129 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V16, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 24 2012, 03:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Jul 24 2012, 02:25 PM)
If you're interested now is the best time to get them the following codes will knock off RM446 from retail.

Hope the above helps!  biggrin.gif
Thanks for sharing notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 24 2012, 03:31 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pandaman @ Jul 24 2012, 02:12 PM)
Hello Sifu [P.F] T.J.

1. Preferred Brand - Dell/Lenovo
2. Budget - under 2k to 3k
3. Usage - Movie HD, A little Gaming, and AutoCad Inventor
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14" or above

I have been following your posts for a while and i can see that you recommend Dell Inspiron 15R SE and Dell Inspiron 14R SE to most people with my budget and usage. What is the difference between the two besides the screen size? Which graphic card is better?

And i also noticed that you mentioned Lenovo Y480 in one of the posts. This model is better than the dell mentioned above?

I need a new laptop soon as i have to return my company laptop soon.

Thanks in advance sifu!
I thought I always recommend the Y480 for those with your budget range? brows.gif
I'm not sure what is AutoCad Inventor.. but I guess it all boils down to whether you prefer a FullHD screen + good warranty support (15R SE) or a stronger GPU + cheaper price + lighter (Y480)
+Newbie+
post Jul 24 2012, 03:31 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Jul 24 2012, 01:11 AM)
I have the exact dilemma as you (want full HD screen + light gaming + multimedia). I choose the Dell 15R with FHD + 32GB SSD Caching (RM3199). Now with coupon code Z0X576K3W513S? you can save up to RM300, around 2.9k can get. I am buying in two weeks smile.gif

The BSOD of dell is because of the graphics driver, can be solved by updating.

Why I chose Dell 15R SE over Lenovo Y580 and Asus?
-Full HD screen (Asus need 3599 which is too much for me, Lenovo rumoured to have soon, 3699)
-Decent GPU even though not as powerful, but enough
-32GB SSD caching improving overall performance
-Cheapest among all yet suits the criteria I want
-Best warranty and after sales service

I don't play games too much so 7730M is okay for me, maybe overkill too. FHD Asus N56 is too much for me as well as lenovo. Well this is just my personal opinion due to my restricted budget smile.gif
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 24 2012, 10:46 AM)
+1, my vote goes to the Inspiron 15R SE as well.. its quite cheap for the specs it offers~
The AMD HD7730M is not bad too, more than enough for simple gaming~
Anyway, here's a review on the unit: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Dell-I...ok.78323.0.html
Thanks for the feedback, guys!!

And thanks for the coupon code!! smile.gif

Yeah, I have the same feelings as well regarding the Dells.

Is the BSOD issue really resolved? I saw the SE thread still talking about it and sending lappies in for replacement.

Any feedback on owning and using one on a daily basis?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 24 2012, 03:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jul 24 2012, 02:45 PM)
Asking for a friend smile.gif

1. Preferred Brand : Dell (No Acer)
2. Budget : Rm2k below
3. Usage : Photoshop, so if can get an i5 would be nice
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14" preferably. If can get something light and slim is a bonus.
Hello desktop sifu notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
If your friend is willing to go for a 13" notebook + nice and slim, then can consider the Vostro V131 nod.gif
Dell
Vostro V131, i3-2350M + Intel HD3000@RM1799[1.82kg], 4GB, 320GB(7200rpm), anti-glare, W7HB, colors: silver/red
Vostro V131, i5-2450M + Intel HD3000@RM1999[1.82kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), anti-glare, W7HB, colors: silver/red

The processor is Sandy Bridge though. Its not easy to get Ivy Bridge for that price range.

Omitting slim/ light, then:
Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm)
Dell Vostro 3450 (SB), i5-2450M + AMD HD6630M@RM2099, 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm)

Other brand:
Asus A45Vm-VX113v, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2099[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP

-kytz-
post Jul 24 2012, 03:42 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 24 2012, 03:35 PM)
Hello desktop sifu  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
If your friend is willing to go for a 13" notebook + nice and slim, then can consider the Vostro V131 nod.gif
Dell
Vostro V131, i3-2350M + Intel HD3000@RM1799[1.82kg], 4GB, 320GB(7200rpm), anti-glare, W7HB, colors: silver/red
Vostro V131, i5-2450M + Intel HD3000@RM1999[1.82kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), anti-glare, W7HB, colors: silver/red

The processor is Sandy Bridge though. Its not easy to get Ivy Bridge for that price range.

Omitting slim/ light, then:
Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm)
Dell Vostro 3450 (SB), i5-2450M + AMD HD6630M@RM2099, 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm)

Other brand:
Asus A45Vm-VX113v, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M (2GB)@RM2099[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
Thanks!

The 14R looks interesting. Any discount coupons? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jul 24 2012, 03:45 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 24 2012, 03:57 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jul 24 2012, 03:42 PM)
Thanks!

The 14R looks interesting. Any discount coupons? biggrin.gif
Try the ones shared by aaronpang above?
Or you could just bargain online with Dell sales agents or deal with putochip123 nod.gif

Pandaman
post Jul 24 2012, 04:02 PM

251 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 24 2012, 03:31 PM)
I thought I always recommend the Y480 for those with your budget range? brows.gif
I'm not sure what is AutoCad Inventor.. but I guess it all boils down to whether you prefer a FullHD screen + good warranty support (15R SE) or a stronger GPU + cheaper price + lighter (Y480)
Yes, thanks sifu!. I shall make my decision soon. I will make a trip to computer shops to take a closer look at these laptops. biggrin.gif
badboy_lun
post Jul 24 2012, 09:15 PM

126 posts

I am looking for an i7 laptop, price range around 3k, preferable screen size is from 15.6" to 17", 17 is optional, hehe. Looking for a good cooling system and comfortable keyboard. THANKS! smile.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 24 2012, 09:19 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(badboy_lun @ Jul 24 2012, 09:15 PM)
I am looking for an i7 laptop, price range around 3k, preferable screen size is from 15.6" to 17", 17 is optional, hehe. Looking for a good cooling system and comfortable keyboard. THANKS! smile.gif
Mind sharing your usage?
Why would you like an i7 processor? hmm.gif
ic3rock
post Jul 24 2012, 10:35 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

After psycho by few friends and sifu here, i decided to top up my budget to Rm2k to get 3rd gen i5. Currently in my mind is Asus A45Vm-VX113v, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M (2GB), DellInspiron 14R, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M, Asus A55VD-VX260V/262V/286V, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT610M and Dell Inspiron 15R, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M. Which 1 worth the $$?
badboy_lun
post Jul 24 2012, 10:54 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 24 2012, 09:19 PM)
Mind sharing your usage?
Why would you like an i7 processor?  hmm.gif
My friend want it, he just like i7, maybe for not so high requirement games, because he's not heavy gamer. He have been look into Asus Zenbook i3.
So i think around 3k just a budget for him
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 24 2012, 11:02 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Jul 24 2012, 10:35 PM)
After psycho by few friends and sifu here, i decided to top up my budget to Rm2k to get 3rd gen i5. Currently in my mind is Asus A45Vm-VX113v, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M (2GB), DellInspiron 14R, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M, Asus A55VD-VX260V/262V/286V, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT610M and Dell Inspiron 15R, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M. Which 1 worth the $$?
Psycho abit more:
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2199[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm); backlit keyboard optional

Try using the RM200 voucher brows.gif
if it works, then its definitely better than all the ones you've mentioned in terms of gaming performance icon_rolleyes.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 24 2012, 11:05 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(badboy_lun @ Jul 24 2012, 10:54 PM)
My friend want it, he just like i7, maybe for not so high requirement games, because he's not heavy gamer. He have been look into Asus Zenbook i3.
So i think around 3k just a budget for him
Abit redundant, since i7-powered laptops are rarely not hot laugh.gif

15"
Asus A55VM-SX038V, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT630M@RM3099, 6GB, 750GB, W7HP

Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB,backlit keyboard optional

HP Pavillion M6-1006tx, i7-3612QM + AMD HD7670M@RM2999[Beats], 4GB,750GB(5400rpm), W7HP

My vote goes to the 15R SE because of the Full HD screen as well as the faster mSATA HDD~ keyboard is based on those chiclet buttons found in Vostro units- ergonomic and accurate to type on~
But it can get hot too tongue.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Jul 24 2012, 11:08 PM
ic3rock
post Jul 24 2012, 11:20 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jul 24 2012, 11:02 PM)
Psycho abit more:
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2199[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm); backlit keyboard optional

Try using the RM200 voucher brows.gif
if it works, then its definitely better than all the ones you've mentioned in terms of gaming performance icon_rolleyes.gif
Haha, saw this model too. The backlit keyboard is about the same like Alienware's keyboard which have light? Too bad now I at SG le, don't think Dell provide international delivery... hmm.gif
vernon91
post Jul 25 2012, 12:12 AM

Maki-chan
4,549 posts

Hi ppl, helping friend to look for a notebook recommendation,

1 Budget - around 1.5k to 1.8k
2. Usage - daily usage not for gaming
3. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14" or above
4. one important factor must be light weight

Fibre123
post Jul 25 2012, 01:47 AM

Now I'm thinking to buy dell inspiron 15R special edition or asus N56VZ-3088V. I heard that dell's laptops come with many issues especially the battery. But the specs of dell inspiron 15R special edition is much better than asus N56VZ-3088V except the sound effect and the graphic. So i need your advice before i make my final decision. Thank you.
Noobdao
post Jul 25 2012, 07:52 AM

126 posts

Both of the price are below 3k right?Are u necessary need 15" screen size, for my case right?I prefer lenovo Y480 if ur badget is lower than 3k, bcoz its spec is higher than these two that u listed...
cslance
post Jul 25 2012, 09:12 AM

337 posts

if you only choosing for dell and asus just depend on you whether you need a good build laptop or warranty after sale..
good build will be asus n56vz..it is very solid build with elegance
while warranty provided by dell is very super good.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 25 2012, 09:38 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Jul 24 2012, 11:20 PM)
Haha, saw this model too. The backlit keyboard is about the same like Alienware's keyboard which have light? Too bad now I at SG le, don't think Dell provide international delivery... hmm.gif
Alienware keyboard supports a lot of light colors yo brows.gif
Dell Inspiron ones are only white in color XD

Why not delivery to JB? Its not too far I guess? hmm.gif
The GT640M is a big leap from the GT630M oh
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jul 25 2012, 09:40 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(vernon91 @ Jul 25 2012, 12:12 AM)
Hi ppl, helping friend to look for a notebook recommendation,

1 Budget - around 1.5k to 1.8k
2. Usage - daily usage not for gaming
3. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14" or above
4. one important factor must be light weight
These will fit just nice (prices in RRP, can still bargain) nod.gif
14"

HP *specs obtained from HP Malaysia online store
[Ultrabook] Envy 4-1009TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
[Ultrabook] Envy 4-1019TU, i3-2367M + Intel HD3000 + [32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)]@RM2199, 4GB, W7HP
[Ultrabook] Envy 4-Sleekbook 4-1034TU, i3-2377M + Intel HD3000@RM1999, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP
[Ultrabook] Envy 4-Ultrabook 4-1035TU, i3-2377M + Intel HD3000 + [32GB mSATA+ 500GB HDD(5400rpm)]@RM2199, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP

129 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:49 AM