Android 4.1 - Jelly Bean, What are the new features on Jelly Bean?

mtxx
post Jun 29 2012, 12:14 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Jun 28 2012, 11:24 PM)
It means that android apps ecosystem is not sustainable and will crash very soon.
your comments are totally off topic. please go kopitiam and complain about android if you hate it so much.
coming to android forum and complain about android is plain stupid.

all OS got their pros and cons, use the one you like most.

by the way, if you want to wait android die, wait long long la.

i waiting symbian and black berry to die since duno how long ago.
their are on their life support and heading towards their inevitable doom.
but somehow their are still very much alive now.

be realistic. if you want see android die, or lose fame and support,
not goin to happen any time soon, if want to die, blackberry and symbian die first.

mtxx
post Jun 29 2012, 07:46 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(abundai @ Jun 29 2012, 07:13 PM)
no need lah .. androids are better than those lame frutties....
the only thing they know is a smooth phone... apa raaa... smart phone should be smart, not just "pretty".. duhh...

im really eager to hear what hardcore frutti fanboys (in this particular thread) have to say...
im sure they've seen the video...  brows.gif
jelly bean is really nice and all.
but no matter how good it is, other then galaxy nexus, i dont think any phone is going to get it.

cyanogen mod, after half a year working on ics, still not yet finish, recently only release the RC version.
jellybean? dont hold your breath...

anyway, i'm superbly satisfied with ics now.
my phone started out with stock GB > custom GB>stock ICS>custom ICS

the experience keeps getting better and better.
now have something new to look forward, JB rclxms.gif

but this wait isnt goin to be a painfull one, ICS is really good, enough to last for the time being.
mtxx
post Jun 29 2012, 09:53 PM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(abundai @ Jun 29 2012, 09:32 PM)
ya.. lucky i got myself a Gnex ..    thumbup.gif 
i started with eclairs, and seeing the improvement until now, i'm so glad i didnt pick up an iphone last time

i just flashed JB on my nexus.. so far, it really is buttery smooth..
it seems to have a noticeable scale in/out effect when switching between apps...

i;d probably flashed back to custom ICS later, cos stock JB still doesnt have the mods that i want, which is navi bar customisation...
after watching the jellybean features videos,
i kindda have the urge to sell S2 and get a nexus.

but then again, the lack of SD card support is really sad.
when you get used to 32GB storage, its really hard to go back.

mtxx
post Jun 30 2012, 12:10 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jun 29 2012, 11:32 PM)
its already too late for them....as ios have owning them since the iphone 3gs era

android just getting stupid and stupid....with the stupid apps that running background that cant be stop

like those useless google plus, email, gmail apps...which is taking hell lot of ram ....you hav to install a task killer just to kill it and it still restart  doh.gif  doh.gif

just let the user decide if that apps should be running at background.....i bet it gonna be as smooth as ios
Most phones already got 1gb of ram. I nv bother to check ram usage. It never gets full.

Every thing smooth on s2 ics and even during gb.

U using older Gen phones? Try cyanogenmod then:-)

Added on June 30, 2012, 12:14 am
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jun 29 2012, 11:59 PM)
LOL....keep bashing android fragmentation...eye yam enjoying my S2 with ICS so much. Pathethic no life keeps complaining.

My only real complain is can't find some nice games to play right now...sick of casual games...maybe need to buy a PS VITA for some real mobile gaming.

Just tried my friend's HTC ONE-X btw...no need Project Butter also already smooth as butter.
Try go launcher,
Preference, screen settings, Screen transition speed, set to smooth 45.

Its really smooth. Try n see la.

This post has been edited by mtxx: Jun 30 2012, 12:14 AM
mtxx
post Jun 30 2012, 12:30 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Jun 30 2012, 12:24 AM)
Tell you, it is nevermind if Android take a portion of RAM for background processes.
The most scary thing is the deduction of maximum RAM.
Take SII G as example. 687MB only after updating to ICS.
JB? 512MB? Lol~~!! biggrin.gif
You should be grateful, my cousin galaxy w,
512mb ram, but really its just 350mb.

And usually usage on stock unrooted already use 300.
That leaves only 50mb free ram.

Can't even play temple run. Too laggy.

Weird thing is, windows phone same gpu as w. But much smoother.
Not sure if galaxy w with jb can be same as wp7 or not.

Interested to see galaxy w with jb compete with wp7.
It will be a good benchmark on how well project butter really is.
mtxx
post Jul 1 2012, 08:29 AM

5,011 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jul 1 2012, 02:15 AM)
i think u got it wrong there....u wanna play harsh i can entertain you anytime little one....
while u nid performance and theres is some stupid apps that you dont even use it hogging your resources, so you gotta task kill it...which is gonna last for about 1~5 minute with smooth experience and here comes the stupid apps restarting by itself.
what i pointing out were, android is lag on one a single core,dual core and even quad core....until google admit its they fault and then jelly bean popped out to declare war with lag.

lets make a example...why ios is that successful?

its becoz of the software optimization is so good/
dude, borrow a friends high end android phone, 1X, sgs2/3, nexus or equilvalent.
scroll the home screen, pinch xoom in browser, play some games.
regardless the launcher used,rooted or unrooted, things are really really fast and smooth on those.

you using optimus black issit?
you cant judge the entire android based on your experience with one phone, especially a slightly dated one.

if you have the idea that iOS is faster and smoother, by all means go get one.
but i tell you you wont be happy, because things that you take for granted in android dont exist in iOS.
once you're used to a platform, its really hard to switch.

0.0405sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:06 AM