Android 4.1 - Jelly Bean, What are the new features on Jelly Bean?

TSbestofel
post Jun 28 2012, 12:59 AM, updated 14y ago

528 posts

Let's discuss, what are the new features on Jelly Bean that very wow for you.

The first one for me is the keyboard, it can predict like swiftkey and voice type is offline, no need internet line for voice recognition!
nate_nightroad
post Jun 28 2012, 01:00 AM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 28 2012, 12:59 AM)
Let's discuss, what are the new features on Jelly Bean that very wow for you.

The first one for me is the keyboard, it can predict like swiftkey and voice type is offline, no need internet line for voice recognition!
"really"?

Added on June 28, 2012, 1:01 ami havent even start using ics feature yet....

This post has been edited by nate_nightroad: Jun 28 2012, 01:01 AM
TSbestofel
post Jun 28 2012, 01:02 AM

528 posts

Live update now: http://www.engadget.com/2012/06/27/google-...ynote-liveblog/

This one unbelievable:

Blind users will now be able to use special gestures to navigate the device in combination with audio cues. There's even integrated Braille support!

How it work? Really interesting.
nate_nightroad
post Jun 28 2012, 01:04 AM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 28 2012, 01:02 AM)
Live update now: http://www.engadget.com/2012/06/27/google-...ynote-liveblog/

This one unbelievable:

Blind users will now be able to use special gestures to navigate the device in combination with audio cues. There's even integrated Braille support!

How it work? Really interesting.
yup...i think we should all start using this excellent feature...

doesnt this reminds us of the ads by apple advertising siri?

hmmmmm
Leo the Lion
post Jun 28 2012, 01:05 AM

6,358 posts

watch it live

phantomash
post Jun 28 2012, 01:10 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

From the Verge all about Android 4.1 Jelly Bean

The next major upgrade to Android will be version 4.1 Jelly Bean, it has been announced at Google I/O today. Project Butter is the major new innovation in Android 4.1, focused on making the entire UI "fast, fluid and smooth." That includes triple buffering in the graphics pipeline, to ensure consistent frame rates with interface animations. Google's I/O demo showed two Galaxy Nexus devices side by side, one running Ice Cream Sandwich and the other on Jelly Bean, with the latter offering a significantly higher frame rate when navigating the Android UI.

DarkSilver
post Jun 28 2012, 01:31 AM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Jun 28 2012, 01:10 AM)
I think Google wants to put an end to the LAGGY ANDROID complaints already.

And, no more Apple is smoother next time(although it's not theoretically). smile.gif
nate_nightroad
post Jun 28 2012, 01:48 AM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Jun 28 2012, 01:31 AM)

And, no more Apple is smoother next time(although it's not theoretically).  smile.gif
yea....good job google in tackling an issue which isnt an issue for other os besides their own...

took them long enuf thou i must say

well lets see
TSbestofel
post Jun 28 2012, 01:54 AM

528 posts

Introducing Jelly Bean, by ANdroid Developers: http://android-developers.blogspot.com/201...jelly-bean.html

At Google I/O today we announced the latest version of the Android platform, Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean). With Jelly Bean, we’ve made the great things about Android even better with improved system performance and enhanced user features.

Improvements include a smoother and more responsive UI across the system, a home screen that automatically adapts to fit your content, a powerful predictive keyboard, richer and more interactive notifications, larger payload sizes for Android Beam sharing and much more. For a lowdown on what’s new, head over to the Jelly Bean platform highlights.

Of course, Jelly Bean wouldn’t be complete without a healthy serving of new APIs for app developers. Here are some of the new APIs that Jelly Bean introduces:

Expandable notifications: Android 4.1 brings a major update to the Android notifications framework. Apps can now display larger, richer notifications to users that can be expanded and collapsed with a pinch. Users can now take actions directly from the notification shade, and notifications support new types of content, including photos.

Android Beam: In Android 4.1, Android Beam makes it easier to share images, videos, or other payloads by leveraging Bluetooth for the data transfer.

Bi-directional text support: Android 4.1 helps you to reach more users through support for for bi-directional text in TextView and EditText elements.

Gesture mode: New APIs for accessibility services let you handle gestures and manage accessibility focus. Now you can traverse any element on the screen using gestures, accessories, you name it.

Media codec access: Provides low-level access to platform hardware and software codecs.

Wi-Fi Direct service discoverability: New API provides pre-associated service discovery letting apps get more information from nearby devices about the services they support, before they attempt to connect.

Network bandwidth management: New API provides ability to detect metered networks, including tethering to a mobile hotspot.

For a complete overview of new APIs in Jelly Bean, please read the API highlights document. Note that this is a preview of the Jelly Bean platform. While we’re still finalizing the API implementations we wanted to give developers a look at the new API to begin planning app updates. We’ll be releasing a final platform in a few weeks that you should use to build and publish applications for Android 4.1.

For Android devices with the Google Play, we launched the following at Google I/O today:

Smart app updates: For Android 2.3, Gingerbread devices and up, when there is a new version of an app in Google Play, only the parts of the app that changed are downloaded to users’ devices. On average, a smart app update is a third the size of a full apk update. This means your users save bandwidth and battery and the best part? You don’t have to do a thing. This is automatically enabled for all apps downloaded from Google Play.

App encryption: From Jelly Bean and forward, paid apps in Google Play are encrypted with a device-specific key before they are delivered and stored on the device. We know you work hard building your apps. We work hard to protect your investment.

Google Cloud Messaging for Android: This is the next version of C2DM and goes back to Froyo. Getting started is easy and has a whole bunch of new APIs than C2DM has to offer. If you sign-up for GCM, you will be able to see C2DM and GCM stats in the Android developer console. Most importantly, the service is free and there are no quotas. [Learn more.]

Starting from today, over 20 Android sessions at Google I/O will deep-dive in many of these areas. Join us in-person or follow us live.

nate_nightroad
post Jun 28 2012, 02:09 AM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

doesnt this android beam thing reminds u of android nfc?

how many phones have this nfc thingie?
Racerx
post Jun 28 2012, 02:13 AM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Jun 28 2012, 02:09 AM)

S3,the HTC One series,Galaxy Nexus,Nexus S,some Xperia 2012 phones etc etc
xordMeztGeR
post Jun 28 2012, 03:12 AM

satu bintang 5 ringgit!! murah murah!
1,051 posts

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Jun 28 2012, 02:09 AM)

Well, Android Beam is NFC. Android beam was launched since the ICS keynote last year.

ramz
post Jun 28 2012, 06:06 AM

21,354 posts

Where is the siri killer?
Nels
post Jun 28 2012, 06:15 AM

Tech Enthusiast
811 posts

majel probably be released on day 3.
SUSKuLi
post Jun 28 2012, 07:22 AM

You won't like me when I'm angry
1,293 posts

Just watched it. Nothing truly exciting. Just improvemts here and thr.

Yawwwn.
ogiveyakuza
post Jun 28 2012, 08:49 AM

huh..????
2,946 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jun 28 2012, 07:22 AM)

Yawwwn.
same goes to ios 6
abundai
post Jun 28 2012, 09:29 AM

986 posts

Yawwwn.
I wonder what else would u expect in a firmware upgrade besides improvement here and there? hmm.gif

xerox8908
post Jun 28 2012, 09:33 AM

Look at all my stars
2,725 posts

QUOTE(abundai @ Jun 28 2012, 09:29 AM)
I wonder what else would u expect in a firmware upgrade besides improvement here and there?  hmm.gif
That fellow is a fruit user blush.gif blush.gif
No point taking his opinion seriously .
See his topic and posts all bashing android device yawn.gif yawn.gif
I wonder why he so free .

Anyway , NFC is hardware , android beam is software .
Ppl need to read before bash .
gerrardling
post Jun 28 2012, 09:52 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 28 2012, 06:06 AM)
Where is the siri killer?
already in the android OS since 2010
abundai
post Jun 28 2012, 09:54 AM

986 posts

QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Jun 28 2012, 09:33 AM)
That fellow is a fruit user  blush.gif  blush.gif
No point taking his opinion seriously .
See his topic and posts all bashing android device  yawn.gif  yawn.gif
I wonder why he so free .

Anyway , NFC is hardware , android beam is software .
Ppl need to read before bash .
i see.. if he really is a tutti frutti faboys, then i pity him...
still fighting for the late Steve Job's undying personal wish to bash Android...
simply becos he thinks Android stole his "stolen" ideas... doh.gif
iceman31
post Jun 28 2012, 10:20 AM

Mewtwotwotwotwo
2,631 posts

the new notification is awesomeee
uzary
post Jun 28 2012, 10:40 AM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

QUOTE(phantomash @ Jun 28 2012, 01:10 AM)
so does this mean android wil b as smooth,fluid and etc like ios??
Dannyl
post Jun 28 2012, 10:51 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Jun 28 2012, 08:49 AM)
same goes to ios 6
Yeah I heard icon shadows is supposedly a major thing *yawn*
And the interface is still the same as iPhone 3 blink.gif

Added on June 28, 2012, 10:53 am
QUOTE(abundai @ Jun 28 2012, 09:54 AM)
i see.. if he really is a tutti frutti faboys, then i pity him...
still fighting for the late Steve Job's undying personal wish to bash Android...
simply becos he thinks Android stole his "stolen" ideas...  doh.gif
Steve is rolling in his grave. 'Dammit I worked so hard to brainwash all those sheeps that 3.5" is the ideal screen size and they don't need bigger. Now it's going to be 4"!'

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Jun 28 2012, 10:53 AM
xtylish
post Jun 28 2012, 11:01 AM

593 posts

edit

This post has been edited by xtylish: Jun 28 2012, 11:04 AM
mydragoon
post Jun 28 2012, 11:06 AM

7,044 posts

i think JB will come with Chrome browser... right? or only for the nexus 7?

anyway, i think chrome as the stock browser is good. the current browser really sucks. having tried chrome for android, i think that's already a nice change. biggrin.gif

then again... browsers are not really part of the OS, right?

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 28 2012, 11:07 AM
ramz
post Jun 28 2012, 11:09 AM

21,354 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 28 2012, 09:52 AM)
ios6.0 is upgrading its siri. is android 4.1 upgrading its google voice?

bad move if they don't. they future is voice. don't be left out. i am a consumer, not a fanboy.

Added on June 28, 2012, 11:15 am
QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 28 2012, 10:51 AM)
Yeah I heard icon shadows is supposedly a major thing *yawn*
And the interface is still the same as iPhone 3  blink.gif

Added on June 28, 2012, 10:53 am
Steve is rolling in his grave.  'Dammit I worked so hard to brainwash all those sheeps that 3.5" is the ideal screen size and they don't need bigger.  Now it's going to be 4"!'
after detailed R&D apple is convinced that 3.5" is the best size for one handed users. but just last week they noticed human hands just got bigger overnight. So that spark another R&D and concluded the size of screen have to change because of this strange phenomena happening around the world.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 28 2012, 11:15 AM
mydragoon
post Jun 28 2012, 11:29 AM

7,044 posts

another summary from another website:
http://phandroid.com/2012/06/27/all-the-new-features-in-android-4-1-jelly-bean/

Performance (or Project Butter)
While we thought Google’s performance gains with Ice Cream Sandwich were more than impressive, they’re claiming to be able to do even better. With new technological approaches to graphics drawing functions like v-sync, triple buffering, and touch responsiveness.

With the ability to predict where you’ll go next in an app Google can can do a bit of pre-loading to make the experience that much smoother. All of this will converge into a change that will allow the OS to maintain a smooth 60 frames per second no matter what, and that’s exactly what we’ve been asking for from the get-go.

Smarter Home Screen Management
Moving widgets and apps around on your home screens will now be even easier thanks to some changes Google have made. When moving a widget around apps will automatically wrap around it so you won’t need to go through the cumbersome process of moving individual icons around, deleting them, re-adding them, etc.

Widgets can be re-sized automatically when you’re moving it from one pane to the next. It’s a natural extension of the folder’s wrapping feature and we are glad it’s finally part of the home screen as a whole.

Input and Accessibility
Google announced that voice input would no longer require an internet connection: everything you need for voice-to-text and other voice features are embedded into the software. This is perfect for those who want to get some work done using voice but can’t seem to find an internet connection.

Google’s also made changes to the keyboard by adding a predictive text system that will predict what you want to type before you type it. While we’ve had this sort of prediction in third-party keyboards like SwiftKey for quite some time, we are always glad to see stock apps give more functionality.

And now, more users can type on the keyboard as Google have finally added native support for Arabic, Persian, Hindi, and Thai. As for that accessibility part, those who have disrupted vision will be able to use gestures to do many things in the OS. Swiping and touching are all you’ll to navigate the device.

Camera
The camera’s gotten some minor, but nice improvements. You can now view the images you’ve just snapped by swiping your finger across the viewfinder. Sliding to the left reveals the photos, and sliding to the right will bring you back to the viewfinder. And if you don’t like a certain image you’ve taken, deleting it is as simple as sliding it out of the way.

Android Beam
Android Beam was notoriously lacking when it was first announced. You could only send a very limited amount of content to people. Google have announced that you can now do so much more with it. You can share photos and video to others who have an NFC phone and Android Beam enabled.

That’s not even the best part. Google’s announced functionality that would allow you to pair your devices up with Bluetooth-equipped accessories simply by bumping the two devices. While no specific accessories have been announced yet, we look forward to seeing who’ll be adding this stuff to their accessories.

Notifications
Here’s the biggie: notifications have gotten a massive overhaul for the better. Actionable notifications allow you to do way more in the pane than you’ve ever been able to do. Google’s making it easier for you to read and react to app updates without having to go into the actual app.

For instance, a missed call notification will allow you to call that contract back straight from the notification. If you’re in a call at the time, you can hang up from the notification. This allows you to control your call from within any app.

Expandable notifications allow you to do things like read the beginning of an email. You can snooze a calendar alarm from a notification and you can email every guest with a preset or custom message from within that same notification.

A photo shared form Google+ gives you a preview of the full photo so you can decide whether or not you want to check out a bigger version. You can +1 that photo and share it from the same notification.

In Foursquare, you could like and comment on your friends’ check-ins. With TuneIn Radio, you can skip a song, play or pause a song, and even save it as a favorite. With a swipe of two fingers, Pulse will give you the latest headlines and preview images to go along with them.

Google’s giving developers complete freedom in what they can do with their actionable notifications. This should excite many people as I’m sure developers will not hold back. I could spend all day dreaming up some useful notifications for my favorite apps.

Google Now and the new searching standard
Finally, Google’s introduced Google Now, a new way to search for anything you want or need. I hate to use the “S” word, but this is pretty much Google’s Siri. We’re not sure if this is what Majel turned out to be or not, but it’s pretty much what Google said it would be (ie, something beyond the scope of Siri).

Google Now lets you search for the most general of terms or the most specific facts and it will return those results in a great way. For instance, I could ask the height of the Eiffel Tower and Google would spit back 1,063 feet. These will come in the form of Knowledge Graphs which not only give you the answer you were looking for, but more details about that item.

A Knowledge Graph can be dismissed to reveal more information about whatever it is you were searching for. Knowing the height is nice, but knowing why such a tower exists also comes in handy and you don’t have to much of anything to go deeper in your searches.

You have the option of enabling a voice that will speak the result back, and it understands plain English so you can forget about looking at a list of suggested phrases.

But the really interesting thing is in Google Now. Google Now will learn your personal life based on the things you do in Google Search and other Google sites. If you seem to search about the Packers a lot, Google Now will ping you when a game is near.

It knows where you work and where you live, and as scary as that sounds it sounds pretty cool. It’ll let you know the traffic to and from your destination once the time it thinks you usually go to work approaches.

It sees that you have meetings and will go a step beyond just alerting you. You will be given the best possible route to get to that meeting in a certain amount of time, and it even extends to public transportation by letting you know which route to take as well as what time your designated buses and trains should arrive.

If you’ve recently done a search for a certain flight it will give you flight details including which gate to board your flight. And the cool thing is that all of this happens without you needing to tell it: it just happens.

phantomash
post Jun 28 2012, 11:44 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jun 28 2012, 10:40 AM)
so does this mean android wil b as smooth,fluid and etc like ios??
constant 60fps everywhere. It better be.

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 28 2012, 11:09 AM)

bad move if they don't. they future is voice. don't be left out. i am a consumer, not a fanboy.

watch the keynote. I think they did something even more impressive than Siri.

Also, offline voice typing.
xxboxx
post Jun 28 2012, 09:12 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 28 2012, 11:06 AM)
i think JB will come with Chrome browser... right? or only for the nexus 7?

anyway, i think chrome as the stock browser is good. the current browser really sucks. having tried chrome for android, i think that's already a nice change. biggrin.gif

then again... browsers are not really part of the OS, right?
i'm using ICS with stock browser plus quick control. it really is much easier to navigate with the quick control, especially when open many tabs.
WebDpot
post Jun 28 2012, 10:07 PM

1,026 posts

Love the new features! kenot wait for new firmware upgrade for my tablet smile.gif
TSbestofel
post Jun 28 2012, 10:23 PM

528 posts

Heih brother, why not you read my first post and all keynote about Jelly Bean? The first thing I told is about voice recognition which is now can use offline. It is major improvement for me. About function like Siri, yes they improve a lot. Let's read the keynote. Read from first source, don't just trust forumer post.

I as app developer still waiting Jelly Bean SDK (API 17) availability for download. Just now check the Android SDK Manager, still no Jelly Bean yet.
iceman31
post Jun 28 2012, 10:24 PM

Mewtwotwotwotwo
2,631 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 28 2012, 10:23 PM)
Heih brother, why not you read my first post and all keynote about Jelly Bean? The first thing I told is about voice recognition which is now can use offline. It is major improvement for me. About function like Siri, yes they improve a lot. Let's read the keynote. Read from first source, don't just trust forumer post.

I as app developer still waiting Jelly Bean SDK (API 17) availability for download. Just now check the Android SDK Manager, still no Jelly Bean yet.
u sure no android sdk yet? the picture are floating all over the internet.
TSbestofel
post Jun 28 2012, 10:31 PM

528 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Jun 28 2012, 10:24 PM)
u sure no android sdk yet? the picture are floating all over the internet.
Yes, still searching other resources. Maybe here I need to go: http://developer.android.com/about/versions/android-4.1.html

This is what I saw in my Eclipse now:

Added on June 28, 2012, 10:37 pmThis source look like what I'm looking for: http://www.teamandroid.com/2012/06/27/inst...y-bean-sdk-now/

Uh...it is for Windows, but I use MacBook Pro right now. Ayya...

Added on June 28, 2012, 10:39 pm
OK, lastly here I got it: http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

This post has been edited by bestofel: Jun 28 2012, 10:39 PM
nothing_nth
post Jun 28 2012, 10:45 PM

no stars
2,408 posts

Added on June 28, 2012, 11:15 am
after detailed R&D apple is convinced that 3.5" is the best size for one handed users. but just last week they noticed human hands just got bigger overnight. So that spark another R&D and concluded the size of screen have to change because of this strange phenomena happening around the world.
you not a fanboy but did you tried s voice or siri b4? it jz a factor of "wow" practically IT'S USELESS... what so called they future is voice?! shakehead.gif the moment the so called S voice or Siri understand your speech... I ad finish the task...
why? it only can be used when the surrounding is quiet... you must speak in proper way... you must speak in their order... u mz speak within the time range...
you not a fanboy... but u r naive... cool2.gif

back to topic... did JB required specific hardware... seems like ICS ad a burden for Nexus S...
SUSsang_kanchil
post Jun 28 2012, 10:52 PM

404 posts

It's already 2012 and i'm totally shocked that android is still talking abt smoothness. iOS got it magically right first, then windows phone.

But better late than never.
Wonder whether project butter will require 8 cores or 2gb ram just to make it achieve same level of smoothness.

SUSKuLi
post Jun 28 2012, 10:59 PM

1,293 posts

This article rightly points out that google shld sort out their fragmentation mess before launching new candies.
Besides, no new features in jelly bean anyway.

http://m.zdnet.com/blog/hardware/android-4...003?tag=nl.e539

Android 4.1 "Jelly Bean": Another update most will never see
By Adrian Kingsley-Hughes | June 26, 2012, 9:03am PDT
Mounting evidence suggests Google is gearing up to show off the next version of the Android operating system — perhaps as early as this week.

Not much is known about Android 4.1 “Jelly Bean” beyond rumor and speculation. There have been suggestions that it will be released sometime during the second-quarter of the year, and there is speculation that Google’s Chrome browser will become the default way to browse the web.

A listing that appeared briefly on Google Play for the Google Nexus smartphone suggests that Google’s flagship Android smartphone will be the first handset to ship with ”Jelly Bean”.

The problem with Android updates is that it’s hard to get excited about them.

History shows that Android updates are slow to make their mark on the ecosystem. Data collected by Google based on devices that have accessed Google Play shows that only 7.1 percent on devices are running the latest Android 4.0 “Ice Cream Sandwich” update, despite the update appearing more than eight months ago.

freddy manson
post Jun 28 2012, 11:16 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

Good notifications lah.. good upgrade..

Smoothness, i wont be able to say need upgrade cause so far as im using on my S2 it's a smooth ride baby..
Since GB to ICS smooth sailing..
My eyes are restricted to the smoothness of my eye capability only..
Besides, im a user not a complainer...

About the voice, neither Siri or SVoice is good enough, & i dont think they will ever be.. if u are too lazy to type then i suggest just buy the Nokia 3310 legend phone.. all talk only hahahaha and a bit of texting..

Well, just my 2cents.. fruityloverboy, please go and touch some android phones.. feel it, taste it & respevt what it CAN do for you..
Dannyl
post Jun 28 2012, 11:19 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jun 28 2012, 10:59 PM)
History shows that Android updates are slow to make their mark on the ecosystem. Data collected by Google based on devices that have accessed Google Play shows that only 7.1 percent on devices are running the latest Android 4.0 “Ice Cream Sandwich” update, despite the update appearing more than eight months ago.
So what? How does it affect me, as a user, if the majority is using GB?
SUSKuLi
post Jun 28 2012, 11:24 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 28 2012, 11:19 PM)
So what?  How does it affect me, as a user, if the majority is using GB?
It means that android apps ecosystem is not sustainable and will crash very soon.

mtxx
post Jun 29 2012, 12:14 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jun 28 2012, 11:24 PM)
It means that android apps ecosystem is not sustainable and will crash very soon.
your comments are totally off topic. please go kopitiam and complain about android if you hate it so much.
coming to android forum and complain about android is plain stupid.

all OS got their pros and cons, use the one you like most.

by the way, if you want to wait android die, wait long long la.

i waiting symbian and black berry to die since duno how long ago.
their are on their life support and heading towards their inevitable doom.
but somehow their are still very much alive now.

be realistic. if you want see android die, or lose fame and support,
not goin to happen any time soon, if want to die, blackberry and symbian die first.

TSbestofel
post Jun 29 2012, 01:03 AM

528 posts

Just ignore pakcik Li.

Now we can try Google Play Store Jelly Bean version, download here:
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/06/27/do...y-bean-edition/

More apk file will come to us since the Jelly Bean SDK now in the developers hand.
ZRong223
post Jun 29 2012, 01:17 AM

864 posts

Project Butter attracts me a lot.
vin39
post Jun 29 2012, 06:00 AM

I LOVE MALAYSIA!!!!
2,550 posts

QUOTE(gerrardling @ Jun 28 2012, 09:52 AM)
shocking.gif
ramz
post Jun 29 2012, 06:44 AM

21,354 posts

QUOTE(nothing_nth @ Jun 28 2012, 10:45 PM)
you not a fanboy but did you tried s voice or siri b4? it jz a factor of "wow" practically IT'S USELESS... what so called they future is voice?!  shakehead.gif the moment the so called S voice or Siri understand your speech... I ad finish the task...
why? it only can be used when the surrounding is quiet... you must speak in proper way... you must speak in their order... u mz speak within the time range...
you not a fanboy... but u r naive...  cool2.gif

back to topic... did JB required specific hardware... seems like ICS ad a burden for Nexus S...
It's useless coz its not working Bro. So we hoping for improvements so it will work. If a human can understand me even if the surrounding is noisy why can't android? if i can understand a human even if he doesn't speak in a proper way, why can't android? I say voice is the future coz it's not working yet to a point where it's practical. But when it does, phones that doesn't have voice will die just like blackberry

don't underestimate voice technology. blackberry underestimated multitouch technology and see where they are now.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 29 2012, 06:48 AM
stormlcc
post Jun 29 2012, 07:29 AM

I can't control my G-FORCE addiction!!!
1,954 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 29 2012, 06:44 AM)
It's useless coz its not working Bro. So we hoping for improvements so it will work. If a human can understand me even if the surrounding is noisy why can't android? if i can understand a human even if he doesn't speak in a proper way, why can't android?  I say voice is the future coz it's not working yet to a point where it's practical. But when it does, phones that doesn't have voice will die just like blackberry

don't underestimate voice technology. blackberry underestimated multitouch technology and see where they are now.
the problem with voice action or siri or whatever voice controlled function is the accent barrier. basically if u have a British accent and u set your phone to understand American accent the program don't know what the hell u r talking about. The worst is if u have a Malaysian rojak accent. The best I have used now is voice search using Chinese, 90% of the time it does exactly as I want, especially when I'm lazy to write / type Chinese words. If offline voice typing is included, it will be just amazing.
Areas Elysian
post Jun 29 2012, 08:06 AM

1,132 posts

There's more to how human understands conversation from others.

Eye contact, visual, context. You understand another person in a noisy environment because you can recognize his/her voice, so you know to pick that one up and to isolate the rest. You also have the visual assistance of looking at that person's face to see his/her lips moving, so you know when to expect to hear something and when not to. Then there is also the factor of context. You know that person best, and what that person would be talking about.

Now let's try theory craft here and assume how would one be required to program a voice recognition software to work in the same manner. It's not going to be easy at all. It's not as straight forward as, "Jarvis, please schedule an appointment with Pepper tomorrow at 3pm, and organize for a new Aston to be at my door tomorrow for that. Oh, and make sure to send some nice flowers to her too."
v1n0d
post Jun 29 2012, 08:14 AM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

And, no more Apple is smoother next time(although it's not theoretically).  smile.gif
iOS is compiled in C whereas Android is compiled in Java. It's a fact that C-based programs run smoother than Java-based ones. Please don't confuse the masses.
SUSKuLi
post Jun 29 2012, 08:22 AM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Jun 29 2012, 08:14 AM)
iOS is compiled in C whereas Android is compiled in Java. It's a fact that C-based programs run smoother than Java-based ones. Please don't confuse the masses.
LOL. What a load of crap.
The reason why iOS is silky smooth is optimization. Even windows phone is smooth.
Apple has many years experience in graphics technology since their Macintosh days.
Their technology is the best in the world. And they control both software and hardware, creating perfect harmony.

Android is just software. While hardware is by others.
That's why android is designed to be open and flexible.

But as we all know, a single size of shirt cannot fit all body sizes.
That's why to achieve the level of what the original iPhone reached few years back, android is still struggling hard today.
Things are slightly better bcos of quad core, high RAM, etc.

But again, it's good that google still continue to acknowledge this disease and focusing to fix it. Hopefully they will be able to succeed one day.
v1n0d
post Jun 29 2012, 08:28 AM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jun 29 2012, 08:22 AM)
LOL. What a load of crap.
The reason why iOS is silky smooth is optimization. Even windows phone is smooth.
Apple has many years experience in graphics technology since their Macintosh days.
Their technology is the best in the world. And they control both software and hardware, creating perfect harmony.

Android is just software. While hardware is by others.
That's why android is designed to be open and flexible.

But as we all know, a single size of shirt cannot fit all body sizes.
That's why to achieve the level of what the original iPhone reached few years back, android is still struggling hard today.
Things are slightly better bcos of quad core, high RAM, etc.

But again, it's good that google still continue to acknowledge this disease and focusing to fix it. Hopefully they will be able to succeed one day.
Do any of you do your research before shooting others down? Android is built on the Linux kernel (which is C-based), with a Java-based front end, the reason for which is that Java is multi-platform and can run on various architectures without having to be recompiled. The optimization you refer to for iOS is due to Apple being able to compile their code to run on a specific platform, namely their in-house SoC. Any electrical engineer with a background in processor design can tell you that.
ramz
post Jun 29 2012, 08:55 AM

21,354 posts

apple software and hardware is made for each other. naturally u will have optimization. apple apps run better then android hardware being equal.that is the fact. let's not argue about that.

for some people silky smooth matters like shit. for some people it doesn't. i am the later category. but i need to multitask very much, and android does it the best! and apple, well, seems like they are happy with the way they multitask. so that's not fine with me.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 29 2012, 08:55 AM
mydragoon
post Jun 29 2012, 09:03 AM

7,044 posts

i only know that i smell troll on a friday morning... biggrin.gif
ramz
post Jun 29 2012, 09:03 AM

21,354 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Jun 29 2012, 07:29 AM)
the problem with voice action or siri or whatever voice controlled function is the accent barrier.  basically if u have a British accent and u set your phone to understand American accent the program don't know what the hell u r talking about.  The worst is if u have a Malaysian rojak accent.  The best I have used now is voice search using Chinese, 90% of the time it does exactly as I want, especially when I'm lazy to write / type Chinese words.  If offline voice typing is included, it will be just amazing.
i never said voice tech is easy. and i don't aspect them to get it right the first try. there must be 2nd version, 3rd, 4th.....1000th and so forth. the issues will slowly be resolved. start with the simple ones like recognizing your voice from a crowded place, then to learning your funny accent, then try to understand u by context, and so forth. offline is good too. but that's how we achieve speed in response. so is not the offline that is the wow, its the speed of response.
singa89
post Jun 29 2012, 09:22 AM

long live play
1,204 posts

i haz no problem with android back since 2009 with my htc magic. sense ui back then was smooth on android 1.5

i knt brain y are ppl complaining that android is laggy when my old magic still works with not much lag on 2.3 now

does 0.1 second lag really matters? can u really see them?

and about fragmentation problem.. whats the issue being with 2.2 or 2.3 when u can use above 90% of the apps available in the store

android with the complete set of google apps (maps, gmail, drive, search etc), android is a very complete os and it keeps improving and dominating the world

freddy manson
post Jun 29 2012, 09:28 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

I just ate an apple this morning..

Eating an apple a day, keep Steve Jobs in his grave hahahaha..
Don wan him to resurrect and haunt us more.. hahaha..

Anyway, back to topic of android.. Jelly Bean..

Cant wait what the Butter can do for our daily usage..

The videocall feature is not highlighted tho.. wana see the better videocall/conference UI and customization..
benny888
post Jun 29 2012, 09:36 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Some users just refused to admit improvement in the android os. They will not hesitate to find faults in any improvement. I have also being a IPhone user since first model to latest ip4s. Frankly other than it is only slightly smoother ui there is actually nothing exciting. I still prefer android for its larger choice of handsets. I do not go about condemning ios just because I prefer Android
OS preferences up to individual user. Use the one that suit your NEEDS not what other user says or want
Whatever apps I used in ios before I have alternatives in Android too, some apps even better than ios equivalent
And I will still buy ip5 when available to assess whether it can meet my needs better. I will S usual sell it off if it does not. Only me n me alone will decide which os is better for me. I do not wish to be influence or crippled by others opinions
OrangCacat
post Jun 29 2012, 09:45 AM

447 posts

is this available to htc one x? cause it stated there it's only for galaxy nexus, motorola xoom and nexus tablet
Number92
post Jun 29 2012, 09:48 AM

175 posts

credit to uncle benny
I do not understand why every discussion/topic about android must invovle ios and vice versa and always end up in arguement rather than discussion
Dannyl
post Jun 29 2012, 09:48 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 29 2012, 08:55 AM)
apple software and hardware is made for each other. naturally u will have optimization. apple apps run better then android hardware being equal.that is the fact. let's not argue about that.

for some people silky smooth matters like shit. for some people it doesn't. i am the later category. but i need to multitask very much, and android does it the best! and apple, well, seems like they are happy with the way they multitask. so that's not fine with me.
Actually I'm curious about this multitask thing. I've used iOS and Android, and from experience, if you run something then press Home and start something else, the previous app is suspended and kept in memory. If you invoke it again, it will continue where it left off, unless the app is already disposed of by Android to reclaim memory (or you kill it yourself via the multitasking bar in iOS).

So. How does multitasking differ between iOS and Android? Not trolling, just curious.

QUOTE(OrangCacat @ Jun 29 2012, 09:45 AM)
is this available to htc one x? cause it stated there it's only for galaxy nexus, motorola xoom and nexus tablet
That depends on HTC. But being a flagship model, my guess is One X will be getting at least Jellybean and likely Kacang Ais. Expect it sometime end of this year or next year, they need time to incorporate HTC Sense into the stock Jellybean.

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Jun 29 2012, 09:50 AM
ramz
post Jun 29 2012, 10:06 AM

21,354 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 29 2012, 09:48 AM)
Actually I'm curious about this multitask thing.  I've used iOS and Android, and from experience, if you run something then press Home and start something else, the previous app is suspended and kept in memory.  If you invoke it again, it will continue where it left off, unless the app is already disposed of by Android to reclaim memory (or you kill it yourself via the multitasking bar in iOS).

So.  How does multitasking differ between iOS and Android?  Not trolling, just curious.

open skype. talk to your gf on skype. your gf has ios and u have android. then ask your gf to look at her facebook coz u posted something really sexy there. when she switch to facebook, the skype video of her freezes! (voice still there but video freezes). now if u do the same on your android, your skype video don't freeze on her end.

now i want to put in context why its a bloody issue to me. I work outstation. i see my family every now and then. sometimes my kids and me play games together, but when they loose focus from skype, i can't see their face reaction during gameplay. and sometimes i post something somewhere and ask them to take a look. and again when they take a look at it, i can't see their face expression. really sucks!! sucks so much it makes me angry

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 29 2012, 10:07 AM
Long88
post Jun 29 2012, 10:08 AM

On my way home
1,416 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 29 2012, 09:36 AM)
Some users just refused to admit improvement in the android os. They will not hesitate to find faults in any improvement. I have also being a IPhone user since first model to latest ip4s. Frankly other than it is only slightly smoother ui there is actually nothing exciting. I still prefer android for its larger choice of handsets. I do not go about condemning ios just because I prefer Android
OS preferences up to individual user. Use the one that suit your NEEDS not what other user says or want
Whatever apps I used in ios before I have alternatives in Android too, some apps even better than ios equivalent
And I will still buy ip5 when available to assess whether it can meet my needs better. I will S usual sell it off if it does not. Only me n me alone will decide which os is better for me. I do not wish to be influence or crippled by others opinions
+1
MANSTIR
post Jun 29 2012, 10:14 AM

159 posts

i hope they (googles) can unlock malaysia maps navigation
Dannyl
post Jun 29 2012, 10:24 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 29 2012, 10:06 AM)
open skype. talk to your gf on skype. your gf has ios and u have android. then ask your gf to look at her facebook coz u posted something really sexy there. when she switch to facebook, the skype video of her freezes! (voice still there but video freezes). now if u do the same on your android, your skype video don't freeze on her end.

now i want to put in context why its a bloody issue to me. I work outstation. i see my family every now and then. sometimes my kids and me play games together, but when they loose focus from skype, i can't see their face reaction during gameplay. and sometimes i post something somewhere and ask them to take a look. and again when they take a look at it, i can't see their face expression. really sucks!! sucks so much it makes me angry
Ahh I get it now. Thanks. I guess this is for certain apps only, like Skype, where it can run even in the background. Apps like YouTube, etc, playback stops the moment you press Home.

So THIS is multitasking.
ramz
post Jun 29 2012, 10:30 AM

21,354 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 29 2012, 10:24 AM)
Ahh I get it now.  Thanks.  I guess this is for certain apps only, like Skype, where it can run even in the background.  Apps like YouTube, etc, playback stops the moment you press Home.

So THIS is multitasking.
we must put everything into context. people like to complain left and right, but nobody knows what is his issue. youtube is ok to stop. coz if u switch app, basically u stop watching right? of course people say that they still want to load in background and watch it later. but who cares at this time when speed of access of 1mbs is easily achievable. no more the old days where your youtube always sekat sekat.

is not only skype got prob. every video app has the same problem. whether it is skype, ooVoo, facetime, tango. etc. its the problem of the OS, not the app.
nothing_nth
post Jun 29 2012, 10:56 AM

no stars
2,408 posts

LOL...
those who said android is lag will definitely STFU when JB launched...project butter~ 60 fps rclxm9.gif
I like the way how GSMarena describe Android...

The list might not be too long, but Android ICS was arguably the most feature-rich platform already, so major changes were hardly required. With Android easily the most popular mobile OS out there, Jelly Bean's task is to solidify its lead by polishing the user experience...
p/s:piece of advice...those who warship Apple... pls GTFO... since here is android section... dont create more issues in here... go b play will the 3.5inch toy screen phone... stop trolling here... here ain't mobile section, ppl here tend to be android fanboy...
freddy manson
post Jun 29 2012, 11:03 AM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 29 2012, 10:24 AM)
Ahh I get it now.  Thanks.  I guess this is for certain apps only, like Skype, where it can run even in the background.  Apps like YouTube, etc, playback stops the moment you press Home.

So THIS is multitasking.
That's multitasking for fruity lah hahaha lame oh lame..

Why opt fr skype?
cause the phone doesnt support video calling..!
oh wait its not a phone, its a fruit.. nom nom nom...

---

Back to JELLY BEAN ANDROIS DISCUSSION..
wanna ask if they will have better Google Maps in store..

Turn by turn navigation is quite a feature if the JB with smooth 60fps can help on navigation...
ken2291
post Jun 29 2012, 11:08 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

Argue whatever you want. The video says every thing. Jellybean notworthy.gif

v1n0d
post Jun 29 2012, 12:26 PM

3,197 posts

True multitasking has always been a heated argument. Then again, ask yourself how many of you would actually benefit from multitasking. Forumer ramz has given you a sample incident where multitasking would be beneficial, but how many people actually end up in such a situation? Hardware and software capabilities mean nothing if it cannot provide an excellent experience to the end user, and Google's commitment to Project Butter underlines this fact.
TSbestofel
post Jun 29 2012, 04:53 PM

528 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Jun 29 2012, 12:26 PM)
True multitasking has always been a heated argument. Then again, ask yourself how many of you would actually benefit from multitasking. Forumer ramz has given you a sample incident where multitasking would be beneficial, but how many people actually end up in such a situation? Hardware and software capabilities mean nothing if it cannot provide an excellent experience to the end user, and Google's commitment to Project Butter underlines this fact.
Last night I do WIFI tethering from my SGS3 to my MacBook Pro, downloading Jelly Bean SDK. Then I use the SGS3 to snap a video. I saw the internet connection in my MacBook Pro still ok, the download progress not stop. Can we do like that with iOS?

Uhh..I still can't run my Jelly Bean emulator. Still troubleshooting why my eclipse can't find the new SDK and the old SDK now gone. (*_*)

This post has been edited by bestofel: Jun 29 2012, 04:53 PM
abundai
post Jun 29 2012, 06:16 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jun 29 2012, 11:08 AM)
Argue whatever you want.  The video says every thing. Jellybean notworthy.gif
SIRI just got b**** SLAP by Google Voice.... doh.gif

I wonder what does SIRI fanboys gotta say bout this...
stormlcc
post Jun 29 2012, 06:45 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(abundai @ Jun 29 2012, 06:16 PM)
SIRI just got b**** SLAP by Google Voice....  doh.gif

it's good to have competition, next SIRI version will beat the crap out of android's, then next android's will beat SIRI and vice versa, we consumers WIN. The problem with the smartphone OS nowadays is the lack of competition, for the past 2 years iOS has been playing catch up and this is NOT good.

anyway, i've bombarded that youtube video on facebook, just to piss off apple fanboys
freddy manson
post Jun 29 2012, 06:46 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

so, post this video n the fruity forum then hehehe~
stormlcc
post Jun 29 2012, 06:47 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Jun 29 2012, 06:46 PM)
sweat.gif to start a war. or just post there and then LARIIIIIIIIIIIIII!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ramz
post Jun 29 2012, 06:47 PM

21,354 posts

there will say they still have 5 months more to bit the crap out of google
freddy manson
post Jun 29 2012, 06:54 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jun 29 2012, 06:47 PM)
there will say they still have 5 months more to bit the crap out of google
and then Google comes out with another update then.. POW b1tchslap apple, and beat the sh1t out of rotten fruit..
wcypierre
post Jun 29 2012, 07:04 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 28 2012, 10:31 PM)
Yes, still searching other resources. Maybe here I need to go: http://developer.android.com/about/versions/android-4.1.html

This is what I saw in my Eclipse now:

Added on June 28, 2012, 10:37 pmThis source look like what I'm looking for: http://www.teamandroid.com/2012/06/27/inst...y-bean-sdk-now/

Uh...it is for Windows, but I use MacBook Pro right now. Ayya...

Added on June 28, 2012, 10:39 pm
OK, lastly here I got it: http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html
actually, after you downloaded the android sdk tools rev 20, then you close the sdk manager and reopen again, the jellybean sdk will be available for download(just did it yesterday)

Added on June 29, 2012, 7:06 pm
QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 29 2012, 01:03 AM)
Just ignore pakcik Li.

Now we can try Google Play Store Jelly Bean version, download here:
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/06/27/do...y-bean-edition/

More apk file will come to us since the Jelly Bean SDK now in the developers hand.
btw, is it just me or the jellybean play store is laggy? lol

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Jun 29 2012, 07:06 PM
abundai
post Jun 29 2012, 07:13 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Jun 29 2012, 06:47 PM)
sweat.gif to start a war.  or just post there and then LARIIIIIIIIIIIIII!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
no need lah .. androids are better than those lame frutties....
the only thing they know is a smooth phone... apa raaa... smart phone should be smart, not just "pretty".. duhh...

im really eager to hear what hardcore frutti fanboys (in this particular thread) have to say...
im sure they've seen the video... brows.gif
mtxx
post Jun 29 2012, 07:46 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(abundai @ Jun 29 2012, 07:13 PM)
no need lah .. androids are better than those lame frutties....
the only thing they know is a smooth phone... apa raaa... smart phone should be smart, not just "pretty".. duhh...

im really eager to hear what hardcore frutti fanboys (in this particular thread) have to say...
im sure they've seen the video...  brows.gif
jelly bean is really nice and all.
but no matter how good it is, other then galaxy nexus, i dont think any phone is going to get it.

cyanogen mod, after half a year working on ics, still not yet finish, recently only release the RC version.
jellybean? dont hold your breath...

anyway, i'm superbly satisfied with ics now.
my phone started out with stock GB > custom GB>stock ICS>custom ICS

the experience keeps getting better and better.
now have something new to look forward, JB rclxms.gif

but this wait isnt goin to be a painfull one, ICS is really good, enough to last for the time being.
stormlcc
post Jun 29 2012, 09:30 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jun 29 2012, 07:46 PM)
but no matter how good it is, other then galaxy nexus, i dont think any phone is going to get it.

cyanogen mod, after half a year working on ics, still not yet finish, recently only release the RC version.

now have something new to look forward, JB  rclxms.gif

but this wait isnt goin to be a painfull one, ICS is really good, enough to last for the time being.
the good news is, JB isn't very much different than ICS, unlike gingerbread to ICS. it's a lot more easier for devs to implement the update from ICS to JB
abundai
post Jun 29 2012, 09:32 PM

986 posts

ya.. lucky i got myself a Gnex .. thumbup.gif
i started with eclairs, and seeing the improvement until now, i'm so glad i didnt pick up an iphone last time

i just flashed JB on my nexus.. so far, it really is buttery smooth..
it seems to have a noticeable scale in/out effect when switching between apps...

i;d probably flashed back to custom ICS later, cos stock JB still doesnt have the mods that i want, which is navi bar customisation...

AmericanPig
post Jun 29 2012, 09:35 PM

85 posts

JellyBean wont get Adobe flash. sad case.
mtxx
post Jun 29 2012, 09:53 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(abundai @ Jun 29 2012, 09:32 PM)
ya.. lucky i got myself a Gnex ..    thumbup.gif 
i started with eclairs, and seeing the improvement until now, i'm so glad i didnt pick up an iphone last time

it seems to have a noticeable scale in/out effect when switching between apps...

i;d probably flashed back to custom ICS later, cos stock JB still doesnt have the mods that i want, which is navi bar customisation...
after watching the jellybean features videos,
i kindda have the urge to sell S2 and get a nexus.

but then again, the lack of SD card support is really sad.
when you get used to 32GB storage, its really hard to go back.

TSbestofel
post Jun 29 2012, 10:40 PM

528 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jun 29 2012, 07:04 PM)
actually, after you downloaded the android sdk tools rev 20, then you close the sdk manager and reopen again, the jellybean sdk will be available for download(just did it yesterday)
Yayaa...got it:

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jun 29 2012, 07:04 PM)

Added on June 29, 2012, 7:06 pm
btw, is it just me or the jellybean play store is laggy? lol
Owh. Don't know. I can't install it to my SGS3.
uzary
post Jun 29 2012, 10:40 PM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

Never tout that jellybean update already arrived this soon, I only started to enjoy ics bout 2 month ago n now jellybean already arrived.. wonder wil my arc n tablet s wil get jellybean update or not.. I dun really mind if my arc wont get the jellybean as bein a single core n very low internal memory, not muc I think I wil enjoy wit jellybean..but really hope my tablet s wil get jellybean by this year..
abundai
post Jun 29 2012, 10:55 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jun 29 2012, 09:53 PM)
after watching the jellybean features videos,
i kindda have the urge to sell S2 and get a nexus.

but then again, the lack of SD card support is really sad.
when you get used to 32GB storage, its really hard to go back.
yup.. no sdcard can be such a turn off for some people..
but after a while, u'll get use to it..
for my usage, i can barely hit 10Gb...

i guess with limited storage, it teaches me to value storage space..
so i prioritize the stuff i actually put in my phone...
mainly a few hundreds of music and titanium bckup content.. and yeah, no movies...
ken2291
post Jun 29 2012, 11:12 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Jun 29 2012, 06:46 PM)
lol.. we Android users are not like Uncle Hulk, so free to come and bash our forum.

QUOTE(abundai @ Jun 29 2012, 09:32 PM)
ya.. lucky i got myself a Gnex ..    thumbup.gif 

I thought Galaxy Nexus, lol.. then Eclair rclxub.gif now I understand it's Google Nexus biggrin.gif
wcypierre
post Jun 29 2012, 11:15 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 29 2012, 10:40 PM)
Yayaa...got it:
Owh. Don't know. I can't install it to my SGS3.
yesterday out d but I didn't saw the update also, but after I updated it and reopen it, then I noticed the new android 4.1 then I dl d biggrin.gif

I wonder why but the play store lags on my hox lol
herojack41
post Jun 29 2012, 11:32 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

its already too late for them....as ios have owning them since the iphone 3gs era

android just getting stupid and stupid....with the stupid apps that running background that cant be stop

like those useless google plus, email, gmail apps...which is taking hell lot of ram ....you hav to install a task killer just to kill it and it still restart doh.gif doh.gif

just let the user decide if that apps should be running at background.....i bet it gonna be as smooth as ios
benny888
post Jun 29 2012, 11:48 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jun 29 2012, 11:32 PM)
its already too late for them....as ios have owning them since the iphone 3gs era

android just getting stupid and stupid....with the stupid apps that running background that cant be stop

like those useless google plus, email, gmail apps...which is taking hell lot of ram ....you hav to install a task killer just to kill it and it still restart  doh.gif  doh.gif

just let the user decide if that apps should be running at background.....i bet it gonna be as smooth as ios
Looks like you still don't understand android os n how it works especially on task n apps management
You are still having windows mentality
Go read n Google more on this subject
herojack41
post Jun 29 2012, 11:58 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jun 29 2012, 11:48 PM)
Looks like you still don't understand android os n how it works especially on task n apps management
You are still having windows mentality
Go read n Google more on this subject
yep...i did not read the docs provided by them

just explain to me....

why Gmail apps, Email apps and google+ apps are running at background...while i dont even use it...heck, i dont even check mail by using browser

This post has been edited by herojack41: Jun 30 2012, 12:00 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jun 29 2012, 11:59 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jun 28 2012, 11:24 PM)
LOL....keep bashing android fragmentation...eye yam enjoying my S2 with ICS so much. Pathethic no life keeps complaining.

My only real complain is can't find some nice games to play right now...sick of casual games...maybe need to buy a PS VITA for some real mobile gaming.

Just tried my friend's HTC ONE-X btw...no need Project Butter also already smooth as butter.
mtxx
post Jun 30 2012, 12:10 AM

5,011 posts

like those useless google plus, email, gmail apps...which is taking hell lot of ram ....you hav to install a task killer just to kill it and it still restart  doh.gif  doh.gif

Most phones already got 1gb of ram. I nv bother to check ram usage. It never gets full.

Every thing smooth on s2 ics and even during gb.

U using older Gen phones? Try cyanogenmod then:-)

Added on June 30, 2012, 12:14 am
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 29 2012, 11:59 PM)
LOL....keep bashing android fragmentation...eye yam enjoying my S2 with ICS so much. Pathethic no life keeps complaining.

My only real complain is can't find some nice games to play right now...sick of casual games...maybe need to buy a PS VITA for some real mobile gaming.

Just tried my friend's HTC ONE-X btw...no need Project Butter also already smooth as butter.
Try go launcher,
Preference, screen settings, Screen transition speed, set to smooth 45.

Its really smooth. Try n see la.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Jun 30 2012, 12:14 AM
herojack41
post Jun 30 2012, 12:20 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jun 30 2012, 12:10 AM)
Most phones already got 1gb of ram. I nv bother to check ram usage. It never gets full.

Added on June 30, 2012, 12:14 am

Try go launcher,

im not a fans of flashing roms....but i do wanna learn how to root it and unistall those useless apps

also you dont need the ram to be full to be start lagging.....when i reached 90% its pretty lag already smile.gif

just a visit to a site that have flash content.....its pain in the arse
ZRong223
post Jun 30 2012, 12:24 AM

864 posts

Tell you, it is nevermind if Android take a portion of RAM for background processes.
The most scary thing is the deduction of maximum RAM.
Take SII G as example. 687MB only after updating to ICS.
JB? 512MB? Lol~~!! biggrin.gif
Doomsday
post Jun 30 2012, 12:25 AM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

RAM is wasted if not used... thats the way Android works unlike Windows.

I barely kill all my task on my phones, I let it run on background. No problem no complaint at all.

And yeah, do read up taskiller CONS if you have time...
herojack41
post Jun 30 2012, 12:25 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Jun 30 2012, 12:24 AM)
Tell you, it is nevermind if Android take a portion of RAM for background processes.
laugh.gif eat away for caching or some other purpose brows.gif brows.gif ?

Added on June 30, 2012, 12:28 am
QUOTE(Doomsday @ Jun 30 2012, 12:25 AM)
RAM is wasted if not used... thats the way Android works unlike Windows.

I barely kill all my task on my phones, I let it run on background. No problem no complaint at all.

And yeah, do read up taskiller CONS if you have time...
its a suffer for lower end spec phone.....i always run out of ram when visiting flash content website and its lag like nobody business smile.gif

This post has been edited by herojack41: Jun 30 2012, 12:28 AM
mtxx
post Jun 30 2012, 12:30 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Jun 30 2012, 12:24 AM)
You should be grateful, my cousin galaxy w,
512mb ram, but really its just 350mb.

And usually usage on stock unrooted already use 300.
That leaves only 50mb free ram.

Can't even play temple run. Too laggy.

Weird thing is, windows phone same gpu as w. But much smoother.
Not sure if galaxy w with jb can be same as wp7 or not.

Interested to see galaxy w with jb compete with wp7.
It will be a good benchmark on how well project butter really is.
bwin999
post Jun 30 2012, 01:05 AM

886 posts

OMG. No more Flash support for Jelly Bean?

http://www.gsminsider.com/2012/06/adobe-co...upport-for.html
ken2291
post Jun 30 2012, 01:19 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

It's not that he's using older gen phones. The prob is he duno hw Android works like what Uncle Benny is saying
Even if it's older gen phones.. Well, you pay peanuts you get monkeys

This post has been edited by ken2291: Jun 30 2012, 01:23 AM
abundai
post Jun 30 2012, 01:25 AM

986 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jun 29 2012, 11:12 PM)
lol.. we Android users are not like Uncle Hulk, so free to come and bash our forum.
I thought Galaxy Nexus, lol.. then Eclair rclxub.gif  now I understand it's Google Nexus biggrin.gif
i meant, i started with SE eclairs phone, and now i have galaxy nexus...

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jun 30 2012, 12:20 AM)
im not a fans of flashing roms....but i do wanna learn how to root it and unistall those useless apps

also you dont need the ram to be full to be start lagging.....when i reached 90% its pretty lag already smile.gif

just a visit to a site that have flash content.....its pain in the arse
wat phone r u using? and wat OS are u on?
ur comment on android are based on froyo or Gingerbread is it?
ken2291
post Jun 30 2012, 01:27 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

My phone started out with stock Eclair > Froyo > GB > ICS laugh.gif
TSbestofel
post Jun 30 2012, 07:19 AM

528 posts

Let's I tell you.
If you on Eclair, Froyo or GingerBread, you have settings to off all background data or enable/disable sync for individual account. For Ice Cream Sandwich you don't have on/off background data but you can sign out what you did not use like gtalk and goggle+ and you can off individual account sync.

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jun 30 2012, 01:27 AM)
My phone started out with stock Eclair > Froyo > GB > ICS  laugh.gif

Samsung Galaxy S, the legend right?

Dannyl
post Jun 30 2012, 09:09 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Try go launcher,

GO Launcher looks too much like GB and is too slow. For ICS, should go for either Apex or Nova.

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jun 30 2012, 12:25 AM)
its a suffer for lower end spec phone.....i always run out of ram when visiting flash content website and its lag like nobody business smile.gif
You expect a lower end phone to perform like a high-end phone?
herojack41
post Jun 30 2012, 10:23 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(abundai @ Jun 30 2012, 01:25 AM)
i meant,  i started with SE eclairs phone,  and now i have galaxy nexus...
wat phone r u using? and wat OS are u on?
ur comment on android are based on froyo or Gingerbread is it?
LG with gingerbread

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 30 2012, 07:19 AM)
Let's I tell you.
If you on Eclair, Froyo or GingerBread, you have settings to off all background data or enable/disable sync for  individual account. For Ice Cream Sandwich  you don't have on/off background data but you can sign out what you did not use like gtalk and goggle+ and you can off individual account sync.

Samsung Galaxy S, the legend right?
how to do that...been using for 6 months and i dint seems to hav found the option to do that
ZRong223
post Jun 30 2012, 11:27 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(bwin999 @ Jun 30 2012, 01:05 AM)

Yeah. It hurts Android a lot.
And, you are too late, slowpoke. biggrin.gif
TSbestofel
post Jun 30 2012, 11:50 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jun 30 2012, 10:23 AM)
how to do that...been using for 6 months and i dint seems to hav found the option to do that
I not familiar with LG. Try look at Settings > Accounts and Sync. Untick background data.

Tap on your account, there you have option to on or off sync.

This post has been edited by bestofel: Jun 30 2012, 11:59 AM
stevenlee
post Jun 30 2012, 01:02 PM

look @ my Star *o* ...hoho
3,158 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Jun 30 2012, 11:27 AM)
Yeah. It hurts Android a lot.
And, you are too late, slowpoke. biggrin.gif
omg cant watch my prawn on the go whistling.gif
SUSsang_kanchil
post Jun 30 2012, 01:06 PM

404 posts

is all apple's fault. each time they start trend eventually all follow. vmad.gif
Dannyl
post Jun 30 2012, 01:15 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(sang_kanchil @ Jun 30 2012, 01:06 PM)
is all apple's fault. each time they start trend eventually all follow. vmad.gif
Except for microUSB. Nobody migrating to Apple's 16-pin port yet. I wonder, if Samsung adopt Apple's port, will Apple say other leaders are following them, or will they sue? rolleyes.gif
herojack41
post Jun 30 2012, 01:41 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 30 2012, 11:50 AM)
I not familiar with LG. Try look at Settings > Accounts and Sync. Untick background data.

Tap on your account, there you have option to on or off sync.
LG does not hav any heavy customization like htc and samsung.... *which is nightmare for me using that both device shakehead.gif *

woah.....unticking background data will make u unable to use playstore bro

i hav done that before lolz laugh.gif
mydragoon
post Jun 30 2012, 02:06 PM

7,044 posts

flash is old technology and buggy. even adobe knows that...

the late DJ saw this and opted to move on a different path. dun think it's about who follow who.

prawn sites should be fine. they are usually adopting the best and newest technology.
mikeeeee
post Jun 30 2012, 02:15 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jun 30 2012, 02:06 PM)
prawn sites should be fine. they are usually adopting the best and newest technology.
Muahaha a good example of technology at its best tongue.gif
ZRong223
post Jun 30 2012, 05:37 PM

864 posts

Then how now? Google Chrome + HTML5?
What about the stock browser? GG?
squareballs
post Jun 30 2012, 06:24 PM

4,331 posts

google chrome wil be the stock browser in jelly
SUSsang_kanchil
post Jun 30 2012, 06:37 PM

404 posts

what is prawn site?
greatgreedyguts
post Jun 30 2012, 06:49 PM

When in doubt, toss your wife
666 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jun 30 2012, 01:15 PM)
Except for microUSB.  Nobody migrating to Apple's 16-pin port yet.  I wonder, if Samsung adopt Apple's port, will Apple say other leaders are following them, or will they sue?  rolleyes.gif
they will sue, you know their pattern already. But Microsoft surface is going in a right direction by using a new port that is easier to dock than apple's, although the dock do resembles the "pogo pins" on gnex that less than 10 accessories support.
abundai
post Jun 30 2012, 07:10 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jun 30 2012, 01:41 PM)
LG does not hav any heavy customization like htc and samsung.... *which is nightmare for me using that both device  shakehead.gif *

woah.....unticking background data will make u unable to use playstore bro

i hav done that before lolz  laugh.gif
u want pure android experience? almost 0 lag, no task killer.... get a Nexus ...

u want at least 90% of the experience? invest in a high end phone with manufacturer bloatwares and slow firmware updates...

u want half the experience of android.. stick with unrooted low-mid end phones...

if u still cant afford high ends phones, at least find the effort to root ur device..
there are plenty of custom rom out there for LG phones that gives better performance than stock...
rooting phone is not rocket science.. any "average" joe can do it.. just as long as u know how to read instructions

if u still refuse to root n try custom rom, then ur just like a fat guy who complain bout ur own weight, but u never really exercise.. smile.gif
wcypierre
post Jun 30 2012, 07:23 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 29 2012, 11:59 PM)

yeah, one x is quite smooth on stock(sense is kinda laggy, if you use apex or nova its "butter smooth" brows.gif ). I tried my friend's s3 and its really smooth(but the s3 thread said that some part are laggy sometimes) but still quite amazing though(can't imagine when jb comes to those high end devices)
SUSKuLi
post Jun 30 2012, 07:25 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jun 30 2012, 07:23 PM)
yeah, one x is quite smooth on stock(sense is kinda laggy, if you use apex or nova its "butter smooth"  brows.gif ). I tried my friend's s3 and its really smooth(but the s3 thread said that some part are laggy sometimes) but still quite amazing though(can't imagine when jb comes to those high end devices)
On high end devices with quad core and plentiful RAM, is quite smooth if u dun install many apps.
This butter thg is to improve performance of cheap androids.
wcypierre
post Jun 30 2012, 08:06 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jun 30 2012, 07:25 PM)
On high end devices with quad core and plentiful RAM, is quite smooth if u dun install many apps.
yaya, as per what we saw at the video for gnex.

Added on June 30, 2012, 8:07 pmbut seriously, 1gb ram for a quad core device is not really a lot you know

This post has been edited by wcypierre: Jun 30 2012, 08:07 PM
abundai
post Jun 30 2012, 08:17 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jun 30 2012, 07:25 PM)
to improve low ends phone with only a firmware upgrade sounds pretty good dont u think?
at least one does not need to spent much to get a good smartphone experience..

consumer wins!! rclxms.gif
nothing_nth
post Jun 30 2012, 08:56 PM

no stars
2,408 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Jun 30 2012, 08:06 PM)
yaya, as per what we saw at the video for gnex.

Added on June 30, 2012, 8:07 pmbut seriously, 1gb ram for a quad core device is not really a lot you know
till now quadcore is an overkill ... maybe for key lime cake ... but never for ICS or JB... it jz like 0.5 sec faster... maybe perform faster than any duo core... so does the battery juice if all cores performing~
biosfree
post Jun 30 2012, 11:16 PM

182 posts

1 yr of and.
stanley_85
post Jul 1 2012, 01:59 AM

Testing
1,050 posts

just hope that htc one x can support to update. and google wont let us wait for so long.

This post has been edited by stanley_85: Jul 1 2012, 02:03 AM
herojack41
post Jul 1 2012, 02:15 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(abundai @ Jun 30 2012, 07:10 PM)
u want pure android experience? almost 0 lag, no task killer.... get a Nexus ...

u want at least 90% of the experience? invest in a high end phone with manufacturer bloatwares and slow firmware updates...

u want half the experience of android.. stick with unrooted low-mid end phones...

if u still cant afford high ends phones, at least find the effort to root ur device..
there are plenty of custom rom out there for LG phones that gives better performance than stock...
rooting phone is not rocket science..  any "average" joe can do it.. just as long as u know how to read instructions

if u still refuse to root n try custom rom, then ur just like a fat guy who complain bout ur own weight, but u never really exercise..  smile.gif
i think u got it wrong there....u wanna play harsh i can entertain you anytime little one....
while u nid performance and theres is some stupid apps that you dont even use it hogging your resources, so you gotta task kill it...which is gonna last for about 1~5 minute with smooth experience and here comes the stupid apps restarting by itself.

what i pointing out were, android is lag on one a single core,dual core and even quad core....until google admit its they fault and then jelly bean popped out to declare war with lag.

lets make a example...why ios is that successful?

its becoz of the software optimization is so good/

mikeeeee
post Jul 1 2012, 02:53 AM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 1 2012, 02:15 AM)
i think u got it wrong there....u wanna play harsh i can entertain you anytime little one....
while u nid performance and theres is some stupid apps that you dont even use it hogging your resources, so you gotta task kill it...which is gonna last for about 1~5 minute with smooth experience and here comes the stupid apps restarting by itself.
what i pointing out were, android is lag on one a single core,dual core and even quad core....until google admit its they fault and then jelly bean popped out to declare war with lag.

And 1 million activations per day is not successful?
doggydogg
post Jul 1 2012, 03:37 AM

Got some tomatoes to spare?
838 posts

more like using pc la, there will always be apps that pandai pandai launch itself even tho users nvr want it.

i just use other apps to disable those stupid apps you mention from auto starting up.

true for single & dual core device but not really for quad core. I own a asus transformer prime & sgs3, both also quad core device running ICS, both doing good like buttery kind of good. ICS was half way there, looks like JB will complete it.

springfall
post Jul 1 2012, 07:51 AM

Spring and fall helping Summer and winter
4,072 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 1 2012, 04:15 AM)

Gonna rant about tat, just take tbackup n freeze it lar.
mtxx
post Jul 1 2012, 08:29 AM

5,011 posts

dude, borrow a friends high end android phone, 1X, sgs2/3, nexus or equilvalent.
scroll the home screen, pinch xoom in browser, play some games.
regardless the launcher used,rooted or unrooted, things are really really fast and smooth on those.

you using optimus black issit?
you cant judge the entire android based on your experience with one phone, especially a slightly dated one.

if you have the idea that iOS is faster and smoother, by all means go get one.
but i tell you you wont be happy, because things that you take for granted in android dont exist in iOS.
once you're used to a platform, its really hard to switch.

Ulysses
post Jul 1 2012, 09:07 AM

尤利西斯
2,822 posts

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jul 1 2012, 08:29 AM)
dude, borrow a friends high end android phone, 1X, sgs2/3, nexus or equilvalent.
regardless the launcher used,rooted or unrooted, things are really really fast and smooth on those.

you cant judge the entire android based on your experience with one phone, especially a slightly dated one.

but i tell you you wont be happy, because things that you take for granted in android dont exist in iOS.
once you're used to a platform, its really hard to switch
like this one biggrin.gif
FuNks
post Jul 1 2012, 09:34 AM

F z N
2,812 posts

Sounds like you're an Apple user.
Coz you don't even know how Android works.
We do many various intermediate levels of customizations to maximize the fun and pleasure.
The problem you've started, just a small problem, can just simply untick it. It's just a function, some of us think it's useful.
We do rooting, we do flashing.
All fruits do, is just jailbreak to get free apps.
End of story.
Make love not war. biggrin.gif

P.S. 4.1 Jelly Bean. Orgasmic.
Dannyl
post Jul 1 2012, 09:35 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Becos Steve was the greatest salesman ever. Wasn't it obvious? Look at iPhone launches and how that guy presents it. I don't like iPhone also felt like I want one. Let's not talk about other weaker-willed humans.

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Jul 1 2012, 09:37 AM
phantomash
post Jul 1 2012, 09:54 AM

Not a Fanboy
4,282 posts

QUOTE(stanley_85 @ Jul 1 2012, 01:59 AM)
just hope that htc one x can support to update. and google wont let us wait for so long.
you'll have to wait HTC for that, not Google.
TSbestofel
post Jul 1 2012, 09:58 AM

528 posts

Now we have two JBs:

Android with Jelly Bean.
iOS with Jail Break

Which one is better? The official or the illegal one? Google like their JB, but Apple don't like their JB, even trying to kill illegal site that offer free app. Without JB for iOS, user just have good smooth phone but limited function.

I use iPhone and iPad every day and I also an iOS app developer. I still hoping Apple will enhance iOS function, iOS 6 still cannot challenge Android in term of the functionality.
DJFoo000
post Jul 1 2012, 10:23 AM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

And it has degraded into a fanboy war again. Really?

Anyway, anyone on Android 4.1 got WiFi direct to work? I only manage to get my hands on a Galaxy S 2 (with stock TW ICS), and WiFi Direct is still not working. As in, I can't figure out how to make it transfer files to my Galaxy Nexus.

FYI WiFi Direct settings is now under WiFi settings (instead of under "More..." last time).

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Jul 1 2012, 10:24 AM
herojack41
post Jul 1 2012, 10:41 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jul 1 2012, 02:53 AM)
And 1 million activations per day is not successful?
it hav some many activation its becoz it have so much range from cheap till expensive

if apple inc do hav low end iphone....android gonna kiss the floor hard

QUOTE(doggydogg @ Jul 1 2012, 03:37 AM)
more like using pc la, there will always be apps that pandai pandai launch itself even tho users nvr want it.

i just use other apps to disable those stupid apps you mention from auto starting up.

true for single & dual core device but not really for quad core. I own a asus transformer prime & sgs3, both also quad core device running ICS, both doing good like buttery kind of good. ICS was half way there, looks like JB will complete it.
in pc...atleast there is services termination option, while android in default cant do that mate

QUOTE(mtxx @ Jul 1 2012, 08:29 AM)

once you're used to a platform, its really hard to switch.
everysingle person i ask regarding the android phone....the first word i got were lag

it hav been proven by 2 of my friend that use s2

QUOTE(FuNks @ Jul 1 2012, 09:34 AM)
Sounds like you're an Apple user.
Coz you don't even know how Android works.
We do many various intermediate levels of customizations to maximize the fun and pleasure.
The problem you've started, just a small problem, can just simply untick it. It's just a function, some of us think it's useful.
We do rooting, we do flashing.
All fruits do, is just jailbreak to get free apps.
End of story.
Make love not war. biggrin.gif

P.S. 4.1 Jelly Bean. Orgasmic.
i do not own any ios product but i do play around with them......you cant denied that ios in default are way smoother then android.

you dont hav to do so much configuration in ios to get those smooth experience.

in manufacture side....rooting its a void warranty case biggrin.gif

conclusion ios still win android

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jul 1 2012, 09:35 AM)
Becos Steve was the greatest salesman ever.  Wasn't it obvious?  Look at iPhone launches and how that guy presents it.  I don't like iPhone also felt like I want one.  Let's not talk about other weaker-willed humans.
sleep.gif android could do the same....just wether they want or not
springfall
post Jul 1 2012, 10:59 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 1 2012, 12:41 PM)
it hav some many activation its becoz it have so much range from cheap till expensive
-- say what? steve jobs didnt allow it worrr, think twice man, if a cheap iphone comes out, u wan meh? gonna suck too, use plastic, low grade processors and they will have to deal with complaints??

in pc...atleast there is services termination option, while android in default cant do that mate
-- starting from ICS, the system manages it better than ever, quit ur sukkish LG and try something else
also u got option to disable the freaking google + and if u not suang enuf, get titanium backup and freeze it gao gao/

everysingle person i ask regarding the android phone....the first word i got were lag
it hav been proven by 2 of my friend that use s2
-- ok, WVERYSINGLE PERSON!!, woots!! 2 person= everyone, i hope u dun do stats for work or we all will die from the figures u make.
also, since u have problems with androids, u are bound to mix with people who have problems with it too, unless u are leather jacket fish lar..

i do not own any ios product but i do play around with them......you cant denied that ios in default are way smoother then android.
-- dude do u read?? the previous posts mentioned so many things..
if i ask u carry 1 item in 2 hands, and run, u sure can ma..
u carry 8 items and run can? multitasking in android gets better n better, ios multiasking?? dont even wanna try

you dont hav to do so much configuration in ios to get those smooth experience.
-- because itz bare inside out..and also for the simple minded, brain still running the "new duo core"

in manufacture side....rooting its a void warranty case biggrin.gif
-- got unroot option, or just invest in iphone amount of money and buy a proper phone...
u willing spend 2k for iphone with ios but spend 1k+ for  android?? to me u r asking for it..
if u soo chepo, go china buy ur goods lar.. sure got food poisoning like the recent milk problems.

conclusion ios still win android
-- in ur world.. katak bawah well krock krock...

sleep.gif android could do the same....just wether they want or not
-- cuz doing it is better than skamming* cough, scratch that, lying *cough, scratch that, being a super salesman, leading a heard of herps/
Dannyl
post Jul 1 2012, 11:24 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 1 2012, 10:41 AM)

Apple won't. They are interested in selling high price for high profit. They are not interested in spreading technology to all levels of society at all price points, unlike Android (always pushing the envelope). You should know that. In fact, Apple can sell iPhone4 at 1K, I guarantee you it can shift the user base to iOS overnight. But they won't. They wanna keep their products a premium product. Add another 16GB storage for another RM300. Holy shyt.

This post has been edited by Dannyl: Jul 1 2012, 11:24 AM
springfall
post Jul 1 2012, 11:31 AM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jul 1 2012, 01:24 PM)
Apple won't.  They are interested in selling high price for high profit.  They are not interested in spreading technology to all levels of society at all price points, unlike Android (always pushing the envelope).  You should know that.  In fact, Apple can sell iPhone4 at 1K, I guarantee you it can shift the user base to iOS overnight.  But they won't.  They wanna keep their products a premium product.  Add another 16GB storage for another RM300.  Holy shyt.
proven with history text books, dating with allll products when apple just started.
I feel sorry for u herojack41...gives u a hug~
herojack41
post Jul 1 2012, 11:52 AM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Jul 1 2012, 11:31 AM)
proven with history text books, dating with allll products when apple just started.
I feel sorry for u herojack41...gives u a hug~
laugh.gif im so sorry, my english is poor enough and you cant understand

2 + ppl i ask about s2 tq

i might just leave it here, its hard to explain to those that like to flash flash to get performance
fallout
post Jul 1 2012, 12:15 PM

Listen!
776 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 1 2012, 11:52 AM)

i might just leave it here, its hard to explain to those that like to flash flash to get performance
Yes, I think you should get yourself an IP5, so we don't have to explain further.
SUSKuLi
post Jul 1 2012, 12:24 PM

1,293 posts

Pointless to compare iOS wt android.
Droidfags will always worship and sing praises even when the weakness is staring them right at the face.
And since this is droid forum, u get even more of that.

For example, there's this unker Benny who will even swear on his grave that all his Samsung android never lags. But then again, who are we to doubt him?

iOS is like Mercedes Benz, the everything has been figured out by the engineers while android is like proton wira.
Where u only buy the cheap base and use ur money to customize and pimp the ride.

What is obvious, google knows that until today even wt quad core and high RAM, it is still laggy.
That's why they need butter and spend so much to promote it even after 5 years since iPhone OS was launched.

JB is taken as a positive step fwd.

Let's stop this argument now.

ken2291
post Jul 1 2012, 12:28 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

Try asking every single person regarding Android on Samsung Galaxy SIII. Don't ask those who paid peanuts

If iOS were to be like a Merz, all it can do is run straight. No turning, no braking, no drifting

This post has been edited by ken2291: Jul 1 2012, 12:30 PM
game4life
post Jul 1 2012, 12:29 PM

1,943 posts

imma just leave this here too

s2 running stock gb, no tweaks whatsoever. this shows that it's not necessary to flash custom rom to get performance. thanks to samsung hardware accelerated browser.

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jul 1 2012, 12:24 PM)

same goes to ifag like you and similan whistling.gif
SUSKuLi
post Jul 1 2012, 12:33 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jul 1 2012, 12:28 PM)
Try asking every single person regarding Android on Samsung Galaxy SIII.  Don't ask those who paid peanuts

If iOS were to be like a Merz, all it can do is run straight.  No turning, no braking, no drifting
Google says 1million androids were activated everyday. Problem is only 5% or less is premium products like s3.

95% or more suffers from severe lag and fragmentation.

Google must solve these issues.
springfall
post Jul 1 2012, 12:34 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jul 1 2012, 02:24 PM)
Droidfags will always worship and sing praises even when the weakness is staring them right at the face.

For example, there's this unker Benny who will even swear on his grave that all his Samsung android never lags. But then again, who are we to doubt him?

iOS is like Mercedes Benz, the everything has been figured out by the engineers while android is like proton wira.
Where u only buy the cheap base and use ur money to customize and pimp the ride.

What is obvious, google knows that until today even wt quad core and high RAM, it is still laggy.
That's why they need butter and spend so much to promote it even after 5 years since iPhone OS was launched.

aiyo, y soo angry? cheer up~

dun go running around and stuffing people into graves if u think they are wrong, freedom of speech man.
yeah, i know people who also love mercedes benz with AMG or other stuff too u know~
heck walk along the streets, u can find alot of mercs with custom parts too.

also, i would drive a proton wira if u put a lambo engin and harden the core structure, for free!
since when pple actually PAY for flash img's that developers made, they gave it to the community, free, and if u wan donate, u donate..
if u drive u car later, and people offer u free engin, free body kits, free tuning, u dun wan meh?

have u used an s3?? or even JB yet? plz dun brag if u didnt or havent, btw, if quad core is overrated

btw, this is to discuss about JB, not coming here to say IOS 5/6 hands down FTW.. tats for IOS thread sweat.gif
uzary
post Jul 1 2012, 12:35 PM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

Really cant brain all this arguement bout android being lag.. so wat? We hv known that since long tym ago, n now when google introduce project butter, then there r people stil not satisfied, calling it is already too late la warsoeva, well better late then never,

For i owned both android n ios product, ip4s,xperia arc,sony tablet s n ipad 2, i admit in term of smooth experience, the ios wins but functionality demm failed for my need..

In conclusion for me, currently ios only hv advantage for their lag free experience, but when jb is widely available, i'll say that is it for ios unless ios becomin more like android in term of their functionality.
fallout
post Jul 1 2012, 12:37 PM

Listen!
776 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Jul 1 2012, 12:34 PM)

dun go running around and stuffing people into graves if u think they are wrong, freedom of speech man.
yeah, i know people who also love mercedes benz with AMG or other stuff too u know~

also, i would drive a proton wira if u put a lambo engin and harden the core structure, for free!
since when pple actually PAY for flash img's that developers made, they gave it to the community, free, and if u wan donate, u donate..
if u drive u car later, and people offer u free engin, free body kits, free tuning, u dun wan meh?

have u used an s3?? or even JB yet? plz dun brag if u didnt or havent, btw, if quad core is overrated

btw, this is to discuss about JB, not coming here to say IOS 5/6 hands down FTW.. tats for IOS thread  sweat.gif
Yes, that's the point! A mercs that forbid people to mod! Or after illegal modding will make it lag. doh.gif
ken2291
post Jul 1 2012, 12:38 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

How do you know it's only 5%? Yeah, you bought a CPU with Windows 7 on a 500MHz processor, 128mb ram and a lousy integrated graphic card. Then try to play Diablo III using it. Then you complain how lag and lousy Windows 7 is.

This post has been edited by ken2291: Jul 1 2012, 12:40 PM
SUSKuLi
post Jul 1 2012, 12:38 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Jul 1 2012, 12:34 PM)

btw, this is to discuss about JB, not coming here to say IOS 5/6 hands down FTW.. tats for IOS thread  sweat.gif
i've owned s1,s2,s3, note , tab 7.7 and sensation.

but i had sold off all of them. none really satisfies me.

hope jb with note 2 is different.
springfall
post Jul 1 2012, 12:40 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jul 1 2012, 02:33 PM)
Google says 1million androids were activated everyday. Problem is only 5% or less is premium products like s3.

95% or more  suffers from severe lag and fragmentation.

OK, point taken, last resort eh?? resorting to the fragmentation excuse??
show me the proof where u get that 5% of activation is from s3?
show me that 95% is all crappy android phones?

* i should prolly stop this pointless talk, every1 knows how a river troll looks like.
it hangs out under the bridge and goes to people and trolll!!

Added on July 1, 2012, 12:42 pm
QUOTE(KuLi @ Jul 1 2012, 02:38 PM)
i've owned s1,s2,s3, note , tab 7.7 and sensation.

but i had sold off all of them. none really satisfies me.

hope jb with note 2 is different.
problem is that if all dun satisfy ur needs, just get the ios6 ip5 and baaaaa somewhere else, dun spoil the enviroment by consuming new electronics and selling them off, tats just like a troll peeing in the river.

This post has been edited by springfall: Jul 1 2012, 12:44 PM
SUSKuLi
post Jul 1 2012, 12:50 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Jul 1 2012, 12:40 PM)
OK, point taken, last resort eh?? resorting to the fragmentation excuse??
show me the proof where u get that 5% of activation is from s3?
show me that 95% is all crappy android phones?

* i should prolly stop this pointless talk, every1 knows how a river troll looks like.
it hangs out under the bridge and goes to people and trolll!!

Added on July 1, 2012, 12:42 pm
problem is that if all dun satisfy ur needs, just get the ios6 ip5 and baaaaa somewhere else, dun spoil the enviroment by consuming new electronics and selling them off, tats just like a troll peeing in the river.
@game4live

see my point?

droidfags will resort to call others ppl trolls when they cannot prove a point and got pawned.

i cannot reveal market data sources, might lose my business license.
wave.gif
IwanAGP
post Jul 1 2012, 12:54 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

Afterall...

Conclusion is...

If you're those buy-and-use (steal from the term point-and-shoot) person, you'd better go for iOS. Nothing too complicated here for you to use your brain to think. It does all the job.

If you're those that loves complication like Facebook's 'It's Complicated' relationship status, go for Android. You would love how complicated it is that you can make it more complicated like what I did. Like the Nokia and Sony Ericsson days where I prefer complicated Symbian S60V3 much over Sony Ericsson 'user-friendly' interface.

Not much of fanboyism here. Just a word for all of us. It's all up to the thickness of your Wallet and personal preference.

@herojack41
You just can't tell whether Android wins or iOS wins. I admit iOS leads in the UI, smoothness, lagless etc but when it comes to customization. I believe you can't find a proof to show that iOS will win.

By the way. Don't forget that iOS is Apple-Only. It's damn easy for Apple to optimized for just few devices. Given same amount of resource(capital), Samsung needs to work on 20 devices(a random number that came up in my mind, never really counted) while Apple needs to work only on 3 devices (Pad Pod Phone). Don't you think it's unfair to compare this way?

Please don't start a Android vs Apple war here. This is Android Subforum, not iOS. iOS supporter just get back to your territory (Here) in this forum. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by IwanAGP: Jul 1 2012, 12:57 PM
springfall
post Jul 1 2012, 12:55 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jul 1 2012, 02:50 PM)
@game4live

see my point?

droidfags will resort to call others ppl trolls when they cannot prove a point and got pawned.

i cannot reveal market data sources, might lose my business license.
wave.gif
nono, i call troll because http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Troll_%28Internet%29
and also, u cannot produce the required materials to proof that u are not trolling people here.
i didnt call herojack41 a troll, i called u specifically. beacuse ur 5% is and 95% of fragmentation is unjustifiable.
so if u are presented in front of a court case, to proof ur innocence, u nid to source the data, however itz classified?
how? go to jaillar~ what to do?

This post has been edited by springfall: Jul 1 2012, 12:56 PM
FuNks
post Jul 1 2012, 01:01 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

Why lar ios crashing down to Jelly Bean thread.
You wanna ban this thread like Apple ban the nexus in US?
Hehe. doh.gif

Mid July is coming. Wohooo.
Open source. biggrin.gif
Joker87
post Jul 1 2012, 01:01 PM

607 posts

someone come troll here after trolling s3 thread... whistling.gif
ken2291
post Jul 1 2012, 01:02 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(FuNks @ Jul 1 2012, 01:01 PM)
Why lar ios crashing down to Jelly Bean thread.
You wanna ban this thread like Apple ban the nexus in US?
Hehe. doh.gif

Mid July is coming. Wohooo.
Open source. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Joker87 @ Jul 1 2012, 01:01 PM)
someone come troll here after trolling s3 thread...  whistling.gif
Zerglings sent out for patent war whistling.gif
springfall
post Jul 1 2012, 01:03 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(Joker87 @ Jul 1 2012, 03:01 PM)
someone come troll here after trolling s3 thread...  whistling.gif
really?? i wan c too... brows.gif
ken2291
post Jul 1 2012, 01:04 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Jul 1 2012, 01:03 PM)
really?? i wan c too... brows.gif
Oh.. it's all over the thread. Ask SIII users they'll puke.

btw, Jelly Bean has made some minor changes to its icons
FuNks
post Jul 1 2012, 01:10 PM

F z N
2,812 posts

Let's play drop test. biggrin.gif
IwanAGP
post Jul 1 2012, 01:10 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jul 1 2012, 01:04 PM)
Oh.. it's all over the thread. Ask SIII users they'll puke.

btw, Jelly Bean has made some minor changes to its icons
laugh.gif I didn't notice the change in icons. I've already used ICS on my Nex for <1 week then JB came out to kacau
Dannyl
post Jul 1 2012, 01:11 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

Never met those Volkswagon GTi owners who pimp and tweak their rides to level 5, have you?
ken2291
post Jul 1 2012, 01:13 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Jul 1 2012, 01:10 PM)
laugh.gif I didn't notice the change in icons. I've already used ICS on my Nex for <1 week then JB came out to kacau
lol.. take a look here:
Getting To Know Android 4.1, Part 1 - The Basics: Slide Unlock, Software Buttons, And New Icons
IwanAGP
post Jul 1 2012, 01:19 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jul 1 2012, 01:13 PM)
laugh.gif I only noticed the change in Google search bar and unlock screen. Those icons changes is really too minor to be noticed la laugh.gif
herojack41
post Jul 1 2012, 05:19 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

its different story for some1 that is so *smart*

when you tell them lag....they tell u aiya...mana ada lag...root it then no lag loh

QUOTE(uzary @ Jul 1 2012, 12:35 PM)
Really cant brain all this arguement bout android being lag.. so wat? We hv known that since long tym ago, n now when google introduce project butter, then there r people stil not satisfied, calling it is already too late la warsoeva, well better late then never,

For i owned both android n ios product, ip4s,xperia arc,sony tablet s n ipad 2, i admit in term of smooth experience, the ios wins but functionality demm failed for my need..

In conclusion for me, currently ios only hv advantage for their lag free experience, but when jb is widely available, i'll say that is it for ios unless ios becomin more like android in term of their functionality.
i would choose ios if there is no restriction like android.....
it just simply win if ios no restriction
xbbshampoo
post Jul 1 2012, 05:22 PM

AudioPedoPhile : >
869 posts

uzary
post Jul 1 2012, 07:07 PM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 1 2012, 05:19 PM)
its different story for some1 that is so *smart*

when you tell them lag....they tell u aiya...mana ada lag...root it then no lag loh
for it is vice versa, i hate ios for the restriction, i love android for its openness, but admit really fel better experience wit ios smooth, that is why jb for android is like a dream come true n i cant wait for it..

but conclusion, that is also why i owned both ios n android, cool2.gif whistling.gif
DJFoo000
post Jul 1 2012, 07:44 PM

3,000 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 1 2012, 05:19 PM)
I anticipate the day iOS is open sourced. Oh wai...

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Jul 1 2012, 07:45 PM
springfall
post Jul 1 2012, 07:49 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Jul 1 2012, 09:44 PM)
I anticipate the day iOS is open sourced. Oh wai...
when they have acquired enuf funds, they will not go open source.. they will dominate the human race!!! whistling.gif
wayne520
post Jul 1 2012, 07:54 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jul 1 2012, 01:11 PM)
Never met those Volkswagon GTi owners who pimp and tweak their rides to level 5, have you?
+10

Apr drool.gif
herojack41
post Jul 1 2012, 08:49 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jul 1 2012, 07:07 PM)
for it is vice versa, i hate ios for the restriction, i love android for its openness, but admit really fel better experience wit ios smooth, that is why jb for android is like a dream come true n i cant wait for it..

but conclusion, that is also why i owned both ios n android,  cool2.gif  whistling.gif
cool2.gif thinking of that too....but screen too small
ruztynail
post Jul 1 2012, 09:10 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

7 of us in my office moved on from ios to android when s3 first came up. 6 was on iOS ip4. 1 from bb. Nuff said.
uzary
post Jul 1 2012, 09:26 PM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 1 2012, 08:49 PM)
well that is why ipad is made.. stop whining bout android being lag etc, go buy both ipad n ipon then for sure u satisfied, together wit ur Lg, u wil enjoy both android n ios sweetness.. but friendly advice, opt for the high end android device especially nexus(as it will get direct support from google), only then u know the beauty of android.. as low end android cant expect much as their specs speak itself... u dun c any low end ipon dun ya icon_idea.gif
herojack41
post Jul 1 2012, 09:30 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jul 1 2012, 09:26 PM)
well that is why ipad is made.. stop whining bout android being lag etc, go buy both ipad n ipon then for sure u satisfied, together wit ur Lg, u wil enjoy both android n ios sweetness.. but friendly advice, opt for the high end android device especially nexus(as it will get direct support from google), only then u know the beauty of android.. as low end android cant expect much as their specs speak itself... u dun c any low end ipon dun ya   icon_idea.gif
in cantonese * got hair who 1 be lak lei*

This post has been edited by herojack41: Jul 1 2012, 09:30 PM
uzary
post Jul 1 2012, 09:31 PM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 1 2012, 09:10 PM)
7 of us in my office moved on from ios to android when s3 first came up. 6 was on iOS ip4. 1 from bb. Nuff said.
s3 has very good spec, too bad im not really like it's design.. n dun really like samsung too... really hope sony wil soon release their quad core phone, n also take this opportunity to skip ics n go straight for jb.. tho i wont expect muc as when xperia s was released, it came wit gb..

Added on July 1, 2012, 9:39 pm
QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 1 2012, 09:30 PM)
in cantonese * got hair who 1 be lak lei*
n wth does it mean? hope notin offensive, as i didnt to u wit my previous comment, just stated the fact u wil find ur satisfaction by purchasing apple product, n u seems to favor ios so muc, so go for it.. if ipon too small for u, get n ipad, if u ned to make call n wan ios, buy ipon, n u can buy both to enjoy ios to the fullest. no money no talk, again no offence, apple products are very expensive..

This post has been edited by uzary: Jul 1 2012, 09:39 PM
v1n0d
post Jul 1 2012, 10:43 PM

3,197 posts

Those here who argue on the merits of iOS vs Android clearly don't understand their kernels. A little refresher course in UNIX would do both parties good. iOS may be way ahead in many aspects at the moment, but there's no point in denying that it will soon be overtaken by Android. That's the beauty of the open source movement, it's pretty much unstoppable. As the kernel improves, you'll see improvement in all software based on it, and most importantly, since it's based on community feedback, you'll get the features you want!
ken2291
post Jul 1 2012, 11:22 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jul 1 2012, 07:07 PM)

but conclusion, that is also why i owned both ios n android,  cool2.gif  whistling.gif
Me too, I own both but I hardly touch my iPad twice a day laugh.gif

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 1 2012, 08:49 PM)
the next iPhone will have a screen around 4'. Wait for that smile.gif

QUOTE(uzary @ Jul 1 2012, 09:31 PM)
s3 has very good spec, too bad im not really like it's design.. n dun really like samsung too... really hope sony wil soon release their quad core phone, n also take this opportunity to skip ics n go straight for jb.. tho i wont expect muc as when xperia s was released, it came wit gb..

Added on July 1, 2012, 9:39 pm

n wth does it mean? hope notin offensive, as i didnt to u wit my previous comment, just stated the fact u wil find ur satisfaction by purchasing apple product, n u seems to favor ios so muc, so go for it.. if ipon too small for u, get n ipad, if u ned to make call n wan ios, buy ipon, n u can buy both to enjoy ios to the fullest. no money no talk, again no offence, apple products are very expensive..
No, it's not an offensive phrase. Since you don't understand, I'll do a direct translation for u. It's like "Who wanna be botak if they have hair" lol.. I think he probably means high ends are much too expensive. Well, you get what you pay for smile.gif The long you see the phone, the more you'll like it. Even though Sony has the same specs as SIII, in real life performace, it'll lose out quite a far bit.

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Jul 1 2012, 10:43 PM)
Those here who argue on the merits of iOS vs Android clearly don't understand their kernels. A little refresher course in UNIX would do both parties good. iOS may be way ahead in many aspects at the moment, but there's no point in denying that it will soon be overtaken by Android. That's the beauty of the open source movement, it's pretty much unstoppable. As the kernel improves, you'll see improvement in all software based on it, and most importantly, since it's based on community feedback, you'll get the features you want!
Let me rephrase.. It's already been taken over laugh.gif
v1n0d
post Jul 1 2012, 11:44 PM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jul 1 2012, 11:22 PM)
Me too, I own both but I hardly touch my iPad twice a day laugh.gif
the next iPhone will have a screen around 4'.  Wait for that smile.gif
No, it's not an offensive phrase.  Since you don't understand, I'll do a direct translation for u.  It's like "Who wanna be botak if they have hair" lol.. I think he probably means high ends are much too expensive.  Well, you get what you pay for smile.gif  The long you see the phone, the more you'll like it.  Even though Sony has the same specs as SIII, in real life performace, it'll lose out quite a far bit.
Let me rephrase.. It's already been taken over laugh.gif
Kernel-wise, definitely! Fragmentation is still an issue though. Inevitable byproduct of bring able to modify the choose as you wish.
kaoshi
post Jul 2 2012, 03:34 AM

464 posts

hows the effect of the Project Butter on Android 4.1?
rattan
post Jul 2 2012, 05:10 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Did Jelly Bean get a gmail counter/number of unread email on the icon ? hmm.gif
Chyan
post Jul 2 2012, 05:20 AM

4,224 posts

What pointless discussions. I owned and used wp7, iOS and recently a vanilla ICS Android. Smooth as hell for iOS and WP7, yes but that's not the only point.

What compare iOS to Benz and Android to Wira. Totally bull comparison. Lol
ramz
post Jul 2 2012, 06:55 AM

21,354 posts

I totally don't see how the benz/wira analogy fits into iOS/android. and i totally don't see how fanboy inputs can make this forum beneficial.

let's call a spade a spade. if iOS is better than android in 1 aspect than state the fact and that's it. don't go make sweeping statements like ios is merc and android is wira, and just because a phone wins in one aspect, don't generalize things like "android ftw". coz these statements are vague and confusing and invites more fanboys to pounce at you.
ogiveyakuza
post Jul 2 2012, 07:31 AM

huh..????
2,946 posts

u see, android user no longer bashing ios user, it juz ios user who always bashing android user nowadays, the only reason is, "jealousy"..those who bashing is always in jealousy mode (if u learn psychology, u knew bout dis)...android cant do this n that, we got more apps bla bla bla...ios user, i know u guys not happy with ur device..if not happy, why u keeping it in ur heart, dun let ur ego eat u...
ramz
post Jul 2 2012, 09:03 AM

21,354 posts

as a user that change phone every 2 years, fragmentation is not an issue to me. i guess its an issue for users that keeps their phones forever. after 2 year, i change phone anyway. so whatever gingerbread that cannot upgrade to ICS is solved.

btw, iOS also has that problem at a lesser extend. now don't lie. if u have a iphone 3gs with the latest iOS 5.1.1, don't u think its time to upgrade to iphone 4s a later? so although u have the latest iOS you will still want to upgrade your hardware. and also ios6 although is backward compatible to 3gs, u won't get all the functionality of iOS 6.0 on your 3gs. so its a samiliar issue in concept as a user.

but you know what guys. no matter what is said, the tendency of an ios user jumping ship to android, and vice versa, is quite small. the main reason: 1. apps (unless u didn't pay for it). 2. interoperability. u already spend hundreds of ringgit on apps, and another thousands on tablets and such, then all is wasted if u jump ship to another platform. A small number of these people feels is better to just turn to fanboy to make it easy to accept.

TSbestofel
post Jul 2 2012, 09:18 AM

528 posts

Heih! Now I'm browsing around the Jelly Bean emulator on my MacBook. In the Apps Drawer, I found app called as "API Demos". Here what the new features I can look the demo.

And I interested with this function: Views > Hover Events

Just now I know, this function already exist since API Level 14 (Android 4.0 - Ice Cream Sandwich), but I didn't noticed before.

For now, this function not so useful because not many or no device using mouse or touch pad with cursor in Android OS.

But I think the day will come when the device manufacturer managed to make touch screen device with some hover function.

Added on July 2, 2012, 9:36 amI found a device with hover events: Sony Xperia Sola.

Here are the demos:

This post has been edited by bestofel: Jul 2 2012, 10:32 AM
ken2291
post Jul 2 2012, 10:36 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Jul 2 2012, 07:31 AM)
u see, android user no longer bashing ios user, it juz ios user who always bashing android user nowadays, the only reason is, "jealousy"..those who bashing is always in jealousy mode (if u learn psychology, u knew bout dis)...android cant do this n that, we got more apps bla bla bla...ios user, i know u guys not happy with ur device..if not happy, why u keeping it in ur heart, dun let ur ego eat u...
We don't care much about their world but instead they kept on coming and bashing

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jul 2 2012, 09:18 AM)
Heih! Now I'm browsing around the Jelly Bean emulator on my MacBook. In the Apps Drawer, I found app called as "API Demos". Here what the new features I can look the demo.

Don't quite see the usefulness of floating touch, it's better/faster to put the finger on the screen laugh.gif
unless a cursor's there

This post has been edited by ken2291: Jul 2 2012, 10:38 AM
silentser
post Jul 2 2012, 10:38 AM

OH MAH ANDROID
3,177 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jul 2 2012, 09:18 AM)

And I interested with this function: Views > Hover Events

Just now I know, this function already exist since API Level 14 (Android 4.0 - Ice Cream Sandwich), but I didn't noticed before.

For now, this function not so useful because not many or no device using mouse or touch pad with cursor in Android OS.

But I think the day will come when the device manufacturer managed to make touch screen device with some hover function.

Added on July 2, 2012, 9:36 amI found a device with hover events: Sony Xperia Sola.

Here are the demos:

that hover feature really does solve many things i dont like about touch screen internet browsing
GameFr3ak
post Jul 2 2012, 10:41 AM

3,849 posts

Yawwwn.
If you list out announced features of both conference or I/O. You'll notice the differences. Google is taking a more technical approach on some features. Like providing server cores for App developers.

Apple
- IOS 6 with a bunch of 'new' features
- new MacBook pro

Google
- Google Glass
- Google Nexus 7
- Google Nexus Q
- Google Android Jelly Bean

Added on July 2, 2012, 10:56 am
QUOTE(KuLi @ Jul 1 2012, 12:33 PM)

95% or more  suffers from severe lag and fragmentation.

"Samsung Galaxy S3 to top 10 million sales in July"

It's called choices. I'm guessing you in your world do not have this. You claimed that you're from S3. I've tried making S3 lag, but I just can't. You don't see people asking Windows to solve this 'problem' when users tried to run it with low end processors with only 1gb RAM.

Stop trying to bash either companies and start embracing healthy competition. I find this extremely childish, defending a company to it's bone (yet failing to provide any factual information).

If you've used all those Android devices, and yet you went back to ios. Then good for you. Android is not right for you, and IOS is better for you.

Can't you say it that way?

People often ask me if Android is any better. I merely say, I like bigger screen.

This post has been edited by GameFr3ak: Jul 2 2012, 10:56 AM
uzary
post Jul 2 2012, 11:17 AM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Jul 2 2012, 10:41 AM)

People often ask me if Android is any better. I merely say, I like bigger screen.
rclxms.gif but i answer i like a direct access to my phone/tablet storage.. hate itunes so muc tongue.gif
GameFr3ak
post Jul 2 2012, 11:25 AM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jul 2 2012, 11:17 AM)
rclxms.gif  but i answer i like a direct access to my phone/tablet storage.. hate itunes so muc  tongue.gif
Yes, these answers are better. Rather than childish bashes...
ken2291
post Jul 2 2012, 11:34 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Jul 2 2012, 10:41 AM)
"Samsung Galaxy S3 to top 10 million sales in July"

It's called choices. I'm guessing you in your world do not have this. You claimed that you're from S3. I've tried making S3 lag, but I just can't. You don't see people asking Windows to solve this 'problem' when users tried to run it with low end processors with only 1gb RAM.

Stop trying to bash either companies and start embracing healthy competition. I find this extremely childish, defending a company to it's bone (yet failing to provide any factual information).

If you've used all those Android devices, and yet you went back to ios. Then good for you. Android is not right for you, and IOS is better for you.

Can't you say it that way?

He bought and sold it within 2-3days in case you don't know. And even tried selling for RRP rolleyes.gif
Guess you know what kind of person he is by now. Ask those SIII forumers I bet all of them know him.
Always bashing but at the same point can't make any valid arguments. Only baseless comparison like Merz and Wira
Android doesn't suit him, not that Android itself is not good
emino
post Jul 2 2012, 12:24 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jul 2 2012, 11:17 AM)
rclxms.gif  but i answer i like a direct access to my phone/tablet storage.. hate itunes so muc  tongue.gif
My mum asked me which tablet should she get. I foresee a lot of phone calls involving how to copy shit from her tablet and into her tablet if she uses iPad. I redirected her to Asus Transformers. Best decision for her and me.

She particularly lurves the idea she can directly play video files via pendrives through usb OTG. She can copy into pendrives and play on her tablet without iTunes.
ramz
post Jul 2 2012, 12:34 PM

21,354 posts

why use itunes when since the beggining of time we have something so common to everybody. its called the "Explorer". any pc user knows what it is. and any pc user knows how to use it to transfer files. how many phone users are also pc users? maybe 80, 90% or close to 100%? even mac computer also got file explorer equivalent. so why can't apple use it? i mean really what is the rational of itunes? (i really want to know)
emino
post Jul 2 2012, 12:43 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 2 2012, 12:34 PM)
why use itunes when since the beggining of time we have something so common to everybody. its called the "Explorer". any pc user knows what it is. and any pc user knows how to use it to transfer files. how many phone users are also pc users? maybe 80, 90% or close to 100%? even mac computer also got file explorer equivalent. so why can't apple use it? i mean really what is the rational of itunes? (i really want to know)
The rationale is that they want to curb piracy by copy and paste, since they will be selling a lot of shit on iTunes. However, people always find the workaround against that, so why bother? lol
springfall
post Jul 2 2012, 12:47 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Jul 2 2012, 02:43 PM)
The rationale is that they want to curb piracy by copy and paste, since they will be selling a lot of shit on iTunes. However, people always find the workaround against that, so why bother? lol
no, they bother because they have a heard of mindless zombies to feed on
ap- here are the brains u want, in itunes!
zombies- brains!!!, grabs credit cards, gimmi brains!!

This post has been edited by springfall: Jul 2 2012, 12:48 PM
ramz
post Jul 2 2012, 12:50 PM

21,354 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Jul 2 2012, 12:43 PM)
curb piracy? but i can still import pirated songs into my ipad (although sometimes i can't understand why some songs can't import - i still haven't figured out why it does that to some songs). so itunes allow piracy. so that's not the reason i guess. so what is the reason?

This post has been edited by ramz: Jul 2 2012, 12:52 PM
emino
post Jul 2 2012, 12:53 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 2 2012, 12:50 PM)
curb piracy? but i can still import pirated songs into my ipad (although sometimes i can understand it will leave out a few songs out - i still haven't figured out why it does that tought). so again itunes allow piracy. so that's not the reason  i guess. so what is the reason?
From my understanding they dont really care about stuffs you let in. Its the stuffs that they sell on iTunes and put into the phones and ipads they dont want you to share to others. So under the facade of curbing piracy they block it both ways.
RazerDeathAdder
post Jul 2 2012, 12:55 PM

Auuuuuuuummmm~~~
821 posts

4.1= goooodd
fcuk90
post Jul 2 2012, 01:11 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

its a lots of work to do to copy a non .avi file to ipad .srsly.

ipad /iphone are prone to the failure for the homebutton?.

getting harder to press nowadays .:/
ken2291
post Jul 2 2012, 01:18 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 2 2012, 12:50 PM)
curb piracy? but i can still import pirated songs into my ipad (although sometimes i can't understand why some songs can't import - i still haven't figured out why it does that to some songs). so itunes allow piracy. so that's not the reason  i guess. so what is the reason?
Simple. They want people to use their software and services more. If not, who the heck will use iTunes. Go figure
And they want their users to feel "branded" that they're using iTunes - Apple products.
Guess what, I saw a person online saying if iPhone is able to transfer files by just a usb mount, that person will be real sad. He/She prefers iTunes cause it FEELS different. LOL.. laugh.gif

It's like how Google requires Android users to sign in using Gmail. To promote their services and products, but that's a totally different case from iTunes.

Oh well, we're open to lots of options in file transfers anyway, no prison. Never for Android! 4.1 onwards will be even better thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ken2291: Jul 2 2012, 01:23 PM
ramz
post Jul 2 2012, 01:36 PM

21,354 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Jul 2 2012, 01:18 PM)
Simple.  They want people to use their software and services more.  If not, who the heck will use iTunes.  Go figure
And they want their users to feel "branded" that they're using iTunes - Apple products.
Guess what, I saw a person online saying if iPhone is able to transfer files by just a usb mount, that person will be real sad.  He/She prefers iTunes cause it FEELS different. LOL.. laugh.gif

It's like how Google requires Android users to sign in using Gmail.  To promote their services and products, but that's a totally different case from iTunes.

Oh well, we're open to lots of options in file transfers anyway, no prison.  Never for Android!  4.1 onwards will be even better thumbup.gif
iphone can transfer files using usb mount? really? without being jail broken, how?
ken2291
post Jul 2 2012, 01:39 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 2 2012, 01:36 PM)
iphone can transfer files using usb mount? really? without being jail broken, how?
u missed the word "IF". That person said IF iPhone is able to transfer using usb mount
ramz
post Jul 2 2012, 01:57 PM

21,354 posts

my ipad is great and all. but the problem is its hard to connect to my non-apple products. so do i regret buying ipad? not really, but its not worth the price for what it can do. that's my opinion. but for sure its great for leisure.
DarkSilver
post Jul 2 2012, 02:00 PM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 2 2012, 01:57 PM)
my ipad is great and all. but the problem is its hard to connect to my non-apple products. so do i regret buying ipad? not really, but its not worth the price for what it can do. that's my opinion. but for sure its  great for leisure.
LOL, my mom just bought an iPad 3... sweat.gif
It's doing great, but, again it's not as user friendly as Android... everything need to do MANUALLY.
No much shortcut.
Android is hard to use to begin with, but, once customized nicely, it wins! smile.gif
ramz
post Jul 2 2012, 02:12 PM

21,354 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Jul 2 2012, 02:00 PM)
LOL, my mom just bought an iPad 3...  sweat.gif
It's doing great, but, again it's not as user friendly as Android... everything need to do MANUALLY.
No much shortcut.
Android is hard to use to begin with, but, once customized nicely, it wins!  smile.gif
yeah, i think its the greatest myth that ios is user friendly. its user friendly in a way coz its easy to use. but its not user friendly when u want to do something u normally don't do.
fallout
post Jul 2 2012, 02:12 PM

Listen!
776 posts

You guys are OOT, please continue sharing JB.

My JB nexus won't show my local weather when I ask but the cards shows correctly, anyone had this problem? Another thing is do we need navigation to have the "next appointment" showing travel time?
ZRong223
post Jul 2 2012, 02:14 PM

864 posts

Please don't out of topic. This is not Android vs. iOS. tongue.gif
ramz
post Jul 2 2012, 02:14 PM

21,354 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Jul 2 2012, 02:14 PM)
Please don't out of topic. This is not Android vs. iOS. tongue.gif
yeah hor? sorry, didn't realise

Added on July 2, 2012, 2:17 pmquestion the project butter actually did not change the priority between UI rendering and other processes (it still remain the same). can somebody explain in layman how it works? i been reading about it but all the writeups so far i can't understand. seriously.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jul 2 2012, 02:17 PM
DarkSilver
post Jul 2 2012, 02:25 PM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 2 2012, 02:14 PM)
yeah hor? sorry, didn't realise

Added on July 2, 2012, 2:17 pmquestion the project butter actually did not change the priority between UI rendering and other processes (it still remain the same). can somebody explain in layman how it works? i been reading about it but all the writeups so far i can't understand. seriously.
It actually improved or started to use the V-Sync and Triple Buffering together(if you know how realtime gaming 3D works, you'll know these 2 things ON together will boost performance). smile.gif
With this, the FRAMERATES/FPS of the device increased to it's maximal(if possible) and will forced to remain constant too(if possible).
So, the transitions(zoom in, fly in, pop-up, exit, etc) become smoother than enough and on par with iOS. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by DarkSilver: Jul 2 2012, 02:25 PM
mikeeeee
post Jul 2 2012, 02:30 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(fallout @ Jul 2 2012, 02:12 PM)
You guys are OOT, please continue sharing JB.

My JB nexus won't show my local weather when I ask but the cards shows correctly, anyone had this problem? Another thing is do we need navigation to have the "next appointment" showing travel time?
This is because you are using www.google.com as the search engine, it will assume you are in Washington DC. If you want to change this behaviour, then just go to google now, scroll to the bottom, click on settings -> privacy and accounts -> UNTICK search on google.com
ramz
post Jul 2 2012, 02:52 PM

21,354 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Jul 2 2012, 02:25 PM)
It actually improved or started to use the V-Sync and Triple Buffering together(if you know how realtime gaming 3D works, you'll know these 2 things ON together will boost performance).   smile.gif
With this, the FRAMERATES/FPS of the device increased to it's maximal(if possible) and will forced to remain constant too(if possible).
So, the transitions(zoom in, fly in, pop-up, exit, etc) become smoother than enough and on par with iOS.  icon_rolleyes.gif
that's exactly what i read that i don't understand. vsync? tripple buffering? anyway, i'll browse somemore until i get a layman explanation.

Added on July 2, 2012, 2:55 pmi am just amazed that project butter did not change the underlying architecture.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jul 2 2012, 02:55 PM
fallout
post Jul 2 2012, 03:07 PM

Listen!
776 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jul 2 2012, 02:30 PM)
This is because you are using www.google.com as the search engine, it will assume you are in Washington DC. If you want to change this behaviour, then just go to google now, scroll to the bottom, click on settings -> privacy and accounts -> UNTICK search on google.com
Thanks a lot, I played with the settings when I first got job and this fixed my problem. Yay!

So the next would be travel time...does it need navigation which isn't available to us?
Can't make it to remind me ahead of time(except 10min notification). I've tested in calendar and point the location and still won't estimate my travel time.
springfall
post Jul 2 2012, 03:18 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 2 2012, 04:52 PM)
that's exactly what i read that i don't understand. vsync? tripple buffering? anyway, i'll browse somemore until i get a layman explanation.

Added on July 2, 2012, 2:55 pmi am just amazed that project butter did not change the underlying architecture.
try this then
vsync- alligning the frames to go at a constant rate (cruise mode in cars) no go high low when flux happens
tripple buffering- buffering is when u preload 1 thing, double buffer, buffer and buffer another time ahead, tripple buffer, is buffer, buffer, buffer ahead of the selected frames.
in this case, itz like torrents..
if u got 1 file, and 1 seeders, u will download 1000000000
if u got 1 file, and 2 seeders, u will download 1000010000
if u got 1 file, and 3 seeders, u will download 1001001000
hence after 1 minute u will get
if u got 1 file, and 1 seeders, u will download 1110000000
if u got 1 file, and 2 seeders, u will download 1110011100
if u got 1 file, and 3 seeders, u will download 1111111110

therefore itz faster to load stuff, combine with vsync,

so u buffer at flux as u can see 1111111110, 0 is left behind
vsync will make the things alline and go constant, say u can handle 50-80, a 30% diffrence in frames
so u will get 65 fps~

i know itz kinda lame...but heck lameman terms u wanted
mikeeeee
post Jul 2 2012, 03:19 PM

*~Tien9Chi~*
3,026 posts

QUOTE(fallout @ Jul 2 2012, 03:07 PM)
Thanks a lot, I played with the settings when I first got job and this fixed my problem. Yay!

So the next would be travel time...does it need navigation which isn't available to us?
Can't make it to remind me ahead of time(except 10min notification). I've tested in calendar and point the location and still won't estimate my travel time.
I don't think navigation is needed for the travel time estimation. Mine suggest the route from office to home and he travel time quite accurately. However, I dunno how/when it will bring up that card. Its nitification almost quite random but the information are correct .
uzary
post Jul 2 2012, 03:32 PM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Jul 2 2012, 02:25 PM)
It actually improved or started to use the V-Sync and Triple Buffering together(if you know how realtime gaming 3D works, you'll know these 2 things ON together will boost performance).  smile.gif
So, the transitions(zoom in, fly in, pop-up, exit, etc) become smoother than enough and on par with iOS.  icon_rolleyes.gif
actually i mycef ned more explanation regarding project butter.. it has been 2 years im using android, and ever since i was taught that android will never be as smooth as ios no matter how many cores it will use, it is said this is due to the android architecture sumtin... n android will only be smooth if google wil start back from scratch n rebuild the android os.. how far of these are true?

n so i was wondering will this project butter be on par as ios smoothness? or 1 day finally android will achieved that zero lag n super buttery smooth like ios? coz from wat i read from xda forum,they hav mixed opinion, sum said it was really smooth like ios,n some claimed otherwise, the lag stil exist.
fallout
post Jul 2 2012, 03:34 PM

Listen!
776 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jul 2 2012, 03:19 PM)
I don't think navigation is needed for the travel time estimation. Mine suggest the route from office to home and he travel time quite accurately. However,  I dunno how/when it will bring up that card. Its nitification almost quite random but the information are correct .
Maybe they want more info of what I go/do and manually adding events won't trigger that appointment/travel time. I'm gonna wait till it officially available then try again. Thanks smile.gif

DarkSilver
post Jul 2 2012, 03:39 PM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 2 2012, 02:52 PM)

I guess, there's no laymen term for these...

These are the most basic terms already. Or else, Google won't show up all these on the page.
ken2291
post Jul 2 2012, 05:05 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 2 2012, 02:14 PM)
question the project butter actually did not change the priority between UI rendering and other processes (it still remain the same). can somebody explain in layman how it works? i been reading about it but all the writeups so far i can't understand. seriously.
Actually that's quite layman already. They can't change the UI rendering thingy you mentioned because they'll have to start from scratch which is impossible given the progress Android is on now. Correct me if I'm wrong
Dannyl
post Jul 2 2012, 05:11 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 2 2012, 02:52 PM)
i am just amazed that project butter did not change the underlying architecture.
I am just amazed Google didn't do this sooner. Is there a hardware requirement, meaning it's not quite achievable prior to 2011 high-ends?
ramz
post Jul 3 2012, 10:10 AM

21,354 posts

QUOTE(springfall @ Jul 2 2012, 03:18 PM)
try this then
vsync- alligning the frames to go at a constant rate (cruise mode in cars) no go high low when flux happens
tripple buffering- buffering is when u preload 1 thing, double buffer, buffer and buffer another time ahead, tripple buffer, is buffer, buffer, buffer ahead of the selected frames.
in this case, itz like torrents..
if u got 1 file, and 1 seeders, u will download 1000000000
if u got 1 file, and 2 seeders, u will download 1000010000
if u got 1 file, and 3 seeders, u will download 1001001000
hence after 1 minute u will get
if u got 1 file, and 1 seeders, u will download 1110000000
if u got 1 file, and 2 seeders, u will download 1110011100
if u got 1 file, and 3 seeders, u will download 1111111110

therefore itz faster to load stuff, combine with vsync,

so u buffer at flux as u can see 1111111110, 0 is left behind
vsync will make the things alline and go constant, say u can handle 50-80, a 30% diffrence in frames
so u will get 65 fps~

i know itz kinda lame...but heck lameman terms u wanted
does jb perdict your finger press location before u even press? that's how i understand from my reading.
eastwest
post Jul 3 2012, 10:21 AM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(bestofel @ Jun 28 2012, 10:23 PM)

bestofel, mind to share what app have/will you develop? thanks..

This post has been edited by eastwest: Jul 3 2012, 10:28 AM
stormlcc
post Jul 3 2012, 12:20 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Jul 2 2012, 03:39 PM)
I guess, there's no laymen term for these...

These are the most basic terms already. Or else, Google won't show up all these on the page.
yes there is:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FCVMvvXHqxU

captured in super slow motion for project butter
DarkSilver
post Jul 3 2012, 03:23 PM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Jul 3 2012, 12:20 PM)
yes there is:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FCVMvvXHqxU

captured in super slow motion for project butter
That's a video and NO WORDS in it.

That's why I said there's no other words to explain it.
I already explained it's the increase of FPS and the constant FPS unlike ICS(which have lower and unstable FPS).

Yet, the fellow seems to want an easier answer. doh.gif doh.gif

Even the video you share showed something about FPS.

People stopped bothering about the answer he demands if you do notice.

Just like medical, example:
Heart Attack... Simplest explanation = Your heart is weakened and will not be function properly anymore.
But, he want something even easier or simplier? How do you explain that? Body language or life demonstration of a heart being killed by the disease itself? rclxub.gif doh.gif
stormlcc
post Jul 3 2012, 03:44 PM

1,954 posts

QUOTE(DarkSilver @ Jul 3 2012, 03:23 PM)
That's a video and NO WORDS in it.

That's why I said there's no other words to explain it.
I already explained it's the increase of FPS and the constant FPS unlike ICS(which have lower and unstable FPS).

Yet, the fellow seems to want an easier answer.  doh.gif  doh.gif

Even the video you share showed something about FPS.

People stopped bothering about the answer he demands if you do notice.

Just like medical, example:
Heart Attack... Simplest explanation = Your heart is weakened and will not be function properly anymore.
But, he want something even easier or simplier? How do you explain that? Body language or life demonstration of a heart being killed by the disease itself?  rclxub.gif  doh.gif
lol, i get what u meant thumbup.gif

best explanation is to experience the heart attack himself, so start eating McD and KFC every meal from now on and don't do any exercise, will definitely get the answer within a few years......
ramz
post Jul 3 2012, 04:35 PM

21,354 posts

i suspect there is a catch. why didn't they do project butter from day 1? they had 4 years to think about it while there were complaints from every end of the world about the lag.

project butter is maybe a workaround fix. coz a non workaround fix is very simple: make touch events the highest priority event. period. but project butter didn't do that. so something must give.
springfall
post Jul 3 2012, 04:37 PM

4,072 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 3 2012, 06:35 PM)
i suspect there is a catch. why didn't they do project butter from day 1? they had 4 years to think about it while there were complaints from every end of the world about the lag.

project butter is maybe a workaround fix. coz a non workaround fix is very simple: make touch events the highest priority event. period. but project butter didn't do that. so something must give.
if there was a 100% solution, the custom roms would hav figured out, and google developers would had know it ardy.
if itz so easy peasy, i guess we all could be developers then
doggydogg
post Jul 3 2012, 04:45 PM

838 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 3 2012, 04:35 PM)

i wonder if it would impact the battery life?
DarkSilver
post Jul 3 2012, 08:11 PM

Idiosyncrasy
10,501 posts

QUOTE(doggydogg @ Jul 3 2012, 04:45 PM)
i wonder if it would impact the battery life?
Found you! LOL!

You mean turning V-Sync and Triple Buffering(Butter Project) together might affect battery life?

I hope it doesn't hurt the battery of course.

Based on my "knowledge", V-Sync is supposed to save juice(as it doesn't allow the FPS to jump too high and spike like mad).
So, I think it'll not hurt our battery.
fallout
post Jul 4 2012, 03:41 PM

Listen!
776 posts

For all new Jelly Bean user:

ramz
post Jul 4 2012, 04:11 PM

21,354 posts

She has a yummy voice. What's her name

Added on July 4, 2012, 4:12 pmShe has a yummy voice. What's her name

This post has been edited by ramz: Jul 4 2012, 04:12 PM
uzary
post Jul 4 2012, 05:27 PM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 4 2012, 04:11 PM)
She has a yummy voice. What's her name

Added on July 4, 2012, 4:12 pmShe has a yummy voice. What's her name
IRIS would be a nice name laugh.gif
doggydogg
post Jul 4 2012, 06:26 PM

838 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jul 4 2012, 05:27 PM)
IRIS would be a nice name  laugh.gif
already got 1 named IRIS, kinda sucked like s-voice.

uzary
post Jul 4 2012, 09:16 PM

J@ck da D0n
3,149 posts

apple named theirs as SIRI, i think google shud go for DRAMA hehhe laugh.gif
ekestima
post Jul 4 2012, 09:24 PM

930 posts

Not yet finish eating ice cream sandwich ody come out with jelly bean desert ody smile.gif
SUSKuLi
post Jul 4 2012, 09:45 PM

1,293 posts

QUOTE(ekestima @ Jul 4 2012, 09:24 PM)
Not yet finish eating ice cream sandwich ody come out with jelly bean desert ody smile.gif
Overheated!

Bad design decapitated the jelly bean android.
Cannot even stand one week.
Summore the beans got stolen.

The “head” of the Jelly Bean Android statue has melted and as a result there were some jelly beans spilled on the ground. In fact, according to Android engineer Dan Morrill some of the goodies inside are missing.

This happens exactly a week after it was proudly placed in front of Building 44 in Google’s headquarters and shows just how hot Jelly Beans is.

The reason for the incident is flawed design and according to Google, the designer of the statue is currently working on a fix.
TSbestofel
post Jul 4 2012, 10:16 PM

528 posts

Hahaa...pakcik Li takdak isu dah ka? Macam-macam!

QUOTE(eastwest @ Jul 3 2012, 10:21 AM)
bestofel, mind to share what app have/will you develop? thanks..

Alaa...simple app only. Wait when its released.

For now, I have one prototype app for android, one app on apple appstore and others still in development and pipe line.

BlackWoods
post Jul 5 2012, 02:40 PM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jul 4 2012, 09:45 PM)
Overheated!
Bad design decapitated the jelly bean android.
Cannot even stand one week.
Summore the beans got stolen.

Is that a sign that Jelly bean will be hot? Or will it fail? hmm.gif
Anyway, still looking forward to it drool.gif
nkl7877
post Jul 5 2012, 05:50 PM

51 posts

waiting OTA update for jb to my gnexs
DJFoo000
post Jul 5 2012, 06:21 PM

3,000 posts

So far the experimental leaked build I'm using is quite flawless, and builds upon the many awesomeness of Android 4.0, except for a few things:

1) USB OTG support for thumb drives is buggy (or pretty non existent). Keyboard and mouse is perfect though.

2) Sixaxis controller is broken.

3) WiFi Direct still not working properly.

Here's hoping that full functionality is restored when AOKP merges AOSP 4.1 codes, when 4.1 source is released in a week's time (fingers and toes crossed).

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Jul 5 2012, 06:24 PM
TSbestofel
post Jul 18 2012, 05:05 PM

528 posts

Uhh..I want Google Now on my phone!

Gurvin Abruzzi
post Jul 18 2012, 10:42 PM

Am G Man yo
5,486 posts

Waiting for Samsung Note jelly bean rom
BlackWoods
post Jul 19 2012, 12:05 PM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

CM10 is already out for a few devices!
Feel the beans!
shiminn
post Jul 24 2012, 06:00 PM

hey, need a lil help here, i've been seeing reviews on JB on the net where there is expandable notifications, but it doesn't work on my JB Galaxy Nexus, anyone can help?

0.0912sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:06 AM