cost to install downlight
TSkongjong
Jun 25 2012, 03:12 PM, updated 14y ago
anybody know the cost to install downlight? 2 electrician quoted me RM50-60 per downlight installation (excluding the downlight cost)!!! weeks back i bought 4'' round downlight at emart which cost RM8 including bulb each. then i got the quotation to install is ard 50-60 per downlight, this sound unreasonable to me. but since both electrician quoted the same price, it could be the current market price, is it? any idea abt the cost of installation? my master roon 22x17 - need how many 4' downlights? smaller bedroom 14x11 - need how many 4' downlights? This post has been edited by kongjong: Jun 25 2012, 03:43 PM
napoli26
Jun 25 2012, 03:38 PM
bro, including wiring lighting point is it?
TSkongjong
Jun 25 2012, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(napoli26 @ Jun 25 2012, 03:38 PM) bro, including wiring lighting point is it? hi Napoli26, i not sure wat is lighting point?
napoli26
Jun 25 2012, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(kongjong @ Jun 25 2012, 03:39 PM) hi Napoli26, i not sure wat is lighting point?  means wiring for the light
TSkongjong
Jun 25 2012, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(napoli26 @ Jun 25 2012, 03:42 PM) means wiring for the light yes. include.
TK512
Jun 25 2012, 04:10 PM

QUOTE(kongjong @ Jun 25 2012, 03:12 PM) anybody know the cost to install downlight? 2 electrician quoted me RM50-60 per downlight installation (excluding the downlight cost)!!! weeks back i bought 4'' round downlight at emart which cost RM8 including bulb each. then i got the quotation to install is ard 50-60 per downlight, this sound unreasonable to me. but since both electrician quoted the same price, it could be the current market price, is it? any idea abt the cost of installation? my master roon 22x17 - need how many 4' downlights? smaller bedroom 14x11 - need how many 4' downlights? Hmm: 4'' round downlight cost RM8. Installation is RM 50-60 per downlight??? I hope you are wrong. Hope someone can advice the right amount.
skng03
Jun 25 2012, 04:20 PM
some charge rm40/no for looping lighting points, some 1st point rm40, 2nd rm30........ new lighting point rm70/no. installation of down light rm5-10/ no, cutting of ceiling for down light hole NOT include
This post has been edited by skng03: Jun 25 2012, 04:20 PM
TK512
Jun 25 2012, 04:24 PM

QUOTE(skng03 @ Jun 25 2012, 04:20 PM) some charge rm40/no for looping lighting points, some 1st point rm40, 2nd rm30........ new lighting point rm70/no. installation of down light rm5-10/ no, cutting of ceiling for down light hole NOT include "installation of down light rm5-10/ no, cutting of ceiling for down light hole NOT include" sound at least a bit reasonable. kongjong, I think you should go around more to find out.
TSkongjong
Jun 25 2012, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(TK512 @ Jun 25 2012, 04:10 PM) Hmm: 4'' round downlight cost RM8. Installation is RM 50-60 per downlight??? I hope you are wrong. Hope someone can advice the right amount. TK, u heard me right. i bought total 17pcs 4'' downlight = RM136. 2 electricians quote me RM50-60 installation for each unit. example: 4 units in small/medium bedroom = RM200 if 50per unit. if 17units at RM50 = RM850. RM60 = RM1020. it means, buying those traditional lamp cost RM20 far cheaper and easy installation also.
finestq

My electrician charged me rm8 for installation and rm 25 for looping plus installation.
SUSsoundsyst64
if DIY, you can reduce the cost even more. me DIY for downlight in my house.
skng03
Jun 25 2012, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(kongjong @ Jun 25 2012, 04:25 PM) TK, u heard me right. i bought total 17pcs 4'' downlight = RM136. 2 electricians quote me RM50-60 installation for each unit. example: 4 units in small/medium bedroom = RM200 if 50per unit. if 17units at RM50 = RM850. RM60 = RM1020. it means, buying those traditional lamp cost RM20 far cheaper and easy installation also. your small room got the wire ready for the down light or not, if need to loop the wire+ cutting holes + installation, rm50/no a bit on high side but still reasonable
TSkongjong
Jun 25 2012, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(soundsyst64 @ Jun 25 2012, 04:25 PM) if DIY, you can reduce the cost even more. me DIY for downlight in my house. i did think of DIY myself. but i totally no idea about the wiring for downlight. if i would have the details to diy, i'll do it myself. Added on June 25, 2012, 4:36 pmQUOTE(skng03 @ Jun 25 2012, 04:30 PM) your small room got the wire ready for the down light or not, if need to loop the wire+ cutting holes + installation, rm50/no a bit on high side but still reasonable my house is new. common sense tells me there is not wire for downlight. wat mean looping? any idea how to do it? wat thing i need to buy? This post has been edited by kongjong: Jun 25 2012, 04:36 PM
nitromx
Jun 25 2012, 04:42 PM
QUOTE(finestq @ Jun 25 2012, 04:25 PM) My electrician charged me rm8 for installation and rm 25 for looping plus installation. RM25 really cheap!
TSkongjong
Jun 25 2012, 04:49 PM
QUOTE(skng03 @ Jun 25 2012, 04:30 PM) your small room got the wire ready for the down light or not, if need to loop the wire+ cutting holes + installation, rm50/no a bit on high side but still reasonable if i would has to be charged RM50-60 for unit downlight installation, i probably install traditional old type of lamp.  Added on June 25, 2012, 4:53 pmseen some downlights bulb turn down from one to another b4. is it due to failed looping / wiring? This post has been edited by kongjong: Jun 25 2012, 04:53 PM
skng03
Jun 25 2012, 06:26 PM
nah, your developer only provide 1 pt for each room, now u r going to install four DL, the wiring work ......which cost $$$$$ so no choice u have to bear lor
weikee
Jun 25 2012, 06:40 PM
Wow , RM8 for one down light include bulb. Make me wonder how long will the bulb last and the bulb holders quality even cheaper than ikea bulbs. I know down light can cost below 10 without bulb but with bulb... That really surprise me.
napoli26
Jun 26 2012, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 25 2012, 06:40 PM) Wow , RM8 for one down light include bulb. Make me wonder how long will the bulb last and the bulb holders quality even cheaper than ikea bulbs. I know down light can cost below 10 without bulb but with bulb... That really surprise me. if using bulb like osram or philip, i think should be rm14-rm18? btw 1 supplier told me panasonic bulb better than osram and philip, due to philip and osram a lots of imitation, is it true?
ozak
Jun 26 2012, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(napoli26 @ Jun 26 2012, 08:49 AM) if using bulb like osram or philip, i think should be rm14-rm18? btw 1 supplier told me panasonic bulb better than osram and philip, due to philip and osram a lots of imitation, is it true? Not imitation. The lifespan or quality of the bulb. I try philip and some local brand. There don't last as it claim 8k hr. So get short change. I try out hitachi and it last as it claim 8k hr or more. So all the light, I change it to hitachi. 23w cost rm18.5.
phoenix69
Jun 26 2012, 09:09 AM
Need to take in consideration for 1. new wiring - electrician 2. Plaster ceiling hole making - plaster ceiling guy.
If new house, definately cost as much lor, if you are a new install got to pull new wiring, maybe even need hacking.