5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v2, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

aeiou228
post Jul 18 2012, 03:14 PM

5,867 posts

I was thinking how to make the Maxis fixed VoIP line to become "MOBILE" so that I can receive incoming and out going call on my iOS and Android devices over 3G or wifi network.

I can configured REDtone's SIPhony 015 SIP VoIP on my Ipad2 and Android ICS phone using Media5 SIP client on my Ipad2 and Android ICS phone to make and receive calls anywhere anyplace including overseas. I believe Maxis VoIP is also using the same SIP protocol.
All I need to know is how to get our 1) Maxis VoIP username, 2) SIP password and 3) The SIP domain server address.
If you guys have these 3 info, I shall share with you how to turn MHF fixed line "Mobile" using iOS or Android mobile devices.
aeiou228
post Jul 18 2012, 03:28 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(wokan @ Jul 18 2012, 03:18 PM)
bro aeiou, did you ask yr friend help about the call forwarding when no reply on the M router?
No one seems to know the Maxis VoIP call forwarding method. I can forward YES Life voice call to any Malaysian phone using the YES life app on iOS. I hope Maxis can develop a SIP client app for iOS and Android so that we can bring our MHF number along with us in our mobile devices wherever we go.
Most importantly......fully utilize the FREE minutes and the unlimited calls. drool.gif
aeiou228
post Jul 18 2012, 03:43 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(wokan @ Jul 18 2012, 03:35 PM)
bro aeiou, can you try the below and let me know:

1. Maxis VOIP username should be yr VOIP number (03xxxxxxxx)
2. SIP Password: Try VOIP number + 1 at the back
3. SIP Domain Server address - Not sure what it is but can try below.

User agent domain should be homesip.maxis.com.my
Primary proxy address would be bvgw01.maxis.com.my port: 5060
Already tried. does not work. sad.gif
aeiou228
post Jul 18 2012, 06:56 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 18 2012, 12:29 PM)
Actually "CAN". I've "done" that.  whistling.gif
All Unifi and MHF agent has ready answer for this most frequently asked question "Can I retain my existing TM number ?"

Instead of saying "CAN NOT", they TWISTED THE WORDS and say "Can retain but need to pay RM26". Sounds better to lure you to signup immediately right ?

Only if you ask him further "RM26 is one time payment ?" Then he will tell you that you need to pay RM26 every month. Yet he still doesn't reveal to you that you are actually keeping you existing TM line with the standard monthly rental of RM26.

I still haven't cancel my TM home line, that's why I said "CAN RETAIN". tongue.gif
Just received the update pertaining to this issue from my source.

For Unifi customer, you can call 100 to request the waiver of RM25 to retain the existing PSTN homeline at the monthly rental of RM1 only. Provided the Unifi is installed in the same address and same customer's name. rclxms.gif

As for MHF, tak boleh cry.gif
aeiou228
post Jul 19 2012, 10:02 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Jul 19 2012, 07:47 AM)
anybody facing problem cannot connect wifi??
its been almost a week..
saturday morning, cannot..change channel also not improving anything..that night, tried back automatic, then until sunday cn..
but sunday evening start to disappear again until today (now)
solution or ideas any1?
Same here. affected only one of my two PCs using USB Wifi adapter. I think is channel problem but I solved the problem with the switching the USB Wifi adapters between the two PCs. LAN and Wifi for mobile devices no problem.
The affected USB Wifi adapter can connect to wifi when plugged into the switched PC. weird hmm.gif

aeiou228
post Jul 19 2012, 05:49 PM

5,867 posts

Today's connection very sluggish, open new tab, 9 out of 10 tabs just connecting...connecting... but never load the page. Need to click second time then only page load up.
aeiou228
post Jul 20 2012, 11:23 AM

5,867 posts

Damn...!! The the dect phone has no power switch to turn off the handset ! When the router + modem + dect phone station were switched off overnight, the dect phone keep searching for signal and drained a fully charged battery reserve in just 2 to 3 hours time.
The only way to prevent battery power drain is to keep the dect phone base station switched on. sad.gif
aeiou228
post Jul 20 2012, 03:03 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 20 2012, 01:55 PM)
yesterday the thomson router guy(he write the code for new firmware upgrade as well) visiting me, getting some useful insights, juz wanna share with you guys:-
You forgot to ask about the weak wifi signal ??
As for the dect phone, keep the dect phone base station power on instead of removing the batteries. The station only needs 0.5w to operate.

QUOTE(wokan @ Jul 20 2012, 02:15 PM)
bro daniel and aeiou, are you guys trying to save electricity here ?..I read it in this forum, it cost only RM4+ per month on the electricity. Anyway, it is yr decision... smile.gif
As you implied, it only cost RM4+ per month and not much money to save but my intention is to save the ENERGY. This has been the value and habit that we practiced in our home to conserve the energy and green the earth. nod.gif

The whole world is wasting so much energy on standby power.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standby_power

By the way, it was me who posted the energy cost to power up the router and modem. I have a watt meter to measure it.

aeiou228
post Jul 20 2012, 04:45 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(wokan @ Jul 20 2012, 04:21 PM)
Good on you bro...Go green you are..Perhaps you could think off a device which store those wasted energy for better environment.

-My 2 cents

Perhaps you don't get the meaning. Inculcate good values and habits that can be practiced off hand to my family members is way better than thinking of some nonsense devices. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 20 2012, 05:03 PM
aeiou228
post Jul 21 2012, 07:10 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(mackioes @ Jul 21 2012, 06:45 PM)
ok my router supports both ap and wireless bridge mode. in ap mode, does it means i need an ethernet connection? i would like to acheive a repeater kind of mode. if ap mode can work as wireless then it solves my problem.
I sometimes use portable TP-Link TL-WR702N Nano router to create a bridge extension of Wifi signal at weak signal area. In bridge mode, your will have second SSID broadcasted by TP-Link and this is good for visiting guest. (At least my Thomson router gateway is protected from unauthorized log in)
The Nano router when in bridge mode is portable and it can easily plugged to any power point or portable USB battery bank.

aeiou228
post Jul 22 2012, 12:57 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(mackioes @ Jul 21 2012, 10:15 PM)

In client mode can i access my network printers? say my com is connected to thompson network and printer is connected to this TL-WR702N Nano router? How would you rate this device?
Can be set to client mode and connect the printer via Ethernet LAN. Same set for dream box with LAN only port.
I like the small form factor, cheap Rm55 only, can be powered by portable battery bank, can place anywhere in the house when in bridge or repeater mode. Can turn wired Internet to wifi in AP mode in hotel room.

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 21 2012, 11:31 PM)
Any complicated settings? Or just simple plug n play?
Settings easy like kacang putih. I just follow Tp link website step by step guide only.
I'm not a network guy though.

Can be in router mode too.
aeiou228
post Jul 22 2012, 12:43 PM

5,867 posts

Is it possible to turn off the Thomson Wifi Radio only (not disable SSID broadcast) ?? If it is possible, how can I do it ?
aeiou228
post Jul 22 2012, 01:12 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(kiawin @ Jul 22 2012, 01:03 PM)
Turn off Wifi but still broadcast SSID? Doesn't sound possible smile.gif
Sorry for wrongly worded question. I mean turn off the Thomson Wifi entirely except LAN.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 22 2012, 01:13 PM
aeiou228
post Jul 22 2012, 02:00 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(kiawin @ Jul 22 2012, 01:29 PM)
1. Go to http://dsldevice.lan/

2. Go to Home Network -> Interfaces

3. Click "WLAN: (your SSID name)" under LocalNetwork

4. Click "Configure" (located at top right corner)

5. Deselect "Interface Enabled"

6. Click "Apply".
Thank you very much sifu notworthy.gif

Now I'm solely on my Linksys WRT54G Wifi router on AP mode connected LAN to LAN with Thomson while my IPTV LAN to LAN with my Linksys WRT54G. Much better signal coverage for the entire house and no need TP-Link Nano router wifi signal bridging liau.
aeiou228
post Jul 22 2012, 03:11 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(mackioes @ Jul 22 2012, 02:34 PM)
When u use the nano router I believe it's USB powered so can the Thompson power it? Win !
where u buy rm55? I saw all sell rm 70@@
LowYat Plaza. Price of two units. Bought brand new on 16 June. Now Let go extra unit at RM50 COD Puchong.

Yes Micro USB port for power supply. I use it on Bridge mode in study room upstairs where wifi signal is weak.
I also tested Nano LAN to LAN with Thomson in AP mode, working perfectly and same signal strength if not better than Thomson albeit its tiny form factor.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 22 2012, 03:19 PM
aeiou228
post Jul 22 2012, 07:06 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Jul 22 2012, 04:56 PM)
Perhaps this is the reason why my Streamyx 4mb has been trouble free for nearly 2 years which is also the time when Unifi came into play.

I am really loving my Streamyx.
I am using a 4mb though at only RM88.
Got it under the UniPack promo back in September 2010.

Now I need to either jump onto the Maxis Home or Unifi as if I want to enjoy a similar speed on Streamyx, I would need to spend >RM200! Which is crazy.
So I've decided on Maxis as it is much cheaper at RM118 compared to Unifi's VIP5 at RM150.

I don't really care about speed.
Well, I do, but I don't really need 10mb as I don't download.
I just want to use internet without any hiccups.

If Unifi VIP5 costs the same as Maxis 10mb, I would've taken Unifi hands down but
to save RM30 at twice the speed, it just seemed like a no brainer.

Added on July 22, 2012, 4:58 pm

Yeah. I love my 4mb Streamyx  wub.gif

What??!! Cannot open multiple tabs at once?
Why is that?

I need to keep min. 5 tabs open at once for work purposes.
What is the problem with opening many tabs?
It's not like we are downloading torrents.
Just web pages.
If you don't need speed, don't watch HD IPTV, don't view YouTube in 1080 HD, not sharing bandwidth with family members then better stick to CoolUniPack.
But RM88 CoolUniPack doesn't include TM homeline rental of RM26 per month. If added in, the monthly commitment is only RM4 short from MHF RM118, yet no free minutes and unlimited calls.
Did you manage to secure the RM118 promo ?

aeiou228
post Jul 23 2012, 09:12 AM

5,867 posts

I wonder why when doing speed test using iPad's speedtest.net app, the speedo needle stop moving exactly at 9.00mbps for both dl and ul ?
But when test on pc, I can exceed 10mbps.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 23 2012, 09:13 AM
aeiou228
post Jul 25 2012, 06:32 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(1337 @ Jul 24 2012, 11:41 PM)
guys my maxis ftth 10mb@rm118 sucks big time.
installed on 12th july
since then frequent disconnection. page open in new tab didnt load.
this week worst, load my home page then no more internet connection.
restart router only last for few pages then no more internet connection.
btw im at landed subang jaya usj 14.
how can I solve this problem?
What about you LAN connection ? Same problem ?

QUOTE(lanun8 @ Jul 25 2012, 02:35 AM)

1. if the non-standard installation charge that will cost me more than i can afford, can i cancel the installation without getting charge? or should i consult the maxis cs first coz i dont know how to estimate the non-standard installation charge (since i dont know where is the DB point is.)

2. or should i just wait till the installation day and get a good deal with the contractor?

3. or anyone know how to determined or have photos of their nearest db point so i can look around and calculate the estimated cost.
thanks in advance
1. Can cancel but with rm200 penalty.

2. Just tell installer you want standard installation. You can move the router later to whatever location you like with home plug.

3. The db is small box with TM logo tight to the telephone pole behind the back lane
aeiou228
post Jul 26 2012, 02:28 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(error @ Jul 26 2012, 01:51 PM)

Then TM contractor start to call their centre to get the maxis installer number. Got the number but seems unreachable. Finally the maxis installer manage to contact TM contractor and TM told him that his side is done. Apparently, Maxis installer has been waiting for the TM counterpart to arrive at the guard since 230pm. But TM has already arrive since 215pm and directly go to my unit.
I thought this a very common trick/excuse play by most late comers ? Some more not answering call or unreachable in the first place.
aeiou228
post Jul 28 2012, 11:32 PM

5,867 posts

MHF 10mb at rm138 is no longer attractive. Those who signed up rm138 package but yet to instal, I give you 10 reasons why you should stick to unifi.
1. The price different is mere rm11 compare to VIP 5
2. Thomson router is problematic.
3. better overseas routes.
4. Maxis not friendly to File sharing site users, online gamers, multy taps browsers.
5. VoIP must plug to thomson router instead of TM modem.
6. Free calls to TM fixed lines.
7. Now you can retain you existing TM home line for rm1 per month. (for home alarm)
8. A separate dedicated 8mbps line for iptv with some free to air channels.
9. Maxis iptv is optional add on and not sure is sharing our 10mbps bandwidth or dedicated line.
10. Last but not least, no more maxis technician come but TM technician never turn up or maxis blame TM modem and TM blame maxis router finger pointing games.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 28 2012, 11:42 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.9924sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:02 AM