Hobbies Model Trains (HO, N, O, G scale...), Discuss and share here

zolarius
post Nov 3 2006, 11:04 AM

QUOTE(3AAA @ Jan 20 2006, 11:25 PM)
Just wondering if any forumer here are in to model trains.

Below is a simple incomplete model that I've built about 2 years ago. It is HO scale train.

The grass is made out of bits of wood (pencil sharpener left over) taken from pencil sharpener.
The house was made out of cereal box, designed using a real house plan.
Almost everything is self made.
If anyone have model set of there own, please feel free to share pics here.
[COLOR=red]Guys,

You can pay a visit to MY TRAINS at PLAZA IDAMAN, GOMBAK, this building is not far away from ONG TAI KIM's building and very near to DANAU KOTA. Seller's contact no is 019 2610512, SMS him and he'll call you back. This shop sells model trains, die cast cars / helicopters / motorbikes and some TAMIYA mini 4WD. Theres a layout with two trains running on a 4X8 feet playwood.

Rgds.

zolarius
post Nov 25 2006, 01:24 PM

[COLOR=red]3AAA,

Nice layout but it will be better if you can place it on a plywood (size that fits your bed underneath) with four rollers, so that you can move it in and out just like a drawer, this will save you space and time assembling and disassembling it, but of course it wl be smaller than your existing layout.

[COLOR=red]Rgds.
zolarius
post Dec 28 2007, 04:34 PM

QUOTE(Ka Ken @ Mar 29 2007, 09:47 PM)
Hi 3AAA,

It's nice to see ppl who are interested in this hobby.In fact I have a set of these HO Scale by Life Like model.

As space was an issue,it was never fully built but I have several train engines from the modern one till the old time tea kettle.Apart from that I also the Like like buildings..

I still wonder where can i get hold of these as they are no longer selling in the malaysian market.
For HO buildings etc. contact me at 019 2610512 or zolarius@tm.net.my, I may be able to help you or other people who are interested in model trains especially in HO scale.

Zol.
zolarius
post Oct 13 2009, 10:06 PM

QUOTE(musang702000 @ Apr 26 2009, 05:09 PM)
with utusan malaysia add, nst and harian metro(erra fazira pic)...tanjung malim station hahah
Musang...where is your location?

Added on October 13, 2009, 10:47 pmDoes anybody want to sell his train set/s at a very reasonable price, my friend wants only one set for this coming Christmas. Price, scale and brand he will consider.

Please contact me at 0192610512

This post has been edited by zolarius: Oct 13 2009, 10:47 PM
zolarius
post Dec 13 2009, 07:24 PM

QUOTE(martynemh @ Nov 21 2009, 12:26 PM)
Anyone else in Malaysia who has Gauge O railway?
Yes, I have LIONEL's 'O' gauge and ROCO's 'Om' gauge.

This post has been edited by zolarius: Dec 13 2009, 07:26 PM
zolarius
post Jun 13 2012, 09:25 AM

QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jun 12 2012, 06:44 PM)
Most of this models using NEM couplings

Added on June 12, 2012, 8:30 pm
Hi there,

You got a nice layout there. How do u control your motorpoints?

Wish can see your layout.
Hi Mrave/Judge,

I would also like to join for the teh tarik, if you don't mind. I'm at Setapak/Danau Kota.

My layout is not fully ready but operational on a 4'X8' plywood . I'm currently using ECOS system by ESU which can control both Marklin and DCC systems.

Why I use both systems, its because the locos that I like are made by different manufacturers.

Motor points can be controlled with 12 - 15 volts AC power supply, the transformer we can get from Pasar Road from RM20 depending on how many amperes the output current is.

Zol.

This post has been edited by zolarius: Jun 13 2012, 09:42 AM
zolarius
post Jun 13 2012, 09:45 AM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jun 13 2012, 10:39 AM)
esu dcc sound decoder sounds really good and also super expensive! a friend of mine only buy esu sound decoder for his locomotives smile.gif

i'm at seremban and working at tg malim. weekend only go back to seremban. maybe on my way back can stop over somewhere near kl for teh tarik
Wah jauhnye!!!.

OK give me a call at 0192610512 whenever you're in KL.

Abg Zol.
zolarius
post Jun 14 2012, 06:09 PM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jun 13 2012, 10:39 AM)
esu dcc sound decoder sounds really good and also super expensive! a friend of mine only buy esu sound decoder for his locomotives smile.gif

i'm at seremban and working at tg malim. weekend only go back to seremban. maybe on my way back can stop over somewhere near kl for teh tarik
Yes it is expensive...but when I compared with Marklin's Central Station #60215 at Subang Jaya's T N T shop...the price is about RM5K + ...The ECOS that I bought is about RM3K from Germany (hand carry).

I think ESU's sound decoder is one of the best except the one installed in my Blue Tiger (factory fitted by MEHANO) the sound is not loud enough for my ears...

Let me know when and where can we meet this weekend, if possible...

Added on June 14, 2012, 6:11 pm
QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jun 13 2012, 03:58 PM)
For a starter .... look for Hornby R1126 Mixed Freight DCC digital train set - incs 2 locos & wagons - GBP 170.

Hornby R1126 Mixed Freight DCC digital train set includes 2 locos wagons and digital controller.

The easy and effective way of entering the digital world of model railways.

The powerful 0-6-0 tank locomotive can make easy work of the four wagons included in this set. The Select control unit can be allocated with up to 60 locomotives and 38 points or operating accessories and is therefore ideally suited to those wish to build on this train set and gradually create a fully functioning layout.

The MidiMat included with this set can certainly help with the development of a functioning model railway with extensions being made easy with the addition of extra track packs and building packs.

Contents:

BR 0-6-0 diesel-electric Class 08
    BR 0-6-0T Class J83 locomotive
    Vent Van, Tanker and two wagons
    Oval track and Track Pack A
    TrakMat 1800mm x 1200mm
    Hornby Select Digital Controller
    Wall Mounted Power Unit
    DCC Ready: DCC Fitted
http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MjYwWDMzNA==/�...dnMw~~60_12.JPG
Cheers  smile.gif

Added on June 14, 2012, 1:29 am
Maybe you can borrow me one of your digitrax n-scale decoder to try on my lococs (if you dont mind). If ok i want to get for my locos in future.

Cheers  smile.gif
Ravi, nice talking with you last night...hope to see you this weekend...

This post has been edited by zolarius: Jun 14 2012, 06:11 PM
zolarius
post Jun 15 2012, 03:38 PM

QUOTE(judge-the @ Jun 15 2012, 02:05 PM)
could you change the speaker in your blue tiger? the first time i heard that esu sound decoder it was like... damn i want one too but when looked at the price tag, us100 each for 1 single sound decoder+a small tiny speaker... tak jadi already. but whoever out there if have extra budget, should try get one
I've emoved the decoder/speaker and put it in a different loco, the sound is excellent, then I realised that the chamfer/speaker housing at the metal body of the loco is very shallow, very little space for the sound to resonate. But at least ada some noise la!.

Judge, if you're stopping in KL today for few hours, SMS me 0192610512, Zol.

This post has been edited by zolarius: Jun 15 2012, 03:42 PM
zolarius
post Jun 16 2012, 10:31 PM

[quote=judge-the,Jun 16 2012, 08:23 PM]
Yes for a start lets list down our friends info (Train Modellers - biggrin.gif )
1. M.Ravendran (Ampang) - 017-2644886
2. Judge (Tg Malim/Seremban)- 019-6700969
3. Zol - Setapak, KL - 0192610512
zolarius
post Jun 17 2012, 10:08 PM

QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jun 17 2012, 07:46 PM)
My Hornby Class 9F trashing on the sideline and my new Bachmann Class 66 on mainline on the Hornby and Peco 3 way point tracks.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vLl3nqJ8bwQ&feature=youtu.be
Cheers  smile.gif
Wow semua passengers sure headache and muntah..train is so fast..great video Ravi..

This post has been edited by zolarius: Jun 17 2012, 10:09 PM
zolarius
post Jun 18 2012, 07:39 PM

QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jun 18 2012, 12:31 AM)
hehehe ... jus nak test the 3 way point peco track je .... because most of the steam loco derail kat point .... this loco ok je ... so gian nak test the maximum speed.
cheers  smile.gif
My steam loco sure derail punya kalau laju2..yours is well balanced lah..jeles betul..

Added on June 18, 2012, 7:42 pm
QUOTE(Funderland @ Jun 18 2012, 11:42 AM)
Yes for a start lets list down our friends info (Train Modellers -  biggrin.gif )
1.  M.Ravendran (Ampang) - 017-2644886
Yes. We do have landscape and ballast....

Added on June 18, 2012, 10:43 am
QUOTE(zolarius @ Jun 16 2012, 10:31 PM)
Yes for a start lets list down our friends info (Train Modellers -  biggrin.gif )
1.  M.Ravendran (Ampang) - 017-2644886
2. Judge (Tg Malim/Seremban)- 019-6700969
3. Zol - Setapak, KL - 0192610512
4. Funderland - 0173847043

nama dah bagi..
nombor dah bagi..
alamat dah bagi..
teh tarik bila lagi..

This post has been edited by zolarius: Jun 18 2012, 07:42 PM
zolarius
post Jun 26 2012, 10:41 PM

QUOTE(Funderland @ Jun 25 2012, 01:50 PM)
very informative...TQ.

Added on June 26, 2012, 10:45 pm
QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jun 25 2012, 06:40 PM)
Hi bro ... when ur going back to Seremban drop by lah .(Weekend le) From ...... Tg Malim .......> Plus Highway ........ >Duke highway ......> MMR2 ..... > Ampang  (Teh tarik) .......>MRR2 ....... >Sban-KL Highway ...... >back to your home.
Cheers  smile.gif
A'ah good idea...I've no problem...kalau tak kerja I'll confirm with you this coming Friday...

Added on June 26, 2012, 10:51 pm
QUOTE(xfrenzy @ Jun 23 2012, 08:56 PM)
I have a few Thomas and friends track master sets, I know it's not as cool as those train models you have.
I am wondering where can I find those coupling replacement parts locally ?
Appreciate your replies.
bro, I started with C size battery operated train...still keep the train... don't worry whether cool or not, for as long as it is train its ok with me...please can you upload the photo of the coupling...I'll try to look in by drawer...kalau ada you are lucky...kalau takda bo luck lah...

This post has been edited by zolarius: Jun 26 2012, 10:56 PM
zolarius
post Jun 27 2012, 11:30 PM

QUOTE(Funderland @ Jun 27 2012, 03:54 PM)
you're welcome...c size battery operated train? like this one?
i remember i had one before, but dunno where i put it already
its black steam loco with few carriages and black plastic tracks, dont know where I put it.

Added on June 27, 2012, 11:32 pm
QUOTE(judge-the @ Jun 27 2012, 03:44 PM)
all my boxes are currently backhome. lucky... no tax smile.gif
this weekend will be very busy. need to redo my layout because too many things can't fit everything
you buat I jeles jeles jeles!!!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by zolarius: Jun 27 2012, 11:32 PM
zolarius
post Jun 29 2012, 11:50 PM

QUOTE(wckan @ Jun 28 2012, 12:19 PM)
Hi Judge,

I used smd led 2mm, bi-pin led 3mm i left few pieces which i bought from bandar puteri puchong, but the colour look not so real as smd, if u want i can give it to u. seremban i think a little bit hard to search for this, especially warm white 3mm led. i stayed in melaka.
how much for one piece of 2mm LED?

Added on June 30, 2012, 12:02 am
QUOTE(wckan @ Jun 28 2012, 09:30 AM)
Good day to all, I am new here, so happy to see in M'sia we do have the same passion for railroad model.
Attached is my Delta Marklin loco I bought from Trains and Toys last year, and I replaced the decoder with Marklin mSd decoder which I bought from ebay, together I replaced the top headlight from original yellow LED to warm white LED. Enjoy!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DGvxLlcS9Uw
how much is the Marklin's mSd? I bought ESU's sound decoder about 90 Euro each.

Added on June 30, 2012, 12:07 am
QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jun 28 2012, 04:02 AM)
Congrats bro ...... btw can i try u dcc digitrax decoder on my hornby train .... 8 pin decoder?
nanti kita boleh try ESU punya sound decoder during our teh tarik session, its 8 pin.

This post has been edited by zolarius: Jun 30 2012, 12:07 AM
zolarius
post Jul 1 2012, 09:12 AM

QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jun 30 2012, 08:27 PM)
how much is the Marklin's mSd? I bought ESU's sound decoder about 90 Euro each.
nanti kita boleh try ESU punya sound decoder during our teh tarik session, its 8 pin.
Is this sound decoder universal? Compatible with any  model?
yes, compatible with any model, mine is european electric decoder that can go in with any plug n play socket, I mean the standard NMRA, it comes complete with speaker.
zolarius
post Jul 1 2012, 06:40 PM

QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jul 1 2012, 06:41 PM)
My new layout plan
[attachmentid=2923722]
nice nice nice, will it be full dc, dcc or both?
zolarius
post Jul 2 2012, 09:14 PM

QUOTE(wckan @ Jul 2 2012, 02:47 PM)
The mSd decoder cost 99USD, and shipping cost 9USD, total = 108USD.
The 2mm SMD LED I bought from mudah, 20pcs, RM1/pc and shipping RM5.
Tks for the info Kan.

Added on July 2, 2012, 9:17 pm
QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jul 2 2012, 06:57 PM)

Brader Zol ....... Ur Blue Tiger tu 2 rail or 3 rail ?  DC or DCC ? Sound ?    I thought of getting 1 from the ebay. I want to see ur BT ...... leh ke?
Cheers  smile.gif
boleh, mine is a 2 rail DCC with sound, will bring it with me when we meet at Ampang Point one day, hopefully this week.

This post has been edited by zolarius: Jul 2 2012, 09:17 PM
zolarius
post Jul 3 2012, 07:11 PM

QUOTE(Funderland @ Jul 3 2012, 06:20 PM)
Wow!!! sexy looking blue set, how much is the above set?

Can we connect Lokmaus 2 mouse to this set?.

This post has been edited by zolarius: Jul 3 2012, 07:12 PM
zolarius
post Jul 5 2012, 08:09 PM

QUOTE(mrave07 @ Jul 4 2012, 12:32 AM)
Bro Zol ... I dun understd ........ feel greek 2 me.   Pls explain.
Cheers  smile.gif
please refer below as explained by FUNDERLAND.

Added on July 5, 2012, 8:09 pm
QUOTE(Funderland @ Jul 4 2012, 07:20 PM)
Do you mean can it connect to 2 controller? Yes, it can. According to ROCO, the amplifier provides 2 direct connections (master & slave) for a multiMAUS and e.g. another mouse. The amplifier prepares the 'Master mouse' data for running and switching operation. The track output delivers 3.2A. Other multiMAUS devies, RoutesControls or the interface with RocoMotion can only be connected on the 'slave' output.
Thanks FUNDERLAND.

This post has been edited by zolarius: Jul 5 2012, 08:11 PM

0.0293sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:17 PM