Web Applications Web Hosting / Domain Discussion Thread
Feb 17 2006, 01:37 PM
557 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: AS PEE |
i think if u wan free domain
can register with tripod.com but it must format with www.tripod.wat wat wat.com |
Feb 17 2006, 01:59 PM
2,707 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: KL |
QUOTE(my44 @ Feb 16 2006, 10:03 PM) I doubt people want to view 2MB photo in the web browser. Even with broadband, the download will take ages. or u can make thumbnails at ur webby (take 5-10kb), then link to image hosting website is another alternative oso I think some people will resize the image to 500MB per photo, quite decent quality and not too taxing on the download speed. They'll keep the 4MB photo in the HDD |
Feb 17 2006, 08:16 PM
3,500 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(KeonG118 @ Feb 17 2006, 04:51 AM) I cant find any subdomain name hoster.QUOTE(jensen @ Feb 17 2006, 01:37 PM) i think if u wan free domain Sob,that make my name longer.can register with tripod.com but it must format with www.tripod.wat wat wat.com Any shorter hoster like tk,cjb...but they put in a lot of annoying ads >.< Edit:thanks to hunz who reminded me it's sub domain This post has been edited by akira de aimbuster: Feb 17 2006, 09:07 PM |
Feb 17 2006, 08:48 PM
1,238 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Penang |
Feb 18 2006, 12:58 PM
778 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Polysiloxanes Boulevard |
Thought I'd mention the US-based WireNine Hosting. They seem to be well-graded at WebHostingTalk. And I'm using them now
Feb 18 2006, 02:13 PM
439 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
QUOTE(vivre @ Feb 16 2006, 01:11 PM) I just registed .net domain at hive.com.my.. im sure you will regret there son! I had a friend that got their domain stucked at hive and not being allowed to transfer out from anywhere....Service downtime is far worst than what anyone have ever expect... Rate? Rm35 per year.. As for hosting site.. i`m not very sure which one.. but future plan is to consider exabytes.com.my`s hosting plan.. as for uploading.. usually, they will provide u FTP access, so u can upload it.. If anyone is going for malaysian host, try http://www.exabytes.com.my As for domain name, you could consider registering from yahoo domain as they only cost US$2.99 QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Feb 17 2006, 08:16 PM) I cant find any subdomain name hoster. btw they are not subdomain...TK and CJB are both domain cloaker which hide the actually path of your site using only the address they provided..Its like a hidden redirectionSob,that make my name longer. Any shorter hoster like tk,cjb...but they put in a lot of annoying ads >.< Edit:thanks to hunz who reminded me it's sub domain |
Feb 20 2006, 03:56 AM
557 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: AS PEE |
o...sub-domain r...
haha...soli tat i din not know there is a differences.. hehe |
Feb 20 2006, 09:08 AM
3,500 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Then any free domain ncloaker >.<
Feb 24 2006, 04:55 PM
89 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
I need a web hosting for my forum,do anyone know where can I get a hosting with unlimited montly bandwidth ??
Feb 24 2006, 05:54 PM
12,925 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Thread Moved
First of all , there is no such thing as "unlimited data transfers" For more information on which host to choose , do check this site out http://www.thesitewizard.com/archive/findhost.shtml CODE Data transfer (sometimes loosely referred to as "traffic" or "bandwidth") is the amount of bytes transferred from your site to visitors when they browse your site. [B]Don't believe any commercial web host that advertises "unlimited bandwidth". The host has to pay for the bandwidth, and if you consume a lot of it, they will not silently bear your costs. Many high bandwidth websites have found this out the hard way when they suddenly receive an exhorbitant bill for having "exceeded" the "unlimited bandwidth".[/B] Always look for details on how much traffic the package allows. I personally always stay clear of any host that advertises "unlimited transfer", even if the exact amount is specified somewhere else (sometimes buried in their policy statements). Usually you will find that they redefine "unlimited" to be limited in some way. To give you a rough idea of the typical traffic requirements of a website, most new sites that are not software archives or the like use less than 3GB of bandwidth per month. Your traffic requirements will grow over time, as your site becomes more well-known (and well-linked), so you will need to also check their policy for overages: is there a published charge per GB over the allowed bandwidth? Is the charge made according to actual usage or are you expected to pre-pay for a potential overage? It is better not to go for hosts that expect you to prepay for overages, since it is very hard to forsee when your site will exceed its bandwidth and by how much. |
Feb 25 2006, 12:15 AM
2,188 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
You can get a unmetered hosting with bandwidth cap, but not unlimited bandwidth.
no such things as unlimited bandwidth |
Feb 25 2006, 02:06 AM
272 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh, Subang |
Still got 1 solution which is get a dedicated server with 100MBps un-metered to run your site =)
Feb 25 2006, 02:14 AM
theres a lot well-graded provider in wht =)
This post has been edited by WebHour: Feb 25 2006, 02:16 AM |
Feb 25 2006, 03:46 AM
1,156 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: * Care-L * |
Feb 25 2006, 12:50 PM
Unmetered hosting with bandwidth cap means for example, they tell you it was un-metered but they usually cap at lets say 512k, which means u only max can use 50kb/sec++, in this case, 1 month u only can get 129.6GB bandwidth for your hosting.
Feb 26 2006, 12:31 AM
439 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
there is always a catch in unmetered, whether there is low transfer rate or low space limitation or probably suspend you for server abuse when you transfer to much..Over the internet, no one trust unmetered hosting
Feb 28 2006, 01:00 AM
1,268 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: A place where the sun don't shine |
www.sphosting.com
your site will be: blabla.sphosting.com |
Mar 1 2006, 12:53 AM
1,156 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: * Care-L * |
So is using malaysia based-server web hosting a brilliant idea? Normally these servers are using jaring and streamyx line?
Mar 1 2006, 09:42 AM
they are all located at Jaring IDC@Bukit Jalil or Tmnet@Netmyne IDC or Myloca
Mar 2 2006, 03:18 PM
2,657 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: In front of my computer |
hi guys,
my company is using services from this company....we are using the Gold Plan.... i browsed LYN's hosting company, IPServerOne and found their prices a lot cheaper even if i go for the 19GB plan..... i didnt wanna call both companies and ask because i think they will be a bit biased....no offence to ipserverone..... my question is, why does my web-hosting company charging me RM1K++ while others are charging me half the price and 7 times disk price more.....and from what is see, the stuff they offer are the same as ipserverone..... and if u were wondering about support....they $|_|CK........ |
| Change to: | 0.0216sec
5 queries
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:17 PM |