Hobbies Model Trains (HO, N, O, G scale...), Discuss and share here
long7444
Sep 15 2006, 07:52 AM
I got 2 train sets at home, both hornby, 1 is the High speed train, one is the country railway (just the description, can't remember the name). I bought those 2 sets when i was in Ireland for about 150 Euro (around RM800). never tried it fully but i know 1 model is not properly working. Came with tracks that if i'm not mistaken can grow to a very good design.
Problem is right now i don't have time or space to built it. The pic i saw is just the right picture that i imagine i want the model to be. Probably after i moved into my new house next few months i will have time and space.
yitjuan
Sep 15 2006, 08:48 AM
oooh ... this reminds me of the Lego trainsets !!! those were fun to play with ... any average guy(with half an intelligence) can spend hours fiddling around while the train(s) ran around and around.
alanyuppie
Sep 15 2006, 10:15 AM
this hobby demand alot of space there, not juz $. the finished landscape and rail system are permanent and in one piece, rite? i'm a train fan too.. tats why i opt for LEGO train. when free, built liao, enjoy, then dismantle de tracks to clear up space. here's one of the railway I done last year (see how it took up half my room space!)
TS3AAA
Sep 15 2006, 08:24 PM

Here's a pic of my train and also some tracks that was not used, after detaching the model that I've built. I was thinking of selling it since I needed money but now I have second thought because I like this train very much.  the long tracks are flexible track.
tsg
Sep 15 2006, 08:28 PM
super cool train,arghh u need space 2 see em in action..rm300 is good price...how big is the scale eh?
alanyuppie
Sep 16 2006, 11:40 AM
those curve tracks doesn't seem to be curvy. wondering how much space it would take to make a 180 degree turn tracks.
TS3AAA
Sep 16 2006, 12:00 PM

For HO scale, if making a complete circle with the curve tracks, the diameter is like the width of a single bed (bed for 1 person). If use the flex track, can make alot sharper curve.
This post has been edited by 3AAA: Sep 16 2006, 12:21 PM
alanyuppie
Sep 16 2006, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(3AAA @ Sep 16 2006, 01:00 PM) For HO scale, if making a complete circle with the curve tracks, the diameter is like the width of a single bed (bed for 1 person). If use the flex track, can make alot sharper curve. sharper curve = easier for the train to derail lo hehe..
zolarius
Nov 3 2006, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(3AAA @ Jan 20 2006, 11:25 PM) Just wondering if any forumer here are in to model trains. Below is a simple incomplete model that I've built about 2 years ago. It is HO scale train.  The grass is made out of bits of wood (pencil sharpener left over) taken from pencil sharpener. The house was made out of cereal box, designed using a real house plan. Almost everything is self made. If anyone have model set of there own, please feel free to share pics here. [COLOR=red]Guys,
You can pay a visit to MY TRAINS at PLAZA IDAMAN, GOMBAK, this building is not far away from ONG TAI KIM's building and very near to DANAU KOTA. Seller's contact no is 019 2610512, SMS him and he'll call you back. This shop sells model trains, die cast cars / helicopters / motorbikes and some TAMIYA mini 4WD. Theres a layout with two trains running on a 4X8 feet playwood.
Rgds.
TS3AAA
Nov 22 2006, 01:53 PM

I managed to assemble using almost all the tracks that I have so that it fits in my bedroom floor:  . This post has been edited by 3AAA: Nov 22 2006, 01:54 PM
zolarius
Nov 25 2006, 01:24 PM
[COLOR=red]3AAA,
Nice layout but it will be better if you can place it on a plywood (size that fits your bed underneath) with four rollers, so that you can move it in and out just like a drawer, this will save you space and time assembling and disassembling it, but of course it wl be smaller than your existing layout.
[COLOR=red]Rgds.
TS3AAA
Nov 28 2006, 09:21 PM

QUOTE(zolarius @ Nov 25 2006, 01:24 PM) [COLOR=red]3AAA, Nice layout but it will be better if you can place it on a plywood (size that fits your bed underneath) with four rollers, so that you can move it in and out just like a drawer, this will save you space and time assembling and disassembling it, but of course it wl be smaller than your existing layout. [COLOR=red]Rgds. good idea. and if I place the tracks with nails on playwood, then can build some flyovers
aztechx
Dec 13 2006, 01:39 PM
i remember seeing two marklin shops..sells train models...one is in ampang..the other one cant remember where..try surfing for marklin...
Dekoyy
Mar 28 2007, 12:10 PM
Try visiting www.ktmrailwayfan.com its a malaysian railway enthusiast club. They even have a railway modeling committee.
Ka Ken
Mar 29 2007, 08:47 PM
Hi 3AAA,
It's nice to see ppl who are interested in this hobby.In fact I have a set of these HO Scale by Life Like model.
As space was an issue,it was never fully built but I have several train engines from the modern one till the old time tea kettle.Apart from that I also the Like like buildings..
I still wonder where can i get hold of these as they are no longer selling in the malaysian market.
zolarius
Dec 28 2007, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(Ka Ken @ Mar 29 2007, 09:47 PM) Hi 3AAA, It's nice to see ppl who are interested in this hobby.In fact I have a set of these HO Scale by Life Like model. As space was an issue,it was never fully built but I have several train engines from the modern one till the old time tea kettle.Apart from that I also the Like like buildings.. I still wonder where can i get hold of these as they are no longer selling in the malaysian market. For HO buildings etc. contact me at 019 2610512 or zolarius@tm.net.my, I may be able to help you or other people who are interested in model trains especially in HO scale. Zol.
darkcurves
Apr 7 2009, 03:15 AM
burunghantu
Apr 7 2009, 09:00 AM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Mar 24 2006, 08:34 AM) so anyone know any shops around somewhere in kl? the one that given earlier is in subang... there is a shop that sells mostly european train set models in Jalan Maharajalela, near Dewan Bahasa & Pustaka, KL you may browse the website Dai Kongalternatively if you need guidance, please visit KTM Railwayfan Forumsome of my collections,  from L-R, Bachmann China DF11, DF4B, DF4D and Mehano Blue Tiger, all in HO scale
musang702000
Apr 8 2009, 06:53 PM
wa....nice trains u have arr..burunghantu... i m also lookin for the blue tiger...how much u bought tat one arr?