest shipping cost to msia only air economy so still expensive. try look here www.trademe.co.nz and search for model railway. sometimes you'll come across really cheap secondhand items

QUOTE(almertfrenzy @ May 15 2011, 01:20 PM)

nice train u got there...need more lanscape, make't beatiful bro...

im just spend for my kids...me to lated...hahhahaha

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
yeah bro very tempted to have landscape lah but i can't. i live in a rented property so i can't do anything "permanently" upstair. also i need space for me to move around. i need to crawl upstair because the height to ceiling from that train base is approx 1m only

that was why i used "paku tekan" to nailed those tracks smile.gif
judge-the
post May 16 2011, 04:19 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Pelindung @ May 15 2011, 09:51 PM)
dang!! judge! no wonder seldom seeing u in TF thread. u been busy here. those r yr train setup.??. dang awesome bro!  thumbup.gif
yup my current setup over here. what to do here hard to get tfs and hottoys so better don't look at them... just concentrate on trains smile.gif

QUOTE(kueks @ May 16 2011, 12:16 AM)
hmmm i tot ur coming back this year ? tongue.gif
therefore shipping cost is reduced? hehe
i'm coming back for hari raya but don't think so i can help anyone this time. traveling with MAS and only got 23kg of luggage. previous trips i traveled with emirates and they gave me 30kg. 23kg really2 very the limited lah boss

QUOTE(almertfrenzy @ May 16 2011, 12:23 AM)
i think just get green carpet likes office always used just enough to make't cool...

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
true also but maybe i'll do some road surface using sand paper smile.gif
judge-the
post May 27 2011, 04:21 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(aruwin @ May 26 2011, 08:08 PM)
I guys I'm really into model train...n I wanna get into this scene...I just wanna ask you guys opinion where can I get a gud begginer set..., how much is a minimum budget for a set...,I'm still a student so cash is quite a issue...really looking forward to u guys answers...
there's a forumer selling a beginner set in streetmart/hobbies collectables. nego with him and he's located at shah alam. just avoid getting set from a shop especially within kl area as you'll end up paying double than market price worldwide.

if you want secondhand look here at www.trademe.co.nz and i don't mind helping you send it back to msia but please take note cheapest shipping option available in nz only air economy so everything goes by weight and not cheap though

this is a good beginner set

or this one (personally i get this one if i have extra $$$ as the accs alone worth more than $100)

This post has been edited by judge-the: May 27 2011, 08:56 AM
judge-the
post May 31 2011, 05:11 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(aruwin @ May 30 2011, 07:49 PM)
Bro I can't find. The forumer tat sold the train in streetmart.....can I have the url
here it is but the set sold out already. now he's selling only 1 diesel locomotive and 3rd radius curved tracks

Added on June 1, 2011, 3:04 pmspam some pics again smile.gif
some of the new locos on my layout.

i think this one got 1 at kajang komuter station

2 new steam engines and very2 nice! only runs on 22" radius onwards or hornby 3rd radius

layout changed again smile.gif

This post has been edited by judge-the: Jun 1 2011, 03:04 PM
judge-the
post Jun 2 2011, 10:42 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Jun 2 2011, 01:29 AM)
eh
forum rollback ?

where is my previous post
have you got the beginner set yet?
judge-the
post Jun 2 2011, 01:48 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Jun 2 2011, 01:25 PM)
haven
waiting for him to pm me the price and pics
then i let u know ok tongue.gif
haha

i email dai kong.. but he never reply me... sigh

judge~ i've emailed u tongue.gif
okok sorry tongue.gif
for me i would deal with daikong compared to another shop in kl. call him straight lah don't email much faster.

but his shop very weird one must make appointment before going. when i was there first time, kesian his daughter kena marah by the father because she let us in into the shop and she was alone. but i came with my wife and 2 kids so don't think so we will rob the shop
judge-the
post Jun 6 2011, 11:55 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Pelindung @ Jun 4 2011, 11:12 PM)
walauweh!! awesome gila bro!! drool.gif
biasa2 only lah smile.gif

just came back from a friend's place who's a DCC master. damn need to switch over to digitrax control system soon!
judge-the
post Jun 6 2011, 05:10 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Jun 6 2011, 04:55 PM)
hmmm judge
may i ask how much investment u made to ur train set? tongue.gif
haha

hobby related stuff is really super expensive
hohoho don't want to count lah
judge-the
post Jun 7 2011, 04:48 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Duke Beard @ Jun 6 2011, 05:24 PM)
Awesome, add some landscaping would be SUPER awesome!
can't do any landscaping right now... living in rented property so can't have permanent setup. will continue working on my own layout in seremban when i'm back for raya holiday smile.gif

Added on July 8, 2011, 5:13 ambro kueks, where's your set? smile.gif

added some buildings/structures on my layout recently

This post has been edited by judge-the: Jul 8 2011, 05:13 AM
judge-the
post Jan 2 2012, 07:25 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(RX-78 @ Nov 13 2011, 11:35 PM)
hi guys, very tempted to jump into this hobby. but its hard to find train shop around kl.   sad.gif
true... very rare in kl and prices also crazy - almost triple comparing to what i can get in nz

QUOTE(3AAA @ Nov 25 2011, 07:52 PM)
I got a really quick glance so I'm not so sure, but I think there's a shop at The Mines shopping mall that sells train sets. It is beside X-Cut saloon. there's a lot of vehicle diecast in that shop.
will check it out next month when i'm back in kl

some updates/changes done on my layout smile.gif

my overall humble layout

bought this one secondhand last weekend and it came with 4 coaches. like it so much but too bad the other 2 coaches kept derailing due to small/tight radius on the upper level tracks

maintenance/engine shed

This post has been edited by judge-the: Jan 2 2012, 07:37 AM

judge-the
post May 31 2012, 12:04 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(RX-78 @ May 8 2012, 07:08 PM)
if i begin my 1st rail with roco locomotive, is it possible to me to combine with other brands of locomotive? such bachmann?
i'm using MRC prodigy advance 2 DCC controller on my layout. my locomotives (all are american) are from bachmann, intermountain, atlas, proto 2000 and a few very old DC engines which i had converted them to DCC by myself. all are working fine on my MRC controller, no problem at all. 1 of the problem you might encounter will be different types of coupler but it can be easily customized/fixed.

again, it all depends on your preferences such as type of diesels and their era. as for me i'm not so particular about era, i'm more concern with the price! these days i'll buy cheap good DC engines and convert them to DCC and also adding sound by myself, more fun!

right now i'm setting up my small layout at home, very small because doesn't have any space unlike what i had previously in auckland. more train items are on its way backhome here hopefully by end of june. anyone by any chance passing through seremban is always welcome to drop by my place here and we can talk about trains smile.gif
judge-the
post Jun 1 2012, 04:40 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Funderland @ May 31 2012, 05:25 PM)
wao! it's very interesting to heard from you about all the trains..if i pass by seremban, hope can drop by your place to have a look.
Hope all your train items arrived safety and perfectly by end of june, then I can have a look. Haha...

By the way, my shop will have a opening at Paradigm Mall, 2nd floor, lot 6 at 1st July...Hope you can come then we can talk about trains...wakakak

Added on June 1, 2012, 12:27 pmuser posted image

how you guys feel about this train station?
everything still on a flat surface... very small layout... noob layout. just pm me if you are at seremban
i ran out of space to put my trains on the layout smile.gif

will drop by soon at your shop, need some materials

hmmm... faller train's platform?
judge-the
post Jun 4 2012, 12:33 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Funderland @ Jun 2 2012, 12:30 PM)
Yes, is faller trains platform...how you know? haha....

faller products are very nice but pricey too. i bought some secondhand platforms recently, got them very cheap. those that in your pic are a little bit new/modern

hope can see these 2 pics in my attachment. 2 of my favorites locomotives, kato sd70

This post has been edited by VincC454: Jun 12 2012, 09:19 PM

judge-the
post Jun 5 2012, 04:25 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Funderland @ Jun 5 2012, 02:43 PM)
Faller is one of my favorite also. Don't worry, you can still find some with cheaper price.
Or you can directly buy the scenery also, can save some money.

Those locomotives is digital or analogue? Look so nice!
both locomotives are powered and digital too... using digitrax decoders. i don't run analogue smile.gif

i did a kibri warehouse 4 months ago and i think kibri is much more precise and easier to built than faller. either way both faller and kibri are good products

judge-the
post Jun 9 2012, 07:18 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Funderland @ Jun 7 2012, 04:56 PM)
I agree with you, both are good product, but as my opinion I prefer Faller because of the detail...haha...
By the way, hope can visit your place to see your trains someday.. drool.gif
sure can visit but my layout still on flat surface no real landscape yet... not enough space to put everything on the layout. my remaining items should be arriving by end of next week, don't know how much kastam will tax those personal collections

i'm not so particular about roadnames and era... too me price is always number one. that's why if you look at the attached pic, i have various roadnames

This post has been edited by judge-the: Jun 9 2012, 07:36 PM

judge-the
post Jun 11 2012, 11:38 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jun 11 2012, 12:46 AM)
Hello Guys,

Very Interesting to know there are many train modellers in Malaysia. It is also my hobby. At present i have a OO gauge model from Hornby, Bachmann Branchline. Mine is DCC (Hornby).

Im planning to start a 11 x 7 feet layout. At present mine is 6 x 4 feet (all ready dismantle most of it to start the new lay out).
To all you bros out there who wants to buy train models (the whole works!) biggrin.gif . My advise is go to Ebay. There price there is very much cheaper.
Cheers

M.Ravendran

(Feel free to drop a few notes in my email - mrave07@gamail.com)
11'x7' is a nice size can play around with many things. as for me i can't do anything at home yet, not enough space and got some pantang too, can't cut wood and can't drill holes till nov
judge-the
post Jun 11 2012, 11:59 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Funderland @ Jun 11 2012, 11:53 AM)
yes, I saw it. you had a lot of model trains...haha..by the way, how you shit your items back to malaysia? using ships or plane?

Added on June 11, 2012, 11:54 am
thanks mrave07...can you show some photo of your layout?

Added on June 11, 2012, 11:56 am
now i saw it..haha...watching your youtube video~ drool.gif
all my precious locomotives were checked-in into my flight when i flew back here last month. don't wanna take any risk at all.

the rest are all on the ship... shipping company told me should be arriving today at port klang but so far still nothing
judge-the
post Jun 11 2012, 12:10 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(Funderland @ Jun 11 2012, 12:02 PM)
have you check with the shipping company?
the local agent at port klang will let me know once my cargo is here. my main concern now is the tax since i have so many train items... even though all those are my personal collection they will still find a way to tax them
judge-the
post Jun 11 2012, 01:50 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(yamyinhao @ Jun 11 2012, 01:09 PM)
congrat bro , i need so more information and advice before i really start to setup 1 set .

Added on June 11, 2012, 1:10 pmby the way do u guy think  buy from s'pore is much more cheaper compare to buy in malaysia or ebay
ebay does can get very cheap but again shipping also expensive unless you do combine shipping

QUOTE(zerouzer @ Jun 11 2012, 01:14 PM)
wow thats awesome stuff.. how much do you reckon you paid for all of that? newb here..
try invest/spend a little bit more and get a DCC setup... after that you don't have to upgrade anymore. but do pick carefully as some DCC controller have limitations on number of locomotives can run simultaneously

my humble layout... still very basic

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0344sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:02 PM