17 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Web Applications Web Hosting / Domain Discussion Thread

Reeson
post Apr 17 2006, 02:06 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(paladin86 @ Apr 13 2006, 09:54 AM)
hi gotta noob question  wanna ask is there a difference between a linux web hosting and windows web hosting.  E.g for example a company offers a linux web hosting and windows web hosting. Both features are quite similliar?

Do i need to understand  those fancy Linux command in order to use the Linux web Hosting? or should i just stay with the Windows Server
if your site use PHP and mySQL, then go Linux.
if you use weird thing (to me) like ASP, it Windows then.

maybe theres something more but thats what i know smile.gif
rewlie
post Apr 20 2006, 01:27 AM

163 posts

i use almost 7 db and keep increasing since i run diff app, but for your info, ipserverone support is the best i can find locally, even i'm malay, there's no regret for me to be lee's client.
blstz
post May 12 2006, 11:18 AM

832 posts

Hey guys, i need some guidance here. I dont know a lot about web hosting and domain registering. What i want is to make a personal blog with my own domain. So i need to register for a .com domain and find a web hosting plan, is that right?

Which type of web hosting plan would you guys recommend? My blog would have some blog entries, few photos, and maybe i'll have one domain email. Any recommendation on which company have a better web hosting plan that would be more worth it? I dont have a big budget, maybe RM70 - RM100 a year. blush.gif

Lastly, what is the difference between a linux hosting server and a windows hosting server? blink.gif

Thanks! notworthy.gif
asellus
post May 12 2006, 11:27 AM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ May 12 2006, 11:18 AM)
Hey guys, i need some guidance here. I dont know a lot about web hosting and domain registering. What i want is to make a personal blog with my own domain. So i need to register for a .com domain and find a web hosting plan, is that right?

Which type of web hosting plan would you guys recommend? My blog would have some blog entries, few photos, and maybe i'll have one domain email. Any recommendation on which company have a better web hosting plan that would be more worth it? I dont have a big budget, maybe RM70 - RM100 a year.  blush.gif

Lastly, what is the difference between a linux hosting server and a windows hosting server?  blink.gif

Thanks!  notworthy.gif
If that was your requirement, you can pick from a lot of options at http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=208286

Some even give free domains if you paid for 1 year in advance.

Difference between Linux and Windows hosting is the OS used by the server to host your website.
blstz
post May 12 2006, 11:33 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ May 12 2006, 11:27 AM)
If that was your requirement, you can pick from a lot of options at http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=208286

Some even give free domains if you paid for 1 year in advance.

Difference between Linux and Windows hosting is the OS used by the server to host your website.
Yeah, I've seen a few plans that might interest me.

What do you mean if i pay 1 year in advance? Dont i need to pay the price for a year before i can start to use its services?

So does the OS used by the server affects me or not? Any pros and cons to it?

Thanks a lot! smile.gif

sampride
post May 12 2006, 11:36 AM

2,188 posts

Depends on web hosting provide, some allowed monthly.

Windows hosting allow your to run asp.net/asp application which linux can;t make it.

If you're not running any asp application, then you just take linux hosting will do.
blstz
post May 12 2006, 11:43 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(sampride @ May 12 2006, 11:36 AM)
Depends on web hosting provide, some allowed monthly.

Windows hosting allow your to run asp.net/asp application which linux can;t make it.

If you're not running any asp application, then you just take linux hosting will do.
Sorry guys, just saw my question asked at the top of this thread. blush.gif

Do i need to register my domain with the same company that will be hosting my site? Or i can do i at two different companies?

Thanks for the info! smile.gif
sampride
post May 12 2006, 11:54 AM

2,188 posts

Domain you can register at anywhere, you just need to point your domain to the server's dns.
blstz
post May 12 2006, 12:00 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(sampride @ May 12 2006, 11:54 AM)
Domain you can register at anywhere, you just need to point your domain to the server's dns.
Oh ok, i get it. Sort of like link my domain to the web hosting dns server lah. rclxms.gif
Websuffer
post Jul 25 2006, 03:04 AM

QUOTE(fantagero @ Apr 7 2006, 01:01 AM)
dont understand the bolded sentence :P

btW,
so.. if i use paid hosting,, like exa.. do they provide ".com" to me??
or hav to sign up different thing to get ".com" ??
or need to sign up with other ".com" provider. ??
Why dont take a look at HostRelax , http://www.hostrelax.com.my , i got FREE domain name when subscribe with their hosting plan. They offer the lowest .com.my/.net.my/.org.my/.name.my in Malaysia if i not mistaken.
my44
post Jul 25 2006, 07:28 PM

2,494 posts

I've used serverfreak and pixcle hosting, they are very good. Did not encounter big problems with them.

I decided to post in this thread out of disappointment with a hosting provider advertised in the forum called VersatileNetworks. I don't usually resort to smear campaign of any business establishment, but I have suffered tremendously due to this hosting company's ineptness in managing their own hosting business.

Basically, I signed up with them. Looked good, although the connection was intermittenly timed out (meaning: need to refresh the browser before my website can be viewed). No big deal. Could have been my slow "Screamyx"

To my horror, this morning, I found all my FOUR websites were suspended by VersatileNetwork. They DID NOT send me any emails regarding suspicious activities or overload log files. They just suspended it like that. I lost about probably close to $20 from my Google Adsense income when that huge amount of web pages were taken out before my very eyes. If I did not try to restore my files on different company hosting, I would have lost more!

Ok, fair enough. So I emailed them this morning. No answer. Then I emailed at noon (re-quoting my morning email). No answer. This evening, I sent another. Still awaiting.

Interestingly, I also have the owner's HP number (his name is Brandon, I think). SMS sent got undelivered because obviously he turned it off. Then, finally I managed to call him about 10 minutes ago. He said he knows nothing about it, and he will check and CALL me back. Now, 10 minutes passed, I noticed that he switched off his cell phone again (I know it because the SMS message I sent was "pending"). I guess he'll never call me back (and switching on his cell phone was a big mistake just now!)

So far, still no email. If you go to their website, also you'll notice a lot of disabled links. Emails go unanswered, maybe they just photocopy web templates that says 24/7 customer service.

In short, if they want to take out my sites, please inform me in advance. I may be able to see what went wrong. But they did not inform me a little bit, and whatever they claim about support services in their website proved to be nothing but that!

I guess I'm bursting my bubble here. In fact, I'm looking for a different hosting to host my precious 4 websites.

This post has been edited by my44: Jul 25 2006, 07:30 PM
sampride
post Jul 25 2006, 07:38 PM

2,188 posts

Thank you for your review my44. We hope that we can host your other 4 website soon. biggrin.gif
sakuraguy
post Jul 25 2006, 07:43 PM

(::.. SuperStar ..::)
828 posts

I am also a hoster of ServerFreakz ... their service is very good. Thnx Sam!
sampride
post Jul 25 2006, 07:46 PM

2,188 posts

Thank you sakuraguy. biggrin.gif
my44
post Jul 25 2006, 07:57 PM

2,494 posts

sampride

I've just decided to sign up with pixcle (they offer to host 2 domains which what I am looking right now, no thanks to VersatileNetworks). But pls don't worry, there will be a need for me to host a small site <50MB which serverfreak will be my choice for that purpose.
my44
post Jul 25 2006, 08:15 PM

2,494 posts

I've decided to publish the email reply I received from VersatileNetwork after 12 hours waiting (and close to 24 hours of suspension). 12 hours just to respond to customer's feedback?

From  <my44@time.net.my>
Date  Tuesday, July 25, 2006 8:09 pm
To  support@versatilenetworks.net
Subject  Re: Why suspended uluwatu.org?

Yeah, I'm sure your maintenance WILL do the job quickly, judging from
how fast your email response was!
You don't need to apologise for the
inconvenience caused, I just need my money back.

Also I have posted negative comments about your extraordinary support
services on Lowyat forum (where do I start: unanswered SMS message? 3
emails went unanswered for more than 12 hours? failure to inform user
before suspending the account?
don't forget, you guys also did
"accidentally" deleted my HTML files when I first signed up!)

I'll be glad to furnish you my BCB bank account, at which you will
return back the money that I paid you for your "service".

Sincerely yours,

----- Original Message -----
From  "vNet Support" <support@versatilenetworks.net>
Date  Tue, 25 Jul 2006 19:58:58 +0800
To  <my44@time.net.my>

Dear valued client,

Your account has been caught up with "Excessive CPU Usage list" therefore it was an automated suspension to avoid server interuption and downtime. It might take awhile since actions will be taken by via the server administrator. Your account will be unsuspended shortly once maintenance has been comlpeted. We apoligise for the inconvenience caused.

Regards.

On 7/25/06, <my44@time.net.my> wrote:

Dear sir

I found my website(s) suspended this morning. I'm not sure for how
    long but this is not something I am asking from a "good" hosting
    provider like yours. I have 3-4 websites residing in this hosting. Why
    suspend them without NOTIFYING me?!

PLS RESPOND ASAP. I tried to call your listed number but the hp is
    shut off.
I need my sites to be up ASAP.

Thank you

Suspended sites:
    www.uluwatu.org
    java.uluwatu.org
    www.malaysiahotelreview.com
    www.park-guides.org
my44
post Jul 25 2006, 08:32 PM

2,494 posts

I guess somebody just got back from regular day job because suddenly the customer service email keeps coming within a few minutes (and not hours)!

From  Show all headers<my44@time.net.my>
Date  Tuesday, July 25, 2006 8:28 pm
To  support@versatilenetworks.net

That's OK then. What I paid for your poor hosting service was actually peanut compared to the amount of losses I had to incur from not having my websites online.

You can keep the money. And you can continue responding to your customer's urgent email after one or two weeks should I care. I already signed up some place else.

YES, I will find a web hosting that I am happy with. Many forummers know which ones I am happy with.

Good luck with your part-time "web hosting job". Oh, please fix your website http://www.versatilenetworks.net. Many links are broken. I should have noticed that kind of sloppy business site before I signed up. My bad.

Good bye!

----- Original Message -----
From  "vNet Support" <support@versatilenetworks.net>
Date  Tue, 25 Jul 2006 20:18:45 +0800
To  <my44@time.net.my>

Dear sir,

We appreciate your feedback on vNet Web Hosting Services. Unfortunately you are one of the odds to have a bad experience with our service which is most likely inevitable to perfection. However we do have a 30days Moneyback Guarantee but in disregard your account is almost 2months old, hence your appeal for a refund is futile.

We hope that you are able to find a Web Hosting provider that you will be happy with.

Regards.

my44
post Jul 25 2006, 08:34 PM

2,494 posts

I signed up with PIXCLE about 30 minutes ago. After submitting my payment, they replied that my web server is ready for use!

Thumbs up for PIXCLE and to a certain extent, SERVERFREAK. You guys are my saviour.
sampride
post Jul 25 2006, 08:56 PM

2,188 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Jul 25 2006, 07:57 PM)
sampride

I've just decided to sign up with pixcle (they offer to host 2 domains which what I am looking right now, no thanks to VersatileNetworks). But pls don't worry, there will be a need for me to host a small site <50MB which serverfreak will be my choice for that purpose.
Sure my44 biggrin.gif
philipcs
post Jul 25 2006, 09:10 PM

2,581 posts

QUOTE(jayhan @ Apr 3 2006, 05:12 PM)
i got my domain name from eternalsolutions.com, registration process is fast and clean
how is eternalsolutions.com so far? i am planning to get their service as well to host my photo blog smile.gif

RM100 per annual is very good price even got limitation

17 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:10 PM