QUOTE(little ice @ Aug 12 2012, 10:45 AM)
no it didn't.
all Apple did was taking a different approach to the smartphone market. and all other manufacturers followed Apple. want to blame? blame your favorite brand for following the trend!
closing the gap towards desktop computer is *pointless* to do so on a phone. why on earth one wants to use desktop functions on such a small display?
i was a big fan of having so many functions on a phone and always dreamed of having one such device. when i finally had one to play around, i must say i'm more disappointed than satisfied - the small display alone already proven many tasks to be unsatisfying, even just simple browsing. also, killing the battery with so many functions and crying on the empty battery when you need it the most?
the iPhone actually told the world to stop syok sendiri to input more and more functions into a smartphone where 99.9% of the users won't need.
How can it be pointless when it is a SMARTPhone, and what is a smartphone?all Apple did was taking a different approach to the smartphone market. and all other manufacturers followed Apple. want to blame? blame your favorite brand for following the trend!
closing the gap towards desktop computer is *pointless* to do so on a phone. why on earth one wants to use desktop functions on such a small display?
i was a big fan of having so many functions on a phone and always dreamed of having one such device. when i finally had one to play around, i must say i'm more disappointed than satisfied - the small display alone already proven many tasks to be unsatisfying, even just simple browsing. also, killing the battery with so many functions and crying on the empty battery when you need it the most?
the iPhone actually told the world to stop syok sendiri to input more and more functions into a smartphone where 99.9% of the users won't need.
As I said, there should be a clear distinction between a smartphone and mediaphone. Back then, there is non-smartphone and smartphone.
There're many types of users, we should look at every category of users, just as I said, there're people who like doesn't need a mobile computer device. So, these people should also be open and understand that there're users who want something more, similarly, there're still people who don't bother at all, they just want a phone to function as a phone, a basic simple phone.
Long ago, Nokia cater for many different category of users, from different series of their phone; Just because some people think the communicator is *pointless* doesn't mean this product is useless. Same goes to any product, cars, cameras, etc.
It's not syok sendiri; If you understand software, it's not something they cannot do or can't provide, it's they DON'T WANT to and yet they still selling so expensive.
If they say the users are too dumb to handle the complexity of a smartphone, doesn't mean the features have to be REMOVED or NOT PROVIDED. They can make the OS simple, then for advance users, these users can choose to turn on the features in SETTINGS.
The thing here is CHOICE/OPTIONS for users, but Apple did not choose to give any to the users.
Imagine if iPhone come out with their own digital camera, they remove the PSAM modes, everything runs on AUTO with their Apple's Intelligent Auto, no options to customize and manual features; then they tell the world, this changes everything. You don't need complicated features, just use our Auto modes and you'll get professional photo easily by one touch.
How come they don't do that to their Mac OS? Why did they limit and restrict their iOS? I know some IT Professionals who are Mac hardcore fans that don't like iPhone or iOS due to the restrictions and limitations. IT Professionals who understand software should understand very well that these aren't limitation of the hardware, but it's the company taking advantage of the users.
Anyway, as I mentioned, iPhone is not a bad thing, but the bad things are, the other companies that were threaten trying to follow it; Follow the good is OK and it's good; but sadly, they also copy the bads, the best example is Windows Phone, no bluetooth file transfer, reliance of Zune software for media transfer, no File Managers, etc. This was sooo sooo NOT Microsoft. And worst, what will happen to the future of "smartphone"?
Will everything trying to be the same and ended up we get more backwards technology OS?
There should be different category, those are that basic and simple, for those users who don't need those smartphone capabilities; There should also be those smartphone which cater for those who need and wants it.
Just like there're different category of notebooks, from netbooks for people who just want to do basic stuffs to powerful workstation notebooks for those professionals.
Smartphone? Symbian is dying, Maemo is dead, MeeGo is still unknown,... Windows Phone? Becoming like another iOS?
Android is the current one which going strong and offers the flexibility, but it's still lacking, especially on true multi-tasking part and some usability.
QUOTE(little ice @ Aug 12 2012, 12:14 PM)
that's how Apple being smart - make a pretty looking gadget and force you to use their own softwares. but then, they have their own reason behind that which i won't go through since it'll go on forever lol. 
that being said though, i like my iPad. despite being fully aware of those limitation, which sounds ridiculous on paper, the actual usage is actually much less of a trouble (not to say i don't have a problem with it, just much less so than on the paper). hence you'll see lots of iOS user asking the question - do you actually own one?
OTOH while i sounded like i'm bias towards Apple, i don't like the iPhone, not because of iOS though - weak speaker, tons of apps which i don't use because i don't like the idea of depleting my phone's battery. putting the multimedia and OS aside, it doesn't meet the requirement as a phone for me.
to each its own.
You're saying based on your perspective. As I said, there're people who don't need all those, just like those that just need a netbook for their needs, while there're those who need a powerful workstation notebooks. We should be open and think of different category of users.that being said though, i like my iPad. despite being fully aware of those limitation, which sounds ridiculous on paper, the actual usage is actually much less of a trouble (not to say i don't have a problem with it, just much less so than on the paper). hence you'll see lots of iOS user asking the question - do you actually own one?
OTOH while i sounded like i'm bias towards Apple, i don't like the iPhone, not because of iOS though - weak speaker, tons of apps which i don't use because i don't like the idea of depleting my phone's battery. putting the multimedia and OS aside, it doesn't meet the requirement as a phone for me.
to each its own.
Well, some may argue that, it's a phone, but that's what different user wants, and as smartphone original concept, it was to achieve mobile computing, not something like iOS.
iOS will fit nicely as a mediaphone OS, which I don't find anything wrong, it's just a name, just like a netbook, which is actually a notebook, but they simply decide to give it a new category and with certain characteristic that classifies it as a netbook, so with similar characteristic, we can classify a phone is a normal phone, smartphone or mediaphone.
As with mediaplayer, like iPod Touch, Zune Players, these are mainly use for media purpose, to play video files, listen to musics; there's no file managers, no mass storage access, have to rely on software to transfer media files. Of course, the iPod Touch have more capabilities like web browser, and supports for applications. But's it's still a very limited and controlled OS, unlike a smartphone which are meant to work like a mobile computer phone. If you have use the Pocket PC before there was even a smartphone, you'll know the purpose of a Pocket PC, and when they first introduce smartphone, it's to cater for those people who carries a Pocket PC and a phone, now they can carry 1 device, which is a smartphone.
For those who likes to carry a media players on the other hands, don't really need or want a Pocket PC, and carries a phone, the mediaphone would be a good choice.
Different people have different needs. As of current, what I can see is, iPhone change the smarpthone world not in a good way; unless you think everyone should use the same product OR all OS should work about the similar way? Monopoly? I prefer there're different product that cater for different people.
Aug 13 2012, 12:22 AM

0.0385sec