Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.16

ruxyn_tang
post Aug 22 2012, 02:53 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(akira87 @ Aug 22 2012, 02:12 PM)
may i know what is the best 3rd party battery grip for D5100? currently im looking at meike and phottix, which one is the best?
I'm using Phottix. No problems so far except sometimes I need to switch the batteries around because "batteries can't be recognized/not suitable"

Added on August 22, 2012, 2:54 pm
QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Aug 22 2012, 02:51 PM)
SB-600
Contemplating whether to get SB600 or not. Many said Nissin not bad T^T

This post has been edited by ruxyn_tang: Aug 22 2012, 02:54 PM
aldosoesilo
post Aug 22 2012, 03:10 PM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

QUOTE(ruxyn_tang @ Aug 22 2012, 02:53 PM)
I'm using Phottix. No problems so far except sometimes I need to switch the batteries around because "batteries can't be recognized/not suitable"

How many Nissin users out of those who said it is not bad?
For me if you are looking for power, go for nissin.
Otherwise get Nikon's. I cannot stand with my units TTL, sometimes over powered sometimes under powered.
Maybe unit problem?
little ice
post Aug 22 2012, 03:13 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

alpha001 - nice! i like the composition and the colors, though it doesn't look "complete" alone of those 2 shots, imagine putting the "air kotak pomegranate" thingy beside the buah will make a really good looking ad poster. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Aug 22 2012, 11:26 AM)
Not really sure about the sound, but if not wrong, they have a special lens for movie which supposed to be silent and have smooth focusing.

As for manual focus, I'm not sure how Nikon1's lens. I think it's not easy to use manual focus with the lens. Even for DSLR, it's not easy to do it and manual focusing can introduce "shake"; When I took video previously with DSLR, I try to minimize touching the camera, so I fix the focus instead.
the full-time autofocus does the job really nice and virtually silent operation, and yet when i switch to AF-S which require the half-press shutter button to get a focus, it'll focus like when it's taking still images, and when using contrast-detect i can hear the motor's working even without sticking my ear close to it, so inevitable that the sound is going to be captured. was looking high and low for this information but nothing found upon long googling session and i guess nobody actually used the AF-S in video mode. hmm.gif

manual focus can only done using the rotating ring (d-pad) and you need to press "OK" to call up the zoom and use the ring to control but you can't see the composition since it's zoomed. =.=
Maniac
post Aug 22 2012, 03:25 PM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

High quality instagram next biggrin.gif

Android powered S800c is now official...

http://www.nikon.com.my/en_MY/product_deta...entTab=gp11zl1x
Agito666
post Aug 22 2012, 03:29 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Aug 22 2012, 03:25 PM)

can play temple run? unsure.gif whistling.gif tongue.gif
Maniac
post Aug 22 2012, 03:44 PM

5,938 posts

not sure... can install, but maybe cannot work biggrin.gif
seather
post Aug 22 2012, 04:11 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Aug 22 2012, 03:25 PM)

when nikon gonna release phone module as add on? whistling.gif

then my phone can buang ady... laugh.gif
slowkancil
post Aug 22 2012, 04:13 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(ruxyn_tang @ Aug 22 2012, 02:53 PM)

if main flash better go for nikon..

the nissin mark 2 tt-l is better than mark 1.. but still not accurate as nikon
heck.. even my ancient nikon sb-27 non-ttl auto is better for accuracy..
(im currenty using sb-800,sb-600,sb-27, and nissin mark 2)
alpha001
post Aug 22 2012, 04:28 PM

686 posts

how abt this???..... blush.gif
wee bit grainy...but just nice for me

Camera Nikon D5100
Lens 18-200mm tamron F/3.5-6.3
Mode Shutter Priority
Aperture f/7.1
Shutter Speed 1/1250s
Focal Length 150 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias0 EV
Flash Off, build in
Others No fancy edit just some lightning

This post has been edited by alpha001: Aug 23 2012, 07:41 AM
tctham
post Aug 22 2012, 04:31 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Aug 22 2012, 04:28 PM)
how abt this???..... blush.gif
wee bit grainy...but just nice for me

Camera Nikon D5100
Mode Shutter Priority
Aperture f/7.1
Shutter Speed 1/1250s
Focal Length 150 mm
ISO Speed 800
Exposure Bias0 EV
Flash Off, build in
I somewhat like the rain motion being stopped by the shutter speed..
Maniac
post Aug 22 2012, 05:15 PM

5,938 posts

ok so basically temple run confirms RUNNING on S800c lol

https://www.facebook.com/albertyap/posts/40...06?notif_t=like
Agito666
post Aug 22 2012, 05:24 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Aug 22 2012, 05:15 PM)
ok so basically temple run confirms RUNNING on S800c  lol

https://www.facebook.com/albertyap/posts/40...06?notif_t=like
cant see unsure.gif
Maniac
post Aug 22 2012, 08:08 PM

5,938 posts

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=264136800372407
amduser
post Aug 22 2012, 08:26 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Aug 22 2012, 08:08 PM)
if got 3G then can whatsapp already biggrin.gif ;
MrAkay
post Aug 22 2012, 09:00 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Aug 22 2012, 08:26 PM)
if got 3G then can whatsapp already biggrin.gif ;
then become smart camera edi? lol
stan001
post Aug 23 2012, 03:28 AM

623 posts

My humble comment...

Mode Shutter Priority <--- When taking still photos, switch to A mode to adjust the DoF bcos subject is not moving

Use Spoiler for yr pics for people interested to view yr photos so the page loads faster for others... smile.gif

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Aug 22 2012, 12:34 PM)
hello guys, i just bought and started using dslr 4 days ago.. blush.gif
so, any comments/critics sweat.gif

Camera Nikon D5100
Mode Shutter Priority
Aperture f/11.0
Shutter Speed 1/200s
Focal Length 98 mm
ISO Speed100
Exposure Bias0 EV
Flash On, build in

Added on August 22, 2012, 12:31 pmhere another one... notworthy.gif

Camera Nikon D5100
Mode Shutter Priority
Aperture f/10.0
Shutter Speed 1/200s
Focal Length 120 mm
ISO Speed 100
Exposure Bias0 EV
Flash On, build in
alpha001
post Aug 23 2012, 07:22 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Aug 23 2012, 04:28 AM)
My humble comment...

Mode Shutter Priority <--- When taking still photos, switch to A mode to adjust the DoF bcos subject is not moving

Use Spoiler for yr pics for people interested to view yr photos so the page loads faster for others...  smile.gif
tqtq will try it...btw how to shoot fast object clearly such rain better using SPEEDLITE???can low iso??? notworthy.gif
Maniac
post Aug 23 2012, 11:23 AM

5,938 posts

And if any of you Nikon-kaki are interested, check this out...

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2479507
vearn27
post Aug 23 2012, 01:32 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Woohoo~ long time I didn't come in and lepak here biggrin.gif

BTW, the event above seems interesting enough but too bad I'm not at Pg sad.gif
iloveOov
post Aug 23 2012, 01:42 PM

226 posts

spam pic today~