129 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V16, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

lee_what2004
post Sep 26 2012, 05:15 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

17'' still expensive, looking around G770 also around RM2K..

If around RM 1K, biggest is 15.6'', Lenovo G580
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2508035
Smithy46
post Sep 26 2012, 08:58 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 24 2012, 11:40 AM)

Lenovo Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP, colors: grey/red/blue

I'm wondering about this model, I've seen around some websites (and also Lenovo website) that it comes only with integrated Intel graphic card..
But then some other websites stated that it comes with Nvidia graphic card like stated above. So which one is correct?

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 26 2012, 09:59 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Smithy46 @ Sep 26 2012, 08:58 PM)
I'm wondering about this model, I've seen around some websites (and also Lenovo website) that it comes only with integrated Intel graphic card..
But then some other websites stated that it comes with Nvidia graphic card like stated above. So which one is correct?
The following are the known variants of the Z480:
14:
Lenovo
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP, colors: grey/red/blue
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HP,colors: grey/red/blue *EOLed
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W7HB, colors: grey/red/blue

These laptops should come with both an Intel HD4000 and Nvidia GT630/640M; governed by Nvidia Optimus nod.gif
nexus2238
post Sep 26 2012, 10:23 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Sep 26 2012, 05:15 PM)
17'' still expensive, looking around G770 also around RM2K..

If around RM 1K, biggest is 15.6'', Lenovo G580
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2508035
Ok, I get it.
May I know what is the specs for the Lenovo G770?

Anyone else has any recommendation for 17" laptop below RM2000?

Thank you for help smile.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 26 2012, 10:33 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 26 2012, 10:23 PM)
Ok, I get it.
May I know what is the specs for the Lenovo G770?

Anyone else has any recommendation for 17" laptop below RM2000?

Thank you for help smile.gif
There isn't one sad.gif
nexus2238
post Sep 26 2012, 10:49 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 26 2012, 10:33 PM)
There isn't one  sad.gif
Ok, no problem. Need to check it out at the garage sale then sweat.gif

Appreciate the help from all of you icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway, anyone can give me the specs for the Lenovo G770 mentioned earlier? (for comparison) Thanks

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 26 2012, 11:32 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 26 2012, 10:49 PM)
Ok, no problem. Need to check it out at the garage sale then  sweat.gif

Appreciate the help from all of you  icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway, anyone can give me the specs for the Lenovo G770 mentioned earlier? (for comparison) Thanks
17.3"
Lenovo Ideapad G780, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M + (1600x900)@RM2699[3.0kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm)

Perhaps you can look for 2nd hand units of G770 or Dell Vostro 3750 nod.gif
Smithy46
post Sep 26 2012, 11:40 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 26 2012, 09:59 PM)
The following are the known variants of the Z480:
14:
Lenovo
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP, colors: grey/red/blue
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HP,colors: grey/red/blue *EOLed
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W7HB, colors: grey/red/blue

These laptops should come with both an Intel HD4000 and Nvidia GT630/640M; governed by Nvidia Optimus  nod.gif
Oh ok. Thanks for your help! You've been really helpful smile.gif
nexus2238
post Sep 27 2012, 06:32 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 26 2012, 11:32 PM)
17.3"
Lenovo Ideapad G780, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M + (1600x900)@RM2699[3.0kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm)
Perhaps you can look for 2nd hand units of G770 or Dell Vostro 3750 nod.gif
Will definitely do. Once again, thanks for the pointers biggrin.gif
wssoo
post Sep 27 2012, 09:30 AM

Ruck Fulez
1,795 posts

QUOTE(ahmy @ Sep 25 2012, 05:25 PM)
my budget around rm3000~which laptop can get for gaming purpose?
What about Samsung NP500P4C?
-i7-3610QM/14''/4GB/500GB/W7HB/GT630M 2GB RM 2,859.00
http://www.lelong.com.my/samsung-np500p4c-...2-09-Sale-P.htm

Added on September 27, 2012, 9:35 am
QUOTE(zuiichi @ Sep 26 2012, 07:02 AM)
guys, im buying laptop for my mom.
she insist of something light,thin.

im eyeing on ASUS ZENBOOK UX32VD

is there any other good choices with good specs? my max budget is rm3.5k.

optional feature : ladylike colour. (but if not good spec, can ignore)
Samsung series 5?
i5, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, 13.3" Matte Display, RM2599
http://www.samsung.com/us/computer/laptops/NP530U3B-A01US

Added on September 27, 2012, 9:54 am
QUOTE(guardianz01 @ Sep 26 2012, 10:28 AM)
Sifu's in the house, need some recommendations.....

Brand : Not really an issue

Budget : RM2200-RM2500

Usage : MS Office Apps (30%), Online work (30%), Games (40%)

Examples : League of Legends, Crysis 2, COD, Diablo 3 - want to play these at mid - high settings  smile.gif

Screen : 14' -15'

Additional Notes : Decent battery life and warranty.

Thank You thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Top up a little bit more and go for NP700Z3CH?
http://www.lelong.com.my/samsung-np500p4c-...2-09-Sale-P.htm

Added on September 27, 2012, 10:01 am
QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 26 2012, 04:32 PM)
Hi All,

Looking to buy a laptop. Have been searching through this thread but could not find people with similar requirement  tongue.gif

1. Preferred Brand - None. Any brand is fine.
2. Budget - < RM1000, if possible.
3. Usage - email, internet, watch downloaded movie, programming (C++, VBA), Excel, light gaming (mostly game from GOG)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 17". Can't compromise on this. I am getting old smile.gif

Additional:
Don't need OS. I run Linux. Excel is run through Wine or Virtualbox.

I know this is tricky. Really appreciate all your help. Thanks smile.gif
Perhaps get an used laptop with Samsung monitor?

This post has been edited by wssoo: Sep 27 2012, 10:01 AM
ukimaro
post Sep 27 2012, 12:49 PM

636 posts

Ive narrowed down my choice of laptops/ultrabooks and here im considering :

Asus K46CM, Lenovo S400 , Dell Inspiron 14R SE

1. Prefered brand : Anything besides Acer
2. Budger : RM2200
3. Usage : Office, HD movies (Blu-ray), Software Simulation since im Engineering Student.
4. Prefered screen size : 14'" / 15"

Is the 4 Cell battery common for ultrabooks ? Does the battery last compare to 6 cell battery on a notebook ?
Also among the 3 models i considered above, which one u prefer ?

It would be great if any sifu here reply me. Thanks
archive
post Sep 27 2012, 02:03 PM

65 posts

I've come to the realization that I need a smaller laptop over a powerful laptop, so I'm asking for advice once more.

1. Prefered brand : Anything
2. Budget : RM6000 (give or take)
3. Usage : Adobe Creative suite, movies, light gaming while I'm traveling
4. Prefered screen size : 13" to 15"

I'm after something in the ultrabook class of laptops preferably - something light and easy to carry. I would prefer at least 8gb of ram, latest generation i5+, an SSD (128gb min), and a dedicated graphics card (instead of shared - I will be doing a lot of photoshop work). I know thats a big ask for a small laptop, but I'm hoping there's something on the market that will match my needs. What I don't need is an optical drive, although if it comes with one, thats a plus.
tiewgine8039
post Sep 27 2012, 02:07 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(archive @ Sep 27 2012, 02:03 PM)
I've come to the realization that I need a smaller laptop over a powerful laptop, so I'm asking for advice once more.

I'm after something in the ultrabook class of laptops preferably - something light and easy to carry. I would prefer at least 8gb of ram, latest generation i5+, an SSD (128gb min), and a dedicated graphics card (instead of shared - I will be doing a lot of photoshop work). I know thats a big ask for a small laptop, but I'm hoping there's something on the market that will match my needs. What I don't need is an optical drive, although if it comes with one, thats a plus.
I think Macbook pro retina display is specially design for u smile.gif rclxms.gif
Just my opinion, wait for sifu's reply
archive
post Sep 27 2012, 02:37 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(tiewgine8039 @ Sep 27 2012, 02:07 PM)
I think Macbook pro retina display is specially design for u smile.gif rclxms.gif
I had been thinking the same thing, but my wife doesn't like macs (she would be using it at home when I'm not traveling). I should have said before, sorry. While I can just stick bootcamp on, its very inefficient.

This post has been edited by archive: Sep 27 2012, 02:38 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 27 2012, 03:02 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ukimaro @ Sep 27 2012, 12:49 PM)
Ive narrowed down my choice of laptops/ultrabooks and here im considering :

Asus K46CM, Lenovo S400 , Dell Inspiron 14R SE

1. Prefered brand : Anything besides Acer
2. Budger : RM2200
3. Usage : Office, HD movies (Blu-ray), Software Simulation since im Engineering Student.
4. Prefered screen size : 14'" / 15"

Is the 4 Cell battery common for ultrabooks ? Does the battery last compare to 6 cell battery on a notebook ?
Also among the 3 models i considered above, which one u prefer ?

It would be great if any sifu here reply me. Thanks
The K46cm and the S400 are ultrabooks, whereas the 14R SE is a normal notebook...
Performance-wise, the 14R SE would definitely be better nod.gif

4-cells is quite little, not really enough to power a 14" notebook unfortunately sad.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 27 2012, 03:03 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tiewgine8039 @ Sep 27 2012, 02:07 PM)
Good recommendation, pretty much that one nod.gif

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 27 2012, 03:05 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(archive @ Sep 27 2012, 02:37 PM)
I had been thinking the same thing, but my wife doesn't like macs (she would be using it at home when I'm not traveling). I should have said before, sorry. While I can just stick bootcamp on, its very inefficient.
Ops, sorry din't see your 2nd post laugh.gif
But the thing is there really isn't any other options, at least not light weight ones...
Closest:
15.6"
Asus N56VZ-S4079V, i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920 x 1080) + BluRay@RM3599[Bang&Olufsen], 4GB, 1TB, W7HP, subwoofer and backpack

lee_what2004
post Sep 27 2012, 03:18 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

13.3''
Sony Vaio SVS13A15GGB, i7-3520M + Nvidia GT640M LE + (1600x900)@RM4799[1.67kg], 8GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7P
Change the HDD to 256GB SSD with the rest of budget tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Sep 27 2012, 03:18 PM
ukimaro
post Sep 27 2012, 03:22 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 27 2012, 03:02 PM)
The K46cm and the S400 are ultrabooks, whereas the 14R SE is a normal notebook...
Performance-wise, the 14R SE would definitely be better nod.gif

4-cells is quite little, not really enough to power a 14" notebook unfortunately sad.gif
Owh, in that case means 14r se is a better buy? And is it possible to upgrade RAM with an ultrabook? Feel that 2gb of RAM is little .

I'm in the dilemma on which model to choose among the 3 mentioned above. Lol.
gashgan
post Sep 27 2012, 03:28 PM

1. Preferred Brand : Brand New Asus Only
2. Budget : 1.6k - 2.2k
3. Usage : Gaming , Hopefully i5
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14'' not really mind

thanks rclxms.gif

129 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top